petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Andis AGC2 2-Speed Professional Clipper

Andis AGC2 2-Speed Professional Clipper

Powerful rotary motor clipperMaintenance free for professional heavy-duty useFeatures detachable blades and a 2-speed motor for extra power and fast, smooth clippingCool running clipper comes complete with size 10 detachable blade
Average Customer Rating:
4.684 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 19 reviews
5 stars
15
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
17 out of 19(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Andis AGC2 2-Speed Professional Clipper
Review 1 for Andis AGC2 2-Speed Professional Clipper
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not2goodaValue

PostedAugust 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Bothell, WA
My old clippers that were half the price (and are no longer available) worked much better. These clippers say they run cool, but they got hot just as fast as my clippers that didn't claim to be "cool". Additionally, the teeth are so close together that they won't clip the thicker hair unless held firmly in place with a comb or hand. Otherwise, it just pushes the hair down and goes over it without clipping. It took me longer to clip my Bichon Frise dog than usual with these. I wish I had purchased a less expensive set of clippers that are made for people (like my last set).
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Andis AGC2 2-Speed Professional Clipper
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This product is powerful

PostedJune 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Altoona,Pa.
This is a good and powerful trimmer, to cut through thick fur, but its hard to use without combs. Sometimes you go in too far and then fur is uneven. It just would be easier with a comb attachment unless you're shaving them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
12of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Andis AGC2 2-Speed Professional Clipper
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cuts well but some downsides

PostedMay 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Connecticut
The cutter cuts very well but it does get hot. It took me about 45 min to cut my Shih Tzu it got hot about 10 minutes into it. I also do not like the fact that it does not come with a case or attachments. The length that it cuts with the blade it comes with is very short and is OK for the summer but defiantly won't work for the winter. I'm not sure if I'm going to keep it I have to see how much the attachments are for the different lengths.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+20points
20of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Andis AGC2 2-Speed Professional Clipper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

WOW!!!

PostedFebruary 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
These clippers are expensive...but well worth the price. Very professional grade product. Will never need to replace my clippers again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
6of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Andis AGC2 2-Speed Professional Clipper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for my goldendoodle!

PostedDecember 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Wisconsin
This was a must for me. Cutting my goldendoodle's thick and curly hair used to take me half the day using cheap clippers. But these clippers are great! The job took much less time. Its a bummer that you have to buy the attachments separately, but they are high quality and well worth it. The cooling spray really does help the clippers work optimally. If you have a dog with thick and curly hair, these clippers are perfect!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Andis AGC2 2-Speed Professional Clipper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Clippers!

PostedOctober 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
I used these on my very long haired border collie that gets matted and hates her hair. These were slick. Quiet and perfect. I'm not a groomer but she looked better than when the groomer clips her. Excellent product. Be sure to get the cooling spray to go with it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Andis AGC2 2-Speed Professional Clipper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Profound Power

PostedSeptember 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Our pooch has some thick hair that stymied the inexpensive unit we previously purchased. The Andis, cut through it beautifully
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Andis AGC2 2-Speed Professional Clipper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HIGHLY RECOMMEND

PostedAugust 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Montezuma, GA
I am not a groomer and bought this to start trimmng my Sih Tzu on my own. It is easy to use, cuts very well, very VERY quiet and comes with an extra long cord to access an outlet. I am glad I did noy try to save and purchase a lower priced trimmer. This one is well worth the initial cost.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Andis AGC2 2-Speed Professional Clipper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

job well done

PostedJune 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
I bought these based on a recommendation from a professional groomer and online erviews. I bought these to clip two of our long haired cats for the summer. One of them we've taken to the vet to get lion clipped every year due to him matting up pretty regularly. It was getting expensive.
The clippers performed well for both cats. The first cat didn't have mats, just a lot of hair. The clippers went through him like a hot knife through butter. The second cat took longer but that was expected because, he just has really thick hair and it was getting matted. But the clippers did do the trick. Very happy with them.
I do recommend getting the Cool Lube spray to help keep the blade cool while clipping. The clipper handle was fine but the blades did get warm. Other than that very happy with purchase.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Andis AGC2 2-Speed Professional Clipper
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedFebruary 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Used this clipper for a rescued persian cat . It was tough but it did the job. Had to stop a few times to let the clippers cool down, didn't want to burn the cats sensitive skin.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Andis AGC2 2-Speed Professional Clipper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just like they said

PostedJanuary 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
I chose this clipper from the reviews it was given. It is quiet and cuts well. I was expecting the comb attachments though but they do not come with
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Andis AGC2 2-Speed Professional Clipper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Clipper!

PostedApril 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Whittier, CA
As a groomer, I've used these for hours and hours a day. Having the 2nd speed is a great option. If they never let me down, a regular pet owner using them every 4-6 weeks or so can be confident they'll last a long time. Always remember to maintain your clippers and blades! Happy Grooming! :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Andis AGC2 2-Speed Professional Clipper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it! Love it! Love it!

PostedJuly 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
from North Hollywood, CA
I have a Miniature poodle and his hair has always given us problems. It gets matted very easily and grooming had become a big expense. This clipper works wonders! Cuts with ease and doesn't pull on his hair.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Andis AGC2 2-Speed Professional Clipper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent choice

PostedFebruary 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Vermont
I use these clippers every 4-6 weeks to groom 2 cocker spaniels. They are wonderful clippers. They are quiet and efficent. They do get a little warm...but nothing abnormal. I always make sure to oil them well before during and after use. I also use the cool lube spray on them a couple of times during each grooming. The blades also hold up really well. I have been using the same #10 blade for about a year now and it is still great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Andis AGC2 2-Speed Professional Clipper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best clippers ever!

PostedJanuary 31, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Lambertville, MI
These clippers are the best one I have bought yet. They are so much more faster than all those cheap ones everybody buys. They are also really easy to clean and don't get clogged up.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Andis AGC2 2-Speed Professional Clipper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very professional haircut!

PostedJune 9, 2007
Customer Avatar
Toto, my 12 y/o Lhasa Apso, has grown very impatient with groomers as he's aged, so I've opted to groom him myself to make it a less traumatic experience for him. This clipper is of a noticeably superior quality to the other clippers that I've tried in the past. They clip evenly, are streak free, the blades didn't clog with hair trimmings, and the unit does not overheat. Unfortunately, it only came with one blade, which I did not notice when I purchased the clippers. I intend to buy the blade set once I figure out which one I need!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Andis AGC2 2-Speed Professional Clipper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Happy Dog, Happy Groomer

PostedJune 2, 2007
Customer Avatar
My wonderful dog groomer recommended these clippers to me and even let me practice on her dog! Why, you ask, would a groomer want to lose business by introducing a client to great clippers?? Because she loves my dog Jake, a standard poodle with a fear of leaving home and a nervous digestive system : ).
You see, Jake often has an "accident" at the groomers, which means another bath for Jake and the groomer! We decided the best thing for all concerned would be for me to get a professional set of clippers so I can trim Jake at home.
Cindy showed me how easy these Andis were to use and how they zip right through Jake's heavy curls that are often filled with burrs and sticks from his runs through the woods. (Jake loves to chase deer!) I also love that there is no oil needed and they do not get hot! I have had others in the past that got very hot and had to be dipped in oil every few minutes. After a couple of dips the oil and the hair and the heat combine to make a messy gunk. And then they stop working. Cindy said hers work day after day and the blades last forever.
I loved working with hers and ordered the exact set that she uses on Jake. No more accidents!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Andis AGC2 2-Speed Professional Clipper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Useful in more ways than one!

PostedMay 22, 2007
Customer Avatar
I can use this for any of my pets, whether my four legged friends or my everloving husband or what about the kids? Brilliant! I have become a professional barber after all these years. Lovely piece of equipment and very precision in design. A must in any home! A wonderful option at my Petco store. Thank you, again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Andis AGC2 2-Speed Professional Clipper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good clippers make all the difference!

PostedMay 2, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Nashville, TN
I was amazed at how much easier and faster it is to give my Schnauzers their haircuts using the Andis 2 speed clippers.
I had tried before using cheap clippers with plastic guides instead of changable blades, and given up on ever being able to get good results without stressing myself and the dogs more than it was worth.
A friend mentioned her Andis clippers, and I decided to invest in good clippers and try one more time. Well, I couldn't believe the difference. It's so easy to get good results with these.
No more inconvenient grooming appointments, long days in a cage at the groomers for my dogs, or begging somone else to do my dogs the way I want them done. Having multiple dogs, I saved the cost of the clippers in just a couple of groomings. I now recommend Andis AGC 2 speed clippers to all my fellow Schnauzer owners.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.