petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Aqueon Double Sided Black Mini Bow Desktop Aquarium Kit

Aqueon Double Sided Black Mini Bow Desktop Aquarium Kit

Kit includes an acrylic bowfront tank, Mini Bow filter, filter cartridge, full lighted hood, water conditioner and foodRight size for the office, school, dorm room or homePerfect for a first aquarium
Average Customer Rating:
3.75 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 28 reviews
5 stars
10
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
3
22 out of 28(79%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 34 Answers
Customer Reviews for Aqueon Double Sided Black Mini Bow Desktop Aquarium Kit
Review 1 for Aqueon Double Sided Black Mini Bow Desktop Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Charlie Love's It!

PostedMarch 8, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Boston, MA
Awesome little tank! Bought "Charlie" the red betta.
Put black glass gravel in, two very small plants.
Charlie is red- he looks awesome in the tank.
So relaxing to watch! Easy to care for- really pleased with purchase!
I used to own HUGE tanks, multiples- too much maintenance at this point in my life. This hit the mark!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Aqueon Double Sided Black Mini Bow Desktop Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Tank Spills Water

PostedFebruary 23, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Palm Bay, FL
I bought this tank for my daughter about a year ago and for a while LOVED IT! BUT...... In the past year, the light has gone out twice. The filter, while great at keeping the tank clean sometimes leaks and causes water to spill from the tank leaving our fish wondering what is going on and our furniture and rugs soaked with water. This has happened several time, even though we replaced the filter cartridges regularly, clean the filter, and check the alignment prior to putting the lid back on the tank. We now keep a towel under it, but it is not trust-worthy.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Aqueon Double Sided Black Mini Bow Desktop Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good starter Tank

PostedJanuary 8, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Northeast
I start my betta fish in these minibow tanks and have had no problems. Once they are bigger I move them to a 2.5 gallon tank. My bettas have had no trouble with current, filter, or the tanks themselves. I find that they are easy to clean, quiet, and once decorated, quite pretty and low maintenance.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Aqueon Double Sided Black Mini Bow Desktop Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

not for bettas

PostedJanuary 1, 2015
Customer Avatar
from RI
This product is advertised for betas but it's certainly not a match. The current is too strong, my fish was too stressed from trying to get to the top and being tossed around so I turned off the filter but then it wasn't getting cleaned. I put some plants up top to help with the current but then he was being sucked on to the filter. Luckily I caught it on time and turned it off. I exchanged it right away and would never buy this again.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Aqueon Double Sided Black Mini Bow Desktop Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Too Small and Pump Too Strong

PostedDecember 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
I recently received the Aqueon Mini Bow 1 as a gift since Ive been looking to get a desktop fish tank for a while. First off, NO fish should be kept in a 1 gallon tank. Bettas should be kept in at least a 4-5 gallon tank. Second, the pump in this tank is WAY too strong for small fish in a small tank. I've tried both covering 90%+ of the intake with rubber bands and creating various bevels out of plastic bottles. The flow is still too strong and constantly sucks my baby betta around the tank. I have to keep the pump off at all times. Third, this tank is too small to put a heater in (even if you can find a way to fit one, you should not be heating such a small tank). I will be getting a new tank in the next few days. In summary, buy an appropriately sized tank and keep happy fish.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Aqueon Double Sided Black Mini Bow Desktop Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

U get what u pay 4!

PostedSeptember 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Chicago, IL
Purchased tank for a betta & 2 snails about 6 mnths ago. Had worked out perfectly 4 about 3 months. We started 2 notice a substantial amount of water leaking from tank? We emptied it in search of cracks, 2 no avail?. Turns out that there is water actually leaking out right where the filters powercord sits in notch on tank! It slowly drips along cord until water level is down about 1/2 an inch. So, if u place tank on a priceless antique dresser, it will get ruined due to water damage! So u may want to be mindful of where you place your tank, or put a platter underneath it!!;)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Aqueon Double Sided Black Mini Bow Desktop Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great tank- without the filter

PostedMay 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
I bought this tank for my first betta. I put him in the tank, then turned on the filter to see how he would react. He seemed like he was okay with it, but I noticed that his fins were being affected by the current. I didn't want to take any chances, so I took out the filter and now it's perfect. I"m thinking about rigging the filter to make it okay for him, but I'm not sure yet. Besides the filter it's a great tank.
Also, the feeding hole at the top is a little small. My fish has trouble finding the food because it's so close to the edge. I have to take off the top and feed him that way.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
12of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Aqueon Double Sided Black Mini Bow Desktop Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Can modify to be great for bettas.

PostedApril 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
from St. Louis
The product states it is great for bettas, and that the filter is just right for these fish. As soon as I turned the tank on I could tell it was too strong, but I put my betta in anyway. I turned it off 10 min later when I saw my fish struggling.
Luckily, it is very easy to modify the tank so it is perfect. First, I wrapped a piece of pantyhose around the intake to reduce the suction through the water; an eye sore, but just put a fake plant in front of it.
Next I created a filter shield to disperse the outflow of the filter since it is a waterfall model and can cause a lot of currents. Just cut the ends off an unlabelled water bottle to the length of the filter, then cut long ways to make a cuff; I cut off the part with the glue so it wouldn't get in my tank. Then you just loop it over the outflow of the filter.
Make sure everything you put in your tank is rinsed really well, but ta da! Perfect betta bowl. I added colored pebbles to the bottom and a live plant.
My fish seems much happier in a decorated tank. I used to keep him in one of those small plastics ones, undecorated and he was miserable; would just sit in the corner all day.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+14points
19of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Aqueon Double Sided Black Mini Bow Desktop Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Tank For The Price

PostedMarch 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
from USA
I bought this tank today, and with my rewards card got it for $19.99! The product is high quality, and I was impressed of how effective and quiet the filter is. I keep my blue mystery snail in my tank, and unfortunatley my betta didn't get along with it so I had to temporarily but it in a half gallon. The betta food is perfect size for the betta's mouth. I am planning on buying the blue version of the tank for my betta, because it is a fabulous tank!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
8of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Aqueon Double Sided Black Mini Bow Desktop Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Double Sided Mini Bow

PostedMarch 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Bakersfield, California
Great Tank! Frank (VT Betta) and his friend Gary (Blue Mystery Snail) are happy as can be. Set up and maintenance is a breeze. Replacement filter cartridges are readily available in store and online. I would have given this product 5 stars, but the filter intake is a little too strong for a Betta. The issue can be fixed with plant and decor placement. Otherwise do not use the filter.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Aqueon Double Sided Black Mini Bow Desktop Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Strong current...

PostedJanuary 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Florida
My betta does love this tank... We did have to turn off the filter due to the current. I watched for about 15 minutes before doing that. Skye was constantly swimming fighting it and he looked really stressed. Once I turned it off he is swimming all over, not just stuck to the side like a love bug on a windshield. Later once he is a little more comfortable I will try removing some water and try to see how that works out with the current.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Aqueon Double Sided Black Mini Bow Desktop Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It perfect size for my Betta

PostedDecember 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Hampton Bays, NY
I had to take filter out, because it stressed out my Betta, he never had a filter & thought it would be cleaner & better. But I love the tank otherwise, the size is perfect.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Aqueon Double Sided Black Mini Bow Desktop Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wow! The Best Tank for Bettas Yet!

PostedSeptember 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
from CA
I love my betta Emperor, and wanted the best thing for him before I adopted him. I came across this tank, and after much research, bought it on sale in Petco for $19.00. I'm very very impressed!
The filter is amazing, and works constantly, cleaning perfectly. Emperor is a doubletail/halfmoon betta, and he is perfectly happy with the current! I don't really understand what the big deal is with the current. I got him two plants and a PETCO rock garden deco that he loves to hide in and swim out happily when he sees me.
Emperor also L-O-V-E-S the food! I know he isn't picky because at PETCO, they were feeding him bloodworms when I arrived and he was gobbling them up. After acclimating him, I gave him one of the trial size pellets to see if he liked it, and he devoured it happily! I feed him 1 pellet in the morning and 1 at night. The size is perfect for his mouth too. He loves them so much, that one time, he actually pushed a piece of gravel out of the way to get to the pellet!
The light is amazing and I taught Emperor that whenever it comes on, he gets food. He always swims up to the top now so he can get his pellet when I turn it on. It definitely does not heat up his water too much.
I just did my first cleaning of the tank after 2 MONTHS! I didn't need to before because it was perfectly clean and the ammonia levels were really low. It was easy to clean and definitely a great tank for my beta.
I STRONGLY recommend this tank for anyone's new buddy. Remember, they can't speak and say what they want, so make the right decision for them and pick the right size tank. :D
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
13of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Aqueon Double Sided Black Mini Bow Desktop Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Kit is SMALL! Light bulb gets too hot.

PostedJune 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Royal Palm Beach. FL
This aquarium kit is much smaller than I suspected! I will contact Petco in regards to this item! The bulb in the hood gets very hot! I'm not happy with this purchase! My fish is getting over-heated.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
13of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Aqueon Double Sided Black Mini Bow Desktop Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It is an ok tank

PostedApril 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
I got this tank for Easter and my fish loves it. He has so much more space and the filter works ok. All the stuff that builds up on top just gets spun around and doesn't filter. Over all I like this tank and my Betta loves it too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Aqueon Double Sided Black Mini Bow Desktop Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Home for happy Betta

PostedApril 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
from San Francisco
the top lets enough air into the tank without risk of the fish jumping out. I've only had it for a few days and had to change the water already as it was too high on amonia for some reason so I am not sure the filter works all that well yet but the size is definitely ok and my Betta is already happy making bubbles. Your Betta might refuse the pellets that come come with the tank though. In that case you need to ask the store what they fed your fish. Mine absolutely refused to eat even the pellets I had bought for him but he loved the bloodworms they seemed to have fed him. Thank design needs to improve though. The lightbulb should be replaced with led or something better and they could definitely try to make it look a bit more modern I think. I paid $32 for this in store and I think that's a bit too expensive for a tank that doesn't come with Gravel or a plant I think.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Aqueon Double Sided Black Mini Bow Desktop Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love the tank

PostedFebruary 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
from West Virginia
My betta seems to be very happy in her new tank. She does swim around alot but she rests on her silk plants i have added. You do have to be carefull when feeding because it seems that sometimes from the current she does not see her food. Most of all keep tank clean and do not over feed your Betta
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Aqueon Double Sided Black Mini Bow Desktop Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Recommend with Reservations

PostedFebruary 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Ptown CA
I love the tank - it's easy to clean, the pump and filter are basically silent, and it is big enough for a single betta for sure....BUT....if you have a betta with really large fins, the current produced by the filter is just too strong. My poor little double-tail betta looks like a cartoon fishy getting blown all over the place if I leave the pump and filter running 24/7. But my little guy has very large plummage. If you have a betta with smaller fins it might work better.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Aqueon Double Sided Black Mini Bow Desktop Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great mini aquarium

PostedJanuary 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
from New York, NY
The Aqueon one gallon mini bow is a great fish tank for a single betta. I already had one and liked it so much that I ordered an additional two. The tank is super easy to clean and the bettas have enough room to thrive.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Aqueon Double Sided Black Mini Bow Desktop Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The perfect Betta tank!

PostedJanuary 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Warren, RI
In my oponion, I feel this is the perfect Betta tank. The current is absolutly perfect for the size of the tank and wil not stress the one Betta u decide to put in it. Do not over feed your Betta and the filter will provide great filtration. It's quiet and the light provides some additional room temperature to the tank.
The Betta loves to build his bubble nest under the filter and the tank provides more exercise room than the small bowl that there sold in.
Just change 33% of the water every 4th day and your Betta will live a long and healty life.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+17points
17of 17voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>