petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thundershirt Heather Gray Dog Anxiety Solution

Thundershirt Heather Gray Dog Anxiety Solution

Effective solution for anxieties in caninesMedication-free and easy-to-use dog anxiety wrapShirt is made with a lightweight, breathable and machine washable materialWraps around your dog providing gentle, constant pressureIdeal for dog separation anxiety, thunderstorms and other loud noises, travel and moreAdjustable straps let you customize for best fitAvailable in a variety of sizes to suit all types of dogs
Average Customer Rating:
3.752 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(105 Reviews) 105
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 105 reviews
5 stars
55
4 stars
13
3 stars
12
2 stars
6
1 star
19
78 out of 105(74%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 23 Answers
Customer Reviews for Thundershirt Heather Gray Dog Anxiety Solution
Review 1 for Thundershirt Heather Gray Dog Anxiety Solution
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Thundershirt...meh

PostedNovember 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Gainesville, FL
So, not 100% sure if it's just my dog or the shirt or what. However the shirt appears to make her more nervous. We are going to work on wearing it more often with more treats involved.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Thundershirt Heather Gray Dog Anxiety Solution
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not working for my dog

PostedOctober 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
from San Francisco, CA
My dog is terrified when we go outside and I was hoping the Thundershirt will get her calm down. Unfortunately it does not work for her for some reason. She starts shaking as soon as I put it on her so I had to return it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Thundershirt Heather Gray Dog Anxiety Solution
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Maybe it's just my dog

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Chicago, IL
I tried the Thundershirt for a full month, but it did not help my dog's separation anxiety. I will say however, that it might just be her needing behavioral modification in addition to this. I'm not sure, but this just did not seem to help.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Thundershirt Heather Gray Dog Anxiety Solution
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Dog Chewed it Off

PostedAugust 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Frisco, TX
We had rescued a Miniature Pinscher/Chihuahua cross puppy (approx 6 months old) from a local shelter. If you know dog breed personalities, the Min Pin has a very energetic, hyper personality. Our pup definitely seems to be mostly Min Pin! He's HIGHLY active and he just never seems to calm down. He's now about a year old. Of course, we made his crate a luxurious place with a cuddly soft blanket, a couple of chew toys and a small bowl of clean water and when we left the house we initially had him stay in his crate to potty train him. Since we rescued him from "a cage" at the shelter, once he was potty trained, we didn't want to keep him in his crate all of the time, so we started to allow him to be free when we left the house. Well, when we're gone, he finds anything he can to chew and eat. He's destroyed our shoes that were out by the door, has somehow gotten some rubber coasters off of our coffee table and eaten them, and tends to get a craving for our cat's litter box treasures. (YUCK.) At night before bed time, before we move him to his crate to sleep, he just doesn't unwind and just drives us crazy. So, we tried calming tablets, Chamomile tea, a calming scented collar, and eventually we tried the Thundershirt. The Thundershirt actually seemed to work initially. However, it did make him seem very odd. He would just stand and stare into space and seemed almost like he was "in a daze"... but he was calm! It seemed to really change his personality all together, and I wasn't sure if I liked that. But, when we needed him to calm down it did work to calm him down. So, we decided to try putting the Thundershirt on him when we left the house since he seemed to have some anxiety while we were gone. Unfortunately, since he couldn't find anything else interesting, he decided to chew himself out of his Thundershirt and continue to nibble away at it. So, it was destroyed. =( I was amazed that he could chew himself out of it like that! Anyway... if this shirt could be made out of a material that is too strong to chew out of, or maybe made of something that repels dogs from chewing... we might try it again. I would still recommend it to others since it did work to calm him down while it lasted.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Thundershirt Heather Gray Dog Anxiety Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is not the 1st one I bought, but LOVE the Updated Style.

PostedAugust 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Royal Palm Beach, FL
I have used a thunder shirt on my one dog for years. I ordered her a new one after seeing they had updated the style. This one is more contour, so it snuggles your pet better. Making them feel secure regardless whether there is thunder, or fireworks. Thank you for helping to make our pup more able to tolerate the scary noises that bother her so much.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Thundershirt Heather Gray Dog Anxiety Solution
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Thunder Shirt

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Pennsylvania
I have a 10 pound Yorkie that is very skittish of any noises so I got excited when I heard about this shirt. It works for a thunderstorm that is not directly overhead but when it comes to a strong storm or fireworks that are in the immediate area, I didn't see a great improvement in his anxiety level. The shirt is made of good material and easy to put on. My dog likes when I put it on so it must make him feel secure.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Thundershirt Heather Gray Dog Anxiety Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Thundershirt

PostedJune 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Alva, FL
My Yorkie is 7 lbs. She shakes and pants uncontrollably and hides under the chair with the frequent afternoon and evening thunderstorms. We are experiencing them almost daily here in SW Florida now.
I purchased the Thundershirt and truly noticed a significant change concerning her extreme fear. She senses a storm coming from miles away, so I put it on when she starts reacting a storm, thunder or rain coming and it really eases her anxiety.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Thundershirt Heather Gray Dog Anxiety Solution
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This is a good product.

PostedJune 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Florida
My Silkie Terrier is terrified of thunderstorms and hides every time we have one. When I put the Thundershirt on her, she clams down a little, but she's so used to being terrified, she still is. Hopefully in time, she will see that she is fine and calm down.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Thundershirt Heather Gray Dog Anxiety Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It WORKS!!!

PostedJune 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Taylor, MI
I bought 2 of these..1 for my Shih Tzu and 1 for my daughter's furbaby. This is firework season although it's mid June..
My Shih Tzu is so scared that we also have meds from the vet, but with the Thunder shirt we have not used ANY!! As soon as it's dark out, I tell Lucy that it's time to put her PJ's on. She becomes on alert upon hearing the fireworks and will come sit with us, but settles down very soon
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
9of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Thundershirt Heather Gray Dog Anxiety Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Money well-spent

PostedJune 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Ohio
Our dog gets very scared and heads
for her "safe place" even before the bad
weather sets in because she senses that it is coming.
With this Thundershirt she feels more secure and comes running to get it on.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Thundershirt Heather Gray Dog Anxiety Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GET. THIS. SHIRT. :)

PostedJune 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Visalia, CA
My cousin gifted my Pomeranian with this shirt. Not once has he "done his jobs" in the apt. when I must leave him alone. 6 yrs. Yep, 6 yrs. my adopted, anxious Pomeranian did his jobs on my carpet if I left the house without putting him in his 3 x 6 pen. Once, since using this shirt, I left in too much of a hurry to put it on him....and yes, I came home to his two surprises. it's been a month now, I've learned my lesson and he, Rusty, does a happy dance when I show him his shirt! Do yourself AND your pooch a favor...get this shirt!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Thundershirt Heather Gray Dog Anxiety Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is great!

PostedApril 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Bellevue,IA
I was skeptical about this product. When I used it on Kelby one stormy night it worked great..
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Thundershirt Heather Gray Dog Anxiety Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

just like a hug

PostedApril 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Bitely, Mi.
I put off buying this because I just couldnt imagine it working...but it does! I put it on my dog and rub his belly a minute and the Thundershirt takes care of the rest. My dog Pete lays quietly during a storm now instead of shaking and pacing and crying loudly during one. So very much worth the money!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Thundershirt Heather Gray Dog Anxiety Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazed - Worth every penny

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Jacksonville Florida
I have 3 dogs, one of which has some nervous issues. He is a larg pitbull, but paces and whines. When I got a 3rd dog it seemed to be worse. He would pace, and urinate while pacing, want to go out constantly etc. I also recently bought a nanny cam and could see that he was pacing all day too. I broke down and bought him a male wrap which didn't help the pacing, but did keep him from peeing while pacing. While at the checkout at Petco to buy another wrap I saw this and finally just forked over the $. Instant change. No more pacing, not one accident in the house since, and when I peek in during the day, he is sleeping all day, restfully! He doesn't seem to mind it at all. I hug him while putting it on and taking it off. If you have a dog who just marks the house, won't work. If you have one who is a nervous nellie, worth a try. Very well made and washed up fine in machine.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
18of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Thundershirt Heather Gray Dog Anxiety Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Thundershirt...it does really work

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Chicago, IL
I recently rescued a border collie/catahoula leopard dog who is probably 3 yrs old. I was off work for the first 10 days with vacation time so the transition seemed to be going well. Then I had to go back to work and my husband who usually works midnites had to train on days. My girl tore into the house from pillows to blinds and was pacing and panting. A friend had bought but not used the Thundershirt so I borrowed it. It made a difference immediately and after a month of wearing it, she knows what it means-Mommy's leaving-and she just jumps on the couch and settles down. THANK YOU Thundershirt! I can rest assured that my girl is safe and comfortable when I leave the house!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Thundershirt Heather Gray Dog Anxiety Solution
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Only Used Once So Far

PostedJanuary 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Petaluma, CA
We've only used it once so far and she whined the whole time she had it on. We will give it a couple more tries.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Thundershirt Heather Gray Dog Anxiety Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Relaxes dog

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Ohio
I bough this for my very big dog, Cooper. It works great. He is basically an outdoor dog but we put this on him when he comes in the house. It calms him down a lot. I would recommend this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Thundershirt Heather Gray Dog Anxiety Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Thundershirt

PostedNovember 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Spring, TX
This is the greatest thing I have ever seen. We were about to put down our 7 year old Silky because of his constant barking and anxiety. I put this shirt on him and he is a totally different animal. This product literally saved his life. THANK YOU!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-24points
10of 44voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Thundershirt Heather Gray Dog Anxiety Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It Works!

PostedOctober 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Minnesota
I have a male, blue heeler whom my husband and I adopted about 1.5 months ago. A dear family friend his owner passed away in a tragic accident. This dog was never trained and was an inside dog it's whole life he is around 8 years old so we knew it would be a challenge. We built him an outside kennel and put a dog house on the end of an old shed. He has horrible separation anxiety, we've been doing the ignore them when they are barking or whining when we come home and leave which has worked a little bit and I do let him come in the house and sit in the kitchen with us. We remodeled an old farm house and I don't really want him all over our house. I seen this shirt and thought it was worth a try I was a little leery on spending this kind of money on a tshirt for a dog. I got it today and was opening the box of new stuff for our dog I followed the directions and got it on him. He was all excited and jumping on me and wouldn't calm down so I did the ignore trick and all of a sudden he sat down and then laid down calm as could be.
I could not believe it he has never calmed down that quick. I know it is the first day so I hope it continues to work but if your desperate for a non-medication fix I would recommend this.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-4points
7of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Thundershirt Heather Gray Dog Anxiety Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Huge Difference!

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Minnesota
I have a 7lb Morkie who started developing a fear of anything and everything and he would bark uncontrollably when he was frightened. These episodes had been known to last 30mins or longer. This drove me and him crazy! Our trainer recommended the Thunder Shirt and it is a night and day difference! It is WONDERFUL! Tobie is able to relax, be calm and his crazy barking episodes only last about 5mins. This thing is a miracle!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>