petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for PetSafe Indoor Bark Control Ultrasonic Pet Training System

PetSafe Indoor Bark Control Ultrasonic Pet Training System

Stops your dog's constant barking almost like magicBarking activates unit, emitting a two-second ultrasonic sound only be heard by your dogStartled, your dog will soon associate this unpleasant sound with his behavior and curb unwanted barkingNo collar unit requiredModel PBC-1000
Average Customer Rating:
2.415 / 5
2.4
 / 
5
(147 Reviews) 147
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 147 reviews
5 stars
28
4 stars
21
3 stars
11
2 stars
11
1 star
76
60 out of 147(41%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer Reviews for PetSafe Indoor Bark Control Ultrasonic Pet Training System
Review 1 for PetSafe Indoor Bark Control Ultrasonic Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The "NO" Machine

PostedDecember 6, 2005
Customer Avatar
Moira H.
from Vancouver, WA
I bought this for my boxer mix who was having problems with seperation and being alone. He would cry and bark for hours, not minutes, after I would leave. I hate putting anything harmful or painful on my dogs so when I went looking for barking machines, I
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+78points
130of 182voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PetSafe Indoor Bark Control Ultrasonic Pet Training System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excessive barking has stopped.

PostedAugust 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
Shananigans
We have three female dogs all around 50 lbs. in the evenings they would bark at a car that drives passed our home, or somone out running on the side walks. There was no peace. This device has really changed our evenings at home. We only use the devise when we are all home in the evening. The barking excessive barking has stopped and we are relieved! I would recommend using this product to anyone that has multiple dogs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PetSafe Indoor Bark Control Ultrasonic Pet Training System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works for some dogs but not others

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
KatieC
from Memphis, TN
We got this back when we were in an apartment and discovered our dog Korra was barking like crazy due to separation anxiety. Our neighbors had a new baby so of course we needed to do something right away! We bought this in store and our dog *immediately* stopped barking. Thank goodness! She's a little afraid of the device now, which I feel bad about, but with thin walls and a baby next door, what else can you do? It does react to any loud noise, so it won't be any use in a high traffic or loud area of the house, but if you crate your dog in a quiet area, it'll only react to its barking so your dog will catch on pretty quickly. Korra's much calmer and more secure these days so we don't need it anymore, but we also tried it when we dog-sat for a cousin one week, and that dog wasn't affected at all. It was a fairly young and very hyper dog though, so I think it's not as effective for a dog that's really, really worked up. Overall it's worth a shot if you want a minimally invasive way to keep your dog from barking and for whatever reason don't have the time to train it out of them a different way.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PetSafe Indoor Bark Control Ultrasonic Pet Training System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Barkers don't work

PostedJune 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
Laura730
from FL
What a waste of money. I returned them the next week. $50 each and they don't make the dogs stop barking at all. Couldn't tell any difference with them at all. This product should not be sold.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PetSafe Indoor Bark Control Ultrasonic Pet Training System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Triggers when husband talks

PostedMay 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
PunkyPuggle
from San Diego
We got this when we found out our dogs were barking while we were gone during the day. It emits a sound we can only barely hear that does bug the dogs (sends them running tails down to their bed), but it doesn't always emit sound when they bark, only sometimes. However I am only giving this 1 'paw' because it also triggers when my husband TALKS. We have to leave the battery out, and unplug it when we are home (there is no off button) so we don't false correct them when we are talking. Then we have to remember to reconnect the battery when we leave. There is no 'sensitivity' setting on it. I would NOT recommend this product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PetSafe Indoor Bark Control Ultrasonic Pet Training System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

terrible

PostedMay 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
shaylynn36
from skiatook, ok
i have two chis and this product did not stop them from barking at all! big waste of money. they have to be right in front of it for it to go off, even then it does not make them stop barking.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PetSafe Indoor Bark Control Ultrasonic Pet Training System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Product

PostedApril 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
RoysMom311
from Charlotte, NC
I have used this product a few times now and it does work. I read tons of reviews on it and had mixed feelings so I figured I'd give it a try. My dog is a 10 month old, 65 lb, German Shepherd Lab mix who is the laziest dog and he rarely barks. I purchased this product to use while he's in his crate only while we're away. We live in a condo and receive fines for noise complaints (which we get EVERY TIME we leave him in his crate alone without us), so something had to be done and I refused to use a shock collar on him.
This product worked well for us to keep him from barking as he associated his bark with the annoying noise and would stop. He whined at first when he heard it and I could tell he wanted to bark but resisted. We don't hear the noise but I agree with some reviewers of the fact that you can almost feel when the device goes off. Since using the device we have not had any complaints from his barking and are only using it while he's in the crate so he associates the noise with barking in the crate only.
I understand why some reviewers said it didn't work if they had multiple dogs because the dogs wouldn't be aware of what was making the noise if multiple dogs are barking at once. Also the battery (which you have to buy separately BTW) has to be removed to turn it off otherwise it's on all the time. The noise is only triggered by a loud bark too, so make sure the device is near the dog but not directly next to them as the noise might be too loud. We leave the TV on for him as well as a noise machine and neither of those noises trigger the device.
I would definitely recommend this product to other dog owners and for the money...it's worth a shot :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PetSafe Indoor Bark Control Ultrasonic Pet Training System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works as intemded.

PostedApril 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
ICEGot
from Tacoma, WA
We're dogsitting for a friend out of town, and his Boxer has A LOT of separation anxiety. So much so that she barks for 5 minutes out of every 10. I figured this would be a non abrasive way to curb the barking without something drastic to our buddy's pup. So a couple of days into it, they still haven't figured out that it goes off when they bark. But they do stop right away when the system turns on. Can't really complain at all after coming from almost constant barking to random ones here and there (when someone walks in front of the house mostly). Anyway, it was well worth the $30 I paid for it on sale. Deducted one paw for not having an on/off switch. Really, whose idea was that?!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PetSafe Indoor Bark Control Ultrasonic Pet Training System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Waste fo money for no bark control

PostedMarch 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
smac72
from Denver, CO
The indoor bark control device does not work at all. This device picks up any sound around it. My dogs became used to the sound almost immediately and ignored it. They are still barking even with the device right next to them. I'm going to be returing this product for a refund.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PetSafe Indoor Bark Control Ultrasonic Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome product

PostedNovember 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
steffidad
from IL
I made my account here just to leave a review. We bought this at the store because our recently adopted dog barked soooo much while we're not at home. She would bark nonestop, and at least one person had to be at home allll the time. The machine worked great, and dog seems very disturbed by the sound so far. She barks once or twice in 1-2 hours now. It detects mostly loud barking only, so it teaches the dog to bark quietly. We are soo happy with the purchase. Thanks petsafe !
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
10of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PetSafe Indoor Bark Control Ultrasonic Pet Training System
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

a joke to dogs

PostedOctober 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
APRICHARD
from Georgia
I have 3 dogs(2 Boxers & a Chihuahua). One of my Boxers acknowledged it by turning his head when it would 'go off' but my other boxer and chihuahua, nothing... I mean if they could laugh, I'm pretty sure they would have laughed at it. Especially considering my other boxer tried to eat it... If you don't have a stubborn dog, it should work just fine for your dog but then again if you don't have a stubborn dog you probably don't have a barking problem lol
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PetSafe Indoor Bark Control Ultrasonic Pet Training System
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Needs New Design

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
dianadoglvr
from Maple Park, IL
This dog barking system needs a more convenient design. It has no on and off switch so you have to completely take out the battery each time you want it to shut off. I'm afraid after several times of disconnecting the battery the wires will totally break off.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PetSafe Indoor Bark Control Ultrasonic Pet Training System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
dashund
from Addison, IL
I bought this product as a recommendation from the store. It worked for the first 40 days and then my dog became immune to it. The store only offers a 30 day return policy and when i told them about my 7lb dog becomming immune to it after 40 days they did not want to help me return it or find a different unit. Do not purchase this product
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PetSafe Indoor Bark Control Ultrasonic Pet Training System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

DON'T BOTHER

PostedMay 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
unhappycustomerinmd
from frederick, md
i had read the reviews on this product and figured let me give it a try...i have a large dog...and augi, Sheppard who is 5 months old and loves barking at everything...once i got home and put the battery in the product and placed it by the dog...he started barking and u could see he heard a noise but it didnt faze him...he continued to bark and just didnt seem to care...we have had it for 3 days and thank goodness i have my receipt cause it is going back to the store...petco should take this bad product off their shelves
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for PetSafe Indoor Bark Control Ultrasonic Pet Training System
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

This product sort of works

PostedMay 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Angelf1sh
from Sanford, NC
The barking has not stopped. It doesn't continue as long as it did before, but it still happens and goes on and on.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for PetSafe Indoor Bark Control Ultrasonic Pet Training System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works Great

PostedMay 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
imarite
from CA
Works great for my medium barker dog. She caught on in only a few moments that her barking was causing the unpleasant noise. I agree that it needs an on/off switch. There are times I don't mind her barking when we play,so I have to take the battery out. That's why I gave it only 4 paws instead of 5.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for PetSafe Indoor Bark Control Ultrasonic Pet Training System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Quiet Household at Last

PostedApril 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
my2babys
from South Dakota
I have 2 little yappers (a doxie and iggy) that loved to bark at everything outside their window. We lived near a park so we have a lot of comings and goings. With a lot of doubt, we bought this product. We can always return it if it doesn't work - Right? Well, it did cut down on a lot of their barking. They or one will do their one bark and stop. Alot of reviewers say it doesn't work, but it did work in our case. So I am guessing it will stay with us. Finally, a quiet house!! Would of gave this a 5 paws if it did have an off/on switch.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for PetSafe Indoor Bark Control Ultrasonic Pet Training System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Petsafe Indoor Bark Control Does Not Work

PostedApril 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
POPP11
I've had this product about 2 weeks and so far it has not caused any kind of 'control' with the 3 dogs we have. We paid $33 for it, which is too much for a product that does not work. I will be returning it to Petco for a refund. It only works if you press the button on the top.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for PetSafe Indoor Bark Control Ultrasonic Pet Training System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not worth it

PostedApril 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
afuerst
from Holland, NJ
We have 4 dogs. Tried this instead of getting 4 individual collars so 1) all the dogs didn't have to have collars on and 2) 4 collars = a LOT of money. Should have went w/the collars. We bought it well over a year ago and even put it up after it didn't work and brought it back out later to see if maybe for whatever reason. NOPE. It would go off when the barked, They would look at it so i know they heard it and then continued to bark!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for PetSafe Indoor Bark Control Ultrasonic Pet Training System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

no

PostedApril 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
BIZZYLUV
from ORLANDO
my mother sent this exact product to me after i was telling her how my neighbor complained that my dog barked non-stop until i got home one night.. i didn't know what to do, so she tried to help me out and i was very excited when i receved it in the mail.. well the only thing it did was cause my dog to look in the direction of the unit *while she kept barking* lol so NO it didn't stop her barking. i ended up movng her kennel to the furthest room from the wall shared by my neighbor and left some soft music on in that room so maybe she wouldnt hear any noises from outside (that may cause her to react) ... i guess it worked because when i saw my neighbor again i asked if she was barking while i was at work, he said he didnt hear anything.. all i do know is that this product didn't work for me
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
User submitted photo
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>