petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Aqueon Siphon Vacuum Aquarium Gravel Cleaner

Aqueon Siphon Vacuum Aquarium Gravel Cleaner

Perfect for quick water changesSelf-priming, using up and down motion, to start water flowEfficiently separates debris from gravelIncludes a clip for attaching the drain hose to the inside of a bucket
Average Customer Rating:
2.882 / 5
2.9
 / 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 17 reviews
5 stars
3
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
5
10 out of 17(59%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Aqueon Siphon Vacuum Aquarium Gravel Cleaner
Review 1 for Aqueon Siphon Vacuum Aquarium Gravel Cleaner
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It works but...

PostedAugust 7, 2015
Customer Avatar
from New York
I have a three and a half gallon tank for a guppy and some African Dwarf Frogs. This seems to work well enough, but in order to get it started it has to be completely under water. So if you have a somewhat shallow tank (mine is like 12 inches deep) then it won't suck up the water. But it's way better than using a cup to take out water. It just takes some sideways pumping.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Aqueon Siphon Vacuum Aquarium Gravel Cleaner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product for a Aquarium over 1 gallon

PostedJuly 19, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Fort Worth, TX
The Aqueon Siphon Vacuum Aquarium Gravel Cleaner is great IF, you have aquarium over 1 gallon.
I gave 5 stars because if I had a larger aquarium if would not have been a problem. The nozzle is to large for a 1 gallon tank. I ordered the smallest size, I had to send it back. It was awkward to use in a 1 gallon tank.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Aqueon Siphon Vacuum Aquarium Gravel Cleaner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gravel Cleaner pump

PostedMay 29, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Boca raton
Seemed to be legit and it was.Takes a few easy pumps to get it started and wouldnt want anything else.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Aqueon Siphon Vacuum Aquarium Gravel Cleaner
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Aqueon Siphon Vacuum Gravel Cleaner

PostedMay 20, 2015
Customer Avatar
from New Port Richey , Florida
It's good, but it take's some time to " Self Prime " . I will continue to use this product ! It work's well !
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Aqueon Siphon Vacuum Aquarium Gravel Cleaner
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It's NOT difficult to use this...

PostedApril 14, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Albuquerque
After reading through some of these reviews, I felt I had to add my own and "clear the water."
I use this vacuum for both my 10 gallon betta tank and also for our 29 gallon tank's water changes. I have used the same one for years now and plan to continue using it for years to come.
All of the people complaining about how they can't get it to work are not "pumping" it fast enough. Four or five QUICK and SHORT pumps are all it takes to get the siphon going, and you can tell when you're doing it right because you can actually feel the siphon "grab" the water. Also, the flow rate of the siphon depends on how high your tank is in relation to the other end of the siphon tube. For the fastest flow, keep your bucket as low as possible. If your bucket is sitting level with the aquarium, you're not going to get much suction/flow.
Lastly, regarding the people sucking up all their substrate... There are plenty of videos/articles that show you how to clean your substrate... Jamming your vacuum into the substrate and leaving it there is a no-no, as is dragging it across the top of the substrate. You're supposed to insert it into the substrate and then immediately lift and let the substrate fall back out before moving on to another spot. If your flow is too strong and you're still having issues sucking up your substrate, use your other hand to pinch/crimp the hose to regulate the flow to where it's more manageable. The substrate itself also plays a large role in how easily it is to clean. If you have very fine substrate or sand, it will be much more difficult to clean to matter what type of product you use.
This is a very simplistic product and is not difficult to use. As with ALL products, be sure you are using it correctly before bashing it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Aqueon Siphon Vacuum Aquarium Gravel Cleaner
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

This siphon is ok

PostedJanuary 23, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Las Vegas NV
I am using this on a 2.5 gallon betts tank and I don't think it would work for a one gallon like it advertises. Once you get it started it sucks so hard that it takes the aquarium gravel out too and you have to stop siphoning and start over to keep it from taking gravel out. I feel that it doesn't work as it should but it does help you remove water and do a little cleaning with out removing betta from the tank. It just doesn't clean around the gravel the way siphons for bigger tanks do that I have had in the past.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Aqueon Siphon Vacuum Aquarium Gravel Cleaner
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Tampa
The siphon itself is great, the head is super wide and sucks up a lot of water at once. The problem is the tube. The tube is made out of super hard plastic and because of the packaging, was crimped permanently in many places and would not allow the water to flow. I spent an hour trying to get water to flow through the tube, all the while scaring my fish because it says to just move it up and down in the water and it will flow! It doesn't work. Don't waste your money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Aqueon Siphon Vacuum Aquarium Gravel Cleaner
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not what I expected

PostedSeptember 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Kansas City, Mo.
I expected something different as the Web site picture looked different to me than the product I received. I thought it had an electric pump. However, it is the one I have seen in stores previously. I have a 10 gallon tank and the Siphon tube works fine without the "pump" attachment. I could not get it to work with the attachment on the plastic tubing. Perhaps because I could not move the "pump" up and down enough in the 10 gallon tank. Since I don't expect to clean gravel with it (I have a Cory Catfish) I'm using the plastic tubing to siphon water from the tank to exchange it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-4points
1of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Aqueon Siphon Vacuum Aquarium Gravel Cleaner
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Too Large

PostedAugust 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
from NJ
The filtration tube is too large to effectively clean corners and around decorations.
slightly difficult to start suction flow.
very large water volume flow during cleaning process.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Aqueon Siphon Vacuum Aquarium Gravel Cleaner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product for a great price

PostedApril 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Philadelphia, PA
Just bought this yesterday for my 20 gallon aquarium. Beautiful results! I would definitely recommend it to a friend. It takes a few seconds to get it going but it's worth it. Hurray for physics and cheap prices!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Aqueon Siphon Vacuum Aquarium Gravel Cleaner
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

NOOOOOOOOOOOOO

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
from vt
the vaccum takes a while to start up and the cleaner doesnt even work! it just sucks all the water out of my tank and doesnt pick up all the nasty suff
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-8points
2of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Aqueon Siphon Vacuum Aquarium Gravel Cleaner
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
from mass
This is just the best, takes a bit of learning to get the hang of getting the pump to start but once you get going it is just fabulous.
I was having trouble keeping the tank up and with this it is a breeze.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Aqueon Siphon Vacuum Aquarium Gravel Cleaner
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Awful

PostedJune 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Whitewright, TX
Far too powerful. Rather than removing waste and debris from your tank, it will effectively remove the gravel entirely.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
8of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Aqueon Siphon Vacuum Aquarium Gravel Cleaner
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Too Strong!

PostedDecember 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
from IL
I was looking to replace my old gravel vacuum because it was one of the extending types and I had so much sand stuck between the tubes that it was time to replace it. I bought one of these and wow is it strong! I have to actually purposely plug it just to not clear all the gravel out of my tank! The sand tank is just horrible! It instantly sucks up all of my gravel into the bucket without any sort of delay. Unless it's insanely plugged I can't use it for vacuuming the gravel at all or I wouldn't have any left. It would be nice if I had another option to use...
The self priming thing never works on any gravel vac so I'm not basing my review on that. You just have to get used to sucking the hose. With enough experience you won't eat fish water anymore.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
8of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Aqueon Siphon Vacuum Aquarium Gravel Cleaner
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

DO NOT BUY THIS!!!!

PostedOctober 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Delaware
I put this pump together very easily but when I put the product to use, it simply did not work. I pumped and all it did was push the water out, no suction whatsoever. A very disappointing product!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
8of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Aqueon Siphon Vacuum Aquarium Gravel Cleaner
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

It's not easy at all

PostedAugust 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
from sacramento, CA
Trying to get the siphoning going proved difficult and when I finally got it to it drained the tank too fast so that I couldn't "vacuum" all of the gravel in the tank in time. Bummed.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Aqueon Siphon Vacuum Aquarium Gravel Cleaner
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good and Bad

PostedApril 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
from ny,ny
I got the 16" one for my 55gallon tank.Its pretty good it cleans the gravel good and gets all the food and waste out.The one downside is it takes out alot of water in a quick amount of time.I didnt buy this as a water changer but i wanted a gravel cleaner.I have a 5gallon bucket and it will be filled in about 30secs.So for a big tank its gonna take a while to clean all the gravel you have.
When i did it when i got done with 25% of cleaning the gravel about 20 gallons of water was gone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+28points
30of 32voted this as helpful.