petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for FIPROGUARD PLUS Dog & Puppy Topical Flea & Tick Treatment

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

FIPROGUARD PLUS Dog & Puppy Topical Flea & Tick Treatment

Contains Fipronil and (S)-methoprene - the active ingredients used in FRONTLINE Plus(R)Fast acting, long lasting protectionKills all stages of the flea (adult fleas, flea eggs, flea larvae and prevents the development of flea pupae)Kills 4 major ticks including ticks that may transmit Lyme diseaseKeeps killing fleas and ticks for up to 4 weeks
Average Customer Rating:
3.7 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
7 out of 10(70%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for FIPROGUARD PLUS Dog & Puppy Topical Flea & Tick Treatment
Review 1 for FIPROGUARD PLUS Dog & Puppy Topical Flea & Tick Treatment
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works just fine

PostedNovember 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
bootmaven
from Portland, OR
Have been using Frontline Plus and decided to try this one. On my long haired dog, it took 3 or 4 days before he stopped showing signs of fleas. Now they are definitely gone. Short haired dogs stopped scratching sooner.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for FIPROGUARD PLUS Dog & Puppy Topical Flea & Tick Treatment
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
nezza
from tennessee
WOW! What a great product! I have worked in an animal hospital for years where i used a similar product. I have since moved out of the state from that job and have looked for a cheaper alternative. I was excited to try Fiproguard Plus and have been extremely happy with the results. We live in a very wooded area where ticks are more of a problem than fleas. I have a 5 year old Alaskan Malamute and since applying Fiproguard have had ZERO problems with ticks or fleas this past summer!!!! I am so happy with this product and will continue to use and recommend it. I have had tremendous results.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for FIPROGUARD PLUS Dog & Puppy Topical Flea & Tick Treatment
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

No good!

PostedSeptember 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
1joer
from Cleveland Ga
This stuff, just like their "Natural Defense" line, only works for about a week and a half. I am done wasting my money on Sentry products!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for FIPROGUARD PLUS Dog & Puppy Topical Flea & Tick Treatment
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works as well as the higher priced products

PostedSeptember 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
2GoldensHome
from Ventura, CA
I was skeptical at first, but for the price I thought I would give it a try. My male Golden gets terrible skin allergies to flea bites, and my female Golden bites herself raw when fleas attack, so I was hoping this would be a more economic way of keeping things under control. I took my two dogs to the beach to play in the surf, and then applied it when we got home. The next day there were still fleas, so I re-applied to dry doggies and was pleasantly surprised to find no fleas the next day! *Note; do not apply to wet skin, as it doesn't seem to work as well or at all. One other plus is that it is not greasy like Frontline or K-9 Advantix, so doesn't attract every dirt particle or discolor the fur. I am very pleased with this product and the savings is an added bonus!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for FIPROGUARD PLUS Dog & Puppy Topical Flea & Tick Treatment
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not sure how well it works but is applied same as Frontline

PostedSeptember 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
KrnnDug
from Arizona
I just got this product based on the fact the ingredients are the exact same ones as in Frontline Plus.
1st, the instructions are to apply it between the shoulder blades so the previous poster must have had an old box or a different brand. I read it a lot because other ones I have used say to squeeze it from the shoulder area and go towards the rear, my dog won't stay still for that (like his dogs) so I was relieved.
2nd, I have found a lot more ticks than before and they aren't dead (until I cut them in half with my scissors). Maybe that is a function of the product, I don't know, but I will use it for the 3 months and see what happens. After that I will try the Advantix brand.
We never had ticks before we adopted Baxter, but since last year we have found 1 or 2 every month. After I used this product I have found at least 7 in 2 days!!! What is strange is our other dog has only had 1 tick since he came into our family and that was last year. Maybe she has a natural repellant, any thoughts on that? Maybe we can market that, ha, ha.
Bottom line, my opinion is still out. I would have to give it a 2 or 3 right now, but will reevaluate after 3 months.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for FIPROGUARD PLUS Dog & Puppy Topical Flea & Tick Treatment
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Not bad! Works like Frontline but cheaper.

PostedSeptember 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kathy2115
from St Louis, MO
While there are still some fleas on my dogs, I have fleas in my house and backyard due to neighbor's infested pets, They aren't scratching as much, just like with Frontline. At least I know that when a flea bites them, they die! Let's see if it lasts as long as Frontline ... to be determined.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for FIPROGUARD PLUS Dog & Puppy Topical Flea & Tick Treatment
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not exactly like Frontline

PostedSeptember 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
JetRocket11
from Houston, TX
This product is cheap and has the same ingredients as Frontline but the way you apply this is different. With Frontline you apply everything in one spot near the shoulder blades but with this product you have start at the shoulder blades and go all the way down to the tail. I have 2 large dogs and it was not easy since they do not want to stay still for long and because they were so big the product was all gone before I could even reach the tail area.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for FIPROGUARD PLUS Dog & Puppy Topical Flea & Tick Treatment
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

works great

PostedAugust 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
littlebit2003
from lewiston maine
Works as good as frontline. i read some review saying that their dogs still had fleas after using this product. It is obvious that their house or yard is infested and needs treatment as well. people do not realize that the flea has to bite the animal to die. So if your house or yard is infested it needs to be treated. no spot treatment on a dog is going to treat your entire property.I am always a little cautious when it comes to new products when it comes to my dog she has alot of allergies but seeing as this has the same active ingredients as frontline i decided to give it a shot i was not disappointed. i would most definitely recommend this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for FIPROGUARD PLUS Dog & Puppy Topical Flea & Tick Treatment
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Works on ticks but not fleas!

PostedJune 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
LuvMyBrussels
from Montevallo, AL
Works on Ticks but not fleas! After one day I found a dead tick on the floor, after 2 weeks still fleas.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-17points
2of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for FIPROGUARD PLUS Dog & Puppy Topical Flea & Tick Treatment
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT PRODUCT

PostedJune 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
PETRISMOM
from LOCUST GROVE, VA
I recently purchased this and used it on my dog and it works great. I live in a heavily wooded area and fleas and ticks love it but they are not on my dog.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+19points
19of 19voted this as helpful.