petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for PetSafe Indoor Bark Control Ultrasonic Pet Training System

PetSafe Indoor Bark Control Ultrasonic Pet Training System

Stops your dog's constant barking almost like magicUses high-frequency ultrasonic sound to disrupt nuisance barking-- no collar neededTable-top, wall-mounted or hand-held use to fit the needs of your householdRange up to 25 feet (about the size of 1-2 rooms of a home)Works on all dogs within hearing rangeFor indoor use onlyModel PBC-1000
Average Customer Rating:
2.406 / 5
2.4
 / 
5
(160 Reviews) 160
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 160 reviews
5 stars
30
4 stars
23
3 stars
11
2 stars
14
1 star
82
64 out of 160(40%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer Reviews for PetSafe Indoor Bark Control Ultrasonic Pet Training System
Review 1 for PetSafe Indoor Bark Control Ultrasonic Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The "NO" Machine

PostedDecember 6, 2005
Customer Avatar
from Vancouver, WA
I bought this for my boxer mix who was having problems with seperation and being alone. He would cry and bark for hours, not minutes, after I would leave. I hate putting anything harmful or painful on my dogs so when I went looking for barking machines, I
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+99points
157of 215voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PetSafe Indoor Bark Control Ultrasonic Pet Training System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Doesn't Work!!

PostedJuly 9, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Arlington, Wa
My Bf & I bought this product for our 2 (1/2 Pit Bull-1/2 Bull Mastiff) doggies. They both have a bad habit barking every time someone's at our door. An any time they hear a car pull in the driveway, a car door shuts, (including the neighbors car doors) pretty much any noise &/or voice they hear outside they bark. And its like the Domino effect with them. When one barks, the other one fallows right after. So we we're trying to find a solution to help control this problem, using only painless ways. Strictly Without Shock Collars!!
We figured this item to be the perfect solution. Oh boy! Were we wrong!
After opening it & inserting the batteries, we pushed the button on top, making it go off automatically. Both dog's instantly turned an looked at it, an one dog got pretty upset afterwards & went to hide. So we both thought we finally found the answer.
But when someone knocked on the door they completely ignored it. I'm not sure if they're barks drown out the noise, but they didn't care whatsoever. An now, when we press the button, they don't really pay any mind to it at all.
We thought maybe we just needed new batteries cause the light on the front changed from green to red. But new batteries didn't have any new results.
Also beside from it not working the batteries go dull real quick. Replacing a 9V batt. Every other week can get expensive after a lil while.
I wouldn't recommend this product.
(Unless it has a different effect on small dogs and/or puppies )
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PetSafe Indoor Bark Control Ultrasonic Pet Training System
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Doesn't work

PostedJune 19, 2015
Customer Avatar
from San Diego CA
I needed something to keep my dogs from barking when I am not home but when I come home I hear my dogs barking so it doesn't work
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PetSafe Indoor Bark Control Ultrasonic Pet Training System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor

PostedJune 6, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Slidell, LA
I bought this product thinking it would be good for my 4.5 lb. dog. I didn't want to use a shock caller on her. At first she responded to it. But now it's like she's used to it. She still barks. Very poor product. I would not recommend purchasing.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PetSafe Indoor Bark Control Ultrasonic Pet Training System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works great but then they become use to it.

PostedMay 8, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Dallas, Tx
Dogs were quite the first day then it's like it didn't bother them after that.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PetSafe Indoor Bark Control Ultrasonic Pet Training System
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Did not work

PostedMay 8, 2015
Customer Avatar
from TX
I have a 4 month old golden retriever who likes to bark when you put her in her play pin during the day. I bought this and put it about 10 feet away and she still continued to bark. This did not phase her at all.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PetSafe Indoor Bark Control Ultrasonic Pet Training System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Doesn't work

PostedApril 28, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Sandy Lake, PA
Doesn't even phase my dog. I know it's on because I can see the light change colors when he barks and barks and barks. I bought this for my Cavalier King Charles Spaniel. I had hopes it would at least lessen his barking. No such luck
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PetSafe Indoor Bark Control Ultrasonic Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works like a Charm

PostedApril 4, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Vacaville, CA
We have a Beagle Mix who likes to bark outside at every cat, bird etc. We set the Bark Control on our Patio table facing the area he goes to bark the most. It works like a charm!! He barks once to test it, but stops after the first bark. Has reduced his barking by 85%!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PetSafe Indoor Bark Control Ultrasonic Pet Training System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

does not work.

PostedMarch 23, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Chesterfield Va.
I have a min pin. that it did not work for. I sent it back.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PetSafe Indoor Bark Control Ultrasonic Pet Training System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Did not work well

PostedFebruary 4, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Montrose, CO
I bought this product for a household with multiple dogs. It worked somewhat only if they were standing directly in front of it. One fall and it broke. Save your money and buy a better quality unit.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PetSafe Indoor Bark Control Ultrasonic Pet Training System
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

not so great

PostedJanuary 11, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Lacey, WA
The only time this appears to work is when I manually press the button. It does not appear to "hear" the barking
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PetSafe Indoor Bark Control Ultrasonic Pet Training System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Product works but dogs get used to it.

PostedDecember 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Cary, IL
It gets their attention at first, but the dogs learn to ignore it. I might try adding another one to keep the barking to a minimum for the neighbors.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PetSafe Indoor Bark Control Ultrasonic Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This worked wonders for my barking Shih Tzu

PostedDecember 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Houston, TX
I live in a condo and my neighbor started complaining about my Shih Tzu barking while I was away. He never barks when I am home, but apparently he would bark constantly for more than 30 minutes when I was away. I did not want to use the bark collar if I could prevent it so I gave this a try first. After a couple of days, he stopped barking. I understand this may not work with all dogs, but it worked for mine. It is worth a try if you need to control your barking dog.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PetSafe Indoor Bark Control Ultrasonic Pet Training System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Does not work at all

PostedOctober 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Arizona
this product had no effect on my dog with no decrease in barking. I would never recommend this to anyone with a barking issue.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for PetSafe Indoor Bark Control Ultrasonic Pet Training System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excessive barking has stopped.

PostedAugust 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
We have three female dogs all around 50 lbs. in the evenings they would bark at a car that drives passed our home, or somone out running on the side walks. There was no peace. This device has really changed our evenings at home. We only use the devise when we are all home in the evening. The barking excessive barking has stopped and we are relieved! I would recommend using this product to anyone that has multiple dogs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+16points
17of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for PetSafe Indoor Bark Control Ultrasonic Pet Training System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works for some dogs but not others

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Memphis, TN
We got this back when we were in an apartment and discovered our dog Korra was barking like crazy due to separation anxiety. Our neighbors had a new baby so of course we needed to do something right away! We bought this in store and our dog *immediately* stopped barking. Thank goodness! She's a little afraid of the device now, which I feel bad about, but with thin walls and a baby next door, what else can you do? It does react to any loud noise, so it won't be any use in a high traffic or loud area of the house, but if you crate your dog in a quiet area, it'll only react to its barking so your dog will catch on pretty quickly. Korra's much calmer and more secure these days so we don't need it anymore, but we also tried it when we dog-sat for a cousin one week, and that dog wasn't affected at all. It was a fairly young and very hyper dog though, so I think it's not as effective for a dog that's really, really worked up. Overall it's worth a shot if you want a minimally invasive way to keep your dog from barking and for whatever reason don't have the time to train it out of them a different way.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for PetSafe Indoor Bark Control Ultrasonic Pet Training System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Barkers don't work

PostedJune 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from FL
What a waste of money. I returned them the next week. $50 each and they don't make the dogs stop barking at all. Couldn't tell any difference with them at all. This product should not be sold.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
6of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for PetSafe Indoor Bark Control Ultrasonic Pet Training System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Triggers when husband talks

PostedMay 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from San Diego
We got this when we found out our dogs were barking while we were gone during the day. It emits a sound we can only barely hear that does bug the dogs (sends them running tails down to their bed), but it doesn't always emit sound when they bark, only sometimes. However I am only giving this 1 'paw' because it also triggers when my husband TALKS. We have to leave the battery out, and unplug it when we are home (there is no off button) so we don't false correct them when we are talking. Then we have to remember to reconnect the battery when we leave. There is no 'sensitivity' setting on it. I would NOT recommend this product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for PetSafe Indoor Bark Control Ultrasonic Pet Training System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

terrible

PostedMay 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from skiatook, ok
i have two chis and this product did not stop them from barking at all! big waste of money. they have to be right in front of it for it to go off, even then it does not make them stop barking.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for PetSafe Indoor Bark Control Ultrasonic Pet Training System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Product

PostedApril 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Charlotte, NC
I have used this product a few times now and it does work. I read tons of reviews on it and had mixed feelings so I figured I'd give it a try. My dog is a 10 month old, 65 lb, German Shepherd Lab mix who is the laziest dog and he rarely barks. I purchased this product to use while he's in his crate only while we're away. We live in a condo and receive fines for noise complaints (which we get EVERY TIME we leave him in his crate alone without us), so something had to be done and I refused to use a shock collar on him.
This product worked well for us to keep him from barking as he associated his bark with the annoying noise and would stop. He whined at first when he heard it and I could tell he wanted to bark but resisted. We don't hear the noise but I agree with some reviewers of the fact that you can almost feel when the device goes off. Since using the device we have not had any complaints from his barking and are only using it while he's in the crate so he associates the noise with barking in the crate only.
I understand why some reviewers said it didn't work if they had multiple dogs because the dogs wouldn't be aware of what was making the noise if multiple dogs are barking at once. Also the battery (which you have to buy separately BTW) has to be removed to turn it off otherwise it's on all the time. The noise is only triggered by a loud bark too, so make sure the device is near the dog but not directly next to them as the noise might be too loud. We leave the TV on for him as well as a noise machine and neither of those noises trigger the device.
I would definitely recommend this product to other dog owners and for the money...it's worth a shot :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>