petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Super Pet CritterTrail Two

Super Pet CritterTrail Two

Spacious two-level small animal cagePetting zone allows interactivity between pet and pet parentIdeal for use as a mouse, gerbil or hamster cageMade with sturdy wire and durable plastic for your pet's safety and comfortColorful home compatible with CritterTrail, Habitrail and SAM systems
Average Customer Rating:
3.877 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(269 Reviews) 269
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 269 reviews
5 stars
126
4 stars
63
3 stars
31
2 stars
19
1 star
30
198 out of 269(74%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
46 Questions | 115 Answers
Customer Reviews for Super Pet CritterTrail Two
Review 1 for Super Pet CritterTrail Two
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!

PostedApril 20, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Texas
I got this cage for my very first hamster, Scooter. He absolutely loves it, and so do I. I was a little nervous about buying it because of some of the other reviews, but I do not regret the decision at all. My hamster loves the petting zone, and spends most of his time there. However, he does enjoy his tubes and the wheel also. It is not hard to clean, contrary to the other reviews. The thing I really like about this cage is that it is very easy to see through, which allows you to check up on your hamster or just sit and watch him/her for entertainment. I would highly recommend this cage to anyone considering it, and would definately buy it again!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+156points
170of 184voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Super Pet CritterTrail Two
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Amazing but...

PostedNovember 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Troy, MI
This cage worked amazing for my two dwarf hamsters who were much tamer than my Syrian. When I used it for my Syrian he chewed a small hole through the top and it kept getting bigger so I immediately had to cover the hole and buy another cage as quickly as I could. If your hamster does not like to chew I would definitely recommend it but if he/she does like to chew do NOT by this because they will be able to get out.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Super Pet CritterTrail Two
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great cage but...

PostedOctober 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
from New York, NY
This is a very cute and spacious cage. It's a little tricky to put together in the beginning but no problem at the end. (I'm not good at assemble but this is not too difficult) The only problem is I have a "big" teddy bear hamster and seems like the tubes are quite small for her. She don't like to climb in the tubing because I'm sure she'll get stuck in there. The wheel included is too small so I purchased the extension kit 3 which comes with a much bigger wheel. It is perfect now that I attach it at the side of the cage. The cage itself is great except I wish they made the tubes are little bigger.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Super Pet CritterTrail Two
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Plastic, even metal was flying

PostedSeptember 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Brooklyn, NY
This is a very hard cage to put together. I had to ask my husband's help to assemble the wire part of the cage. He continued working until he broke off two hooks on one side of one of the red second floor planks that are supposed to attach to the wire cage. I had to hold it up with red duct tape. After he threw a blue tube in frustration, I finished the assembly, but not before I broke off a metal hook that is part of a two hook lock mechanism. Okay, so the cage is handicapped, but functioning. There is no way that I'm taking it apart to clean it. I take out as much of the bedding by gloved hand, then vacuum, then wipe areas with a wet and dry paper towels. I clean the tubes with a baby bottle brush. As for my hamster, she's far from blissful, but I think she's happier in this cage. She's no longer gnawing on the cage wire trying to get out and that's a good thing.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
1of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Super Pet CritterTrail Two
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great cage

PostedAugust 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Minnesota, MN
this cage was perfect for my Syrian hamster. he really enjoys all of the extra space with the two shelves. but the wheel was too loud banging against the bars at night in my room. we moved him to another room and he was fine. definetly recommend for hamsters
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Super Pet CritterTrail Two
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A no-brainer

PostedMay 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Orlando, FL
I would recommend this to anyone because of its sheer room for your little fuzz ball. I have a hamster and not an hour goes by where I don't hear her running around and just having the time of her life.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
14of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Super Pet CritterTrail Two
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worked out very well.

PostedMay 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Trumbull, CT
We moved our female Teddy Bear Hamster to this cage from a smaller Petville one and the difference in her behavior was immediate.
She had been chewing on the bars of the previous cage, seemed very skitish and agitated.
The moment we put her into this cage a few days later, the change in her behavior was like night and day. She was much more calm and seemed to love the tubes. She acually brought bedding up herself to the top, removeable compartment and spends almost all of her sleep time up there.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
10of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Super Pet CritterTrail Two
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Dwarf Hamster cage

PostedApril 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Wellington,Fl
I got this cage for my winter white hamster and she loves it its somewhat spacious and the shelf's are perfect for extra space.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Super Pet CritterTrail Two
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This cage is clearly too small.

PostedApril 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Pennslyvania
This cage should not be on the market at all. The minimum cage requirement is 360 square inches. This cage is not even half the minimum. The tubes allow a dwarf hamster into them but defiantly not a Syrian. Terrible product
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-7points
5of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Super Pet CritterTrail Two
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AWESOME! CAGE I WOULD RECOMMEND IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

PostedApril 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
from NH
BEST CAGE EVER MY HAMSTER LOVES IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Super Pet CritterTrail Two
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hamster loves it!

PostedApril 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from California
I have a large hamster and she had outgrown the smaller cage we originally purchased. This larger cage accommodates a larger wheel (9 in) which we needed. The cage was easy to assemble. I'm very pleased with this cage.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Super Pet CritterTrail Two
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great cage!

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Spring, TX
I purchased this when I bought my two hamster, Astrid and Kole and they love it. I love that it is a good small sized cage that won't take up space in the house and still inside has a lot of room for the two. Love it! Do recommend!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Super Pet CritterTrail Two
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great cage for good price

PostedJanuary 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
from New York
This cage is very good for my hamster. I set up her bed at the upstair room and she can play and eat at downstair room. Easy to set up and clean.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Super Pet CritterTrail Two
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Set Up For A Hamster or Two!

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Vail, CO
Santa brought my 6 year old daughter a hamster for Christmas; this has been our first experience with a hamster. We wanted to make sure the cage was roomy enough for the little guy to enjoy his life. In my opinion, this cage is the perfect size. It is big enough for him and small enough that it doesn't take up a lot of room. The wheel is not particularly noisy when he runs either. Considering what is included, I don't think it's too much of a hassle to clean. Yes, you will have to take some time to clean the shelves, etc., but I think it took me five to ten minutes to clean it out and have it ready again (and that means washing it with soap and really cleaning it). The latches are easy to unlock in order to remove the top cage from the bottom, so that you can easily dump it out. The petting zone is a great touch and I have kept our little guy in there when we need to access the cage for cleaning or whatever. Aesthetically, this cage is pretty darn cool to look at, too. I don't think we could have made a better decision with this cage. I am really happy with it and absolutely recommend it. We received truly great service at the Glenwood Springs, CO store, too. Great experience overall!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
9of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Super Pet CritterTrail Two
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

i hope its good

PostedNovember 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
i have had 2 chinese dwarf hamster who where epic (but they died last weekend) so i wanted a new cage cuz they destroyd my old one so i went looking for a new one and this one looks great!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Super Pet CritterTrail Two
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far so good...

PostedNovember 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
from tennessee
I have put this cage together, but it does not have any critters in it yet, I bought it for a christmas gift for my boys who want mice. So far I am very satisfied, it went together without any problems, it took maybe 20 minutes? I did have to do some re-arranging of the shelves and wheel because I bought the Petco 2-Story Hamster House thinking it would fit on one of the shelves, but it does not. I am sadisfied with how I have it arranged now. I like that the tubes have grooves inside, it seems like it would be easy for the critters to crawl up them. The water bottle is quite small, and not clear, I might replace it with a regular generic one. The wheel appears to spin ok, it suggests adding oil before assembly, which I did. the top petting zone comes out fairly easy, I may put tape on it as a precaution against them pushing it out.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Super Pet CritterTrail Two
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Cheap

PostedNovember 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Washington
This cage is very breakable and i read that hamsters hate bright colors! i am saving up for another cage because the one that i have is broken and my hamster had chewed almost all the way through the bars and i had to duck tape most of it up. My hamster, Chester is 3 and getting pretty old for a hamster so i really would love it if he had a nice place to stay until his time comes. I defiantly recommend you don't get this product!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-10points
6of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Super Pet CritterTrail Two
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for mice

PostedNovember 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
The different levels (3 if you count the petting zone) really enrich the lives of my mice, and they obviously enjoy using all the tunnels. It's fairly easy to assemble and clean, and it's big enough for 1-3 mice.
The only downsides were the water bottle it came with (too small and you can't see the water level) and the wheel it came with (makes a lot of noise). But those things are easily replaced, and otherwise this cage is perfect.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Super Pet CritterTrail Two
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

If you care about your hamster's well-being...

PostedOctober 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Bloomington, IN
I have a larger hamster who tends to love to stuff his cheeks with all his food and fluff then try and climb up the tubes. Recently, he has gotten stuck once and last night got pinched between the tubes (because the tube comes in halves). Luckily he is okay, but it broke my heart to hear him cry and yelp, which I have never heard him do before. As a zookeeper and a pet owner, I do not recommend cages/enclosures that may cause harm to your pet. This was an unforeseen freak accident, but I would not want this to happen again; therefore, I will be buying a new cage.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+10points
16of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Super Pet CritterTrail Two
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Home

PostedOctober 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
My hamster loves this cage and so do I! It is very secure and I feel that he is safe in it. I have a few issues with it though. The assembly was very difficult, even with the instructions, and the wheel it comes with is very loud. I love this cage though because once it was together, I never had to take it apart again. The issue with the loud wheel, I just took out one of the platforms and purchased a silent wheel from petco. I would recommend getting more tunnels, but that is not a big issue. My hamster overall loves the cage and so do I despite the minor issues.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 14 next>>