petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thundershirt Heather Gray Dog Anxiety Solution

Thundershirt Heather Gray Dog Anxiety Solution

Effective solution for anxieties in caninesMedication-free and easy-to-use dog anxiety wrapShirt is made with a lightweight, breathable and machine washable materialWraps around your dog providing gentle, constant pressureIdeal for dog separation anxiety, thunderstorms and other loud noises, travel and moreAdjustable straps let you customize for best fitAvailable in a variety of sizes to suit all types of dogs
Average Customer Rating:
3.759 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(112 Reviews) 112
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 112 reviews
5 stars
57
4 stars
17
3 stars
12
2 stars
6
1 star
20
84 out of 112(75%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 31 Answers
Customer Reviews for Thundershirt Heather Gray Dog Anxiety Solution
Review 1 for Thundershirt Heather Gray Dog Anxiety Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Immediate Chamge in Behavior

PostedJune 15, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Dallas, Tx.
My dog jumps up on people, but once the Thundershirt was on, her bad behavior changed. Calmer.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Thundershirt Heather Gray Dog Anxiety Solution
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product but size leaves a lot to be desired.

PostedMay 20, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Philadelphia, PA
Sizing could be better. I attempted to buy the product in the Petco stores but they never had the sizes that I thought my dog would need. However I bought the item on line and when I put it on, it appeared that it could possibly be too long on the underside and would get in the way when my dog peed. I put it on for a short period of time as stated in the directions, however apparently did not watch him enough and he peed on it. After washing it, I will need to figure out a way to alter it so it will fit him better.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
9of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Thundershirt Heather Gray Dog Anxiety Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a life saver.

PostedApril 13, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Sherman, TX
Presley is a 12yr old 4 lb yorkie and has always been afraid of rain much less a thunderstorm. We call this her bankee and she holds still for me to put it on. I got it when it 1st came out. It REALLY REALLY WORKS ON HENNY PENNY!!!! I always keep it close to my fingertips. It's good for her seizures too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Thundershirt Heather Gray Dog Anxiety Solution
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great concept

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Customer Avatar
from California
This is a great concept....except Ewok hates the velcro....maybe with quiet snaps or buttons.....the noise of the velcro just stressed her out.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Thundershirt Heather Gray Dog Anxiety Solution
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Thundershirt helpful-not cure all

PostedFebruary 14, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Iowa
I have a terrier mix who is set off easily and can be anxious. She paces, pants, shakes and yelps. I used the thundershirt in combination with other treatments to help ease her transition when we added a new cat to our household. The shirt helped, but we also used training methods and calming supplements as well.
The only problem I have with the product is the size, I wish there was a size between the M and the S. The S fits her okay- she is 29# and very tall and lanky- but is not as long as I would like. The M is WAY TOO BIG, I have one for my Aussie and it fits him perfectly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Thundershirt Heather Gray Dog Anxiety Solution
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Be careful with sizing

PostedJanuary 30, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Worcester, MA
My dog is between sizes and according to the Thundershirt website, I went by the chest size rather than the weight. It turned out to be huge. I tried it a couple of times before returning and it seemed to calm my dog down a little. May try again with a smaller size.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-5points
0of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Thundershirt Heather Gray Dog Anxiety Solution
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Wish it had worked for us...

PostedJanuary 23, 2015
Customer Avatar
We have a 2 year old cattle dog mix who suffers from separation anxiety.
Based on a friend's suggestion, I did some research and decided to try the Thundershirt. I brought it home, presented it with a treat, as the instructions suggest. She was very nervous as I was putting it on her, but as soon as it was on, she calmed down and just chilled out. I put it on her a few times, for 30 minutes to an hour at a time. She was fine with that, and quickly got over her nervousness of getting it on. I was feeling so hopeful!
I decided to try the ultimate test on a short outing. I had to pick my child up from school, which is less than 2 miles from my house. I put it on her, she went into her crate, and I left. I returned 15 minutes later - 15 minutes! - to find she had chewed it in half, and was, as usual, sitting in a massive puddle of saliva.
Clearly, this was not a good fit for my dog.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
6of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Thundershirt Heather Gray Dog Anxiety Solution
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Thundershirt...meh

PostedNovember 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Gainesville, FL
So, not 100% sure if it's just my dog or the shirt or what. However the shirt appears to make her more nervous. We are going to work on wearing it more often with more treats involved.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Thundershirt Heather Gray Dog Anxiety Solution
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not working for my dog

PostedOctober 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
from San Francisco, CA
My dog is terrified when we go outside and I was hoping the Thundershirt will get her calm down. Unfortunately it does not work for her for some reason. She starts shaking as soon as I put it on her so I had to return it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Thundershirt Heather Gray Dog Anxiety Solution
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Maybe it's just my dog

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Chicago, IL
I tried the Thundershirt for a full month, but it did not help my dog's separation anxiety. I will say however, that it might just be her needing behavioral modification in addition to this. I'm not sure, but this just did not seem to help.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Thundershirt Heather Gray Dog Anxiety Solution
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Dog Chewed it Off

PostedAugust 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Frisco, TX
We had rescued a Miniature Pinscher/Chihuahua cross puppy (approx 6 months old) from a local shelter. If you know dog breed personalities, the Min Pin has a very energetic, hyper personality. Our pup definitely seems to be mostly Min Pin! He's HIGHLY active and he just never seems to calm down. He's now about a year old. Of course, we made his crate a luxurious place with a cuddly soft blanket, a couple of chew toys and a small bowl of clean water and when we left the house we initially had him stay in his crate to potty train him. Since we rescued him from "a cage" at the shelter, once he was potty trained, we didn't want to keep him in his crate all of the time, so we started to allow him to be free when we left the house. Well, when we're gone, he finds anything he can to chew and eat. He's destroyed our shoes that were out by the door, has somehow gotten some rubber coasters off of our coffee table and eaten them, and tends to get a craving for our cat's litter box treasures. (YUCK.) At night before bed time, before we move him to his crate to sleep, he just doesn't unwind and just drives us crazy. So, we tried calming tablets, Chamomile tea, a calming scented collar, and eventually we tried the Thundershirt. The Thundershirt actually seemed to work initially. However, it did make him seem very odd. He would just stand and stare into space and seemed almost like he was "in a daze"... but he was calm! It seemed to really change his personality all together, and I wasn't sure if I liked that. But, when we needed him to calm down it did work to calm him down. So, we decided to try putting the Thundershirt on him when we left the house since he seemed to have some anxiety while we were gone. Unfortunately, since he couldn't find anything else interesting, he decided to chew himself out of his Thundershirt and continue to nibble away at it. So, it was destroyed. =( I was amazed that he could chew himself out of it like that! Anyway... if this shirt could be made out of a material that is too strong to chew out of, or maybe made of something that repels dogs from chewing... we might try it again. I would still recommend it to others since it did work to calm him down while it lasted.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
8of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Thundershirt Heather Gray Dog Anxiety Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is not the 1st one I bought, but LOVE the Updated Style.

PostedAugust 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Royal Palm Beach, FL
I have used a thunder shirt on my one dog for years. I ordered her a new one after seeing they had updated the style. This one is more contour, so it snuggles your pet better. Making them feel secure regardless whether there is thunder, or fireworks. Thank you for helping to make our pup more able to tolerate the scary noises that bother her so much.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
16of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Thundershirt Heather Gray Dog Anxiety Solution
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Thunder Shirt

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Pennsylvania
I have a 10 pound Yorkie that is very skittish of any noises so I got excited when I heard about this shirt. It works for a thunderstorm that is not directly overhead but when it comes to a strong storm or fireworks that are in the immediate area, I didn't see a great improvement in his anxiety level. The shirt is made of good material and easy to put on. My dog likes when I put it on so it must make him feel secure.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Thundershirt Heather Gray Dog Anxiety Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Thundershirt

PostedJune 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Alva, FL
My Yorkie is 7 lbs. She shakes and pants uncontrollably and hides under the chair with the frequent afternoon and evening thunderstorms. We are experiencing them almost daily here in SW Florida now.
I purchased the Thundershirt and truly noticed a significant change concerning her extreme fear. She senses a storm coming from miles away, so I put it on when she starts reacting a storm, thunder or rain coming and it really eases her anxiety.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Thundershirt Heather Gray Dog Anxiety Solution
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This is a good product.

PostedJune 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Florida
My Silkie Terrier is terrified of thunderstorms and hides every time we have one. When I put the Thundershirt on her, she clams down a little, but she's so used to being terrified, she still is. Hopefully in time, she will see that she is fine and calm down.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Thundershirt Heather Gray Dog Anxiety Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It WORKS!!!

PostedJune 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Taylor, MI
I bought 2 of these..1 for my Shih Tzu and 1 for my daughter's furbaby. This is firework season although it's mid June..
My Shih Tzu is so scared that we also have meds from the vet, but with the Thunder shirt we have not used ANY!! As soon as it's dark out, I tell Lucy that it's time to put her PJ's on. She becomes on alert upon hearing the fireworks and will come sit with us, but settles down very soon
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
14of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Thundershirt Heather Gray Dog Anxiety Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Money well-spent

PostedJune 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Ohio
Our dog gets very scared and heads
for her "safe place" even before the bad
weather sets in because she senses that it is coming.
With this Thundershirt she feels more secure and comes running to get it on.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Thundershirt Heather Gray Dog Anxiety Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GET. THIS. SHIRT. :)

PostedJune 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Visalia, CA
My cousin gifted my Pomeranian with this shirt. Not once has he "done his jobs" in the apt. when I must leave him alone. 6 yrs. Yep, 6 yrs. my adopted, anxious Pomeranian did his jobs on my carpet if I left the house without putting him in his 3 x 6 pen. Once, since using this shirt, I left in too much of a hurry to put it on him....and yes, I came home to his two surprises. it's been a month now, I've learned my lesson and he, Rusty, does a happy dance when I show him his shirt! Do yourself AND your pooch a favor...get this shirt!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Thundershirt Heather Gray Dog Anxiety Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is great!

PostedApril 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Bellevue,IA
I was skeptical about this product. When I used it on Kelby one stormy night it worked great..
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Thundershirt Heather Gray Dog Anxiety Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

just like a hug

PostedApril 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Bitely, Mi.
I put off buying this because I just couldnt imagine it working...but it does! I put it on my dog and rub his belly a minute and the Thundershirt takes care of the rest. My dog Pete lays quietly during a storm now instead of shaking and pacing and crying loudly during one. So very much worth the money!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>