petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bergan Auto Harness with Tether Dog Car Harness

Bergan Auto Harness with Tether Dog Car Harness

Essential and effective auto travel accessory for your petStrong yet comfortable dog seat belt harnessDesigned to protect pets and drivers during sudden stopsTether with load bearing carabiner connects to your vehicle’s existing seat belt loopSeat belt for dog use helps prevent distractions during driving
Average Customer Rating:
4.267 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 30 reviews
5 stars
17
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
28 out of 30(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for Bergan Auto Harness with Tether Dog Car Harness
Review 1 for Bergan Auto Harness with Tether Dog Car Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

gift for nephew dog

PostedJuly 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
JoRazz
from Northern New Jersey
This is a good product for travel safety. My nephew dog does quite a lot of car travelling. I also have this item for my own dog. Safety, safety, safety is the only issue.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Bergan Auto Harness with Tether Dog Car Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

something to make dog safe and secure

PostedJune 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
catdogbirdmom
from Pottstown, pa
it is easy to set up and works great, takes the stress off of me and the dog
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Bergan Auto Harness with Tether Dog Car Harness
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not for a puller though

PostedJune 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
Ricki
from Seminole, FL
This harness is a well padded nice harness but it has one serious flaw. The strap that goes across the chest continues on down and around the waist. My 31 lb Boykin Spaniel is a puller and he is out of it in no time flat. Two short trips around town resulted in him getting it off his chest and only around his middle the first trip to totally out of it the second trip. The strap material makes it super easy for it to slide when the dog pulls. I gave it 4 stars because the tether is absolutely the best. It might also work on other harnesses but my guy even got out of his Halti harness yesterday during a 3rd ride. I am going to purchase industrial strength Velcro and see if I can do something with the Bergan harness because the concept is good. It is a nice harness IF you don't have a puller. Others complaints about the straps loosening were absolutely correct.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Bergan Auto Harness with Tether Dog Car Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

no flying dog

PostedFebruary 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
MAGWAG
from Chicago area
The harness works great and the peace of mind that my pup won't go flying if I need to hit the brakes hard is priceless. The cost of it was okay, I got it at a good sale price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Bergan Auto Harness with Tether Dog Car Harness
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice product. Quality materials.

PostedDecember 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
HannahF
from Texas
We have purchased three of these harnesses. Two for our dogs and one for my sisters dog. We have been pleased with how well it's helped our newest dog learn manners in the car. It keeps him safely in the back seat, all while ensuring he's as safe as possible during an accident. We have made several long road trips and the dogs seem to not be bothered while wearing the harness.
One note: The harness does need to be fitted every few trips. It does loosen a little. I plan to sew the straps into place to stop them from slipping.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Bergan Auto Harness with Tether Dog Car Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great deal, Great product

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
practicallison
from Jackson NJ
I took advantage of a sale at Petco.com and ordered this dog harness even though I wasn't sure I needed
it. I am glad I did. I got a great sale price and it is a very good product and my dog likes it too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Bergan Auto Harness with Tether Dog Car Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It's a Winner!

PostedSeptember 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
CartDog
This harness was easy to use. It was simple to put on the dogs and to adjust the fit. It allowed them to sit safely and comfortably on the back seat of the car.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Bergan Auto Harness with Tether Dog Car Harness
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Well made, just one issue

PostedSeptember 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
1dog3cats
from White Mountains, NH
This Bergan Auto Harness is very well made. This is the only auto harness I found that suggested using the childseat clip in the car rather than the seatbelt. I think this is much more secure. They also provided video instruction. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE my dog, so Love this device to keep her safer when traveling. The only issue I had is that the diameter of the carabiner was too big to clip onto the childseat bar in the car. Swapped it out for a slightly smaller one and is perfect.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Bergan Auto Harness with Tether Dog Car Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Car harness

PostedMay 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ginnyf
from Benicia, CA
I've looked for a harness that would be perfect for my small dog in a number of stores and websites. This one is perfect as it fits well and can be attached to the car seatbelt easily.
Bravo Petco!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Bergan Auto Harness with Tether Dog Car Harness
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

The product has potential

PostedMarch 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
labsucker
from Mississippi
Didn't work for our 88 + lb lab. She really gets outa control in a car. She still managed to get twisted in it even though we had her tethered really short. Might have worked if we kept trying to get her use to it. My husband doesn't have the patience. We took it back & ordered a thunder shirt we'll see how it goes. Right now we can't take her anywhere with just 1 person. It takes 1 in the backseat & 1 driving. She's been like this since we rescued her at 8 wks . Wished I'd heard about the harness when she was little might have been a different outcome.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Bergan Auto Harness with Tether Dog Car Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great, but need another tether strap

PostedFebruary 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Linda313
from Harrisburg, PA
I bought 2, one for when my Boxer/American Bulldog mix was younger and another for her current size. I'll need to purchase another once she outgrows this one, because she is very comfortable in it and keeps her safe. However, my son's dog was in our van yesterday and almost chewed through the tether strap and I haven't seen any replacements available to order.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Bergan Auto Harness with Tether Dog Car Harness
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Worked for us

PostedFebruary 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
KingwoodTXN
from Kingwood, TX
Great product but be sure to check not only the weight requirements but your pets girth measurements behind the front legs to get the right size. My dog is a small for her weight however went to the next size up because of the girth measurement. A pet doesn't have to a Houdini to slip out if you don't have the right size :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Bergan Auto Harness with Tether Dog Car Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Product works great.

PostedDecember 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nbg1986
Product is great! User friendly and my very rambunctious puppy is kept safe. Just made a 7 and a half hour drive!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Bergan Auto Harness with Tether Dog Car Harness
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't waste your money

PostedDecember 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
TRK9
from NJ
Both of my dogs slipped out. Straps slide and adjust constantly making it easy for the dogs to slip out of the harness. The cardboard bunches up and sticks into my dogs' ribs.I threw both harnesses in the trash and bought a better ones.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
5of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Bergan Auto Harness with Tether Dog Car Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Car Harness

PostedOctober 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pinetree2012
from Brigham City, UT
I like this Harness. I bought the XL for my male Golden Retriever puppy (currently 50lbs.) We just it for walks but it shines brightest on car rides. He was comfortable and safe. Makes for much much easier travel in cars than a crate.
Only thing I would change is maybe get the L instead. Time will tell though, he might grow into it yet. Great harness.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Bergan Auto Harness with Tether Dog Car Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect seatbelt harness for my pup!

PostedSeptember 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
KDoodle
from York, PA
I tried other harnesses where the shoulder strap of the seatbelt went through the harness and my pup was most uncomfortable. He looked trapped against the seat. With this harness, he is tethered. He loves it and lifts his paws when it is time to put the seatbelt on? I love the fact that he is comfortable yet safe!!! Highly recommend this belt. For reference, my pup is 21 lbs and is comfortable in a medium.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Bergan Auto Harness with Tether Dog Car Harness
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

strong and usable

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
sweetsuds
from The Desert, AZ
this product is very strong and sturdy. my lab mix tried very hard to wiggle out of this, but she couldnt get loose. the only problem is that is tangled herself into it, so i had to stop and untagle her. it did work to keep her from jumping all through out the car. i would also recommend this product for walks.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Bergan Auto Harness with Tether Dog Car Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Little guy loves it

PostedAugust 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
lovechocolatelabs
from MD
I just bought this for my six months old chocolate lab. He hated it the first few minutes he had it on, but after I adjusted it he didn't notice he was wearing it. I bought an XL so he could grow into it and I was able to adjust the straps to fit him perfectly at 65lbs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Bergan Auto Harness with Tether Dog Car Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This was easily to put on

PostedAugust 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
amy104
from Palm Bay Fl
Have had this product for one week and in that week It saved my dog during an emergency stop in the highway. Never thought to have a safety belt for my dog but now I am going to by for my other 3 dogs. Highly recommend this product and my dog loves wearing it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
6of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Bergan Auto Harness with Tether Dog Car Harness
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good protection

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
mema0313
from clifton nj
I purchased this product since there is laws regarding having pets secured in cars. I already had a harness for her, used the teter and it workerd perfectly. She was able to sit and lay down.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
10of 13voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>