petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bio Spot Defense Spot On Dog Flea & Tick Control with Smart Shield Applicator

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Bio Spot Defense Spot On Dog Flea & Tick Control with Smart Shield Applicator

Kills fleas, ticks, flea eggs & flea larvaeKills and repels against mosquitoesStarts killing fleas and ticks in 15 minutesSafe for dogs over 6 months of ageWater resistant -- remains effective after swimming or exposure to rain
Average Customer Rating:
2.733 / 5
2.7
 / 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
5 stars
6
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
8
7 out of 15(47%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Bio Spot Defense Spot On Dog Flea & Tick Control with Smart Shield Applicator
Review 1 for Bio Spot Defense Spot On Dog Flea & Tick Control with Smart Shield Applicator
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

WOULD GIVE THIS LESS THAN 1 STAR IF I COULD

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Jersey Shore
Put these drops on my dog (90 lb pit) and off we all went on vacation. During the week, my dog started getting these oozing bumps all down his back. I didn't relate that to the flea drops since we were travelling and I thought perhaps he was allergic to grasses where we were walking or maybe chemicals used in the hotel. Came home and after a trip to the vet and $275 later, the bumps cleared up. Four days ago I put the drops on him again and now he's covered in those oozing bumps again - realizing now it is the Bio Spot. I feel awful I didn't realize it the first time we used it. I am going back to my K9 Advantix II and have learned cheaper is definitely not better!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Bio Spot Defense Spot On Dog Flea & Tick Control with Smart Shield Applicator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love it, my dog... not so much.

PostedSeptember 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
The BioSpot works GREAT on my Weimy. She hates to see me pull it out of the box, but I can tell after a little while that she's happy I did... because she's not scratching at fleas!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Bio Spot Defense Spot On Dog Flea & Tick Control with Smart Shield Applicator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good value, works great

PostedApril 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Texas
I have used Bio Spot for several years. Those who say they have used it and still have fleas need I think to treat the environment as well. Feas have a 4 part life cycle. You have to treat them all if you have an infestation. Eggs fall off in the carpet. The pupa can lay dormant and emerge at any time and start the whole cycle over again. Get it under control and then treat once a month with Bio Spot. It is safe and effective.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Bio Spot Defense Spot On Dog Flea & Tick Control with Smart Shield Applicator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good product.

PostedJanuary 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Albemarle, NC
Product is great for mosquitoes, fleas and especially tick control for my yellow lab that is in the woods quite often. Prefer Bio Spot over Frontline for effectiveness.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Bio Spot Defense Spot On Dog Flea & Tick Control with Smart Shield Applicator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

always use Bio Spot

PostedDecember 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
from L.A., CA
Bio Spot has been a very reliable product in my household. I think it's just as good as the vet's higher price stock.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Bio Spot Defense Spot On Dog Flea & Tick Control with Smart Shield Applicator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

bio spot flea med for dogs and cats

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
from branford,ct
would highly recommend it for most breeds of dogs and cats. i have been using it for years on multiy breeds of cats and dogs. you save money and get the same results as the more expensive brands.
petco has good prices on this product as well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Bio Spot Defense Spot On Dog Flea & Tick Control with Smart Shield Applicator
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Doesn't work at all

PostedAugust 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
from williamsburg, PA
I usually use k9 atvantix 2 which i have had good luck with but thought i would give this a try. It didnt kill anything and made my dogs fur so greasy. It was horrible.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Bio Spot Defense Spot On Dog Flea & Tick Control with Smart Shield Applicator
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

horrible

PostedJuly 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Kansas
I think the title says it all. I applied it to my dogs and it did stop the scratching for about one day then i noticed that the fleas were back within ONE week. This product does not work, don't waste your money on it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Bio Spot Defense Spot On Dog Flea & Tick Control with Smart Shield Applicator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

bio spot

PostedJune 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
from St. Charles, Mo.
I love,love this product sorry to hear all the negative feed back. Maybe dogs already had flees? I have used this product for years since it came out and have NEVER had any problems! My dogs are outside dogs on acreage and never have found a flea or tick. EVEN this year with all the ticks being so bad. Thanks for a great product for a good price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Bio Spot Defense Spot On Dog Flea & Tick Control with Smart Shield Applicator
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bio Spot Does Not Work

PostedMay 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Port Saint Lucie, FL
After trying Bio Spot for a month I found it definitely does not work. I wanted to give it some time - but after a month with the little critters invaded my 2 dogs, I was not about to keep using it. I was informed by vets that the fleas have become immune to the main ingredient in it.
I tried advantage II and the next day - FLEAS WERE GONE. With this year being so bad for fleas, it was very important to get a handle on them before we were over run by them and before the dogs got tapeworm. They can get tapeworm from ingesting just one flea that has the eggs of the worm. Thankfully, that did not happen.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Bio Spot Defense Spot On Dog Flea & Tick Control with Smart Shield Applicator
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible

PostedNovember 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
This product DOES NOT WORK! In the last 3 weeks I have bathed my lab and applied this product 3 time. The fleas seem to be getting worse. It is like they are feeding off of this product. Spend a little more on a better product!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-5points
2of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Bio Spot Defense Spot On Dog Flea & Tick Control with Smart Shield Applicator
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bad

PostedSeptember 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
from NH
This product does not work. stick with advantage, Bio spot has been on animals for a few weeks now and the still have fleas.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-5points
0of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Bio Spot Defense Spot On Dog Flea & Tick Control with Smart Shield Applicator
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Didnt work and left my dog greasy

PostedSeptember 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
from ky
I have always used biospot and it seemed to work until this time. 2 days after applying biospot the fleas are still very visible you can clearly see where the biospot was applied cause my bostons coat is greasy. Wouldnt recommend. Highly disappointed.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Bio Spot Defense Spot On Dog Flea & Tick Control with Smart Shield Applicator
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Fleas are happy as can be

PostedAugust 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Beverly Hills
I recently moved from Spain and didn't know the front yard would be completely infested with fleas. I have 2 golden retrievers, one of them is 11 years old, and they never had problems back home. I bougth Bio Spot and my poor dogs still got several fleas, besides it leaves their hair greasy. Poor quality. I should have realised before that the price has something to do with the low performance. I also bought the one I used back home, Frontline, that always worked perfectly, but can´t use it for at least 6 more days.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Bio Spot Defense Spot On Dog Flea & Tick Control with Smart Shield Applicator
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Effective but too much volume

PostedMay 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Columbus, OH
I've been a long-time user of Bio Spot. I liked it because of the price and effectiveness. But the strong orange smell bothered both myself and the dogs. I decided to try the new "Defense." It's only been one month and seems to work, and it has no smell. However, the volume of the treatment is too much, and leaves huge, greasy spots on the dogs. If they could find a way to decrease the amount needed to apply, I would use it regularly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
19of 35voted this as helpful.