petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for SeaClear Bowfront 36 Gallon Aquarium Combos

SeaClear Bowfront 36 Gallon Aquarium Combos

36 gallon fish tank combines a modern design with the benefits of acrylic constructionAcrylic aquarium glass is so strong that it is virtually break-proofMolecularly bonded seams help prevent leaksTank is less than half the weight of a comparably sized tankSafe for fresh and saltwater aquariums
Average Customer Rating:
4.714 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 28 reviews
5 stars
22
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
26 out of 28(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 30 Answers
Customer Reviews for SeaClear Bowfront 36 Gallon Aquarium Combos
Review 1 for SeaClear Bowfront 36 Gallon Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

SeaClear Bowfront 36 Gallon Aquarium Combos

PostedMay 17, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Cherry Hill NJ
I am very pleased with the Aquarium. It is better than I thought it would be. It has a seal top, the only openings are for the lights, filter and air line, inlet tube, the rest it sealed. Perfect!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for SeaClear Bowfront 36 Gallon Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bowfront 36 Gallon

PostedApril 13, 2015
Customer Avatar
from dallas
Just received after only one week so shipping was great. Nothing broken or scratched. Much lighter than a glass aquarium. Lighting does feel a little "cheap" so once I start setting everything up I will probably opt for a nicer light. Cutouts in the top are bigger than I anticipated and should fit just about everything we would want.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for SeaClear Bowfront 36 Gallon Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product Needs Better Specifications

PostedMarch 5, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Rapid City, SD
I took a chance when ordering this product because although the description offers overall dimensions, it does a poor job of describing the opening of the tank, coverings, and outlet/inlet areas. For the benefit of future shoppers, I offer the following:
The tank arrived in a torn and weathered box but was in pristine condition thanks to substantial foam padding and plastic wrap surrounding the tank. This was shipped direct from manufacturer approx. 2 weeks after order and weighed only 32 lbs so I was able to carry it inside and up a flight of stairs with ease. The bottom has a coating of removable film protecting it. I ordered this with the optional black background and the integrated color looks stunning.
The tank comes with a florescent light "hood" that rests directly on top of the acrylic tank opening. Since I will be using an upgraded lighting system, this is useless and leaves the predicament of finding a cover for the large rectangular opening that runs through the middle of the top of the tank. The dimensions of this opening are approximately 24"x7."
There are three other small openings. One is in the middle back of the top (presumably for hang-on filter/skimmer) and measures approximately 12"x2" and the other two are approximately 1 1/2" diameter circular cutouts on the far left and far right sides of the top at the back. These will work well for inlet and outlet plumbing. There are also two tiny drilled holes in the top of the tank near the back corners, 1/4" diameter.
Think that sums it up. Very nice product. The molded sides are especially nice and present an uninterrupted view of inhabitants. Would purchase again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for SeaClear Bowfront 36 Gallon Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Missouri
Arrived in perfect condition. Bought a Fluval LED light to go with it. Not even bothering with the light it comes with. Just wish the opening was larger. You have to be careful about the size of decorations that will fit the 5" wide opening.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for SeaClear Bowfront 36 Gallon Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lovely tank

PostedSeptember 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Port Deposit, MD
lovely tank, really nice.. I switched from a $700 Cardiff 24Gal tank to this and I like this much better. The acrylic and curves make it look like I'm looking at an old Sony Trinitron TV! Note that the fluorescent bulb does NOT come with the tank! I use a Fluval 406 filter and a CorralLife "fish color enhancing" bulb. I also bought the 46 /gallon bow-front stand which matches this tank perfectly! The only down-side is that the tank top is glued in-place and it provides adequate portals for filtration and the light but if you've got a large ornament, like I did, you'll find that it won't go through the slot for the light and you're restricted to that opening as far as what you put in the tank. No worries through, it's well worth the investment and I got a Fluval 406 to filter it and it really looks great.. by the way I got the Colbalt Blue background and I do recommend it..If you get a color-enhancing bulb you'll see how the fish really stand out.. Highly recommended!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for SeaClear Bowfront 36 Gallon Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful Tank

PostedMay 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Detroit, Michigan
This is a beautiful tank. Very clear. I have not set it up as of yet....waiting for the completion of a stand that is NOT made of particle board. Can hardly wait.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for SeaClear Bowfront 36 Gallon Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Nice, Quality Aquarium!

PostedSeptember 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
from New Martinsville, WV
I purchased the Clear tank which gives me the option of trying various background colors - I simply pick up a large piece of matboard at my local art/craft store, cut to size, and slide in behind my tank; the filter secures it in place. Right now I have dark green (post pic), but this is easily changed if I want.
Besides that, I am very pleased with this tank, received in perfect condition, the acrylic is very clear. Keep in mind that it is tall, and may be hard to place objects in. The light opening does give a good bit of room to add things, unless they are long driftwood which can be tricky.
This tank is placed on a 46gal bowfront stand, with enough space on either side for me to place my jars of live aquarium plants that I am tending.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
9of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for SeaClear Bowfront 36 Gallon Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Seaclear 36 gal. - The Best!

PostedMarch 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Tampa, Fl
I recently bought and installed this tank and couldn't be more pleased.
What I like about it:
I have the blue back and blue gravel with white decorations, looks fantastic.
Great size and the bow front is so much nicer than rectangular.
Molded in top cover is a much cleaner design and eliminates the black plastic that always ends up looking bad. The tray for the light is a great idea.
Being both light and strong is a big plus.
What I don't like:
The light hood is poor. I left it in the box and use an aftermarket led light which, while more money, is fantastic.
Because of the molded top I have to feed from the back. Small price to pay for the great molded top.
Overall: this tank is an A+++
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
13of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for SeaClear Bowfront 36 Gallon Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very nice bowfront!

PostedSeptember 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Hickory, NC
Just got my SeaClear 36 gallon aquarium filled and now has fish. Very nice bowfront with the cobalt blue background. The top is mostly enclosed with a 5 x 24 inch opening for the light so be careful in choosing decorations that will fit. There is another opening along the the back for your hang on back filter. After reading the reviews I decided to upgrade the lighting to a LED system and I easily converted the hood to fit over the strip. Please keep in mind that it will take 2 to 3 weeks for it to arrive so if you have children warn them ahead of time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for SeaClear Bowfront 36 Gallon Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great look, horrible light fixture

PostedJune 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Houston, TX
The aquarium itself is a gorgeous tank with the bowfront appearance. I like that the front has rounded edges instead of corners that could possibly leak after time. Also has the look of glass without the worry of it breaking, cracking, or discoloration of the inside. The only thing I wish was different was the light fixture. It is a pain to detach the two pieces in order to replace a light bulb. Only bad part overall is that this item is only sold online and you can't find a decent stand at Petco that fits it, so you are required to use a competitor for a good looking one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for SeaClear Bowfront 36 Gallon Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just Perfect for My Use

PostedApril 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Port Jervis,NY
The tank arrived in great shape, It will be very suitable for the unique fish I plan to raise in it. It has great design features and I am very pleased.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for SeaClear Bowfront 36 Gallon Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful

PostedDecember 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Union, KY
Took forever to receive this but it was worth the wait. We are so glad we spent the extra money for an acrylic bow front tank. We just set it up a couple days ago and it is beautiful even without fish! We can't wait to add some new pets to it shortly :)
I will say I have read some confusing comments on here before my purchase about the top of the tank. To clarify, the top does NOT come off. But the opening under the light was large enough for all our decor. We also wanted an LED light so we modified the hood slightly (removed the fixture mount it came with & cut an opening to reach the new switch) to use one inside it. Everything turned out great!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for SeaClear Bowfront 36 Gallon Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Tank

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
from California
Great looking tank, very nicely made.
Top light that came with it not great, replaced with a Marineland LED and it makes the tank look even better. Tank looks better then glass one the same size.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for SeaClear Bowfront 36 Gallon Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great tank

PostedNovember 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
from johnstown,pa
i just got my 36g seaclear bowfront tank and i love it,and for all those wondering...yes it will fit the marineland emperor 400 with not a cennimeter to spare..WONDERFUL
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for SeaClear Bowfront 36 Gallon Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Fish Tank Terrible Hood light

PostedAugust 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Loveland, CO
The 36 gallon SeaClear with Cobalt is absolutely beautiful, but the hood light that came with it is a piece of worped uneven plastic garbage.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for SeaClear Bowfront 36 Gallon Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

beautiful aquarium

PostedJune 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Cary, NC
I purchased the one with the cobalt background and am very pleased with it. I had to use a 2-step step stool to add the gravel and decor and water; it is very tall. But for feeding it is reachable; I'm 5'6" tall. I agree with other reviewers that the aside from cutouts for the heater and filter (and feeding ring), etc. in the back, which is nice not to have to do my own cutouts, the only access is the 5" x 23". This happens to be where the light fixture goes. I immediately decided to go with LED lighting instead of fluorescent and am so happy I did. It was an easy retrofit with a ML double 24"-36" fixture.
So to reach in and arrange decor and do gravel cleanings, I will need to remove the lighting fixture (easy) and use the step stool to reach in.
I decided to go with an AquaClear 70 power filter. It hangs over the back perfectly. I also put a feeding ring in the back where there is room and far enough away from the filter flow so as not to disturb feeding.
I plan to enjoy this for some time to come, and the fish seem really happy too (5 red minor tetras, 5 black skirted tetras, 2 peppered cory catfish so far; transferred from other tanks.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for SeaClear Bowfront 36 Gallon Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great tank Terrible light

PostedJanuary 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
The tank is great. The light is a piece of garbage.
Waiting for replacement. Would be willing to pay extra for better quality light.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
10of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for SeaClear Bowfront 36 Gallon Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful Tank

PostedDecember 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Orlando, FL
This tank is one of the better tanks on the market in this size range. The bow front creates a lot more room for the fish in a smaller space maximizing the room per gallon inside the tank. The rounded corners of the system gives it a very nice look and really creates a nice effect in the acrylic. The only down side to the tank is the enclosed top. The space in the top of the tank limits the decor you can select because of space limitations getting the decorations in and out of the tank. Other than that it is a beautiful set up.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+8points
11of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for SeaClear Bowfront 36 Gallon Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

PostedNovember 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
THE TANK IT SELF IS GOOD, BUT THE HUB IS CHEEP
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
3of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for SeaClear Bowfront 36 Gallon Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedJanuary 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
The aquarium is large, light weight, clear and has rounded edges with no seams, unlike the glass aquariums. Now I don't have to worry about toddlers or large dogs who are playing, running into it and hurting themselves.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>