petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for PetSafe Indoor Bark Control Ultrasonic Pet Training System

PetSafe Indoor Bark Control Ultrasonic Pet Training System

Stops your dog's constant barking almost like magicBarking activates unit, emitting a two-second ultrasonic sound only be heard by your dogStartled, your dog will soon associate this unpleasant sound with his behavior and curb unwanted barkingNo collar unit requiredModel PBC-1000
Average Customer Rating:
2.411 / 5
2.4
 / 
5
(141 Reviews) 141
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 141 reviews
5 stars
28
4 stars
18
3 stars
11
2 stars
11
1 star
73
57 out of 141(40%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for PetSafe Indoor Bark Control Ultrasonic Pet Training System
Review 1 for PetSafe Indoor Bark Control Ultrasonic Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The "NO" Machine

PostedDecember 6, 2005
Customer Avatar
Moira H.
from Vancouver, WA
I bought this for my boxer mix who was having problems with seperation and being alone. He would cry and bark for hours, not minutes, after I would leave. I hate putting anything harmful or painful on my dogs so when I went looking for barking machines, I
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+73points
124of 175voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PetSafe Indoor Bark Control Ultrasonic Pet Training System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works as intemded.

PostedApril 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
ICEGot
from Tacoma, WA
We're dogsitting for a friend out of town, and his Boxer has A LOT of separation anxiety. So much so that she barks for 5 minutes out of every 10. I figured this would be a non abrasive way to curb the barking without something drastic to our buddy's pup. So a couple of days into it, they still haven't figured out that it goes off when they bark. But they do stop right away when the system turns on. Can't really complain at all after coming from almost constant barking to random ones here and there (when someone walks in front of the house mostly). Anyway, it was well worth the $30 I paid for it on sale. Deducted one paw for not having an on/off switch. Really, whose idea was that?!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PetSafe Indoor Bark Control Ultrasonic Pet Training System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Waste fo money for no bark control

PostedMarch 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
smac72
from Denver, CO
The indoor bark control device does not work at all. This device picks up any sound around it. My dogs became used to the sound almost immediately and ignored it. They are still barking even with the device right next to them. I'm going to be returing this product for a refund.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PetSafe Indoor Bark Control Ultrasonic Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome product

PostedNovember 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
steffidad
from IL
I made my account here just to leave a review. We bought this at the store because our recently adopted dog barked soooo much while we're not at home. She would bark nonestop, and at least one person had to be at home allll the time. The machine worked great, and dog seems very disturbed by the sound so far. She barks once or twice in 1-2 hours now. It detects mostly loud barking only, so it teaches the dog to bark quietly. We are soo happy with the purchase. Thanks petsafe !
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
9of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PetSafe Indoor Bark Control Ultrasonic Pet Training System
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

a joke to dogs

PostedOctober 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
APRICHARD
from Georgia
I have 3 dogs(2 Boxers & a Chihuahua). One of my Boxers acknowledged it by turning his head when it would 'go off' but my other boxer and chihuahua, nothing... I mean if they could laugh, I'm pretty sure they would have laughed at it. Especially considering my other boxer tried to eat it... If you don't have a stubborn dog, it should work just fine for your dog but then again if you don't have a stubborn dog you probably don't have a barking problem lol
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PetSafe Indoor Bark Control Ultrasonic Pet Training System
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Needs New Design

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
dianadoglvr
from Maple Park, IL
This dog barking system needs a more convenient design. It has no on and off switch so you have to completely take out the battery each time you want it to shut off. I'm afraid after several times of disconnecting the battery the wires will totally break off.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PetSafe Indoor Bark Control Ultrasonic Pet Training System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
dashund
from Addison, IL
I bought this product as a recommendation from the store. It worked for the first 40 days and then my dog became immune to it. The store only offers a 30 day return policy and when i told them about my 7lb dog becomming immune to it after 40 days they did not want to help me return it or find a different unit. Do not purchase this product
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PetSafe Indoor Bark Control Ultrasonic Pet Training System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

DON'T BOTHER

PostedMay 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
unhappycustomerinmd
from frederick, md
i had read the reviews on this product and figured let me give it a try...i have a large dog...and augi, Sheppard who is 5 months old and loves barking at everything...once i got home and put the battery in the product and placed it by the dog...he started barking and u could see he heard a noise but it didnt faze him...he continued to bark and just didnt seem to care...we have had it for 3 days and thank goodness i have my receipt cause it is going back to the store...petco should take this bad product off their shelves
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PetSafe Indoor Bark Control Ultrasonic Pet Training System
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

This product sort of works

PostedMay 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Angelf1sh
from Sanford, NC
The barking has not stopped. It doesn't continue as long as it did before, but it still happens and goes on and on.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PetSafe Indoor Bark Control Ultrasonic Pet Training System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works Great

PostedMay 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
imarite
from CA
Works great for my medium barker dog. She caught on in only a few moments that her barking was causing the unpleasant noise. I agree that it needs an on/off switch. There are times I don't mind her barking when we play,so I have to take the battery out. That's why I gave it only 4 paws instead of 5.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PetSafe Indoor Bark Control Ultrasonic Pet Training System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Quiet Household at Last

PostedApril 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
my2babys
from South Dakota
I have 2 little yappers (a doxie and iggy) that loved to bark at everything outside their window. We lived near a park so we have a lot of comings and goings. With a lot of doubt, we bought this product. We can always return it if it doesn't work - Right? Well, it did cut down on a lot of their barking. They or one will do their one bark and stop. Alot of reviewers say it doesn't work, but it did work in our case. So I am guessing it will stay with us. Finally, a quiet house!! Would of gave this a 5 paws if it did have an off/on switch.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PetSafe Indoor Bark Control Ultrasonic Pet Training System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Petsafe Indoor Bark Control Does Not Work

PostedApril 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
POPP11
I've had this product about 2 weeks and so far it has not caused any kind of 'control' with the 3 dogs we have. We paid $33 for it, which is too much for a product that does not work. I will be returning it to Petco for a refund. It only works if you press the button on the top.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PetSafe Indoor Bark Control Ultrasonic Pet Training System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not worth it

PostedApril 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
afuerst
from Holland, NJ
We have 4 dogs. Tried this instead of getting 4 individual collars so 1) all the dogs didn't have to have collars on and 2) 4 collars = a LOT of money. Should have went w/the collars. We bought it well over a year ago and even put it up after it didn't work and brought it back out later to see if maybe for whatever reason. NOPE. It would go off when the barked, They would look at it so i know they heard it and then continued to bark!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PetSafe Indoor Bark Control Ultrasonic Pet Training System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

no

PostedApril 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
BIZZYLUV
from ORLANDO
my mother sent this exact product to me after i was telling her how my neighbor complained that my dog barked non-stop until i got home one night.. i didn't know what to do, so she tried to help me out and i was very excited when i receved it in the mail.. well the only thing it did was cause my dog to look in the direction of the unit *while she kept barking* lol so NO it didn't stop her barking. i ended up movng her kennel to the furthest room from the wall shared by my neighbor and left some soft music on in that room so maybe she wouldnt hear any noises from outside (that may cause her to react) ... i guess it worked because when i saw my neighbor again i asked if she was barking while i was at work, he said he didnt hear anything.. all i do know is that this product didn't work for me
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
User submitted photo
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for PetSafe Indoor Bark Control Ultrasonic Pet Training System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

No Effect

PostedApril 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
barkydog
from VA
We bought this in hopes of controlling the barking problem our dog has. We were excited that it would work, but it did far from that. It has absolutely no effect on the dog and he will continue to bark for minutes with the device "going off" several times with no result. Extremely disappointed with this product especially with the cost. We purchased it for $50 and will definitely be returning it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for PetSafe Indoor Bark Control Ultrasonic Pet Training System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't even bother...

PostedFebruary 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Luv4ShihTzus
from Fort Myers, FL
I have a little shih tzu that is a little over 11 lbs. He would bark all the time, especially at other dogs he saw in the yard. I borrowed this from a friend and I was excited for it to work. However, that day never came! I loved the fact that you can't hear the sound that is emitted, but most of the time the sound is not activated when my dog barks! Once in a blue moon when my dog has a deep bark this product will work, but the high pitched yelps that small dogs make do not activate the product. You could always push the button on the top to force the sound, but that defeats the purpose of it being handheld. My dog continues to bark through hearing the sound and even barks back at the product... don't waste your money!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for PetSafe Indoor Bark Control Ultrasonic Pet Training System
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not real impressed

PostedNovember 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ilovemypups
from Redlands Ca
I know my dogs have good hearing but they either don't hear this product or it does not phase them. I see the red light when they bark but it does not stop them from barking.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for PetSafe Indoor Bark Control Ultrasonic Pet Training System
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Bark control, just okay

PostedSeptember 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
cbtpups
from Manchester, NH
I've had this for almost two weeks. It's okay- ideally, it should work well... BUT... it goes off if I sneeze or raise my voice which is confusing for the dogs... when they hear it they bark. When my Min Pin makes it go off with his barking, my Bichon/Chihuahua barks because it's going off. I wouldn't recommend this product unless the fix it going off for non-barking noises.... and maybe with one dog it would work better.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for PetSafe Indoor Bark Control Ultrasonic Pet Training System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

didn't work for me

PostedSeptember 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
kriztik
from michigan
i have two miniature dachshunds and a blue pit bull. only one of my dachshunds is barky. i was hoping this device would discourage him but it doesn't. the first few times he barked after it was set up he would stare at it, but now it's like he just expects the noise and it doesn't bother him. waste of money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for PetSafe Indoor Bark Control Ultrasonic Pet Training System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

doesnt work for my yorkie

PostedSeptember 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
njolenew05
from ks
I have a Yorkie and she has huge separation anxiety and only barks and whines when I leave the house or if she can not see me. I left for 15 minutes and she whined and barked when I left the house and I could still hear her whining and barking from outside my house when I came back. This product was on the whole time and it did nothing for her. It was like she didn't even care. I will be taking this back to the store.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>