petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sentry FIPROGUARD Cat & Kitten Topical Flea & Tick Treatment

Sentry FIPROGUARD Cat & Kitten Topical Flea & Tick Treatment

Contains Fipronil - the active ingredient used in FRONTLINE Top Spot ®Flea control for cats that provides fast-acting, long-lasting protectionKills fleas, ticks and chewing liceKills four major types of ticks, including ticks that may transmit Lyme diseaseTopical flea treatment that keeps killing fleas and ticks for up to 4 weeks
Average Customer Rating:
3.649 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 37 reviews
5 stars
20
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
10
25 out of 37(68%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer Reviews for Sentry FIPROGUARD Cat & Kitten Topical Flea & Tick Treatment
Review 1 for Sentry FIPROGUARD Cat & Kitten Topical Flea & Tick Treatment
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is good stuff

PostedApril 15, 2015
Customer Avatar
from GA
We have been using this product for several years and to date, I have not found a tick or flea on our 4 legged baby. She also doesn't mind the smell as she has in the past using another brand. That is a very good thing.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sentry FIPROGUARD Cat & Kitten Topical Flea & Tick Treatment
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works great

PostedFebruary 12, 2015
Customer Avatar
from EastHamp, NY
I have been using this product for a long time and it works for my cats, I am very thankful.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sentry FIPROGUARD Cat & Kitten Topical Flea & Tick Treatment
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Made problem worse

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Clifton Park NY
This product states it is comparable to another brand name including the same ingredients, as mentioned on the front of the packaging.
When I applied the solution some of my animals became sick almost within minutes of application (foaming at the mouth, vomiting). After 2-3 days the itching became worse and seemed to heighten in the animals who hadn't been originally affected as bad at first and now all animals are incessantly itching. 3 cats and 2 dogs. Treated all.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sentry FIPROGUARD Cat & Kitten Topical Flea & Tick Treatment
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

did not work

PostedSeptember 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from new orleans
gave each of my 3 cats a dose and it did not work at all on any of my cats. My older cats hair actually fell out also in the places i treated her. On of my cats is white so i can easily see the fleas still on her.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sentry FIPROGUARD Cat & Kitten Topical Flea & Tick Treatment
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

A total joke

PostedSeptember 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from San Pedro, CA
Don't waste your money on this. After two applications (because my husband thought I didn't apply the first time properly), the fleas multiplied exponentially. I had to take my cat to the vet for a flea bath and a real flea treatment. Sorry, worst product ever.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sentry FIPROGUARD Cat & Kitten Topical Flea & Tick Treatment
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

horrible

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
from PA
horrible did not kill one flea. In fact was made worse cats immediately started itching more after treatment and now i cant do anything else for 30 days.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sentry FIPROGUARD Cat & Kitten Topical Flea & Tick Treatment
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far, so good. It works.

PostedJune 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Charlotte, NC
It seems to work and mine are kitties that venture out into the back yard. I had no difficulty applying the vials. Of my 3 kitties, no reactions, no drama, no fear that I had put something on them that might have adverse reaction. They barely seemed to notice. The application was not terribly stinky or greasy on their fur after a couple of days although I did take care to not pet directly on the application site. Will certainly use again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sentry FIPROGUARD Cat & Kitten Topical Flea & Tick Treatment
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Serentry Home/Cats

PostedApril 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Florida
Hello I have 2 indoor cats that were somehow getting fleas. I purchased the Sentry home for both of them. It has been 3 weeks since I have treated them, and they still are having fleas. BAD, so I had to get something else to treat them with.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sentry FIPROGUARD Cat & Kitten Topical Flea & Tick Treatment
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Luv this product

PostedMarch 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Edgewood, MD
I have 4 cats and they are indoor cats but I have gotten fleas in the past. My vet told me I could bring them in on my clothes or they could come through screen windows. I am on a fixed budget so I decided to try this product and it was great. Doesn't have that awful smell other flea meds. have and I have no evidence of fleas.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sentry FIPROGUARD Cat & Kitten Topical Flea & Tick Treatment
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love this

PostedSeptember 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
from haskell, nj
we recieved a kitten with fleas, I washed her 2 times a day for three weeks, combed her 2 times a day and put a flea collar on her. All this did not work. As soon as I got the fiproguard I put this on her and she now has been flea free for a week. I still comb her 2 times a day. but so far so good...
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sentry FIPROGUARD Cat & Kitten Topical Flea & Tick Treatment
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Fiproguard

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
from San Diego
I honestly expected this to be a better product, especially since it's from Sergeant's. Either the active ingredient isn't as strong as advertised, or the fleas are becoming immune to it. It doesn't last anywhere near the six weeks stated on the box; two weeks are all I've had it last. And my cat does NOT go outdoors.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sentry FIPROGUARD Cat & Kitten Topical Flea & Tick Treatment
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Product worked as advertised, at a very good price!

PostedAugust 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Tampa, FL
This product has worked great! I applied it exactly as directed (one spot on skin, not hair; not necessarily easy with two of the cats being long haired). Although I immediately started seeing dead fleas, I did find that it took about 10 days to really approach the problem. However, this would make sense, since flea eggs would already have been laid; these would continue to hatch. I watched the cats carefully and observed no side affects whatsoever. I definitely plan to apply it again shortly at the end of the 30 day period.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sentry FIPROGUARD Cat & Kitten Topical Flea & Tick Treatment
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stops outdoor ticks & fleas

PostedMay 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
from eastern Tennessee
Our cats do roam our isolated foothills property and
they are exposed to ticks incl. deer ticks, fleas and
other nasties. Fiproguard keeps them off or if they
land on a cat, they don't attach and you can remove
them easily. Good product and swift delivery for a
very fair price. We will be re-ordering !
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sentry FIPROGUARD Cat & Kitten Topical Flea & Tick Treatment
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

fiproguard cat flea treatment

PostedApril 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Kingman, AZ
It worked very well and was easy to apply. My cats tolerated it well and I've seen no fleas yet!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sentry FIPROGUARD Cat & Kitten Topical Flea & Tick Treatment
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not Fully Created Equal

PostedMarch 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Federal Way, WA
While Sentry FIPROGUARD Cat & Kitten Topical Flea & Tick Treatment has the identical ingredient fipronil as Frontline, I wondered why my ragdoll, Dolly was still scratching a week later of application. Upon a thorough inspection; I saw fleas frolicking from her rib cage towards the tail and underside area. Further research of why the buggers were not dying, is, Sentry FIPROGUARD Cat & Kitten Topical Flea & Tick Treatment is missing the key ingredient (S)-methoprene which allows the product to spread through the skin and up through the fur follicles, (translocation technology) hence giving full body protection. For Dolly at least, unless the fleas get near the application point, it has no affect what so ever of killing fleas. In my opinion, it’s like a liquid flea collar. For me, and Dolly, lesson learned a bit and many undesirable bites too late. How could have I missed this important fact? Back to the name brand.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
10of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sentry FIPROGUARD Cat & Kitten Topical Flea & Tick Treatment
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Its Worth What it Cost

PostedDecember 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Compton, CA
this product works great! I cat has been having the flea problem since she was a kitten, and i tired shampoos and other cheat flea products. Nothing Work, so i finally tired this one, within a week or so her fleas were gone. I mean til know she is completely flea free(:
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sentry FIPROGUARD Cat & Kitten Topical Flea & Tick Treatment
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent choice!

PostedDecember 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Lansing, MI
There was a minor case of fleas a few months back, but the household is very short on extra cash, and the employee at the Frandor PetCo recommended this as the best budget spot treatment. The house has three indoor cats, one nineteen, one twelve, and one five, and this was even safe on the nineteen-year-old! (You should still consult your regular vet before using it on a geriatric kitty.) I would definitely recommend it to friends, and use it the next time fleas get in.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Sentry FIPROGUARD Cat & Kitten Topical Flea & Tick Treatment
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Doesn't Work

PostedNovember 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
from NY
We a used to use the other brand that this is "comparable to" without ever seeing a flea. I switched to see if we could save some money. Well, we are on our third month and while we don't have a mass infestation, our cats do have fleas. I would say that this may minimize the number of fleas, but it's cold here so fleas are less active this time of year any way. I would find one or two on the cats here and there, but after finding one in my daughters HAIR we will be switching back - it's worth the extra money spent. I also wonder how much of a difference it made starting to apply on a cat that already was flea-free. If the cats already had fleas, I can't imagine how ineffective it would have been then!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Sentry FIPROGUARD Cat & Kitten Topical Flea & Tick Treatment
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedNovember 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Ft Myers, FL
Worked well on my cats. Did not make them sick, but fleas dissappeared. No harsh smell, like some that I've used. Cats didn't seem to mind it. Does last for 30 days.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Sentry FIPROGUARD Cat & Kitten Topical Flea & Tick Treatment
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This doesn't work!

PostedOctober 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Northampton, MA
My poor kitty is still scratching at those fleas. Don't buy this product!! I thought, "Wow, what a great deal" but I should have known better. Be willing to spend the extra 20 bucks or so on a product that will help your cat.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>