petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Yellow Dog Flotation Vest

Petco Yellow Dog Flotation Vest

High visibility reflective trimLightweight, water-resistant materialSafety grab strapVelcro and buckle closures for a secure fit
Average Customer Rating:
2.941 / 5
2.9
 / 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 17 reviews
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
7
9 out of 17(53%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 0 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Yellow Dog Flotation Vest
Review 1 for Petco Yellow Dog Flotation Vest
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dog Life Vests

PostedAugust 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Litchfield Park AZ
y doxies hate them but I love them. They fit well, kept them up in the water, easy to grab with the handle if needed, I highly recommend them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Yellow Dog Flotation Vest
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Sizing issue

PostedAugust 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Colorado
I bought this same vest in the store last year. I decided to get another one as I have two dogs swimming now. So I bought the XL, same size as I bought last year. But it's not the same size - it's much larger than last year's.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Yellow Dog Flotation Vest
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Depends on dimentions of your dog

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Washington State
I bought the large one for my year old german shepherd based on the neck and chest measurements.
She has a 17" neck and 29" chest. It fit her neck but was too small for her chest. I exchanged it for an extra large which fit her chest but was too big for her neck. I ended up exchanging that one for a large Kong floatation vest which fit perfect.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Yellow Dog Flotation Vest
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love it!

PostedOctober 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Maine
I am so glad we got this for my dog. It's gives us some piece of mind when we have her on our boat, knowing that we could easily pluck her out if she fell in. It keeps her head above water well. She doesn't mind wearing it, and I love that we can attach it to her leash and collar for extra support.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Yellow Dog Flotation Vest
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

poor quality

PostedOctober 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Chester, VA
I purchased two different sizes of this life vest and they are falling apart after only a year of use (which in Virginia, is technically about 3 months of boating weather for the dogs to swim). Save your money!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Yellow Dog Flotation Vest
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

HORRIBLE... POORLY MADE

PostedMay 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Sacramento, CA
I just purchased this life vest. 1st-I got the size that should fit my 9 month of boxer/pit mix....by girth & weight...it is too small. I also noticed that the handle is not secure. The stitches are coming apart and it was NEVER used. I am returning it and going somewhere else. This item is also $10 more than other stores. I don't understand how a poorly made item is so expensive. Upon further review, the other store's brand has a 4.8 rating....much better! !
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Yellow Dog Flotation Vest
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good for casual use, secure fit, comfortable

PostedApril 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
from MO
I rated the life vest 'good' because the vest offers a snug, secure fit with a full padded mesh under belly with full Velcro closure along with the two buckled straps. There are plenty of elastic keepers, so there are no dangling straps. The neck piece stays neatly in place. The vest is very adjustable.
I put it on my 80lb Doberman/Shepherd and he was very comfortable tearing around the yard with it on, and with full freedom of movement. It is lightweight, non-bulky, and cool.
So all that is really great, it out does nearly all other life vests I’ve found in this price range.
That being said, this is for calm waters only, as it says on the tag. I would not trust this vest except for a pool, the lake, or creeks. My dog will not be going on float trips or out on the river in this vest. I will also not be lifting my large dog straight up by the handle, it would place to much stress on the material and stitching (the handle is good for helping up and restraining a dog though). The construction seems sturdy enough, but this vest is good for casual use only in my opinion, and it is a decent, comfortable product for that. I expect a few years of use out of this vest, that’s all.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Yellow Dog Flotation Vest
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Strong and Well-Made

PostedJanuary 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Northern California
Unlike some reviewers, I found this product to be extremely well made. I bought one in April 2012 and hopefully the quality continues as I have ordered another. Initially I bought it to keep our 16 year old standard poodle warm and the store was out of most dog coats. It did keep him cozy. But since then we have used this jacket as a harness now that he needs support to walk. The velcro and the clasps are very strong and hold it firmly in place. The foam padding protects him when he falls. He has worn it every day for about 6 months and no seams show any wear. Too often we used the handle to support his entire 48 pounds and this did put strain on the threads of the handle which is why we are replacing it, but it has seen really tough use. No seams have torn even though we have put it through the washing machine several times. I also really like the appearance. He looks cool like a biker or roadside construction worker in the bright yellow color and reflective stripes. For a while he wore black booties, too, and together it was a hoot. No sissy-look for him!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Yellow Dog Flotation Vest
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointed with the Poor Quality

PostedAugust 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Mullica Hill, NJ
I purchased the life vest in a size Large for my 7 month old goldendoodle puppy. He currently weighs 40lbs, but we knew he would use this in the coming years, so we went with the bigger size which is rated for 50-90 lbs. It ends up fitting him pretty great now, not sure how it would fit when he's finished growing.
I was looking to purchase a vest and came to petco after the other local petstore was sold out. Petco had a higher price but I gladly paid for it knowing my puppy would use this many times this summer and beyond.
I have used the vest a total of 3 times. As of the 3rd use, the seam is ripping (about a 3 inch tear) and one of plastic fastener "doohickeys" is starting to tear from the strap. If my dog was oversized and busting out of the vest I may expect this, but as noted, he is under the weight recommendation by 10lbs.
I am going to attempt to return the vest, hopefully they accept my return, even though it's been used a few times. I would have expected this to last a lot longer than a couple of weeks.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Yellow Dog Flotation Vest
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor quality

PostedAugust 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Martinez, CA
Right before we were going to go on the river I noticed the seam by the neck part was coming undone. Vest was brand new. I returned vest and guy at petco was really nice. Said he's pretty sure this product has been referred for quality review to Petco. This vest is also way pricier than the one I just ordered elsewhere.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Yellow Dog Flotation Vest
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The product works well

PostedJuly 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
It took a while for my dog to get used to but the product works great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Yellow Dog Flotation Vest
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this vest

PostedAugust 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles, CA
Great quality and my dog loves wearing his jacket. The fit is great and I love the high viz color. Great job!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Yellow Dog Flotation Vest
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very poor quality

PostedAugust 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Atlanta, GA
I bought this for my dog to go in the river. Before she had even gotten in the water, the seam on the part under her chin had ripped. After a two hour trip in the river, both sides were completely torn apart and not usable. I was able to return it to Petco and get a full refund, so if you experience this problem, return it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+19points
19of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Yellow Dog Flotation Vest
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Fabric and stitching not strong enough

PostedAugust 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
from PA
Took Australian Shephard to the beach this weekend. She is only 50 lbs. The hook on the vest that attached to her leash broke off in literally 5 minutes. The handle then ripped right off after lifting her out of the water only once. The size we purchased fit her perfectly but the stitching was just not strong enough. This was the first and last time we were able to use it. We had to throw it away. I would definately not purchase this product again.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+15points
20of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Yellow Dog Flotation Vest
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor Construction

PostedJuly 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Harrisburg, Pa
This product is not constructed well enough to serve its intended purpose. I bought it, my dog used it for 30 minutes, and an entire seam blew out. This may be good if you want to put it in a display case, but if you intend to put it on your dog for swimming... don't plan on it lasting more than one outing. The materials are garbage. Buy a real one, and buy it once.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Yellow Dog Flotation Vest
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fit my 120lb Rottweiler

PostedJune 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
from PA
I had ordered a different brand that was advertised to fit dogs up to 150lbs but didn't fit at all. This one fits perfect and is comfortable. She didn't mind it at all. Love it!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco Yellow Dog Flotation Vest
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

PostedJune 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Portage, MI
I was a little nervous trying this out on my puggle. Due to his body shape and weight, we were pushing the limits. We had to go with a small which fits very snug (not really any room to adjust, meanwhile the medium would most likely slip off) but his weight hovers around the maximum weight limit.
We tested him out in a pool and it worked great. I don't have any worries for when we take him out on a boat.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+23points
23of 23voted this as helpful.