petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petmate Ultra Traditional Vari Kennel Portable Kennel

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Petmate Ultra Traditional Vari Kennel Portable Kennel

Extra durable, versatile Vari Kennels are perfect for training and travelingEasy to assemble plastic dog kennel made with durable metal hardwareMeets most airline requirements for flight-friendly dog kennelsWire doors with an easy-open squeeze latch and metal side vents to promote healthy air flow
Average Customer Rating:
4.679 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(53 Reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 53 reviews
5 stars
43
4 stars
5
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
1
52 out of 53(98%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Petmate Ultra Traditional Vari Kennel Portable Kennel
Review 1 for Petmate Ultra Traditional Vari Kennel Portable Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This one holds an active pit-lab mix!

PostedMay 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Norbertsperson
from DC
Alvin ate his way out of two of the wire crates, but this plastic one has held him so far. The XL is huge, but it works.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petmate Ultra Traditional Vari Kennel Portable Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Nice Crate

PostedMay 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
mzee
from Minnesota
I have always admired the quality of the Vari Kennel brand (now part of Petmate). The last crate I bought from Vari Kennel was originally for a dog that was born in 1986 and used by other dogs later. This last crate lasted 27 years and was going strong although the door spring was finally failing and a new puppy had figured out how to lean into it and pop the door and escape.
I decided to replace the old Vari Kennel with this new one (although I wondered if the quality would still be there). I am happy to report that the Vari Kennel quality is intact and they have even added some improvements to the door and to lug nuts that hold it together.
Very satisfied with this new kennel and the price was absolutely great on Petco.com.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petmate Ultra Traditional Vari Kennel Portable Kennel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Quality and Price

PostedApril 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Potcake
from Florida
Good quality for a decent price. Crates are used frequently for transporting rescued dogs via airplane. Quick order delivery and no problems when a crate arrives damaged (happened only once). We exchanged it at the local store without a problem.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petmate Ultra Traditional Vari Kennel Portable Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product and price

PostedApril 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lena11
from Upstate New York
I researched these crates for a while, and this one is, by far, the least expensive. But the price doesn't affect the good quality. It's replacing a crate we already had, that is almost identical, just getting old (almost 20 years). I checked for similar crates elsewhere, and they were between $100 and $200. At less than $100 and free shipping, this was a great bargain -- and a great product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petmate Ultra Traditional Vari Kennel Portable Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Has all the recommended features

PostedApril 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
barkingJava
from Chicago IL
My dog will be traveling on a plane in this kennel, so I did ALOT of research before purchasing.
This kennel has all the features that everyone mentions: Construction; vents; easy open latch; holes for zip-tie; metal screws.
The kennel is very sturdy, and is easy to assemble (and disassemble). It comes with extra screws, but no 'Live Animal' sign or water holder.
I purchased the XL (sometimes called a 500 series) to give my dog extra room - but beware that some airlines cannot accommodate this size.
The 35x22 Petco Premium Orthopedic Dog Mat fits almost perfectly, and my dog prefers to sleep in the kennel than in her bed. Make sure to get your pet accustomed to the kennel before travel.
Very satisfied - and dog approved.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petmate Ultra Traditional Vari Kennel Portable Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

solid kennel

PostedApril 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
kennelbuyer
from dallas, tx
I have a baby Australian Shepherd and she loves this kennel. It is well priced and solidly made. The door does shut on it's own like some previous reviews have said, but that's kind of a minor issue for us (she's figured out how to open it on her own as well). Quick delivery, good price, and wonderful product. Would definitely recommend!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petmate Ultra Traditional Vari Kennel Portable Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding Indoor Dog Kennel

PostedApril 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
EarlG
from Oxford, CT
This is a well-designed, well-constructed, virtually indestructible product when not abused,easily put together intuitively even without the clear instructions that come with it; and, I assume, with being able to obtain replacement parts (e.g., gates, screws, bolts) from the manufacture. The price is reasonable for this long-lasting dog kennel,
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petmate Ultra Traditional Vari Kennel Portable Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This crate is awesome!

PostedApril 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
meridon2000
from Raleigh, NC
I got this crate for my 1 year old hound mix. He is an escape artist and was hurting himself escaping from him metal/wire crates. This crate was recommended to me by a friend who was in a similar situation, and it has lived up to my expectations so far! While he does get anxious in the crate and try to chew the front pieces, he will not be able to get out in any way that I can see in the near future. Hopefully the crate holds up! The metal bars on the sides keep him from working the plastic there, which has been great!
Also, I should note that he appears to like this crate much more than he liked the metal/wire crates that we tried previously. He won't leave it at night and views it as his "safe place" that he can retreat to when he's scared (thunderstorms etc.). This crate is awesome!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petmate Ultra Traditional Vari Kennel Portable Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Petmate Ultra Traditional Vari Kennel Portable Kennel

PostedApril 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
BassetHoundMomma
I love this portable kennel. My puppy fits comfortably in the kennel and has plenty of room to turn around, play and sleep. He likes his kennel, goes into the kennel voluntarily and has now associated the kennel as his den (although he would prefer to sleep with mommy- but no can do- he is in the potty training process). This crate is far superior than the mesh, non plastic carriers. Puppies can chew, scratch, bite the mesh and even turn the carrier upside down due to the light weight. However, this kennel is sturdy, secure and safe.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petmate Ultra Traditional Vari Kennel Portable Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value

PostedMarch 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
LuvCorgis
from Carlisle, PA
Every year our club gives this crate as the grand prize at our Specialty's Welcome Reception. It is a very durable crate and the perfect size for our breed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petmate Ultra Traditional Vari Kennel Portable Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My dog loves her new home

PostedMarch 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
qpwoeiruty
from Bellevue, WA
We just adopted a whippet/minpin, and were trying to get along with no crate (our other two dogs never had one). But our Dolly just loves her own home. She goes to bed on her own when she's tired and sleeps soundly all night.
We measured carefully, and the crate is the one recommended. If I did it again, I'd probably get the next size larger so she could have more blankets and a pillow to keep her warmer, but this one works great inside.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petmate Ultra Traditional Vari Kennel Portable Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

nice crate

PostedJanuary 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
kalvan
from NC
Very nice crate for the money, and easy to assemble. The color is a Clean looking off white.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petmate Ultra Traditional Vari Kennel Portable Kennel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Crate

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
puplove1234
from CT
Overall, this crate is perfect. The heavy duty plastic withstands puppy nibbles. Good to have the side views on either side of crate. Only dislike is that the door swings shut very easily. Have to prop the door open to let him check it out. Swung shut a few times and spooked him a bit...He's only 8 weeks. If this is suppose to be his safe place as he gets older, I suppose he's going to have to learn to swing the door open when unlatched.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petmate Ultra Traditional Vari Kennel Portable Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A standard piece of furniture at our house

PostedJanuary 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
ShariPDX
from Oregon
We have had Vari-Kennels for our dogs for over 30 years.
Our standard size English Bull Terriers have used the 300
or "intermediate" size for travel in the car because there
is less room inside for the dog to bounce around in.
The 400 or "large" size Vari-Kennels are used in the house
as dog dens, so they have a secure place of their own when
they want to rest or just get away from it all. During the
day in the house the kennel doors are open, but at night
we close them.
We use various sizes of bed pillows and cases inside the
kennels for comfort. They are cheap, washable, and easily
replaced.
These kennels are washable, seemingly unbreakable, have
good air circulation and all of our dogs over the years have
loved them.
We still have our first Vari-Kennel that we bought back in
the early 1980's, and just added a third one from Petco last
week. It arrived in perfect condition, was easy to assemble,
and the newer hardware is much easier on the fingers than
the old style was.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petmate Ultra Traditional Vari Kennel Portable Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

petmate kennel

PostedDecember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
CRIKET
from hildebran nc
I bought a exlarge petmate kennel when it was on sale and if they every have another sale like this one I will buy a few more .I love it thank you petco
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petmate Ultra Traditional Vari Kennel Portable Kennel
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good Product but very bad packaging.

PostedDecember 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
JPPHX
from Phoenix, AZ
The kennel arrived broken. No padding inside the box. We tried getting exchange, but after many days, still no responses from vendor. We decided to return at store & buy a new one. Got it in a day (still no padding). I guess vendor cares more about new sale than exchange. We are happy with the crate, but they should improve the packaging.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petmate Ultra Traditional Vari Kennel Portable Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Petmate Ultra Vari Kennel

PostedDecember 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Luette
from Port Angeles WA
I recently purchased this Kennel for my German Shepherd puppy. Very nice construction, solid heavy door. I was pleased with this kennel and it is large enough to be very comfortable, properly constructed to be safe.
Thanks
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petmate Ultra Traditional Vari Kennel Portable Kennel
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not good quality

PostedDecember 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
kaneibert
from Seattle, WA
The kennel arrived damaged and unusable. After returning the kennel to a local store, it was quite clear that the quality of the shipped kennel was significantly inferior to the brands stocked in the store.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petmate Ultra Traditional Vari Kennel Portable Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just right!

PostedNovember 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Gram2
from CT
Just like Goldilocks we were looking for a kennel for our mini Labradoodle. Her first kennel was too small and the large one we already had was too big. This intermediate was just right! It sits next to our recliner and doubles as an end table so the top holds a beverage and the TV remote.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petmate Ultra Traditional Vari Kennel Portable Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Petmate Vari Kennel

PostedNovember 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Biggles
from OK
Great Product ... Perfect for Airline Travel ...
Love that they have added venting in the back of kennel.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>