petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Solvit Deluxe Tagalong Bicycle Basket for Dogs

Solvit Deluxe Tagalong Bicycle Basket for Dogs

Shoulder strap turns basket into portable carrierRemovable sun shadeAdjustable pet safety leashUnique bracket system makes it easy to take the basket on and off a bicycle
Average Customer Rating:
4.462 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 13 reviews
5 stars
8
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
12 out of 13(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for Solvit Deluxe Tagalong Bicycle Basket for Dogs
Review 1 for Solvit Deluxe Tagalong Bicycle Basket for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect! 10lb dog

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Macomb
Great for 10lb dog! Easy to put together! Very sturdy!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Solvit Deluxe Tagalong Bicycle Basket for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is very good

PostedJuly 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
from N. Dakota
Only problem with it is the bottom strut, plastic.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Solvit Deluxe Tagalong Bicycle Basket for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is perfect

PostedJune 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Ukiah, Ca
This was a great item that I bought. My little guy was hesitant at first, but now he loves it. Only had one problem with this item, the hardware. They are way to small to tightened, and in small places. Very sturdy item, doesn't move when he moves, there are alot of safety features on this item, not only does it have hardware to attach item, it also has straps to secure it to your handlebars. Suggestion: include tightening wrench to tighten nut in the small places. Great item!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Solvit Deluxe Tagalong Bicycle Basket for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solvit Deluxe lots of plus'.

PostedJune 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Crystal Lake Illinois
I boutht this carrier and WOW, my 10lb dashound loved it. Too bad someone else liked it and decided to take it out of my garage and the bike with it. But,, we ordered another one! It was worth it. Made well, strong. Tie clips could be a little more reliable. Everything has a fix to it. Good ole valcrow.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Solvit Deluxe Tagalong Bicycle Basket for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very sturdy , good quality !

PostedJune 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Lake Worth , florida
Sturdy , roomy and have ton of pockets
. Not to happy about the shade it too flimsy hardly stay on for the short ride . Over all it a good product .
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Solvit Deluxe Tagalong Bicycle Basket for Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

My 20 pound dog can enjoy it!

PostedMay 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Alexandria, VA
Bought this mainly for the size and also due to the review of someone using this for both their 13 pound dogs. My dog is about 20 pounds and fits in here, but has no room to turn around unfortunately. I was estatic to try this out once I received it. I had a pro bike shop put on the mount even though it's easy enough for someone to do at home. I tried this out yesterday and my dog seemed to enjoy it. There were times she tried to stand, but due to the length of the harness strap there wasn't much leeway to sit up too much (which is good since she couldn't jump out). But she sat there for the hour long ride while her ears flopped in the wind.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Solvit Deluxe Tagalong Bicycle Basket for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works very well

PostedJanuary 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
from South, Florida
I ordered this basket because when I was shopping it was the largest one I could find. I have 2 small dogs each about 13lbs. I was not sure if it would work because of the weight limits, but it works just fine. I can fit one dog comfortably in the basket. It is stable when I ride. The dogs do not have room to move around a lot, but they can sit comfortably inside. The dogs are a cockapoo and bichon. Both enjoy their rides in the basket.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Solvit Deluxe Tagalong Bicycle Basket for Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works great!

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bought this for my almost 14 lbs pug mix. Requires a bit of assembling using a screwdriver. Once secured, I put my dog in it and he loves it. Have tried it twice so far, both on 10+ mile bike rides and it has worked fine. I know it says for dogs up to 13 lbs but it seemed fine for my dog who is pushing the upper limit of weight capacity for this basket. I also bought the Snoozer buddy basket which is supposed to be fine for dogs up to 15 lbs but it wasn't as sturdy as this one and the basket seemed to wobble a lot with the dog in it so I returned it and kept this one instead. So far very pleased with the purchase. It also has a lot of pockets to store items while biking. Great item, much better than I expected.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
12of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Solvit Deluxe Tagalong Bicycle Basket for Dogs
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Unfortunately it didn't work

PostedJuly 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Chicago, IL
I used this bike basket about three times before I realized I needed to return it. I was orignially very happy with it because it was easy to put together, sturdy, and easilly fit my 12lb Dachshund. After the first use however, the brace that holds the basket up continued to slip out and the basket would then sag. I thought this may have been just a one time thing but the third time I used the basket it happened repeatedly and it made it very difficult to get home. I was sad to return it because my dog LOVED riding in the basket.
Thankfully the in-store return was easy and hassle free!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Solvit Deluxe Tagalong Bicycle Basket for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this product!!

PostedMarch 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Mississippi
I have 13lb dachshund who wants to go everywhere with me. She absolutely loves going for bike rides now. She will ride as long as I will and then when I stop she does NOT want to get out. If your little pal loves the outdoors he/she will love this too!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Solvit Deluxe Tagalong Bicycle Basket for Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not for a scooter!

PostedSeptember 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Greenwich, CT
This dog basket is only for REGULAR BIKES and not for scooters. I bought it for my boyfriend's scooter and didn't fit but it is sturdy.
I wish someone would sell one for a scooter/motorcycle!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Solvit Deluxe Tagalong Bicycle Basket for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

They designed this just for dogs!

PostedJuly 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Ohio
This is a great product, my dog loves it! We bike all the time, now! She loves to feel the wind in her face! She is 9 lbs, and she fits perfectly! There are so many pockets to carry everything we need for the day! The sunshade is great to keep somewhat shaded! This product is just all around fun!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Solvit Deluxe Tagalong Bicycle Basket for Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This really did "Solvit"

PostedJune 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
from San Jose, CA
If you are looking for a bike basket that is safe, stable, and reliable then put this in your cart! My husband got me a bicycle for my birthday and immediately I started researching to find the perfect basket for my 5lb Chihuahua. I even went as far as calling local pet stores and boutiques and nowhere did I find a basket that met my criteria as well as this one did! Shipping was fast and assembly was a cinch! What sets this basket apart from all the others is that this one has a unique bracket system that holds the basket firmly in place rather than just hooking to the handle bars and tilting forward. My pup and her ride stay well in place going up/downhill, even over speed bumps. The pockets are great for storing anything and everything you need while you are out and about. I can easily fit my Smartphone, small purse (wristlet), keys, retractable leash with bag attachment, extra bags, treats, 2 coil bike locks, and a water bottle and still have room! The bonus with this product is that it has a detachable sunshade which is PERFECT for my environmentally sensitive pooch! The only reason why I gave this product a 4/5 is the "padding" it came with was essentially cardboard wrapped in vinyl but that was easily fixed with a blanket. Overall, we're very satisfied with this product and my little bug loves it! Just remember: always take in consideration the dimensions and the build of your pet. I believe the product is rated for 13lbs but I think a small 10lbs would be the limit. Never leave your pet unattended in the basket while on a bike or leave the basket unattended period because someone will want this thing! And ALWAYS wear a helmet and sunscreen and apply pet friendly sunscreen to your dog’s ears, nose and head if possible! :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+61points
61of 61voted this as helpful.