petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Complete Pet Care Chicken Calming Aid Cat Chews

Petco Complete Pet Care Chicken Calming Aid Cat Chews

Helps reduce nervousness, tension and stressNatural ingredient formulaDelicious chicken flavorSafe for cats over 12 weeks of age
Average Customer Rating:
3.733 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
2
10 out of 15(67%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 0 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Complete Pet Care Chicken Calming Aid Cat Chews
Review 1 for Petco Complete Pet Care Chicken Calming Aid Cat Chews
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BESTCALMING

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
LoveMySiamese
from Delaware
This is my cats favorite calming not hard to give to him at all he actually begs for it. Any other kinds forget it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Complete Pet Care Chicken Calming Aid Cat Chews
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

wouldn't bother with these

PostedAugust 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
dasEbs
barely calmed my cat down,and made him throw up. i'm returning them tomorrow.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Complete Pet Care Chicken Calming Aid Cat Chews
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product!

PostedMay 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
julsc8
from Cleveland, OH
I have two male cats both 9 and 10 years old. They have always gotten along, however, after a recent move my younger cat started becoming more dominant towards the older cat (who already has stress related IBD problems). The problem seemed to be at its worst at night when the more dominant of the two would become hyper and "attack" my other cat non-stop. Nothing I would do, apart from separating them, would stop this behavior. Which then caused them to both meow and scratch at doors all night.
I started giving two of these treats to both cats about an hour before bedtime. Both cats become VERY affectionate and don't leave the bed once throughout the night. They sleep so good sometimes I'M the one waking them up in the morning now!
Needless to say, these have certainly calmed both of my cats down. There have been no more cat fights and they are back to being buddies.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Complete Pet Care Chicken Calming Aid Cat Chews
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

High Anxiety Cat Loves Them

PostedFebruary 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
AnimalsForLife
from Menifee, CA
I have 9 cats, and 2 have anxiety. One of them will not eat these chews, so I was completely bummed about it. However, I have a 20-pound cat that LIVES to chew and lick himself night and day. He was born without any hair on his stomach and he licks it until it's raw with sores! They scab, heal, and he does it again. Nothing the vet offers as far as ointment helps, even if it tastes gross on his belly, he will lick it off. I saw these and decided to try them. He loves food, and these are "his special treats" and I get him all excited and tease him with the bag, like it's something really special! The others come running and I say, Noooo, this is just for Trooper! So he gets 2 treats every day now and it has reduced his anxiety and chewing/licking by 60%. That is a huge percentage, given he lives for chewing and licking. He recently licked a line of hair off his leg and I remembered I forgot to give him his treats! So I'm back on them and he's calmed down again. I will not buy the one with melatonin because I don't want him to sleep all the time. He sleeps more, but he's not knocked out at all with these. Thanks, Petco!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Complete Pet Care Chicken Calming Aid Cat Chews
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Works but its a fight to get him to eat them

PostedMay 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
JuJukitty0418
from Port Charlotte, FL
The chews DO in fact work, but my cat hates the taste. I have to crush them and mix in his soft food. After about 30 minutes then he stops chasing and attacking my other cat. So because of the taste it's a 3 but if either of my cats would have liked the taste then it would have been a 5.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Complete Pet Care Chicken Calming Aid Cat Chews
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Enjoyable treat when calming is needed

PostedMay 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Vandy
from San Mateo, CA
My cats love these "treats". Our Siamese/Himalayan is a bit high strung and gets annoyed with our other cat very easily. After a couple of treats, she is still active but more calm. Her anxiety issues are at bay.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Complete Pet Care Chicken Calming Aid Cat Chews
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Good, but gross

PostedFebruary 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Taylor09
from Iowa
These work fine, when my cat wants to eat them. Both my cats do not like the taste, they just sit there and lick them. I bought I different kind, not the off brand, and they seem to eat those right up. I have to crush the off brand treats into their food and tick them into eating them.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Complete Pet Care Chicken Calming Aid Cat Chews
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

These work great!

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
yorksly
from Comstock Park, MI
I have used calming treats before and they worked okay but these do a really good job of calming two of my cats that don't get along so well. These treats calm them without making them act drugged so it takes the edge off their aggressiveness. They are cheaper than the name brand and I always give the two problem kitties 2 treats in the morning and they are good for the day. The cats like the treats too and gobble them right up.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Complete Pet Care Chicken Calming Aid Cat Chews
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

my cats like them, seems to work

PostedMay 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
CapitolDiva
from Washington DC
My skittish cat gobbles these down. Hard to tell how much they help (our problem is not extra energy, it's being generally neurotic and skittish). Seems to help some though. Chews stay soft in the pouch - yay.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Complete Pet Care Chicken Calming Aid Cat Chews
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love It!

PostedApril 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sassy08
from Chicago, IL
My 9lb Russian Blue is very finicky. Even if she likes a treat, she may eat one and turn her nose up at a second. I was happily surprised that she LOVED the taste of these. She even sits in anticipation of me just shaking the bag.
I introduced the treats at home on a day with no stressful events to see how she would react. Then I started giving them to her in the evening. This way she got used to the treats, without associating them with the stressful car ride.
She still isn't thrilled with car rides (she associates it with the vet). But the treats seems to help her calm down sooner. And she relaxed in the car.
Totally recommend!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Complete Pet Care Chicken Calming Aid Cat Chews
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

not for my cat

PostedApril 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Holdfast
from Minneapolis, MN
she would just smell them and just walk away, so i put one in her food bowl and she ate part of it (probably on accident) and then she wouldn't eat the food it was touching. hope they work better for you
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Complete Pet Care Chicken Calming Aid Cat Chews
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Kitty doesn't like it

PostedApril 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nadya
from Costa Mesa, CA
My kitty doesn't like it at all, she usually loves chews and is excited about anything you give her; I tried to give couple of these at different occasions and she ignored them completely.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Complete Pet Care Chicken Calming Aid Cat Chews
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pretty Helpful!

PostedMarch 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
binxtinx
We purchased these the other day to try out on our normally *insane* 1 1/2 year old Bombay. Within forty-five minutes of having eaten one, he seemed sedate and calm. I was even able to clip his nails with ease, which is usually a traumatizing experience. My only issue with these chews are their size. My kitty is on the larger side and he had trouble eating it; I would imagine it would be tough for little ones to get through a full chew. However, that's only a minor drawback. I would definitely purchase these again, and intend to try them for long car rides.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Complete Pet Care Chicken Calming Aid Cat Chews
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

yes and no

PostedMarch 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
jkdillinger
from ny
these do help a little for us. our 9 month old tabbico is bursting with energy just about all day everyday. i find that giving her these a half hour before bed, she gets one last woo-hoo run around the house like crazy and then snuggles in for the night. DO be patient in waiting for these to work. DON'T be surprised if you need to use them frequently and find 2 aren't cutting it anymore. some nights, 3-4 or 5 are even needed for us.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Complete Pet Care Chicken Calming Aid Cat Chews
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Tastey, Helpful, Big!

PostedSeptember 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
F1Lz0r
from NJ
These treats are super tastey for my Little Peanut, and they keep him from jumping all over the furniture, so they definitely work!
The only thing is they're a little big, so he has to run around with it in his mouth and eat it over a couple minutes. And I just have to hope he doesnt leave crumbs everywhere...
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.