petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Super Pet Little Crab Shack Hermit Crab Cage

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Super Pet Little Crab Shack Hermit Crab Cage

A nice little beach home for your hermit crabMade with durable, washable plasticConvenient carry handle for easy portabilityClear habitat allows for easy viewing of you pet
Average Customer Rating:
2.8 / 5
2.8
 / 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
5 stars
2
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
2
5 out of 10(50%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Super Pet Little Crab Shack Hermit Crab Cage
Review 1 for Super Pet Little Crab Shack Hermit Crab Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

loved it

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
ash123
we used this for our 2 hermit crabs and it worked just fine.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Super Pet Little Crab Shack Hermit Crab Cage
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Dont by for a permedent home

PostedNovember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
jayjay123
This is okay to keep the hermies in for about 1 week but is too small great traveling cage but for every two hemies you need a 10 gallon tank every hermie need a 5+ tank.this is too small and dosent keep in heat or humidity.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
4of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Super Pet Little Crab Shack Hermit Crab Cage
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not for Hermit Crabs

PostedOctober 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mom2CatsNCrabs
from SWVA
This habitat is too small for food, water, salt water, depth of substrate and everything else needed by a Hermit Crab. Too open to maintain proper humidity and temperature. Better used as part of a gerbil habitat.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Super Pet Little Crab Shack Hermit Crab Cage
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible for Hermit Crabs

PostedSeptember 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
CrabbyTigger
from Ontario
Not even close to providing the proper care for a hermit crab. It would be impossible to maintain proper humidity and heat levels with a cage so open. Not to mention it is much too small to contain a deep salt and fresh water dish, min 6 in substrate of sand or coco-peat, food, heating, lighting, extra shells, crab friends, proper climbing materials, and free run space.
If you are interested in the world of hermit crabs, do a bit of research and you'll see this isn't the kit for you.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Super Pet Little Crab Shack Hermit Crab Cage
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

not exceptable for hermit crabs

PostedJuly 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Livieluvsrabbits
from Baton Rouge,LA
I bought this for my first hermit crab sally before i knew much about them. It was WAY to small. The spray bottle, climber,palm tree,sponge, and sand were cute but with all of it in the cage sally had no room to move.Now I know better and realize that my money was wasted.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Super Pet Little Crab Shack Hermit Crab Cage
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Hermit Crab Vacation Home

PostedJuly 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
MrsTeacherLady
from Buckhannon, WV
My second grade students were given this for our classroom. It's a cute little tank but hermit crabs need a bit more to be happy and healthy. Do to the size and the openings we are unable to regulate the temperature of their habitat or the moisture level. Please only use this for a short stay. It is adorable and we were thankful to receive it. This will be used when we clean the large tank or to be used to go home with the kids over the holidays.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Super Pet Little Crab Shack Hermit Crab Cage
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Problem

PostedJanuary 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
BeautifulBlonde
from Portage, MI
i left friday morning my hermit crab all safe and sound in his cage with fresh food and water and i came home the next day around 6 and he completely escaped from this shelter he climbed out of one of the top blue holes which im not sure why they are there anyway but i was like seriously how and why are those even there???
I would recommend this to a friend!
+18points
24of 30voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Super Pet Little Crab Shack Hermit Crab Cage
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

not fair to crabs!

PostedJanuary 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
petgirl1028
Way to small and dosnt keep in heat or moisture. its ok for short travels, but hermit crabs need moisture to breate and heat. Not worth 25$ just get a glass tank with a screen top, works better! :)
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+9points
14of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Super Pet Little Crab Shack Hermit Crab Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

So Cute! :)

PostedJuly 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
PetcoRocksForever24242424
from Anchorage, AK
Oreo (my hermit crab) loves his new home. It has a really cute beach theme. The only problem I had with this product is that it didn't include everything you need to have a hermit crab. I had to buy another water dish for the saltwater because it only gave you a food dish and sponge. I would also recommend buying a VERY small hide for the tank. But overall I was very satisfied with this product. :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+16points
23of 30voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Super Pet Little Crab Shack Hermit Crab Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for travel

PostedJuly 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
hermiebabyJustin143
from Cant Tell
I Travel alot with my family but i can never bring Justin (my hermit crab) with me! But now i can with my new Cage! it comes with everything! The only thing that is bothering is that craming stuff in like huge houses for them doesnt fit and looks junky and your poor hermit crab with feel stressed other that it is perfect
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
21of 34voted this as helpful.