petco.com Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At petco.com

Customer Reviews for Nutro Natural Choice Grain Free Limited Ingredient Diet Venison Meal & Potato Adult Dry Dog Food

Nutro Natural Choice Grain Free Limited Ingredient Diet Venison Meal & Potato Adult Dry Dog Food

Provides a balanced diet with no wheat, rice, corn or other grainsNew Zealand venison is the single novel animal protein source to further minimize digestive issuesSunflower oil helps improve skin & coatContains no artificial colors, flavors, preservatives or sweeteners
Average Customer Rating:
4.808 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 26 reviews
5 stars
24
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
25 out of 26(96%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Nutro Natural Choice Grain Free Limited Ingredient Diet Venison Meal & Potato Adult Dry Dog Food
Review 1 for Nutro Natural Choice Grain Free Limited Ingredient Diet Venison Meal & Potato Adult Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nutro Natural Choice Grain Free Limited Ingredient Diet Venison Meal & Potato Adult Dry Dog Food

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
keelothia
from Las Vegas, NV
My dogs love this food and they have not had any issues with their health since I switched.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nutro Natural Choice Grain Free Limited Ingredient Diet Venison Meal & Potato Adult Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful for my service dog

PostedNovember 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
LinKarena
from Citrus Heights
My German Sheppard had many skin allergies until I found this food....Venison and Potato keeps his coat shiny and soft, his skin healthy and his digestive system on target. Expensive but worth the cost for his well being
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nutro Natural Choice Grain Free Limited Ingredient Diet Venison Meal & Potato Adult Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for Wheatens

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
DooganFife
from Humble, TX
My Soft Coated Wheaten Terrier has had runny stools since we brought him home. I tried several different high quality foods and this was the only one that didn't upset his stomach. He loves the taste and always finishes his meals!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nutro Natural Choice Grain Free Limited Ingredient Diet Venison Meal & Potato Adult Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dogs Love It!

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
ZBNY
from Frederick, MD
My dogs love the food and it has helped with their over all skin allergies. Unfortunately it's expensive but it's worth it since it helps my two labs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nutro Natural Choice Grain Free Limited Ingredient Diet Venison Meal & Potato Adult Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE

PostedSeptember 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from rota, spain
My shepherd is allergic to wheat, corn, rice and soy. He loves Nutro, so I'm glad we didn't have to switch him completely off the brand. My spanish water dog puppy LOVES it too!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nutro Natural Choice Grain Free Limited Ingredient Diet Venison Meal & Potato Adult Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Miracle!

PostedFebruary 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ful2Fam
from APO, AE
This food is amazing, my small "mutt" has a crazy sensitive stomach. When we got her at 6 months old and beyond she would have spouts of loose BMs for 2 days once a month. We spent countless visits to the vet until one of the new vets told us to switch. We were on Blue Wilderness. She told us that our pup needed limited ingredients and uncommon main ingredients ( venison and potato or brown rice). We made the switch. Our pup has been on Nutro for about a year and she has not needed probiotics or anti-diarrheals supplements! Yay! This is a great food, my mom now has her two dogs on it and her old pick chubby beagle loves it ( better then her senior diet food) and has lost more weight on it. Our dogs are definitely happier, as am I not having to clean up loose BM from all over the house and kennel!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nutro Natural Choice Grain Free Limited Ingredient Diet Venison Meal & Potato Adult Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Incredible Results!!

PostedFebruary 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
LabResQDad
from Oconomowoc, WI
We rescued a Lab last year not knowing he had severe food allergies. Dry, itchy skin, hives, cherry red paws, gunky ears, loose stools...the whole 9 yards. Poor guy was miserable :( We started with the Sensitive Skin and Coat which helped a lot but not completely. Decided to go to the Grain Free Venison and Potato along with grain-free treats. After a couple of weeks, he was dramatically better! Skin, ears, and paws cleared up and no more loose stools. You could just tell he was feeling so much better. Oh, he likes it too. When the food bin is opened...the drool starts flowin!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nutro Natural Choice Grain Free Limited Ingredient Diet Venison Meal & Potato Adult Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worked for sensitive stomach and flaky skin

PostedDecember 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
balletprof
from California
My Dobie is almost 3 and has had ongoing problems with picky appetite, loose bowels and flaky skin.
She loves this food and all the problems have been resolved. Worth every penny !!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nutro Natural Choice Grain Free Limited Ingredient Diet Venison Meal & Potato Adult Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nutro Venison/Potato grain free dog food

PostedOctober 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
jhorton
from SE Alaska
My Springer Spaniel has terrible allergies, and this food has been a huge help. He doesn't have near as many itchy outbreaks and he loves the food.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nutro Natural Choice Grain Free Limited Ingredient Diet Venison Meal & Potato Adult Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Food

PostedOctober 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
GolfrrGrrl
from Charlotte, NC
I feed this to my 107 lb GSD. He eats it right up! It's nice because he is on a specific diet of venison and potato and this fits the bill! After paying prescription prices for the beginning of his allergy test it was nice to find a nonprescription food that still was no grain and high quality! His coat looks awesome! Sleek and shiny!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nutro Natural Choice Grain Free Limited Ingredient Diet Venison Meal & Potato Adult Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
pj2pete
from Peabody, MA
My Golden Retriever was diagnosed as being hypo-allergenic and was allergic to many grain products. I tried the Nutro Naturual Venison and Sweet Potato formula. Within a few weeks his itching and discomfort was almost non-existent. He LOVES the food and it leaves his coat and skin in great condition. I also love the automatic shippment, saving me from trips to the pet store. It is actually cheaper to purchse it this way. THANK YOU for a great product
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Nutro Natural Choice Grain Free Limited Ingredient Diet Venison Meal & Potato Adult Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hurray! No more itching!

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
kensdoggie
from downeast maine
I started my dog on this product several months ago. I had been trying for several years to get his allergies under control. This grain-free food finally did the trick. However, since I live rurally, I had difficulty finding a nearby source that I could count on to have the food when i needed it. Whenever I substituted something else he would begin to scratch again. Finding it online with auto delivery to my door was a blessing! Thanks.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Nutro Natural Choice Grain Free Limited Ingredient Diet Venison Meal & Potato Adult Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Balanced Diet

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
SpringTime
from Alaska
I have two dogs that require specialty food-one has a sensitive stomach, and the other has allergies to grains. This food has been amazing for both of them, giving them plenty of energy, a healthy shine to their coat, and they love it!! I will be buying this for years to come.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Nutro Natural Choice Grain Free Limited Ingredient Diet Venison Meal & Potato Adult Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible Improvement

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
TjRed
from Huntington Beach, CA
We used this dog food for 2 years with our 4 year pit bull. He is on a grain free diet due to food allergies and tolerated this product well. Once the manufacturer changed the product ingredients and said they were, "new and improved," our dog had horrible bowel problems immeidiatley. The manufacturer states they did not change very much, but is obviuos enough to effect our dogs digestion and bowels. Pet Co was gave a refund on the dog food that was left over, which was generous. I would not buy the "new and improved" version of this dog food!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Nutro Natural Choice Grain Free Limited Ingredient Diet Venison Meal & Potato Adult Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for dogs with corn and chicken allergies!

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
maggieakemom
from SW Ohio
Both of our dogs eat this diet and really like it.
Jake is allergic to corn and chicken, so we had to find an alternative tot the less expensive foods with grains and chicken. We had been feeding a less expensive food with chicken and corn. He was licking his feet raw and his skin was bright pink. On the advice of our veterinarian, we switched to a grain-free diet and selected this Natural Choice formula.
Although it is a bit pricey, a grain-free, chicken-free diet was the best for one for him. I chose the venison diet . Within a few weeks, Jake's, allergic symptoms were under control and continue to get better.
I also like the Natural Choice grain-free diets because rotational feeding is an option if they get tired of the venison. It's nice to know I can give them a variety of protein choices. We are going to try the fish diet next.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Nutro Natural Choice Grain Free Limited Ingredient Diet Venison Meal & Potato Adult Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than prescription foods

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
gunthreads
from Wisconsin
Our 8 year old German Shepherd is allergic to beef, pork, chicken, turkey,and even lamb and fish. Tried them all, bad results. We switched him from veterinary foods to Nutro venison and potato 4 years ago. His overall health improved right away and skin infections soon were gone. Very "clean" food(no junk). We will stay with Nutro!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Nutro Natural Choice Grain Free Limited Ingredient Diet Venison Meal & Potato Adult Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Large dog with allergies does very well on this food.

PostedMarch 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Littlepersonbigdog
from small town, WV
The Nutro Limited Ingredient Diet-Venison Meal and Potato Dry Food has helped our dog with allergies to other food ingredients. He loves the taste. We use the kibble for rewards on walks and for tricks due to problems with ingredients in many of the snacks by other companies.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Nutro Natural Choice Grain Free Limited Ingredient Diet Venison Meal & Potato Adult Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for dogs with touchy stomachs

PostedJanuary 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
CoconutDaddy
from Pennsylvania
We finally found Nutro Natural Choice Grain Free food after trying several other brands. Our Pit Bull mix coconut was having recurrent diarrhea that we and the vet were having a lot of trouble diagnosing. We took food recommendations from our trainer and vet for different foods that he might be able to digest more easily. Some even made his diarrhea worse. With the Nutro Grain Free his stools ave firm and dry, and he is very regular. Of course he loves the food as well!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Nutro Natural Choice Grain Free Limited Ingredient Diet Venison Meal & Potato Adult Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
labolover
from Federal Way, WA
Dogs love the smaller kibble and we noticed less skin allergies.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Nutro Natural Choice Grain Free Limited Ingredient Diet Venison Meal & Potato Adult Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally!

PostedDecember 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
BernerLuv
from Los Angeles, CA
My 7 month old puppy has had loose stools pretty much since 8 weeks. We started him on Innova Large Breed Puppy and it gave him the worst diarrhea. Then we tried Blue Basics large breed puppy and, although it was better, he still had loose stools and he started to get bad dandruff. I was beginning to think we would never find a food for him. The vet recommended this specific food so we gave it a try. My dog loves the taste (not as much as the Blue though) and his poops have been EXCELLENT. His coat is also much better with only very limited dry skin. I am so happy and relieved. Thank you Nutro!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>