petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thundershirt Heather Gray Dog Anxiety Solution

Thundershirt Heather Gray Dog Anxiety Solution

Effective solution for anxieties in caninesMedication-free and easy-to-use dog anxiety wrapShirt is made with a lightweight, breathable and machine washable materialWraps around your dog providing gentle, constant pressureIdeal for dog separation anxiety, thunderstorms and other loud noises, travel and moreAdjustable straps let you customize for best fitAvailable in a variety of sizes to suit all types of dogs
Average Customer Rating:
3.728 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(92 Reviews) 92
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 92 reviews
5 stars
48
4 stars
11
3 stars
10
2 stars
6
1 star
17
67 out of 92(73%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer Reviews for Thundershirt Heather Gray Dog Anxiety Solution
Review 1 for Thundershirt Heather Gray Dog Anxiety Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazed - Worth every penny

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
JenLyn
from Jacksonville Florida
I have 3 dogs, one of which has some nervous issues. He is a larg pitbull, but paces and whines. When I got a 3rd dog it seemed to be worse. He would pace, and urinate while pacing, want to go out constantly etc. I also recently bought a nanny cam and could see that he was pacing all day too. I broke down and bought him a male wrap which didn't help the pacing, but did keep him from peeing while pacing. While at the checkout at Petco to buy another wrap I saw this and finally just forked over the $. Instant change. No more pacing, not one accident in the house since, and when I peek in during the day, he is sleeping all day, restfully! He doesn't seem to mind it at all. I hug him while putting it on and taking it off. If you have a dog who just marks the house, won't work. If you have one who is a nervous nellie, worth a try. Very well made and washed up fine in machine.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Thundershirt Heather Gray Dog Anxiety Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Thundershirt...it does really work

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
snoopylass
from Chicago, IL
I recently rescued a border collie/catahoula leopard dog who is probably 3 yrs old. I was off work for the first 10 days with vacation time so the transition seemed to be going well. Then I had to go back to work and my husband who usually works midnites had to train on days. My girl tore into the house from pillows to blinds and was pacing and panting. A friend had bought but not used the Thundershirt so I borrowed it. It made a difference immediately and after a month of wearing it, she knows what it means-Mommy's leaving-and she just jumps on the couch and settles down. THANK YOU Thundershirt! I can rest assured that my girl is safe and comfortable when I leave the house!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Thundershirt Heather Gray Dog Anxiety Solution
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Only Used Once So Far

PostedJanuary 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
deana4jesus
from Petaluma, CA
We've only used it once so far and she whined the whole time she had it on. We will give it a couple more tries.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Thundershirt Heather Gray Dog Anxiety Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Relaxes dog

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
SBT38
from Ohio
I bough this for my very big dog, Cooper. It works great. He is basically an outdoor dog but we put this on him when he comes in the house. It calms him down a lot. I would recommend this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Thundershirt Heather Gray Dog Anxiety Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Thundershirt

PostedNovember 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
sasha999
from Spring, TX
This is the greatest thing I have ever seen. We were about to put down our 7 year old Silky because of his constant barking and anxiety. I put this shirt on him and he is a totally different animal. This product literally saved his life. THANK YOU!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-12points
7of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Thundershirt Heather Gray Dog Anxiety Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It Works!

PostedOctober 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
CaretakerJen
from Minnesota
I have a male, blue heeler whom my husband and I adopted about 1.5 months ago. A dear family friend his owner passed away in a tragic accident. This dog was never trained and was an inside dog it's whole life he is around 8 years old so we knew it would be a challenge. We built him an outside kennel and put a dog house on the end of an old shed. He has horrible separation anxiety, we've been doing the ignore them when they are barking or whining when we come home and leave which has worked a little bit and I do let him come in the house and sit in the kitchen with us. We remodeled an old farm house and I don't really want him all over our house. I seen this shirt and thought it was worth a try I was a little leery on spending this kind of money on a tshirt for a dog. I got it today and was opening the box of new stuff for our dog I followed the directions and got it on him. He was all excited and jumping on me and wouldn't calm down so I did the ignore trick and all of a sudden he sat down and then laid down calm as could be.
I could not believe it he has never calmed down that quick. I know it is the first day so I hope it continues to work but if your desperate for a non-medication fix I would recommend this.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
6of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Thundershirt Heather Gray Dog Anxiety Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Huge Difference!

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
TobiesMommy
from Minnesota
I have a 7lb Morkie who started developing a fear of anything and everything and he would bark uncontrollably when he was frightened. These episodes had been known to last 30mins or longer. This drove me and him crazy! Our trainer recommended the Thunder Shirt and it is a night and day difference! It is WONDERFUL! Tobie is able to relax, be calm and his crazy barking episodes only last about 5mins. This thing is a miracle!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Thundershirt Heather Gray Dog Anxiety Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Thundershirt works

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
JoAnn08
from Old Bridge, NJ
Just have to have it on before the storm or whatever causes the anxiety starts.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Thundershirt Heather Gray Dog Anxiety Solution
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Thundershirt Dog Anxiety Solution

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
DaniDave3600
from Wilmington, DE
This does NOTHING for our Beagle. She suffers from EXTREME separation anxiety and this doesn't to anything at all for her to calm her. I had very high hope that this would work because all other recommendations short of drugging her had failed. Of course she is an exception to the rule; after all she is a Beagle.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Thundershirt Heather Gray Dog Anxiety Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

SERIOUSLY changed our lives

PostedSeptember 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
ILoveMyCalmDog
from Portland, OR
I heard about this product from my vet. The very night I put it on my older Lhasa Apso I THOUGHT SHE'D DIED SHE WAS SO QUIET. Really, I went to her every hour that night to check that she was still breathing. She is losing her sight and hearing and gets a "lost" feeling, I think. This makes her yip randomly ALL NIGHT. It has kept me up for MONTHS. I have even tried sleeping on the floor with her...not comfortable. After putting the Thundershirt on her just once, we were hooked. She is Zen all day and sleeps ALL NIGHT. What a godsend! I recommend this cozy coat to any person living with a dog.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Thundershirt Heather Gray Dog Anxiety Solution
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Dont waste your money!

PostedMay 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
ams2000
from East Stroudsburg, PA
If you have a dog like mine, a golden retriever who goes crazy in thunderstorms, hates fireworks, etc. then don't waste your money because this product does not work!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
16of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Thundershirt Heather Gray Dog Anxiety Solution
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

size not accurate

PostedMay 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
missampi
from KS
The first problem I encountered was the shirt is too big. I ordered the appropriate size for his weight, but I have to overlap nearly past the velcro strips. If the size had shown chest measurements I might have been able to make a better purchase. We have tried it during a couple of mild thunderstorms, I haven't seen a big improvement yet. We will keep trying as the spring storm season is here.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Thundershirt Heather Gray Dog Anxiety Solution
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Fell apart in 3 days.

PostedApril 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
smallzoomom
from San Diego, CA
Bought the thundershirt 4 days ago to help our new dog with separation anxiety, she was crying when ever we left the room. We never washed it and as far as we have observed she has nevered chewed on it. The velcro in the front started falling off the next day and the day after that the stiching on one side is coming undone. I am disappointed the most because it seems to help her and I like the look and feel of the thundershirt. It could be that this particular shirt is a design fluke but at $40+ I am not sure I want to chance getting another one and have the same outcome.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Thundershirt Heather Gray Dog Anxiety Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wished I had ordered this product years ago.

PostedApril 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
1groomer
from Midwest
Product is perfect for my Mini Schnauzer who I worried about everytime there were storms. I put off buying this, and tried many other items including drugs from the vet. Finally just did it, and it stormed last night for the first time since I got the Thundershirt. It worked after about 2 minutes, my dog crawled up on my lap and went to sleep, where in the past 7 years I thought he would have a heart attack until the storms passed. If you are like me, don't wait, you have nothing to loose.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Thundershirt Heather Gray Dog Anxiety Solution
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Did Not Work!

PostedMarch 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
NayNay70
from Chicago, IL
My foster toy poodle excessively barks when I'm not home; suffers separation anxiety. The Thundershirt did not work at all and will be returned. A year ago, I had purchased a Thundershirt for my rescued Papillon. She suffers from separation anxiety as well, along with other fears. Well... she was so terrified by the sound of the velcro, it would literally send her jumping to the roof. Needless to say, she feared the Thundershirt and it was immediately returned.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Thundershirt Heather Gray Dog Anxiety Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

CALM AND RELAXED

PostedFebruary 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
CABINBOI
from MOREHEAD, KY
I LIKE THE RESULTS THAT FOLLOWED SHORTLY AFTER PUTTING THE THUNDERSHIRT ON MY 4YO PIT. HIS ANXIETY LEVEL HAS DROPPED SO MUCH AND CONTINUES TO SHOW GREAT RESULTS.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
14of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Thundershirt Heather Gray Dog Anxiety Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Peace at last

PostedDecember 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
HuskyLuv
For the first time ever my very anxious dog was able to lay down during a car ride. Usually even when sedated she paces, crazy pants, whines, and tries to climb into the front of the car. This trip while still sedated she was able to eventually lay down for good portions of a long distance car ride. I am so very grateful for this shirt. I didn't know what to expect but I am very happy with the results.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Thundershirt Heather Gray Dog Anxiety Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is Awesome

PostedDecember 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
MandiesMom
from Laurel, MD
We use this for my very anxious Beagle Mix. And it helps her so much. We even put it on her when it is not storming.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
4of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Thundershirt Heather Gray Dog Anxiety Solution
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Thundershirt

PostedDecember 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Plato1
from Los Angeles
Plain and simple: the Thundershirt DOES NOT WORK! The dog is as fraught and whiny as ever after staying alone in our home for over 45 minutes.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
5of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Thundershirt Heather Gray Dog Anxiety Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It IS all it's cracked up to be!

PostedNovember 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
JZap
from Portland, CT
This shirt will not solve all your problems, but coming from someone with an extremely hyper lab, it absolutely helps calm them down. I was amazed at the results and shocked that she didn't hate it. My dog doesn't even like wearing a collar, but the Thundershirt didn't bother her at all, and she was much better behaved around company than ever before. I would highly recommend this for a hyper, anxious pet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>