petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Aqueon Siphon Vacuum Aquarium Gravel Cleaner

Aqueon Siphon Vacuum Aquarium Gravel Cleaner

Perfect for quick water changesSelf-priming, using up and down motion, to start water flowEfficiently separates debris from gravelIncludes a clip for attaching the drain hose to the inside of a bucket
Average Customer Rating:
2.4 / 5
2.4
 / 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
5 stars
1
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
4
4 out of 10(40%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Aqueon Siphon Vacuum Aquarium Gravel Cleaner
Review 1 for Aqueon Siphon Vacuum Aquarium Gravel Cleaner
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not what I expected

PostedSeptember 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Kansas City, Mo.
I expected something different as the Web site picture looked different to me than the product I received. I thought it had an electric pump. However, it is the one I have seen in stores previously. I have a 10 gallon tank and the Siphon tube works fine without the "pump" attachment. I could not get it to work with the attachment on the plastic tubing. Perhaps because I could not move the "pump" up and down enough in the 10 gallon tank. Since I don't expect to clean gravel with it (I have a Cory Catfish) I'm using the plastic tubing to siphon water from the tank to exchange it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Aqueon Siphon Vacuum Aquarium Gravel Cleaner
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Too Large

PostedAugust 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
from NJ
The filtration tube is too large to effectively clean corners and around decorations.
slightly difficult to start suction flow.
very large water volume flow during cleaning process.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Aqueon Siphon Vacuum Aquarium Gravel Cleaner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product for a great price

PostedApril 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Philadelphia, PA
Just bought this yesterday for my 20 gallon aquarium. Beautiful results! I would definitely recommend it to a friend. It takes a few seconds to get it going but it's worth it. Hurray for physics and cheap prices!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Aqueon Siphon Vacuum Aquarium Gravel Cleaner
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

NOOOOOOOOOOOOO

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
from vt
the vaccum takes a while to start up and the cleaner doesnt even work! it just sucks all the water out of my tank and doesnt pick up all the nasty suff
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-8points
0of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Aqueon Siphon Vacuum Aquarium Gravel Cleaner
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
from mass
This is just the best, takes a bit of learning to get the hang of getting the pump to start but once you get going it is just fabulous.
I was having trouble keeping the tank up and with this it is a breeze.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Aqueon Siphon Vacuum Aquarium Gravel Cleaner
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Awful

PostedJune 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Whitewright, TX
Far too powerful. Rather than removing waste and debris from your tank, it will effectively remove the gravel entirely.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Aqueon Siphon Vacuum Aquarium Gravel Cleaner
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Too Strong!

PostedDecember 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
from IL
I was looking to replace my old gravel vacuum because it was one of the extending types and I had so much sand stuck between the tubes that it was time to replace it. I bought one of these and wow is it strong! I have to actually purposely plug it just to not clear all the gravel out of my tank! The sand tank is just horrible! It instantly sucks up all of my gravel into the bucket without any sort of delay. Unless it's insanely plugged I can't use it for vacuuming the gravel at all or I wouldn't have any left. It would be nice if I had another option to use...
The self priming thing never works on any gravel vac so I'm not basing my review on that. You just have to get used to sucking the hose. With enough experience you won't eat fish water anymore.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
6of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Aqueon Siphon Vacuum Aquarium Gravel Cleaner
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

DO NOT BUY THIS!!!!

PostedOctober 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Delaware
I put this pump together very easily but when I put the product to use, it simply did not work. I pumped and all it did was push the water out, no suction whatsoever. A very disappointing product!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
6of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Aqueon Siphon Vacuum Aquarium Gravel Cleaner
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

It's not easy at all

PostedAugust 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
from sacramento, CA
Trying to get the siphoning going proved difficult and when I finally got it to it drained the tank too fast so that I couldn't "vacuum" all of the gravel in the tank in time. Bummed.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Aqueon Siphon Vacuum Aquarium Gravel Cleaner
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good and Bad

PostedApril 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
from ny,ny
I got the 16" one for my 55gallon tank.Its pretty good it cleans the gravel good and gets all the food and waste out.The one downside is it takes out alot of water in a quick amount of time.I didnt buy this as a water changer but i wanted a gravel cleaner.I have a 5gallon bucket and it will be filled in about 30secs.So for a big tank its gonna take a while to clean all the gravel you have.
When i did it when i got done with 25% of cleaning the gravel about 20 gallons of water was gone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+28points
29of 30voted this as helpful.