petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bergan Comfort Carrier Black Pet Carrier

Bergan Comfort Carrier Black Pet Carrier

Includes fleece travel bed that is removable for easy washingSafety belt loop allows carrier to be restrained with vehicle seat beltSuperior ventilationPadded shoulder strapPet connect feature allows owners access to their pets without the risk of escapeCompliant with most airlines
Average Customer Rating:
3.809 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 21 reviews
5 stars
6
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
1
17 out of 21(81%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer Reviews for Bergan Comfort Carrier Black Pet Carrier
Review 1 for Bergan Comfort Carrier Black Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

kitty loves it

PostedOctober 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from New York, NY
Carrier is very nice and comfortable the removable bed is soft and my kitten had no trouble hanging out in it for about and hour or more while we shopped.
I have the large one but even so it is a little small. Not too small for an average cat but if you have a large cat would recommend a bigger carrier than this.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Bergan Comfort Carrier Black Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Sturdy Carrier

PostedAugust 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Bronx, NY
Sturdy! Walls don't collapse on my dog like some of the other bags sold. I gave it one less paw because its a bit smaller than I had expected. The weight recommendations for sizes always tend to be off. I would recommend going the next size up for whatever weight you dog is.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Bergan Comfort Carrier Black Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product, but had to return it

PostedJune 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Milwaukee, WI
This carrier would be good for a kitten or small cat or dog that wouldn't be growing. It's well designed. Unfortunately it was much smaller than I would need fro my new cat. She would fit in it now, but is still growing and would probably outgrow it. the great thing about Petco was that even though it was ordered online, it was easy to return it to a nearby Petco store.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Bergan Comfort Carrier Black Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not for long car rides

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Hudson, MA
I bought one of these to use for quick trips to the vet. I like that it is light and can be easily stored when not in use. However, I recently used it on a 4 hour car trip and put my smaller, 7 lb. cat in it (the larger cat got our fabulous Suncast 23-inch carrier, which Petco for some reason doesn't sell). Neither cat is used to car rides beyond regular vet visits, and the cat in the Bergan carrier started flipping out and trying to get out, which resulted in the carrier getting chewed/scratched up. With the dark mesh and small space, he couldn't move around comfortably or easily see what was going on outside of the carrier. It's still usable for quick vet visits, but I will never again use a soft carrier for traveling. Looks like I'll be ordering another Suncast carrier!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Bergan Comfort Carrier Black Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Makes the Cut

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Queens, NY
This bag is very handy for transporting my cat inside vehicles. I felt very comfortable knowing that she was strapped into our car securely. Even though it is described as a "Large", my cat just made it inside the carrier. She was able to turn around in it but very cautiously. She did enjoy the fluffed bedding and I love that it comes out easily! Overall, I wish there were a bigger size, ie:"XL" and a variety of colors in this size.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Bergan Comfort Carrier Black Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very well made and compact

PostedNovember 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Salt Lake City, UT
Looking forward to using on upcoming RV trip for the smaller of our two cats. It is very well made with nice removable cushion, well ventilated with zippered openings big enough to slip in a comforting hand.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Bergan Comfort Carrier Black Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

shorkie puppy loves it

PostedOctober 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
from columbia, MD
My shorkie took to the carrier immediately. She takes her prized toys to the carrier for safe keeping. She loves the soft lining which has held up to lots of digging and several washes. It is easy to connect her harness to the restraint to keep her in the bag when in the car. The small side pocket is good for a tiny bag of treats and leash, not much else. We like the little side zipper for limited access for reassurance when traveling. I like all the ventilation, but do worry that if she wanted out, she could tear it up over the course of several days. We have never left her in it at home when we are out, so we don't really know. There is plenty of room for her to stand and turn around. She is 4.5 lbs and 5 months old currently.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Bergan Comfort Carrier Black Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not a Bad Product, Just a Bad Fit For Me

PostedApril 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Ashburn, Virginia
We have a miniature schnoodle that weighs just under 10 lbs. After doing research, I decided that I wanted the most space I could get for Muggle's carrier since she isn't too accustomed to kennels, etc. The trip we are taking will be her (and my) first experience with airline pet travel. I also wanted to have as many safety features as I could get (i.e. zipper locks, seat belt attachment, safety line inside, etc.)
Upon arrival, I appreciated the zipper locks and seat belt compatibility, but determined the carrier was too small compared to a PETCO brand expandable carrier my husband and I picked up a few days earlier. It turns out the space was much more important to me than having all of the safety features I had researched.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Bergan Comfort Carrier Black Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for price

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
from TX
We use this carrier for 7 pound, 10" tall dog at least twice a week: cars, airplanes, shopping, etc. Often people don't notice there's a dog in it. The height vs width makes it easy to fall over but overall very comfortable for him. He likes to lay with his head out the side. However, our 12 pound 12" tall dog can't turn around easily in it so we had to get something more square for him for longer trips...
It's easy to remove the bottom lining and machine wash, and wipe down the rest with 409 or something. The zippers' snap closures are a clever way to keep pet inside, but one time he got out without unsnapping it! Both carriers have held up pretty well with all the use, but now are starting to rip on the seams and one of the cheap plastic d-rings for the shoulder strap broke. We're not willing to get a really expensive carrier--we'll probably just buy this again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Bergan Comfort Carrier Black Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great cat carrier

PostedMarch 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Reno, nv
Recently I have taken a trip to the vets and a flight. The carrier was used with different cats. Both times it held up great and it was so easy to clean up any mess they made. The only thing is that it does bend slightly but that worked to my advantage on the plain.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Bergan Comfort Carrier Black Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Product not sturdy enough for purpose

PostedOctober 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
from New York, NY
The product was purchased for my cat. Unfortunately the top was not sturdy enough to stay up on it's own and was collapsing on the cat. I purchased a different carrier. It was otherwise great and would probably work better for a dog that would lie down and/or act a little less timid.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Bergan Comfort Carrier Black Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Don't buy it...give me another suggestion please!

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
I definitely prefer soft carriers to hard carriers for my cat, as they are more comfortable, and easier to travel with/carry...however, I would still like the carrier to hold its shape. I noticed someone asked about the carrier collapsing flat enough to fit in a suitcase, and indeed it does. I left mine untouched after the first use on a shelf in a closet. On its own, it began to lose its shape, and collapsed in on itself. I tried to prop it back up with cardboard and reshape it while not in use, but it just won't hold. So now, when my cat is inside, the walls are closing in on her making it way more cramped than it should be. She's been a good sport and has dealt with it the few times we've had to use it, but just recently, while visiting my parents, someone moved it off the shelf I was storing it on and put it on the floor...soon after, my little one peed on it. I think she's telling me something...Now it's DEFINITELY time for a new carrier. If anyone can suggest a soft carrier that can still hold its shape, it would be much appreciated. Thank you!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Bergan Comfort Carrier Black Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My kitten loves this carrier!

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
from New York, NY
It's much more comfortable for a new kitten than a carrier with hard plastic sides. The shoulder strap is really useful as well. It comes with a nice soft liner. My kitten will even sleep in it of I leave it laying around the house! I would definitely recommend this carrier at least for the first year of your cats life.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Bergan Comfort Carrier Black Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great quality for the price

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Denver
My 2 yr old 9lb Toy Fox Terrier Zoey used this carrier to fly to Florida and it fit well under the seat of our US Airways flight. It appeared she was calm and comfortable which is saying a lot. She curled up and slept the whole time with plenty of room to stretch and even stand up. Great quality for the price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Bergan Comfort Carrier Black Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

nice bag

PostedFebruary 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Hilton Head Island
still a really tight fit for my 19 lb ckcs that I purchased it for, but he can squeeze in for brief time- will probably work better for 1 of my 2 cats- 8 lbs exotic shorthairs- larger than most bags but just need a little larger for him
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Bergan Comfort Carrier Black Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Too small for a schnauzer

PostedDecember 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
from berkeley, ca
I ordered size large. I love the build of this bag. It is well designed and manufactured. It would be my first choice if I had a smaller skinny pet (12lb or less). I say skinny because it is more narrow than other carriers, even in the large size. The GREAT plus is that it is taller than other large pet carriers and it looks a lot smaller than it is as a result of the narrowness. I doubt you would have issue flying with this bag even in the largest size, because it looks trim.
Interior dimensions of the size large bag are: 12 tall, 9 wide, 19 long.
Again this is the most fashionable well built pet carrier I have seen. It is cave like which will calm your pet and has air venting at the top where it is most important. for as stressed overheating pet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+22points
22of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Bergan Comfort Carrier Black Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Carrier for my cat.

PostedNovember 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Eugene, Oregon
Soft, sturdy carrier. For a dog but great for a cat. Isaac is a shelter kitty and gets scared in strange situations. This carrier allows you to put your hand in the top and pet him. It can be strapped into a seat belt for safety. Also, it is airline approved. There are pockets and a detachable shoulder strap. I love it and so does Isaac.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Bergan Comfort Carrier Black Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A bit small, but good product

PostedOctober 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Louisiana
I bought the smaller version of the carrier. Durable and attractive. I like that it has a screen and I can see my kitty through it.
There is a plastic rectangle that fits on the bottom below the cushion to stabilize it, but on the top of it I'd be afraid to put it in a position where it would bend and get stuck that way.
It was a good size for my tiny kitty; he is about six months old. If he were any bigger, this would be too small.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Bergan Comfort Carrier Black Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Thank you!

PostedOctober 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Miami Beach, FL
Perfect size. Small, elegant... This is what I want to use when I travel with my pup. Get the large if your pet is near 15 lbs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Bergan Comfort Carrier Black Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

seemed really nice...

PostedAugust 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
from tampa, fl
i bought this to take my kitten to the vet & i thought it was great, till i brought her home and the sipper was broken on one side. i'm taking it back to replace, gonna give it one more try
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>