petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Exo-Terra Glass Terrarium

Exo-Terra Glass Terrarium

Spacious glass terrarium equipped with front window ventilationDual doors for escape-free accessSpecially designed with waterproof bottom with raised frameScreen top allows for ample UV and infrared light penetrationConvenient closeable wire and tube inlets for adding electrical componentsIdeal for use as desert reptile terrariumThis item ships via freight carrier. Free shipping, if applicable, includes curbside delivery only.
Average Customer Rating:
4.69 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 29 reviews
5 stars
21
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
29 out of 29(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
78 Questions | 49 Answers
Customer Reviews for Exo-Terra Glass Terrarium
Review 1 for Exo-Terra Glass Terrarium
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedAugust 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
MamaGratch
from Brinnon, WA
I was worried the tank would be damaged in shipping as it is mostly glass. I was pleasantly surprised, no damage. Very large, lots of room for our 12 year old corn snake. I like the removable screen top and the safety lock on the big front doors keeps him safely inside. The fake rock wall on the back of the tank looks real. Very Happy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Exo-Terra Glass Terrarium
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My wife thinks that I own too many...

PostedAugust 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
MasterChefDarylNasser
from Las Vegas, NV
I own 7 terrariums and one of them is a vivarium.
The Exo Terra terrariums that I own start from the 12"x12"x12" all the way up to the 36"x18"x18" . Do I own too many, I think not. All of these terrariums are in my Living room and we still have 11 more rooms to go. I used to have 2 fish tanks as terrariums then I moved up to the Exo Terra terrariums and have never looked back. I have NEVER had a single problem with this product. I am a Master Chef and take pride in my food as in my hobbies.
Chef D.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Exo-Terra Glass Terrarium
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Locks??

PostedAugust 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
PetLover257
This isnt exactly a review, but a Q.........do these terrariums have locks?? i want to get a larger one for a Ball Python and its got to have locks (just cuz snakes are escape artists and all)
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Exo-Terra Glass Terrarium
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice habitats...

PostedFebruary 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
Majic13
I love these. I have 2 male Leopard Geckos, so I bought 2 of them. They sit side-by-side, so the two of them are aware of each other, but can't fight. They are a much better environment than the converted fish tank I was using. I like the pseudo rock wall. It adds a nice touch to the environment and they can actually climb on it. One of them loves to climb so he's on the wall regularly, which he couldn't do with the all glass tank. They seem to be enjoying their new environment.
One of the terrariums arrived with a broken piece of glass. I called Petco and they sent a replacement right away without hassle.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Exo-Terra Glass Terrarium
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

extra wide, extra tall 36x36x18 Terrarium

PostedJanuary 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
OregonSnakeLover
from Oregon
VERY satisfied with the product itself. None of the local stores had it in stock and I had to have it shipped. My only complaint is that nothing on the shipped box indicated that it was "fragile" or "glass". It arrived via FedEx in a large truck. The driver assisted and when told it was glass, he had a very shocked look on his face. There was a small area of damage to the packaging but the tank was fine. Might be a good idea to clearly label a tank of this size if it is to shipped.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+17points
17of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Exo-Terra Glass Terrarium
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Exo-terra Glass Terrarium

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
breezy33
from Cincinnati, OH
The terrarium is a great product and would be a great home for my sons bearded dragon
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
9of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Exo-Terra Glass Terrarium
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome design

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Coolada
from Huntington, NY
Great design! Easy access for feeding our pacman frog without having to remove the top screen as in a standard glass tank. Great quality and fast shipping! Would highly recommend Exo-Terra terrariums.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Exo-Terra Glass Terrarium
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Attractive and roomy

PostedOctober 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Zenith
from Philly, PA
We were glad that the terrarium arrived unbroken, as we were concerned about having a large glass item shipped, but it was packed well and arrived in perfect condition. It is roomy enough for our one gecko, and with assorted decor items (not included), is very attractive. The 'rock wall' included as background is rather cheap looking and can break easily. The front doors make set up, cleaning and feeding much easier. The plastic and mesh top is very very flimsy however. I would prefer a more heavy duty screen for this purpose.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Exo-Terra Glass Terrarium
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Turtlees?

PostedMay 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
YurtletheTurtle
from New York,NY
Is this a ok/good terrarium for a turtle,i know in specific not this one but just this design,not size just design.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-14points
14of 42voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Exo-Terra Glass Terrarium
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Exo-Terra Glass Terrarium - Large Low

PostedMay 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
NYGecko
from Deer Park , New York
I purchased this terrarium as a upgrade from a 18x18x18 and Exo-Terra make a great product and the only 2 cons i have is the foam backround should be a better fit without knotches for feeders to get behind from the bottom or top where it meets the screen , and also with the large low terrarium it seems like the top support rail where the doors are should have a center brace or made a little bit more sturdy because mine seems a little twisted and looks like it could either break or become hard to lock in the future.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
5of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Exo-Terra Glass Terrarium
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product, misleading description

PostedDecember 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
HappyHousewife2007
from Oden, AR
The first one we orderd arrived completely broken- glass was everywhere in the box. I don't know if the fault was with Petco or the shipping company.
We got the replacement terrarium yesterday and it's quite lovely. We are housing a tiny baby Fence Lizard in it (about 1" body length) and it's plenty large enough for him to grow into. The little guy is rather lost at the moment!
It seems very sturdy and has a total of six accessory ports (three on each side) with a nice, tight, sliding cover to push over the ones that aren't in use. The locking mechanism for the doors is just tight enough to keep our small children out, but not a pain for an adult to operate, one-handed.
I just have a couple of small problems.
First of all, the background is basically just a piece of carved, painted foam. It looks very pretty, but isn't "grippy" enough for a lizard like ours. It's fairly smooth with just a few large crevices. Fence Lizards are good climbers (thanks to their long toes), but this background doesn't provide enough small crevices for him to grab onto. It's something to keep in mind if you have a smaller, "non-sticky" toed climber.
Secondly, the doors themselves are a bit tight. I know they need to close securely, but I feel like I'm going to break them when I close them completely.
Lastly and really the most annoying, is that the description of the top is a bit misleading. It says only that it's a "mesh" top. In reality, it's a mesh top divided into two sections (side to side). The divider is plastic. This means that the "mini" dome lights I ordered online will not work with this top. They're only 4" across and they still touch the plastics. The terrarium was obviously designed to fit the "Compact Top PT2225" ONLY and it would have been nice to have been advised of that before ordering. I'm not looking forward to shelling out a wad of extra cash for the TWO PT2225s that I'm going to need.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+23points
24of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Exo-Terra Glass Terrarium
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

ExoTerra terrarium

PostedNovember 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
KP60
from Salt Lake City, Utah
This terrarium arrived in excellent condition. Setup was easy and it appears to be built to last many years.
Excellent!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Exo-Terra Glass Terrarium
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Almost Perfect Terrarium

PostedOctober 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
RyanR
from San Diego, CA
I've had an Exo Terra terrarium (36w x 18d x 12h) for quite a while. I've looked into a lot of enclosures for my python, and this one is almost perfect. The ONLY problem I can find with this terrarium is the door specifically the latch/lock. To be fair, I love the front opening and the latch are perfect. The problem is that with the Exo Terra lock installed, the door can be unlatched and opened more than enough to allow a fully grown ball python to escape. Granted, as long as you ensure the door is latched AND locked, there's not really a problem. Just use the lock as a back up to a properly latched door. I would hope that any python parent would at least be conscientious enough to remember to latch the door, especially if you've spent this kind of money on a terrarium.
Aside from that, I love the fact that the screen lid clips on and has the pass-through openings for thermometers and hygrometers. The background looks a lot better in person than in the photos. Unlike the majority of terrariums on the market, this is constructed of extremely thick glass. It's easily 1/4 in thick, which means it's heavy, so lift with your legs. One of my favorite things about Exo Terra products is that they look great, and this terrarium is no exception. It's stylish, very well made, and if you use the Exo Terra light canopy and thermometers/hygrometers, it looks very well designed. All together, the only thing stopping me from giving this a 5 star rating is the fact that the door will open even with the lock engaged.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
13of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Exo-Terra Glass Terrarium
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great features

PostedOctober 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
reptilefreak
from dallas, tx
This Terrarium is awesome, it is a little hard to setup as far putting the substrate in and getting the wires ran behind the background but other than that it is awesome. The biggest draw back is the background doesnt go all the way to the top so feeder crickts get in behind the background and die/eat the background. when they die it attracts mites and doesnt smell very good either. That is why I didnt give it 5 paws.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Exo-Terra Glass Terrarium
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
eyelashlove
from indianapolis
I have 3 terriums for my crested geckos im also going to buy a low for my pac man frog . Need a bigger area for him.thanks for what you do n keep it up.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Exo-Terra Glass Terrarium
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great features & easy access

PostedSeptember 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
snaksrus
from ca
Very pleased with exo terra's design. Included background is definitely a bonus. Front access with the latchable double doors is great. Will buy exo terra products in the future.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Exo-Terra Glass Terrarium
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is my favorite brand of terrarium.

PostedSeptember 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Poochcockatillia
from Utah
I own a small and a mini tall exoterra and I love them both! I perfer exo-terras door design over any alternative brands. They are overall great terrariums and I would highly recommend one for any type of reptile!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Exo-Terra Glass Terrarium
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome little home for my snake

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mel2190
from Saint Paul, MN
I bought this when my ball python was a couple months old. He is now one year and he still has room. I could see him needing a bigger one eventually, but for now it works just fine. I have the one that is extra wide and shorter. Nothing has broken or anything in the time I have had it. It seems to be made very well. Haven't had any problems. Except that they put a sticker on the inside of the glass when they package it, that was kind of a pain.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Exo-Terra Glass Terrarium
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awsome Product

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Reptillluver
from Orlando, FL
This product is ideal for my crested gecko he loves it. Its height is perfect so he can jump around and clinb freely. I encourage you to try this with other reptiles such as leopard gecko,beardies,etc its great. You wont regret it!! :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Exo-Terra Glass Terrarium
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exo-Terra Glass Terrarium

PostedAugust 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
leelyn
from Roanoke Rapids, NC
Wonderful product for my red eyed tree frogs. They love it and it's easy to clean.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>