petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for PetSafe Elite Big Dog Bark Control Collar

PetSafe Elite Big Dog Bark Control Collar

Automatically deters annoying barking with static correctionEasy to use - no manual settings10 adjustable levels of static correction to stop excessive barkingWaterproof and durableLow-battery indicator and LED indicator when a static correction is being deliveredModel: PBC00-12725
Average Customer Rating:
3.25 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
4
7 out of 12(58%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer Reviews for PetSafe Elite Big Dog Bark Control Collar
Review 1 for PetSafe Elite Big Dog Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not for Long Haired Dogs

PostedJuly 13, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Brentwood, TN
I am unhappy with this product. I have a long haired Australian Shepard. She has been trained on a fence containment system that uses the same static correction method as this collar. The fence collar uses longer lead prongs so that the collar can reach her neck through her coat and it works like a dream. We bought this product and it had no effect on her until we had her hair groomed very short for the summer heat. The collar was able to reach her neck for about 3-4 days and then was ineffective again. After reaching out to Petsafe, they basically conceded that the collar will not work on long haired dogs and that I need to keep my dogs neck hair shaved or use “Vaseline” to help the prongs reach the neck. To me these are unacceptable work arounds. Please be warned if you have a dog with long hair, the product is ineffective.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PetSafe Elite Big Dog Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

battery life is disappointing

PostedMay 29, 2015
Customer Avatar
from cordova, tn
Its only been a couple weeks, and the first battery is already dead. The short life span of the battery is going to make this an extremely expensive collar. Next time I will try spending a little more and get one that has a rechargeable battery. That being said, it has slowed our Boxer's barking down. It has not stopped the unnecessary barking yet but I am hopeful.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PetSafe Elite Big Dog Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

had the problem i read about

PostedMarch 8, 2015
Customer Avatar
had to take it back was ineffective on both dogs, fortunately the cheaper petsafe product still works
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PetSafe Elite Big Dog Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

All in all great product so far!

PostedSeptember 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Utah
I was skeptical as I have a very independent purebred German shepherd. Usually nothing scares her or stops her. She is our digger as well and escape artist. Well we have lovely neighbors who complained about barking in our apartment complex so we were one of the ones warned. I didn't want to get rid of her so we decided to give this a try. It has worked really well. It takes a bit of figuring out as I was thinking you would manually set it to the frequency, but it actually learns it's own frequency whenever she barks. She has figured out how to lightly bark with it on without it shocking her, but it's not too bad. All in all we are pleased with it. She definitely doesn't bark as much without it on whenever we are outside next to other dogs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PetSafe Elite Big Dog Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Did Not Work

PostedMarch 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
from WA
This product did not work. My dog slowed down the barking for a few days then just ignored the collar and kept barking. Waste of money
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PetSafe Elite Big Dog Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

long time dog owner

PostedMarch 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Fresno, CA
The Pet Safe Elite Big Dog Bark Control collar worked better on two big dogs than any previous collar. We stopped alternating and bought a second Big Dog collar. All is quiet now no matter how many loose dogs are around the fenced in yard!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PetSafe Elite Big Dog Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

The Collar That Keeps on Taking

PostedMarch 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Des Moines, IA
Purchased this for over $100 for my dog because of the high ratings that the sales person gave it. Using it for 12 hours a day to break a barking habit the batteries died in 3 days. Went to replace batteries and instead of buying two small tab batteries for a couple bucks, you have to replace them in a "holder" for $10-$12 each time. To top it off, none of the local stores had the battery pack in stock. Bought another collar at a competitor for $29 with batteries I can buy anywhere and had the dog quiet within three days on ONE set of batteries that cost me $2.99 total. Will NEVER buy another PetSafe product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PetSafe Elite Big Dog Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT Dog Bark Control Collar

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
from San Juan Puerto Rico
My Pitbull will bark at any noise since I started using this product she barely bark my neighbor is happy now great product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PetSafe Elite Big Dog Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very Effective!

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Connecticut
This is my third collar, the most expensive, and the ONLY one that has worked. My 80 pound lab knew something was up immediately, and by the third day, he is barking only to get back into the house. I had some trouble with the on/off switch. Do not turn it past the "on" position, or the battery will fall out.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PetSafe Elite Big Dog Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedMay 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
from NH
It really does work at reducing barking without using something like shock.
The packaging is confusing, as it does not describe the method of "Static Control". In stores they think it is shock that is being used.
I even had to come back home and recheck the web site for the details of barking deterrence.
It works so well, now I need to get 2 more for my other dogs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
11of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PetSafe Elite Big Dog Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PetSafe Elite Dog Bark Collar Rocks!

PostedDecember 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Cypress, TX
THIS REALLY DOES WORK! For anyone who is unsure, this one works. I was really uncertain especially since it is the most expensive. I have two shellties and moved to a community where the neighbors are close and walkers walk behind our home. So....I was pretty despirate. I bought one to try, saved the box and receipt ready to take back for a refund. I found that although one dog didn't bark the other one did. Ok, so now I need two. Saved that box and receipt as well. Much to my surprise, if you FOLLOW DIRECTIONS and only allow one finger between the collar and neck it REALLY WORKS! That is the real trick. I felt like a bad mom with the first outburst. You know it works because they let out a little yipe the first time or two. If you look at the big picture, it is nice to sit on the porch with NO barking. Yoda still runs along the fence and would like to bark but knows better. It does not affect their doggie spirit, they just know better.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+29points
30of 31voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PetSafe Elite Big Dog Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What a Relief

PostedJune 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Fair Oaks, CA
Before purchasing the collar I was having to bring our dog in 4 to 5 times a day and at night because of her barking. Amazingly after just a few "warnings" and "lessons" from the collar, she minds with a verbal warning. We should have purchased the collar years ago.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+45points
66of 87voted this as helpful.