petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for shoo!Tag Dog Flea & Tick Repellent

shoo!Tag Dog Flea & Tick Repellent

Electromagnetic flea and tick barrier tagsNatural flea repellent contains no chemicalsEffective for up to 4 monthsWaterproof & odorless
Average Customer Rating:
4.111 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 18 reviews
5 stars
12
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
15 out of 18(83%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for shoo!Tag Dog Flea & Tick Repellent
Review 1 for shoo!Tag Dog Flea & Tick Repellent
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Waste of Money

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Eastern North Carolina
I am a big fan of non toxic natural products and was excited to try the Shoo tags. Unfortunately they just do not work.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for shoo!Tag Dog Flea & Tick Repellent
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Product!

PostedAugust 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Athol, MA
This is a great product but hard to find. I bought this for my mother's dogs as she has been unable to find the product locally. I was able to get this on sale, however it should have listed the expiration date on the product description so I was aware of it before purchasing. Once we received the item, we saw that it was past the sell by date (only by a few days) ... which I'm sure it probably the reason they were on sale. Just wish that it was made clear up front. The product it definitely worth using at least on dogs as these tags are far easier to use than collars or the monthly liquid. I would highly recommend them to any dog owner, if you can find them!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for shoo!Tag Dog Flea & Tick Repellent
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Shoo Tags, best new product sense the leash!

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
from San Fernando Valley
We've been using these for over two years. No more flees or ticks and no poison and chemical collars, sprays and shampoos on our pets and family.
Please bring these in your stores, your store personnel don't know what they are but you sell them online.
I sew them on our dogs collar as suggested in the instructions. Poison collars would break off in a week or less, these stay put and work fabulously.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for shoo!Tag Dog Flea & Tick Repellent
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

So far, so good!

PostedJune 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Northern New Jersey
My dog lies in the grass all day and I have found only one tick on him since using Shoo Tag Tick Repellent. While I am aware this is not when ticks are at their highest, I can rest knowing I haven't poisoned him with a toxic chemical. Thank you for Shoo Tags!!! Keep the research coming!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for shoo!Tag Dog Flea & Tick Repellent
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product!!!

PostedDecember 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Rochester, New York
I have been using these tags for 2 years and they have worked very well. It is really best to sew them with the active side down facing your pets skin, onto the inside of the collar (very carefully make holes on white areas only using a larger needle to make the holes). I also carefully cut some of the white area off and rounded the corners (even softened the edges with an emery board). The reason I sew them on is the active side should not be scratched, that damages the tags. You must not take the collars off for the summer because body heat is what activates them and it takes 48 hours for them to be reactivated. There is one tag for fleas and one for ticks. They last about 3 months so if you live in New York you would need 2 sets for a summer. I called the company and talked to them; they are very helpful and will answer all your questions. I am very thankful these are available and it's great that Petco is selling them. They are safe and nontoxic for all our precious pets. I love this product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Holly - shoo!TAG ManagerAugust 23, 2014
Thank you for sharing!!! We are always glad to hear when other people have the same life changing experience with shoo!TAG that we all did when we first were introduced to it. Also, thank you for sharing how you sew the tags on as this will help many people!! Have a bug free weekend!!shooTAG
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for shoo!Tag Dog Flea & Tick Repellent
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works!!

PostedOctober 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
from West Virginia
We saw this advertised on TV and decided to try it. I was skeptical at first but to my delight, It actually worked! My dog stays tick and flea free and we stay happy. Great product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for shoo!Tag Dog Flea & Tick Repellent
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
I live in a wooded area, and have had no problems with fleas or ticks since using this product. I also love the fact that I am not putting chemicals on my dog who has senstive skin.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for shoo!Tag Dog Flea & Tick Repellent
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Shoo Tags work GREAT!

PostedJune 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
from New Paltz, NY
We live in Lyme country USA. I've had Lyme 4 times. My new pup was getting ticks - up to 10 a day, and I did NOT want to use chemicals, nor did I want Lyme again! I found Shoo Tag, and decided to give it a try. ALMOST NO MORE TICKS! If 1 or 2 would get on her, they stayed on the surface of her fur - they never dug in. It was like they fell on my pup and were trying to get away from the frequency - they did not dare burrow in! I've been using the tags for over a month, and they are working GREAT!!! Now, I read the other reviews from folks who's tags did not work, and I'd like to address that as I am also a holistic health care provider and herbalist. EVERYTHING has a frequency - people, plants, animals, crystals - and these products are embedded with a helpful frequency that repels what they are marked for. You should know that there are a percentage of folks/animals that this product may not work for - the stats are that for about 10% it will be too strong for, and for about 10% it will not be strong enough for. This wonderful company states this in the packaging, and if you find your animal in the ineffectual range, they gladly refund you. My friend has one of those dogs. For 2 of her dogs, they worked like a charm, for 1, not so much. So she got a refund and is glad that for 2 of her dogs she doesn't have to use chemicals. You should TRY IT!!!! And of course, check your pet from time to time to make sure they are still working - it's only common sense good pet care! And your pet will thank you! Here's another tip - because we (and our pets) are also exposed to frequencies from electromagnetic fields from computers, cell phones, invisible fence collars and such, this can weaken your pet's (and your) energy field, which could also make the tag less effective, as well as make you (and your pet) more susceptible to stress and illness and disease. Guess what? Shoo Tag also sells something to help with that as well!!!! So if you are concerned about your health, and the health of your pet, check out these products, and recommend them to everyone you know! Chemicals find their way into our waterways and food supply, and can be endocrine disruptors and carcinogens. Do the PLANET and your pet a favor and use Shoo Tags - they are chemical free and recyclable! AND NOW they make shoo tags for people too!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for shoo!Tag Dog Flea & Tick Repellent
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Wish I could give it zero or worse

PostedNovember 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
My dogs have never had fleas, but I like to protect them just in case. I bought this product because I wanted a non-toxic alternative. For the first time ever, my dogs have fleas! This product did nothing. I'm wondering if it's possible that the product actually attracted the fleas. Either way, it was a waste of money. I do not recommend this for anyone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
6of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for shoo!Tag Dog Flea & Tick Repellent
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

so far so good

PostedSeptember 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Rancho Cucamonga, Ca
Have only had these for a few days. They were easy to put on the collars, and the dogs leave them alone. I will have to wait a few weeks to see if they really work.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-4points
2of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for shoo!Tag Dog Flea & Tick Repellent
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Shoo Tag Dog Flea and Tick

PostedJune 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Charlotte, NC
We are big fans of this new product!! We spend lots of time in the South Carolina Low Country which is filled with Ticks & Fleas... This has been the most effective remedy for our Jake!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for shoo!Tag Dog Flea & Tick Repellent
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't waste your money

PostedJune 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Albany, NY
These tags do not work, they are nothing more than the magnetic strips found on credit cards. Google shoo tags and you will find a number of sites that disprove their "scientific" claims. I am all for a chemical free alternative for dogs, but ticks and mosquitos carry life threatening diseases so be careful before you put your dogs health at risk.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Holly - shoo!TAG ManagerAugust 27, 2014
Executive Summary
The shoo!TAG Field Test Study conducted in Austin, Texas on June 15th, 2011 was intended
to improve the conclusions of previous studies conducted by Dr. Rainer Fink of Texas A&M
University on August 18th, 2010 and myself on May 31st, 2011. The June 2011 study was
more precise and controlled. This trial was conducted in two separate steps:
1. Particpants were segregated by tag activation and placed in into tents with
mosquitoes (Aedes aegypti) at which time only the left arm was exposed
2. Participants were readmitted to tents with mixed tag activation at which time only
the right arm was exposed.
Participants for this study were screened for a multitude of variables that could affect the
test outcomes. It also allowed for a more precise analysis of the efficacy of shoo!TAG’s
mosquito repellent properties. Most importantly, it provided for 2 studies to be conducted
in the same evening with the same subjects. Specifically, the objectives of the study were to:
1. Determine the level of shoo!TAG’s ability to repel mosquitoes from male or female
humans wearing active shoo!TAG in a controlled environment when compared to
subjects wearing inactive shoo!TAGs in a similar environment.
2. Determine if wearers of inactive shoo!TAGs present a more appealing host
opportunity when given a choice of subjects wearing both active and inactive
shoo!TAGs.
The analysis strongly indicates shoo!TAG is effective. There is significant difference in the
mean number of bites incurred by male subjects (the majority population of the 54
participants) particularly when segregated. Those with inactive shoo!TAGs had a mean
number of bites approximately 4 times that of the wearers of active shoo!TAGs .
Participants with active shoo!TAGs had a average of 2.94 bites per participant compared an
average of 13.1 bites for those without active shoo!TAGs. The study results are an 80%
reduction in bites for active shoo!TAGs.
There also appears to be a transferred effect when the populations were mixed. Males that
wore inactive shoo!TAGs received a mean number of bites only 2 times that of active
shoo!TAG wearers when in mixed tents. The analysis does indicate mosquitoes
preferentially chose wearers with inactive shoo!TAGs. Specifically, wearers of inactive
shoo!TAGs had approximately 2-3 times fewer bites when associated with wearers of active
shoo!TAGs.
Ken Mix, Ph.D. – Assistant professor Texas State University Agricultural Dept.shooTAG
+2points
10of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for shoo!Tag Dog Flea & Tick Repellent
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Shoo Tags

PostedMay 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Austin,Texas
I use Shoo Tags for my dog and love the fact that I no longer have to put chemicals on her once a month
like with other products. I am very Happy with this product and highly recommend it for your pets and family!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for shoo!Tag Dog Flea & Tick Repellent
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Safe and works!

PostedMay 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles, CA
I can't say enough how thankful I am for this product. Rusty used to get fleas pretty bad... and as it turns out not only did Rusty have bad skin reactions when we used the spot on treatments, but if I got some on my hand, MY skin would get irritated too. I tried some of those other natural spot treatments but they never worked. As a last resort I tried the Shoo Tag. Well I have to say, it works like a miracle. I attached it to Rusty's collar, and after a few days he had no more fleas, no more itching, and I didn't have to use any chemicals!! I am a big believer in this product. I'll always use it from now on. I can't say enough about how pleased I am at how it works.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for shoo!Tag Dog Flea & Tick Repellent
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Shoo Tags flea and tick

PostedMay 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
from denton TX
They are very easy to use and we used them toward the end of last year and our dog never had any fleas and he goes to a dog park every day. More amazing, this year we were going regularly to a ranch that was known for ticks. Our dog ran all over and he never did get a tick on him. I know they are there as twice I had to remove one from me!! Now we need a tick repellant for humans. It sure works great on our dog.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for shoo!Tag Dog Flea & Tick Repellent
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

these are the best !!

PostedMay 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
from okeechobee,fl
i have been using shootags for 2 years now and they are great, i use them for every animal they are made for ..i live in the country on a farm so there are lots of insects..i am so excited that i am saving alot of money because i dont have to use chemicals anymore..my horses used to go through a gallon a week on fly spray..now i know you stock them ill buy from you!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for shoo!Tag Dog Flea & Tick Repellent
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hallelujah!

PostedMay 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Austin, TX
At last there is an effective product that is non-toxic to my dog and easy to use. Just put it on and forget about fleas and ticks for up to 4 months! No more oily, itchy repellent that needs to be rubbed in every month. Abby hates it when she sees that tube come out of the pantry. I also love the fact that I can protect her against flies and mosquitos as those used to plague her also. Yea for Shootag!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for shoo!Tag Dog Flea & Tick Repellent
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is great!

PostedMay 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Austin, TX
We saw these tags at a local hardware store in the summer of 2009. We thought they were a little pricey but we decided to try them. It turns out they last 4-5 months and so they are actually less expensive than the nasty chemical stuff we were using! When we see a flea or a tick, it's time for new tags; within one day, they are working again. I've told my friends and neighbors that Petco.com has them now. Thanks for the price break!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.