petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Kaytee CritterTrail Two

Kaytee CritterTrail Two

Spacious two-level small animal cagePetting zone allows interactivity between pet and pet parentIdeal for use as a mouse, gerbil or hamster cageMade with sturdy wire and durable plastic for your pet's safety and comfortColorful home compatible with CritterTrail, Habitrail and SAM systems
Average Customer Rating:
3.836 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(281 Reviews) 281
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 281 reviews
5 stars
130
4 stars
65
3 stars
31
2 stars
20
1 star
35
204 out of 281(73%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
54 Questions | 136 Answers
Customer Reviews for Kaytee CritterTrail Two
Review 1 for Kaytee CritterTrail Two
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!

PostedApril 20, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Texas
I got this cage for my very first hamster, Scooter. He absolutely loves it, and so do I. I was a little nervous about buying it because of some of the other reviews, but I do not regret the decision at all. My hamster loves the petting zone, and spends most of his time there. However, he does enjoy his tubes and the wheel also. It is not hard to clean, contrary to the other reviews. The thing I really like about this cage is that it is very easy to see through, which allows you to check up on your hamster or just sit and watch him/her for entertainment. I would highly recommend this cage to anyone considering it, and would definately buy it again!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+176points
196of 216voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Kaytee CritterTrail Two
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible

PostedAugust 4, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Ohio
a horrible cage! it is far too small for any hamster and easily escaped from. not even nearly worth $40.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Kaytee CritterTrail Two
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

The worst cage EVER!!

PostedAugust 1, 2015
Customer Avatar
from misouri
This cage is so poorly made the top part does not fit on the cage at all if the hamster is deturmed to get out they will easily get out by pushing the top part off and sliding through. My hamster Smores almost got out I caught him just in time he was half way through.
I am very very un happy with this cage. Also the tubes are VERY skinny and not as they advertise! You would be lucky if a mini dwarf hamster fit you would be lucky. SMORES is a teddy bear hamster and he cant even get through and there is only around 6 inches of the cage floor only enough room for a food bowl and SMALL igloo hide away. He can not move. . I am so upset.
I paid 55 dollars for this piece of junk! I will never shop at petco again
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Kaytee CritterTrail Two
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Too small.

PostedJuly 13, 2015
Customer Avatar
I dont understand why everyone thinks that this is a good cage? It is way too small for a hamster and way too expensive. I bought this at first, then returned it a day after and bought a bin to make a cage. About 3 of these cages is how big my bin cage is and it was about $8-$12 ... This product is terrible! Just because it has 2 levels, it doesn't mean its good.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Kaytee CritterTrail Two
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Cage!

PostedMay 31, 2015
Customer Avatar
from ME
This is my second cage because my other one was too small. This cage is amazing! And lots of space for my teddy bear hamster, Masie. She is very content with the tubes and the wheel. The wheel is a little noisy but I'm used to it so it doesn't bother me. The only problem was getting the cage together. It was super difficult and it almost seemed like the parts were tight. But besides that, I recommend this to any first timers or just pet owners looking for a new cage!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Kaytee CritterTrail Two
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great!

PostedApril 28, 2015
Customer Avatar
I own two mice, and we got this cage so they wouldnt have to live in a tank. The bars have the right spacing for a mouse that is 1 week old and older to prevent it from escaping. The wheel is great too! It is big enough for bith to run on it at the same time, but they dont do that. I keep the food bowl on the red shelf to prevent it from spilling in the bedding when they burrow in the food when looking for the piece they want. I thought i would have to put a stick in the tube up to the petting zoo so they could climb up, but because the tubes have ridges, they can climb up and down with ease! They started peeing up there to avoid peeing in their living space, so that can help with keeping the cage dry. The doirs are easy to open and close, and the cage can easily be expanded onto another cage of this brand. We all love this cage! It does get a bit crowded with just this cage when you have two mice so we expanded it with the one level complete kit.
It is rated 4 stars because it wouldnt let me rate it 5...
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Kaytee CritterTrail Two
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

A BIG mistake!

PostedApril 8, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Kennewick,WA
This product is horrible! I got it for Christmas from my dad and my hamster escaped five times out of a hole at the top that did not have a plastic piece to cover it and I got a bin instead. Also it is not even 360 square inches which is the U.S. Minimum. I do not recommend this product at all!!!! Please do not get this cage it is over priced and your hamster will not live a happy healthy life and if you want a hamster to live to be an old hamster and to live past the minimum age of your hamster species!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
6of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Kaytee CritterTrail Two
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far so awesome!!!!!!!!!!

PostedFebruary 20, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Maine
So I finally got a hamster and I thought wow, this cage looks great! So I stuck Esther in the petting zone and at first she seemed a little scared to go down the tube (she is a chubby little thing). After a bit she gathered up her courage and ...wriggle squirm push ... Out she came . Anyway, this cage was really easy to put together
and clean . I love watching her on her wheel ( she never gets off that thing). She doesn't really use the red levels but will occasionally store some food or a chew stick up there. Despite what people say, you actually can gauge the water level in the water bottle ( mind all you bad review writers). 5 stars ahem paws.( sorry!!)
No flaws.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+5points
10of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Kaytee CritterTrail Two
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice little home

PostedFebruary 11, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Laramie, wyoming
Very nice hamster cage, like the bright colors, lots of add on ideas, very easy to clean.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Kaytee CritterTrail Two
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

This product is good overall

PostedJanuary 21, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Utah
I think that this product is good overall. My friend's hamster loved her cage. I would recommend this for one robo hamster but NOT for a larger hamster. My hamster was a winter white and he was always stressed and chewing on the bars. Even though there are the shelf things, it is just not enough space. The recommended size for a hamster cage is 360 square inches. You can get a clear plastic bin at most stores that you can make a bin cage out of for much cheaper than buying a cage. Bin cages are awesome for hamsters because the hamster can not escape. Look them up!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-5points
3of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Kaytee CritterTrail Two
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good cage but

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Customer Avatar
If your hamster love to chew stuff then I would get the cage for him/her but my hamster loves it because of all the tubes and the sleeping place on the top but if you have a very active hamster then there is not that much floor space but otherwise this is a great cage
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Kaytee CritterTrail Two
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AMAZING!

PostedJanuary 11, 2015
Customer Avatar
from CA
This was amazing! My hamster (not a dwarf) Bubbles has gotten used to it and is really liking to go back and fourth from the petting zone. She hasn't went up the little platforms yet but it has enough room for a tiny house and chews! It also has places to extensions like a lookout for her! (Lookout not included ;3) I recommend this for beginners, or even people who just need a new place for their hamsters! Keep in mind if you have a spare cage leave your hamster in it because making the cage takes about 10 minutes.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Kaytee CritterTrail Two
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Read if you care about your pet

PostedJanuary 4, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Texas, TX
Do not get this cage. Not only can animals EASILY escape the cage, it's way too small. I kept two gerbils and they weren't happy. Owners say their pets are happy but in reality this isn't true. You can get a 40 gallon cage right now for the same price. Please, please don't buy it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-6points
6of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Kaytee CritterTrail Two
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Amazing but...

PostedNovember 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Troy, MI
This cage worked amazing for my two dwarf hamsters who were much tamer than my Syrian. When I used it for my Syrian he chewed a small hole through the top and it kept getting bigger so I immediately had to cover the hole and buy another cage as quickly as I could. If your hamster does not like to chew I would definitely recommend it but if he/she does like to chew do NOT by this because they will be able to get out.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Kaytee CritterTrail Two
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great cage but...

PostedOctober 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
from New York, NY
This is a very cute and spacious cage. It's a little tricky to put together in the beginning but no problem at the end. (I'm not good at assemble but this is not too difficult) The only problem is I have a "big" teddy bear hamster and seems like the tubes are quite small for her. She don't like to climb in the tubing because I'm sure she'll get stuck in there. The wheel included is too small so I purchased the extension kit 3 which comes with a much bigger wheel. It is perfect now that I attach it at the side of the cage. The cage itself is great except I wish they made the tubes are little bigger.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Kaytee CritterTrail Two
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Plastic, even metal was flying

PostedSeptember 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Brooklyn, NY
This is a very hard cage to put together. I had to ask my husband's help to assemble the wire part of the cage. He continued working until he broke off two hooks on one side of one of the red second floor planks that are supposed to attach to the wire cage. I had to hold it up with red duct tape. After he threw a blue tube in frustration, I finished the assembly, but not before I broke off a metal hook that is part of a two hook lock mechanism. Okay, so the cage is handicapped, but functioning. There is no way that I'm taking it apart to clean it. I take out as much of the bedding by gloved hand, then vacuum, then wipe areas with a wet and dry paper towels. I clean the tubes with a baby bottle brush. As for my hamster, she's far from blissful, but I think she's happier in this cage. She's no longer gnawing on the cage wire trying to get out and that's a good thing.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-9points
1of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Kaytee CritterTrail Two
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great cage

PostedAugust 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Minnesota, MN
this cage was perfect for my Syrian hamster. he really enjoys all of the extra space with the two shelves. but the wheel was too loud banging against the bars at night in my room. we moved him to another room and he was fine. definetly recommend for hamsters
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Kaytee CritterTrail Two
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A no-brainer

PostedMay 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Orlando, FL
I would recommend this to anyone because of its sheer room for your little fuzz ball. I have a hamster and not an hour goes by where I don't hear her running around and just having the time of her life.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+17points
19of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Kaytee CritterTrail Two
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worked out very well.

PostedMay 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Trumbull, CT
We moved our female Teddy Bear Hamster to this cage from a smaller Petville one and the difference in her behavior was immediate.
She had been chewing on the bars of the previous cage, seemed very skitish and agitated.
The moment we put her into this cage a few days later, the change in her behavior was like night and day. She was much more calm and seemed to love the tubes. She acually brought bedding up herself to the top, removeable compartment and spends almost all of her sleep time up there.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
18of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Kaytee CritterTrail Two
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Dwarf Hamster cage

PostedApril 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Wellington,Fl
I got this cage for my winter white hamster and she loves it its somewhat spacious and the shelf's are perfect for extra space.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 15 next>>