petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for The Company of Animals Halti Dog Harness

The Company of Animals Halti Dog Harness

Halti Harness stops pullingAdjustable for a custom fitPadded for comfortColor coded for an easy fittingAttaches to dog collar for extra securityPerfect for use with the Halti Training Lead (sold separately)
Average Customer Rating:
3.833 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
8 out of 12(67%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for The Company of Animals Halti Dog Harness
Review 1 for The Company of Animals Halti Dog Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stop pulling with style and comfort!

PostedSeptember 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Ann Arbor, MI
Full disclosure: I haven't had the harness but for a couple of days but the results were so immediately noticeable that I felt compelled to write a review this soon. I should also mention that Copper, my pitbull mix, doesn't pull TOO bad but when she's excited she can be a handful and will try to pull your arm out of it's socket.
The Halti is very easy to adjust and put on. It goes over the head, one clip by the belly and another attaches to the existing collar. There was an immediate change in attitude. Copper was less amped up, seemed more focused on me, just calmly READY to go for a walk. So, we went...and she didn't pull on the first walk.
I use the Halti harness in conjunction with the Halti training lead and I must say the two point attachment works wonders. The front attachment is used for "steering" and the back is your "break". This design speaks to the dog's instincts and natural reactions depending on where the pressure is applied (leading from the front of the chest as apposed to pulling from behind). Certain breeds feel the pull of a standard leash/collar combo and instinctively want to pull harder...this harness and lead combo WILL help mitigate that (with some work and training/repetition). Great product! Thanks, HALTI!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Company of Animals Halti Dog Harness
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

inaccurate sizing

PostedSeptember 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from rochester ny
could not adjust small enough for my dog's size even though it was the size recommended for my dog. (It was a size small) I liked the idea of the harness hooking in the front but there were not good instructions on how to use both leads or guidance on how to use the harness effectively. Seemed to control some of the pulling my dog originally had but she would pull her legs out of the front of the harness. Ended up returning the product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Company of Animals Halti Dog Harness
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Worked, but chewed right through

PostedJuly 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Finger Lakes
The harness worked exactly as I hoped, but I only used it maybe 4 times. The puppy chewed right through it in about 20 seconds while I was unlocking the door after a walk. A bit too flimsy in size small.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Company of Animals Halti Dog Harness
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bad fit

PostedJune 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from GA
It measured correctly but fit horribly. Sagged and move too much while walking
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Company of Animals Halti Dog Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Company of Animals Halti Dog Harness

PostedMay 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Etowah, TN
This is a wonderful product. I was looking for another specific brand, but found this one instead. Not only was it less expensive, it had an added feature that enabled it to be connected to a collar, giving it even more security, not to mention ease of use and application.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Company of Animals Halti Dog Harness
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Suffices

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Maine
I began to use this product in my dog's training as a therapy pet to help dissuade her from distractions as we walked down hallways. Two minor issues with it: I had to stitch the center ring in place as it moved too much and also, the size adjusting strap was too long and the loop holding it in place was on the wrong side of the stationary strap. I used a velcro ring to keep it from flopping or else I would have had to cut it off.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Company of Animals Halti Dog Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Thank you Halti !!!!!

PostedJanuary 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Tucson, AZ
Burton, while an angel in my eyes, is a bit unruly on a leash... he's broken leashes ( pulling so hard ) making arms sore, and pulling me off balance causing a nasty fall ... I had all but given up walking him when I saw the halti harness! the first time I put it on, it was like he was a different dog! The pulling has completely stopped!!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
14of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Company of Animals Halti Dog Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Halti Harness

PostedOctober 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
from CT
i have an eight month old cavalier king charles, he would pull every time we walked and made walking a chore.
the first minute we used this harness he walked without pulling, it does not hurt in any way and he does not mind me putting it on him.
this works great and the price is good also
buy it
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Company of Animals Halti Dog Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Less pull

PostedMarch 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Claremont, CA
for the dog love to pull while walking. this is a nice product to reduce their pulling
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Company of Animals Halti Dog Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

no more being drag by our dogs

PostedDecember 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
from kansas
this is the best i have find the harness i the most humane thing i have find instead of being pull all over the place i have control and my dog is actually walking with me i also got the hati double lead leach which i was able to put around my waist to control and teach my dog the way i wanted her to walk with me she has alot of muscle strength and she gallops not no more
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Company of Animals Halti Dog Harness
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not good quality

PostedAugust 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Ma
The harness broke after just 2 days. I know I was using it correcly because I asked my trainer. It is poor quality and I would not buy it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
6of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Company of Animals Halti Dog Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works like a charm.

PostedJuly 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Spring Lake, NC
I got this because I have a dog that pulls in a way that she's choking herself the whole walk. My grandma's dog used the head collar and that didn't do anything but annoy her.
I've also tried a normal harness and they just allow the dog to pull from their back rather than their neck.
I got this product expecting it to work and I was right. The dog doesn't even try to pull with it. If she wants to go smell something, she knows to pull sideways, but she still can't really pull strongly.
It also works with a leash coupler with another dog and her collar but I would reccommend getting a second Halti Harness as it would be more comfortable for the dogs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+19points
19of 19voted this as helpful.