petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Planet Petco Crumbled Paper Small Animal Bedding

Planet Petco Crumbled Paper Small Animal Bedding

Paper pet bedding is made with baking soda for outstanding odor controlProvides superior absorbency to keep pets dry99% dust free and 100% non-allergenicCompletely non-toxic and biodegradableVeterinarian recommended pet bedding
Average Customer Rating:
4.357 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 28 reviews
5 stars
22
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
4
24 out of 28(86%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Planet Petco Crumbled Paper Small Animal Bedding
Review 1 for Planet Petco Crumbled Paper Small Animal Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Could not ask for a better bedding

PostedMarch 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
cavylover1
from Baton Rouge, Louisiana
As my title states I could not ask for a better bedding. I have two guinea pigs in a relatively large custom made coroplast cage. I have used paper bedding by the other large and well known brands for small animal bedding. The other brands work and look great, but honestly there is a hint of odor two days maybe three in. Then it constantly builds from there which is frustrating. This bedding, (Planet Petco), however, due to the baking soda completely eliminates the odor. I was completely shocked at how well it works. There is no comparison in how well Planet Petco bedding works and masks odors when comparing it to other brands. The whole point of me using bedding instead of fleece is so I change change it only once a week. My boyfriend has a sensitive nose, and always comments to let me know when he can "tell" or smells that I have guinea pigs. When I used Planet Petco's small animal bedding, he was surprised that he could not smell the guinea pigs at all. This bedding is so wonderful at masking odor I can go on and on about it for days. When I first bought it, I just bought a small bag to test it out. Once I used it, I immediately went back and bought the large 40 liter bag. I was sure to tell the worker at check out, that this bedding beats all others by a mile and it should be recommended as such to other customers.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Planet Petco Crumbled Paper Small Animal Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super Clean

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
AlyssaN
from Chicago
I really like this bedding because it is super absorbent, controls odor really well and its heavy enough that my guinea pigs can't kick it out of the cage. The small size makes it the perfect bedding too. I had to get a different kind because they were out of this one and every time they moved, it seemed like they were sinking to the bottom.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Planet Petco Crumbled Paper Small Animal Bedding
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great bedding but why did you raise the price?

PostedFebruary 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
Ashes95
from Virginia
This bedding controls smell and is safe for my pigs; I like how it doesn't expand when it is wet so if they eat it; it will not harm them. But for a 40 litter bag this bedding use to be cheaper but now it is $19.99 for one bag? I use to pay less. Yes a few dollars might not seem like much of a difference but when you have to use almost a whole bag for one cleaning it adds up the only reason I got this bedding was because it was safe for my pigs and it was cheaper than the competing bedding. But now I may have to switch bedding to an even cheaper brand if they don't lower the price. :/
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Planet Petco Crumbled Paper Small Animal Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is great for small animals.

PostedDecember 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
AsheeBoo
from Little Rock,AR
This is the perfect solution if you have different small animals. It is soft and has great odor control. It works great with hamsters and guinea pigs and other small animals.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Planet Petco Crumbled Paper Small Animal Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Superior Product

PostedDecember 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
CubsCat
from Mesa, AZ
As "mouse-mom" to four sweet girls, I tried several name-brand litters and bedding before giving Planet Petco Crumbled Paper bedding a go and will now never use anything else! The paper pellets are very absorbent and contain a small amount of baking soda which works wonders on odor control in both their 29-gallon tank and 66-quart plastic playpen. I add a few handfuls of shredded newspaper to the pellets on tank cleaning day and still NO odor 7 days later! The big bag goes a long way, too. Try it and you'll be a fan for life.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Planet Petco Crumbled Paper Small Animal Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Bedding Yet

PostedOctober 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
CleverMonkey
from Pacific Northwest
I've tried a number of beddings and even timing for changing the bedding in a 2-piggy guinea pig cage for the past couple of years. All have stunk badly after only 3 or 4 days. On a whim I decided to try Planet Petco Crumbled Paper Small Animal Bedding which has baking soda in it. Oh my gosh - this stuff does a superior job and preventing smells in the cage. I'm a much happier owner of my cute piggies now. I will definitely become a repeat customer of this product and recommend it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Planet Petco Crumbled Paper Small Animal Bedding
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

EW.

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
tifffanyadamss
from Edwardsville, IL
I saw this and read the reviews, and I thought I would give it a shot. I loved most of the reviews, the concept, and I thought it would end up being an amazing product... WRONG.
I have two rats, Alice and Agnes. They're playful, love digging, and they especially love hiding their food from me in their bedding. Not with this one. They only stayed on the upper parts of their cage to stay away from the bedding. They carried each piece of food individually up to the very top of the cage so they didn't have to touch the bedding. It was terrible! It smelled bad to me, and they didn't like it either. The worst of it all was that it left a filmy, gross feel to everything, even my two girls. I had to wash my hands after touching their cage, moving stuff around, or even touching them! I had to give them baths at least 2x a week when I had this stuff in their cage.
Overall, 1 paw. It didn't even do the job of odor protection like it says. It smells, my rats hated it, and it left a weird film on them and their cage.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Planet Petco Crumbled Paper Small Animal Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great

PostedMay 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
cjdnad
from Port Arthur,Tx
This is the same product they use in the store so i got it so my hampster would be used to it but it really works great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Planet Petco Crumbled Paper Small Animal Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Bedding

PostedMay 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
NurseLynz
from Van Nuys, CA
My two rats had an old bed sheet as their bedding when we adopted them. Although they loved it, I was thoroughly disgusted with how dirty it got, and I decided for sanitary purposes disposable bedding was the way I wanted to go. This paper bedding is phenomenal - it controls all odors - so well that I have to make sure I keep track on my calendar when it's time to replace it. Neither of my little ones had any kind of negative reaction to this bedding when I switched it. They also love being able to rearrange it how they see fit, burying their chew toys as they wish, and nesting in it if they're in the mood. I threw the disgusting old sheet out and will only use this type of bedding from now on!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Planet Petco Crumbled Paper Small Animal Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great bedding

PostedJanuary 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
hammystar
We've used a lot of different beddings over the years for both hamsters and rabbits, and this is the best one we've found by far. Very absorbent, stays inside of the litter box unlike other types of paper bedding, and Petco's brand has the lowest price of all the other makers.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Planet Petco Crumbled Paper Small Animal Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Bedding

PostedDecember 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
hundleyf
from Columbus, IN
This is my favorite bedding because it controls the odors very well and is very absorbent.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Planet Petco Crumbled Paper Small Animal Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Planet Petco Crumbled Paper Bedding

PostedNovember 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
RHartman
from Longmont CO
We love this product. Very absorbent. It also seems to be very good in helping control odors.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Planet Petco Crumbled Paper Small Animal Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Planet Petco Crumbled Paper Bedding

PostedOctober 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Orey07
from La Mesa, Ca
I use this for my bunny's potty box and I love this litter as it is inexpensive compared to "Care Fresh" and it does a better job, it keeps odor out and is highly absorbent, easy to clean and it goes a long way. So glad Petco has this option when I could not afford Care Fresh.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Planet Petco Crumbled Paper Small Animal Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for birds, too!

PostedOctober 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Hypnotoad72
from MN
This stuff is inexpensive, takes are of odors quickly and efficiently, and thanks to its low weight makes disposal much easier on the back.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Planet Petco Crumbled Paper Small Animal Bedding
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

YUCK

PostedOctober 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
OreoTheHamster
from Texas
I bought this thinking it'd be a great and cheaper alternative to CareFRESH but when I opened the bag the bedding smelled of rubber(?) and the smell was so bad I started feeling sick! I don't know if I got a bad batch or if the bedding always smells like this but I will be taking this back to the store tomorrow as even leaving the bag open to air out for a day has not helped the smell! I'm just happy I smelled the bedding before putting it in the cage with my Guinea Pigs!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Planet Petco Crumbled Paper Small Animal Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Bedding

PostedSeptember 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
deboraheb
from San Diego, CA
I had been using CareFresh and happened to be able to use this Petco bedding. This is great bedding and I won't be using CareFresh anymore. This bedding contains odors so well you wouldn't know that there is a guinea pig anywhere near. It also absorbs great. This is the bedding I'll buy from now on.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Planet Petco Crumbled Paper Small Animal Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This Bedding Works Best

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
luvthisbedding
from Berlin,MD
I love this bedding because it obsorbs all odor and water. My guinea pigs love it to. You should really get this one. I sure you will love it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Planet Petco Crumbled Paper Small Animal Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No two ways about it, this is the best bedding product by far!

PostedSeptember 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
nsf7880
from San Antonio, Texas
I have tried others, but, love this one. It absorbs moisture and looks and feels cleaner. My bunnies seem to like it best, with the others, they clear away the bedding until they get down to the bottom of their cage. Will continue to buy this one!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Planet Petco Crumbled Paper Small Animal Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Preferred

PostedAugust 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
taylornichole
I prefer this type of bedding over the Carefresh brand. She used to go to the bathroom on the upper levels of her cage when I used the carefresh brand and this caused a mess a made cleaning her cage more stressful. When I tried this brand she started going on the bottom level again and I find the smaller pieces much more attractive
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Planet Petco Crumbled Paper Small Animal Bedding
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Best bedding for odor control

PostedJuly 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
LuvMyEllieBun
from SLC, UT
Other beddings I've tried for my gerbils and bunny's litter box have been horrible and would smell bad in just a few days. This bedding is a bit dusty for the gerbils, but it lasts three weeks before smelling. Perfect absorbency and odor control for bunny's litter box. Much better than wood shavings! Other beddings I try would smell, this one doesn't. Won't use any other bedding!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>