petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for SeaClear Rectangular 20 Gallon Aquarium Combos

SeaClear Rectangular 20 Gallon Aquarium Combos

20 gallon fish tank is virtually leak-proofAcrylic aquarium is nearly unbreakableLess than half the weight of a comparably sized glass tankSafe for fresh or saltwater useIncludes fluorescent fixture (bulb not included)
Average Customer Rating:
4.591 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 22 reviews
5 stars
17
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
21 out of 22(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for SeaClear Rectangular 20 Gallon Aquarium Combos
Review 1 for SeaClear Rectangular 20 Gallon Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great 20 gallon high tank

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Gorham, ME
I got the 20 gallon high combo, and have zero regrets for doing so...this is a very sturdy acrylic tank that arrived in one piece first try on shipment to me. It has a top molded onto it with plenty of openings for heaters, filters, etc, and a large central opening for putting large ornaments inside the tank. This built-in top contributes greatly to it's sturdiness. I have had it filled and stocked with fish for about 2 months, and it is holding up perfectly...no significant bowing in the front or sides that affect viewing pleasure. I got a piece of lexan on ebay cut to cover the top so my LED lighting system doesn't get splashed (threw away the included lighting, it was a bit cheap...using 18-24 inch Marineland Single Bright LED setup). I love this tank, it gets an A+! :o)
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for SeaClear Rectangular 20 Gallon Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

SEACLEAR 20 GAL. COMBO

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
from east wenatchee, WA.
LOVE IT! WAS DELIVERED WITHIN 10 DAYS, IN PERFECT SHAPE, AND IS EASY TO SET UP!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for SeaClear Rectangular 20 Gallon Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice Aquarium but flawed & damaged

PostedOctober 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Queens, New York
This 20 Gal. Sea Clear aquarium is very light weight and nice to view when set up. It was quickly shipped and easy to set up after I made sure to check it out for any leakage. On removing it from the carton and packaging I noticed some light scratching and two small blemished areas on the front acrylic of the tank. I decided not to complain about it to or try to return it as it isn't worth the effort in my opinion. The company that makes & ships these tanks, Sea Clear (of Corona, CA) ought to be more careful with their tanks as they're easy to scratch with acrylic. Overall, a very nice tank but scratches & blemishes on the clear acrylic front area took away from its beauty. Perhaps I was just a bit unlucky with this particular unit.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
7of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for SeaClear Rectangular 20 Gallon Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great tank !!

PostedApril 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Oakland,CA
This is a great tank for me and this is a perfect to fit in my small apartment too! I have 3 dwarf gouramis and some tetras. They swim very happily in the tank. The tank is clear, light weight and good looking with its curved corners. It is well designed which many brands of filters would be compatible to use. I was thinking if the acrylic is super easy to be scratched, but seems like I was thinking too much. The light fixture is not bad, but you need to buy the light bulb separately online. what I like it more is that if you keep tropical fish, since its material is acrylic, you could keep your water temperature more stable. Finally, my only concern is the hood is just not big enough. I was having some hard time to maintain it especially doing the gravel vacuum, like when you reaching the corners. If the hole there would be wider, the tank is just perfect! I will recommend some friends!! oh.. Plus, it said that this item gonna leave the warehouse 5-7 business days, however, I got my item withing a week. So it is pretty good too :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for SeaClear Rectangular 20 Gallon Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Nice

PostedJanuary 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
from PA
Tank arrived quickly and in perfect condition. The included light fixture does the job, but eventually you may want to upgrade. Overall happy with purchase, especially with sale price and free shipping.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for SeaClear Rectangular 20 Gallon Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What a great fish tank!

PostedFebruary 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
from West Chester, PA
This tank arrived in about 8 days, which was pretty good and when I set it up it looks amazing. The crystal clear acrylic is the way to go and you also know that this type of tank will last you for years to come. I would definitely recommend this aquarium to anyone who wants something isn't too small or too big. I use a tetra whisper filter in the tank and everything fits through the top. The light is okay, people are right though it does feel kinda cheap and I actually found a pet store that carries the T8 light-bulbs so no worries there. Anyways what a great tank and if you are looking for a great long last aquarium get this one. The black background looks great and if you decide to get this tank I would go with the black background unless you have/want your own design for the background.
Petco has the dimensions of the tank wrong it is 24 x 13 x 16 not 12
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+4points
11of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for SeaClear Rectangular 20 Gallon Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Light Bulb Issues

PostedJanuary 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Alaska
This tank is beautiful and I am very happy with it. BUT my issue is you can not find 15" florescent bulbs ANYWHERE! I even contacted SeaClear and they don't even carry them, only 18". I can't understand why they couldn't have added another 3 inches to the hood so a more standard 18" bulb would fit. If it wasn't for this issue I would have given it 5 paws.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for SeaClear Rectangular 20 Gallon Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

20 Gallon Sea Clear Acrylic

PostedAugust 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
from French Quarter New Orleans
My first Acrylic tank Love it Very easy to Handle when setting it up very modern looking very clean lines very convenient too have recieved threw fedx I went with A sponge Bob Theme That started on line whith Petco ! I would recomend this tank for everyone thanks to Petco Also For thair on line site!!! David In New Orleans French Quarter
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
5of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for SeaClear Rectangular 20 Gallon Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Wrong Dimensions on PetCo Site

PostedSeptember 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
I just bought the 20 gallon acrylic Saa Clear aquarium.
Pro:
1. Arrived much faster than when I bought my 30 gallon. The 30 gallon took a full month to arrive. This one took 9 days.
2. Looks much better than glass.
3. Openings fit all my standard filters. heaters, etc.
Con:
1. WRONG DIMENSIONS LISTED ON PETCO SITE! This tank is 13" L X 24" W X 16" H. So, make sure your stand can handle it. It is one inch deepers than listed.
2. Lousy light fixture
3. Scratches easily, but any acrylic tank does.
4. Poor documentation.
Notable:
We have the 30 gallon with a blue background side by side with the 20 gallon with black background. Black definitely looks better.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+21points
22of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for SeaClear Rectangular 20 Gallon Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very nice

PostedJuly 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Leesville, LA
I've owned seaclear before, these tanks are clean lined, sleek and easy to clean, not to mention I think they are prettier to look at than glass tanks. (my fish seem to like them too)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for SeaClear Rectangular 20 Gallon Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the tank!

PostedOctober 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
This tank is wonderful, the acrylic is a great improvement over a glass aquarium, lighter weight, no side seams, nice looking, etc.
I bought the version with the blue backing mostly because it was cheaper than black or clear and I'm really glad I did. Really, really like the color! I've had aquariums with clear backings before and didn't like seeing the wall through them.
Like many others, I wish there was a food slot and end up feeding them through the opening in the back which while isn't 100% ideal, seems to work just fine.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for SeaClear Rectangular 20 Gallon Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible

PostedFebruary 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
Bad tank overall. Scrathes easy. beware
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-6points
1of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for SeaClear Rectangular 20 Gallon Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

wonderful

PostedFebruary 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
the tank is wonderful, so clear, I found that the holes on top were just right, it looks great on the black stand I purchused .
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for SeaClear Rectangular 20 Gallon Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

PostedDecember 30, 2007
Customer Avatar
This aquarium looks great and is definitely worth the extra money. It's sleek and crystal clear. I bought the 20 gallon w/black backing and I couldn't be more pleased. It's very light and practically seamless and much better looking than glass.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for SeaClear Rectangular 20 Gallon Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Tank

PostedAugust 17, 2007
Customer Avatar
I like the look of this tank very much, very clear. Only thing that is tough is finding an under gravel filter that will fit since the tank is an odd size. The openings in the top are not to bad. One piece under gravel filters will be tough to get in. Other than that, there is plenty of room to work with. I use an external pump, so the opening on the back does not matter to me. The light that comes with it is not the best as far as construction, but it does work well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for SeaClear Rectangular 20 Gallon Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very very pleased

PostedAugust 1, 2007
Customer Avatar
I BOUGHT A SEA CLEAR RECTANGULAR AQUARIUM COMBOS. I RECEIVED IT IN 7 WORKING DAYS. IT CAME WELL PACKED & EASY TO INSTALL. ALL OPENINGS WERE JUST RIGHT, THE LIGHT FIXTURE WAS EASY TO INSTALL. TOTAL OF TWO HOURS, I FILLED WITH WATER, (50 GAL) INSTALED THE 100 GAL FILTER. BE SURE YOU HAVE ENOUGH FILTER TO MAKE IT WORK. THANK YOU
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for SeaClear Rectangular 20 Gallon Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice tank but...

PostedApril 15, 2007
Customer Avatar
from New York
This tank is nice but it has weird slots for the stuff u buy. It has its own heater slot and about a 1x7" opening in the back for the filtration and whatever. also has the 2 big openings for the light fixture which only brings 1 pronging for 1 light fixture. I have thr 40 or 45 tank idk but i guess for and average aquarium owner it would be good. Unless you have some power saws and drills and want to make mods to this tank its worth getting to make additions to the tank. Very nice about 1/4" acrylic thick yet scratches easily.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for SeaClear Rectangular 20 Gallon Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

50 gallon sea clear

PostedMarch 6, 2007
Customer Avatar
from lusby, md
my tank arrived in good shape. the light reflector had to be taken apart to install light tube. sounds easy, but it wasn't. instructions were inside of reflector housing, so it had to be taken apart to get to them. i broken a couple of the fasteners. not really a major concern. i called sea clear about this, poor response by them. the tank itself was fine. a protective film on the plexiglas to help protect its finish. it peels off easy. my only negative about the tank is: the top is molded on with cutouts for the heater, filter and light. the reason for the bonded top is, it keeps the sides from bulging out. my problem was: if you wanted to use more then one filter you, you just can't because of the cutouts on the top. i've got cichlids, they require some extra filtration. the tank and the clarity of the acrylic is great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for SeaClear Rectangular 20 Gallon Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good 40 gal. Tank

PostedSeptember 25, 2006
Customer Avatar
from CA
It's a great tank, but I dislike it not having an feeding slot and it's hard to find a skimmer that fits since it has a acrylic seal top, but it works great anyways it is super clear and nice looking plus the black back helps with algae control. Also my african cichlids love the space. If you plan on a salt tank it would be best to buy a sump system or it will be hard to fit all the equipment ( like a skimmer) you need to keep you water clean and sparking which is a must for keeping a healthy marine aquarium.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for SeaClear Rectangular 20 Gallon Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful aquarium

PostedApril 26, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Muskego, WI
I purchased this aquarium at the end of February and received it around March 21st. I have been very pleased with it and my fish love their new home. Some large decorations may not fit through the two access slots at the top. I love the product anyway. I think acrylic is way better than glass and is worth the extra money.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>