petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for SeaClear Rectangular 29 Gallon Show Aquarium Combos

SeaClear Rectangular 29 Gallon Show Aquarium Combos

Virtually leak- and break-proof acrylic aquarium is less than half the weight of a comparably sized glass tankAcrylic fish tank is safe for fresh or saltwater useIncludes fluorescent fixture
Average Customer Rating:
4.074 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 27 reviews
5 stars
13
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
2
21 out of 27(78%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer Reviews for SeaClear Rectangular 29 Gallon Show Aquarium Combos
Review 1 for SeaClear Rectangular 29 Gallon Show Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE, LOVE, LOVE THIS TANK!!

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
fishymomma
from MT
I love this tank. It's so beautiful and fancy looking. It reminds me of the ones you see in doctors offices. I was worried about the limited access in the top but found I had plenty of room. The light is tricky to put the bulb in but I know that is to make it water proof so I can deal with it. I would recommend this tank to anyone. I have an internal filter so that is why it isn't as full. I was worried about it being shipped as I heard a lot were received cracked but mine was fine.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for SeaClear Rectangular 29 Gallon Show Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The Good and Bad About this Acrylic Aquarium by SeaClear

PostedDecember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kenshin
Most Review here are not very helpful at all. so I will try my best to describe what is this Acrylic Aquarium really looks like especially on the top part.Let me start by saying that this is really much more clearer than the Glass Aquarium and much lighter too. this Combo only comes with the Acrylic Aquarium itself and the florescent light fixtures no Bulbs, no filter built in and stuff. I received this item Totally Undamaged but i can see why other people are getting this with broken pieces or cracks. the packing is somewhat good but not good enough. i mean it just have 4 Styrofoam protecting the 4 corners. 2 on top and 2 on the bottom. then the included light fixtures is inside the acrylic. then they shipped it in a brown box. okay now for the aquarium it self. the top part is fully covered with acrylic glass and it has already some cut outs for the Filter, heater, 2 small holes left and right with the size of regular air tube and the cut out in the middle. i use those 2 small holes for the under gravel filter. then the hole for the heater is i think big enough for any size of heater. mine i use the 200 watts heater. then the cut out for filter is 2 inches width and 14 inches length. mine i use the tetra whisper 60 gal. and it fits perfectly. and it still have 1 to 1 1/2 inches extra space for more wirings and extra air tubes. then the most very disappointing part is the cut out in the middle in which you can put your fish gravel etc.etc. the size is ONLY 5 inches width by 23 inches length.this is the main reason why i gave this acrylic aquarium a 4 star is because of this very reason. i mean i cannot put any large ornaments inside like rocks, drift woods etc etc.. i am not familiar with this aquarium so im afraid to cut,drill holes and make the cut out in the middle bigger. i got the aquarium with the blue background. but please take note that this is not actually a background that you can change or remove because the Acrylic glass on the back is really colored in blue. so when you choose this be aware that you can no longer change the background. you will be stuck in blue background as long as you have this aquarium. so in my opinion if you want to have the background of your own i suggest to get the clear background. and not this black or blue background. sorry guys i didn't test nor open the included light fixtures because i bought this together with Current USA LED Light Plus(which is Totally Awesome Combination) so please, don't ask me about it what lights would fit etc etc. and on the bottom part it has a brown paper glued on it. i didn't tried to removed it because it will be just covered in gravels.No Corners on front just on the back. little sticker of Sea Clear on the bottom front right side. So i think that's it. i Hope this review will help lots of people question regarding on this Acrylic Aquarium by Sea clear.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for SeaClear Rectangular 29 Gallon Show Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

First cracked, Second Perfect

PostedNovember 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Inthelight
from Grand Rapids, MI
This is a beautiful tank. The first one was delivered with a huge crack in the front corner. I took it back to the local store, had NO issues with it. Ordered a second one as it was exactly what I wanted. The second was in perfect shape. It's up and running and super clear. I didn't try the light, but I'm very pleased anyway. Packaging needs to be better to avoid cracked tanks. I ordered a smaller one from another place and it was packed twice as good.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for SeaClear Rectangular 29 Gallon Show Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't bother......

PostedNovember 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
cmr1968
from Richmond, VA
This is the second tank that I had to get, the first one arrived with a huge crack in it and had to be returned to the store, took a chance and ordered another one....it also arrived with a fracture in it. The shipper only has Styrofoam on the top corners and shrink wrap around tank with no other protection. No wonder it arrived broken twice! Very disappointed and will not try a third time.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for SeaClear Rectangular 29 Gallon Show Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sharp looking tank!

PostedNovember 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
coksman
from Wyoming, MN
FIrst tank arrived cracked on the front corner. Contacted Petco and they were very quick on sending me a new one free of charge. Love the look of the rounded corners!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for SeaClear Rectangular 29 Gallon Show Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

SeaClear Aquarium 29gal

PostedDecember 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
MrBW
from Staten Island, NY
Beautiful fish tank, love how clear and durable this tank is. My only problem is that the top doesn't come apart. The only opening to put ornaments in, is the tank light fixture and it's hard to squeeze any medium to large ornaments through that opening. Besides that, Love the tank.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for SeaClear Rectangular 29 Gallon Show Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Product

PostedOctober 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
justaconsumer
from Statesville, NC
Bought this aquarium after looking at several...good product and reasonable price
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for SeaClear Rectangular 29 Gallon Show Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great tank, didn't use light fixture

PostedSeptember 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
IndoorGoldfish
from Madison, WI
I decided on an acrylic tank for safety as this would be used near my toddler and was pleased with the quality and much lighter tank. This version has one large opening in the center of the tank with a smaller opening at the back wall, one hole for a heater and two small holes in the corners for air lines. The back opening fit a Fluval C4 filter that requires about 4" of space behind the back wall of the tank. I didn't bother opening the light fixture based on other reviews and have added a MarineLand Single Bright LED which looks great with the clean lines of the tank. The clear back was easy to cover with a custom cut piece of white opaque vinyl from a sign shop and will allow the color to be changed. The tank does flex when moved with water in it so caution seems to be needed when doing maintance or set up.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for SeaClear Rectangular 29 Gallon Show Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Impressive and solid

PostedAugust 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
APetcoShopper
I've owned numerous tanks, all glass and up to over 200 gallons. This is my first acrylic tank. It is much more expensive than the glass tanks, but I decided to buy it because it's not as easily breakable and it will be in an area where kids play. I never had an issue with the glass tanks breaking, but I decided to spend the extra money for an acrylic tank for extra peace of mind. Overall, it's a really nice tank. Acrylic is more clear than glass and lighter than glass. I set up a small reef tank with a sump tank below. I drilled the acrylic tank easily with a hole saw attached to the drill. I'm sure that this voids the warranty, but it's commonly done and I was successful. I did need to buy a better light for a reef tank though. The supplied one is just a light, nothing special and you'll need to buy a bulb for it. I had heard about the acrylic tanks bowing out which glass doesn't do. There is no issue with that on this acrylic tank and unless you're really looking for it on the jumbo acrylic tanks, it's not visible there either. I always place the glass tanks on a sheet of 1 or 1/2 inch styrofoam on top of whatever I use for a stand and did that with this too. It just allows the weight of the tank to settle evenly & avoid any pressure points if the base has any uneven spots. It's not really necessary, but a precautionary practice.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for SeaClear Rectangular 29 Gallon Show Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

beautiful!

PostedAugust 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
minpinaholic
from arizona
A high quality aquarium. Completely satisfied with this item. Quick delivery too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for SeaClear Rectangular 29 Gallon Show Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

29 gallon tank

PostedJune 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
donsta
from san jose
fish tank is clear and durable.its looks much nicer then glass and looks more elegent and gives a clean look around the edges.can be scratch not too easy but it does give you some chances if its not a big hit. to clean tank order the acurlic sponge and work lightly.very light weight but does not come with lamp bulb. for the price and lifetime warranty is worth it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for SeaClear Rectangular 29 Gallon Show Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality Product

PostedJanuary 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
GailLA
from Northern California
This aquarium is beautiful. It has plenty of openings for filters, airlines, heater, automatic feeder, etc. The quality of the acrylic and the workmanship is beautiful. I was impressed by the packaging. It arrived in great shape. The light fixture is not as nice as the tank itself, but I'm using it and it works alright. If you have a planted tank you may need to invest in a better light. I've had it up and running a month. I love this tank. I'm using it with an AquaClear 50 filter and a Petco submersible 100W heater.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for SeaClear Rectangular 29 Gallon Show Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love it

PostedNovember 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
SCAPElover
from Alhambra, CA
I got this tank b/c I have a young child and carpet floor. Hence I did not want to deal with leaks or accidents. After I set up my tank, I am very happy with it. I didn't use the light since my tank is a planted tank. I use the Eheim filter and a 55 watt heater for my fishes snails, shrimps. It is clear and easy to clean. I recommend to buy microfiber clothes for cleaning to avoid scrapes. Or you can use plain old paper towels. Enjoy!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for SeaClear Rectangular 29 Gallon Show Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Nice tank, bad light

PostedApril 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
STLDoug
from St. Louis, MO
The tank is high quality and looks great but, if you buy one, buy a new light along with it. As others have said, the one that comes with it is junk in every way. There's no reflective back, a single bulb and the best part, it simply doesn't work!
The opening at the top is large enough to fit most objects in, however very large items won't fit. The other openings easily work with my hagen aquaclear filter and heater.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for SeaClear Rectangular 29 Gallon Show Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

crystal clear

PostedNovember 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
stuey
Received within 5 days of placing order.
Outstandingly beautiful aquarium.
Much clearer, warm to touch and more attractive than glass.
With curved front edges makes the difference.
Enough holes for equipment.
Highly recommended.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for SeaClear Rectangular 29 Gallon Show Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Beautiful Tank

PostedOctober 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
alkemist
from Indiana
This is a wonderful tank. It's clear, light and has great viewing capabilities. The tank itself is a solid piece but the top is still attached to the tank.
There are a few minor drawbacks. The opening at the top of the tank limits what decor you can place inside the tank. It's almost designed like a tissue box and the cheaply made hood sits on top of the opening and is not very secure. There is no door to drop in food. You will need to lift the hood itself, which is light or drop it in behind where you can hang a power filter and place a heater.
There was plenty of space cutout to put in a Marineland Penguin 150 power filter.
The hood that I received with the tank was defective.The starter would not start the bulb or keep it lit. Believe there was an issue with the contacts. I called seaclear/casco group. I had to leave a message and was skeptical I would receive a call back, but they did and I give them props for taking care of their customers. They are replacing it for me free of charge.
Even with the minor setbacks or complaints, I am very satisfied with this tank. Both my boyfriend and I enjoy watching the fish happily swim around.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
17of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for SeaClear Rectangular 29 Gallon Show Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very happy with this one

PostedAugust 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Marytiji
Best looking tank Ive ever owned and I've had a lote of fish tanks in my life time, Easy to keep clean and not a problem with the lite although it has a weak balast and starts slow.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for SeaClear Rectangular 29 Gallon Show Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

tank

PostedMay 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
treyshawn
The tank is very big and nice but like others mentioned u have to remove the fixture to add fish and clean the tank. Also it took me a while to put the bulb in the fixture it took a while but i got it .
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for SeaClear Rectangular 29 Gallon Show Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Buyr for the tank, scrap the light

PostedNovember 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Narrafish
Nice little tank with a worthless light. Electronics not capable of reliably starting fluorescent tube. Fasteners between fixture and hood do not line up.
No problem with tank openings being too small. Tetra Whisper filter fits well enough.
Nothing like acrylic for clarity and safety!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for SeaClear Rectangular 29 Gallon Show Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

A Nightmare

PostedSeptember 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
SpiralCactus
from Albuquerque, NM
This is my first 20+ gallon aquarium and my first internet order from PetCo. It took 4 phone calls to PetCo to have SeaClear to finally shipped the aquarium to me. This took almost 4 weeks for the aquarium to arrive.
Now, the light fixture that comes with the aquarium does NOT work at all. I wish I had not purchased this aquarium from SeaClear.
Although the customer service at PetCo either at the store or on the phone are extremely helpful (Thank you), I am very disappointed by the service and the quality of the products SeaClear sent me. If I have to order anything from SeaClear again, I will definitely think twice and may not order anything from them again.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>