petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bergan Car Pet Travel Barrier

Bergan Car Pet Travel Barrier

Versatile pet barrier for car rides with your furry friendHelps keep pets safely in the back seatUpper and lower vents promote healthy air circulationDual layer 600D polyester construction ensures long lasting durabilityFlexible dog car barrier adjusts to most car seats
Average Customer Rating:
4.056 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 18 reviews
5 stars
10
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
1
14 out of 18(78%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Bergan Car Pet Travel Barrier
Review 1 for Bergan Car Pet Travel Barrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great for my 2 boxers

PostedAugust 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Imperial, MO
Very happy with this product, we struggled with our boxers standing on the center council, which is not safe for them or us. The pet barrier keeps them safely in the back seat, while still allowing them to see us. Also the design of the barrier makes it easy to install and the mesh allows air to circulate to the back of the car.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Bergan Car Pet Travel Barrier
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Doesn't work for my dog

PostedMay 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Marine city Mi
I was hoping this would keep my little Lasa Apso in the back. The first time using it and she jumped right over it. I travel long distances to visit family and can't have her in the front as the window doesn't lock. It may work for some dogs but not mine. Wasted my money on it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Bergan Car Pet Travel Barrier
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Maybe for smaller dogs...

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Wausau, WI
We have a Weimaraner that we take everywhere. He is very good in the car except that he likes to stand on the middle console inbetween the two front seats. Over time, he has gotten a little too far forward so we were trying to find something to keep him in the back seat. This product did not work for our situation. I installed the barrier and the very first thing my dog did was put his two front paws over it onto the middle console. It appears that it was just not tall enough to keep him out of the front. It was easy to install and Petco was good about the return.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Bergan Car Pet Travel Barrier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Serves its purpose

PostedMay 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Ann Arbor, MI
I have modified my full-sized sedan (a 2003 S80) to accommodate my two big dogs comfortably during short rides by using a platform-type seat extender(rather than the bench kind, which wouldn't support them) to fill the open space between the back and front seats. However, this gives them stability to get right up between the front seats. This barrier keeps my tall greyhound and my sight hound mix from climbing into the front seat while I'm driving. I no longer have to elbow them back when they decide they want to balance with their front paws on the armrest to get a better view.
Note that it's not meant to be a replacement for a metal grid-type gate. Pretty much any size dog can easily jump or climb over it when left alone in the car. I'm getting another for the station wagon, since putting the back seats down makes it easier for them to get between the front seats.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Bergan Car Pet Travel Barrier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor quality

PostedJanuary 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
from noblesville, IN
When I tried to attach the hooks to the posts on the headrests, one of the hooks just fell off. I never even tightened it down. The stitching that held the hook in place, came undone. Based on my experience, I cannot recommend this product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Bergan Car Pet Travel Barrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what I needed

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Minneapolis, MN
I have a chocolate lab who travels with me daily. With the travel barrier in place, she sits nicely in the back seat. She never tries to jump up in the front of my car. This is really working nicely for me and my dog.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Bergan Car Pet Travel Barrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does exactly what I needed

PostedDecember 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Rochester, NY
I own an English Cocker Spaniel (25lbs) who loves the front seat....however, I want her in the back seat for safety reasons. This works perfectly. Easy to install. She has made no attempt to jump over - it would be quite a leap from my backseat. She doesn't think much of this new "contraption" but I like it a lot!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Bergan Car Pet Travel Barrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hair Today, Gone To Marrow

PostedSeptember 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Guerneville, CA
This product is perfect for our brand new car which we want to keep interior fairly free from dog hairs. Our small dogs have full roam of the back seat or folded seat trunk area and we can keep the front seats free of dog hair and dirty paw prints. Best of both worlds: the dogs have their bones and we have clean places to sit !!! Thnak you PetCo.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Bergan Car Pet Travel Barrier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy to Install

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Bellingham, WA
The only problem I had was that my minature Daschund was able to jump over the top into the front seat. She's very clever.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Bergan Car Pet Travel Barrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for keeping the dog in the back seat.

PostedAugust 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Rockville, MD
This is great for keeping your dog from jumping in the front seat while you are driving.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Bergan Car Pet Travel Barrier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Handy!

PostedAugust 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Walla Walla, WA
We have 3 dogs, and a small car, so we were excited when we found this product! I saw something similar in the store, but wanted to look online at my options. We ordered this one because of the great price and it seemed like it would work well. It definitely helps to keep them in the back, but for our lab and pitbull, it is easy to jump over and into the front seats still. But, while driving it is nice not to have them in your face constantly. The only problem I had with it was putting it in. It wasn't what I would call difficult, but it did take about 30 minutes to get in and adjust. Overall, good product for the value.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Bergan Car Pet Travel Barrier
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Didn't like the hook attachment!

PostedJuly 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Coolidge AZ
I actually returned this item, won't work for me in the pick up, didn't like the hooks around the seats, afraid they would rip the fabric, without hooks may have been a better product, seems like it was well enough made.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Bergan Car Pet Travel Barrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Travel Barrier

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
The travel barrier was easy to install and works great. The challenges of keeping my dogs in the back seat are over.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Bergan Car Pet Travel Barrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellant dog barrier

PostedJuly 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Houston, Texas
great product and does exactly what I hoped it would do
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Bergan Car Pet Travel Barrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Travel Accessory

PostedJune 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
from LA, CA
I love this so much and it is so convenient that I keep it up in my car even when my dog is not with me and I don't even notice it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Bergan Car Pet Travel Barrier
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Great Idea

PostedAugust 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
from utah
For big dogs...for little dogs, not so much, its just not taught enough...my dogs can get through the sides of it and get up front :(
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
8of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Bergan Car Pet Travel Barrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent!!!

PostedAugust 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
from carver, mn
So pleased with this!! Great price point, well made, easy to install and even filled the giant space between the two front seats in my Tahoe. No more dogs in my lap or constantly battling them trying to leap.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Bergan Car Pet Travel Barrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent and Easy to use!!!!!

PostedJuly 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Orlando, FL
We purchased this front seat barrier because our BB loves to jump in our laps when we are driving, and it was getting dangerous. We came across this inexpensive solution, and were extremely impressed with how easy and effective it was. The design fits both of our cars easily, and allows BB to see us without distracting us when driving. Great idea!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+22points
22of 22voted this as helpful.