petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Green Killing Machine Internal UV Sterilizer with Power Head

Green Killing Machine Internal UV Sterilizer with Power Head

Helps keep your aquarium water crystal clearKills algae, pathogens and harmful bacteriaReduces water changesFast and easy installation
Average Customer Rating:
4.473 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(74 Reviews) 74
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 74 reviews
5 stars
57
4 stars
7
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
6
64 out of 74(86%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
23 Questions | 37 Answers
Customer Reviews for Green Killing Machine Internal UV Sterilizer with Power Head
Review 1 for Green Killing Machine Internal UV Sterilizer with Power Head
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AMAZING water clarity

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
TomE
from Chicago, IL
I experienced the "green water" problem in my 10-gallon tank for the second time in six months. Strange that I never had this problem with aquariums in years past (never even heard of it), and I can't put my finger on what's different now that might be causing it.
At any rate, I got fed up, moved the fish to a temporary bowl, and did a complete empty-out, clean, and change. In the meantime, I read up about UV purifiers, and decided to buy the 9-watt 'Green Killing Machine' for the newly cleaned and redone setup.
The device is large for a 10-gallon tank, and it took some ingenuity to cloak it: I sunk the bottom end of it into the gravel as deep as possible, and surrounded it with plants. Not bad. I have it powered on the same timer as the hood-light, so it's running about 10 hours daily.
Obviously the unit is, for me, a preventive measure -- I can't address the question of it clearing up existing algae. But I am absolutely astonished, pleasantly so, at the water clarity. And note that I used bottled-distilled water to begin with -- how much clearer could it get? Well, it's like looking at a fine crystal vase or goblet. It absolutely SPARKLES. You've got to see it to believe it. I honestly would not have believed aquarium water could "shine" like this.
Furthermore, I am not having to battle the usual temporary spiking in ammonia level which is typical with a brand-new setup. Its benefits are apparently more than just cosmetic.
I am extremely pleased, and happy to recommend this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Green Killing Machine Internal UV Sterilizer with Power Head
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Green killing machine

PostedJuly 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
Thefishman
from Bk, ny
I got this item in a product swap with a friend, so not sure how it would work and reading the reviews made me nervous, i also thought my water was clear and clean enough, but i can now say the bad reviews are wrong, im happy i chose this product, i ran it for1 day and the only way i was able to know i had water in my tank was because of my bubblers the water was so clear it mad the fishes look like they were suspended in air, now i only run it for 24hrs once per wk. I plan to get one more for my smaller tank, i would recommend this produt.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Green Killing Machine Internal UV Sterilizer with Power Head
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My aquarium looks now like the ones at the pet store

PostedMay 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
Aquapetowner
from Miami, FL
Green water was no harm to my fish but made the aquarium look really ugly and could not see the fish, so I ordered this product. It smells of new plastic so I washed it thoroughly overnight with tap water, next day installed and put it to work. A day after, nothing had happened, at day 4 water was totally crystal clear! You have to see it to believe it. Please check the picture below.
Suggestions:
- Like other reviewers, I am concerned about the life of the bulb, so after you get your desired result, it is better to put it on a timer and turn it on only a couple of hrs a day enough to keep your water clear.
- Since the bulb housing is not serviceable, it is better to cut a small piece of that cloth filter bags are made of and put it right on the inlet before you place the blue sponge. This will prevent excess of debris getting into the bulb unit and clogging it prematurely. At first it saturated very fast, I had to replace it every other day to keep a good flow.
I chose this sterilizer because didn't want to use those algae control liquids, they have highly toxic pesticides and there is always a chance you'll kill your fish, I'd better have cloudy water with live fish than clear water with dead fish.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Green Killing Machine Internal UV Sterilizer with Power Head
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It works!

PostedMay 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
bbl19
from Pennsylvania
My aquarium has been green for months. I tried many things to to clear it up. One week after installing the Green Killing Machine Internal UV sterilizer the aquarium is finally clear.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Green Killing Machine Internal UV Sterilizer with Power Head
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best investment ever!

PostedApril 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Cferrari
from Hollywood, Fl
I have had an issue with cloudiness for the last couple of months. I tried everything recommended by the fish stores. I went to 4 different stores. Chemicals, chemicals, and more chemicals. Water changes, not over feeding, I mean everything. Water was testing perfect but the cloudiness just didn't clear up. I added a 9w uv sterilizer to my 20 gallon tank. I have a timer and it goes on at night with my blue light for 4 hours. After only 2 days my tank is crystal clear. I didn't have an algae issue, just a white cloudiness. Day 1 it looked better but by day 2 I can't believe how super clear. My tank has seriously never looked better and my water is still testing perfect. Hurray for uv sterilization. Well worth the investment.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Green Killing Machine Internal UV Sterilizer with Power Head
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A must get

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Widener
from Columbus, GA
This thing is easily the best product I have seen for the price you pay. I have bought other UV's in the past and they usually cost 3-4 times more then what I paid for this and it does the same thing. The only thing I wish was better was the flow rate which is REALLY slow but it says that is normal for this product. I can understand that though as this is a really compact unit and the higher flow rate models ARE bigger to have the same quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Green Killing Machine Internal UV Sterilizer with Power Head
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

works great

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
someguyfrommissouri
from Missouri
I had a bad green water episode after overdosing phosphate. Couldn't see six inches into the tank. I hooked up this sterilizer and it was gin clear in three days!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Green Killing Machine Internal UV Sterilizer with Power Head
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It really works!!!!

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
fishlovr
from Sacramento, CA
I had been looking at this uv sterilizer for several months and really wanted to get one, so my husband bought me one for Christmas and I have been using it ever since. I love that it comes with the pump and there's nothing extra to buy- just install and plug it in. I use it for 6 to 8 hours a day. I had all different colors of cloudy water at different times. Sometimes it was yellow-brown,a whitish haze and a little greenish tint. The 1st time I used it the water was noticeably clearer after 5 hours! After using the sterilizer nearly daily the water is crystal clear - almost like there's no water in the tank at all!!! This is my 1st time using a sterilizer and wish I'd bought one of these sooner! The water quality in my area is terrible and even though I filter my tap water this sterilizer gives me a little extra peace of mind! I love it and would recommend to anyone (and already have!) that is having issues with cloudy water. I have the 9 watt model for my 29 gallon tank. My fish are happy, healthy and active and I love looking at a crystal clear aquarium! A must-have for any aquarium enthusiast!!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Green Killing Machine Internal UV Sterilizer with Power Head
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AWESOME

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
1Supermom1
from Fitchburg, MA
This clarifier works amazing!! My tank was cloudy green and could barely see the front 2 inches of the tank. In less than 1 week it is crystal clear! It is amazing. This was recommended by a Petco Aquarium specialist in our local store. They are amazing and are a wealth of information!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Green Killing Machine Internal UV Sterilizer with Power Head
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love this sterilizer!

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Luvmyfish47
from san Antonio, texas
I have to say I absolutely love this uv sterilizer (green killing machine) really does work! I received mines on christmas eve. and within 2 days I was seeing a difference in my 40 gallon aquarium"
And today it has now been five days and my aquarium is absolutely Crystal clear! All colors look so vivid now. i am so happy with this purchase.:-)
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Green Killing Machine Internal UV Sterilizer with Power Head
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing results

PostedDecember 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Hairdresser88
from Pennsylvania
I have three tanks and my biggest tank went completely cloudy. To the point where you couldn't see the fish, i tried everything. So I decided to buy this, I put it in Thursday and today is Saturday it is completely 100% crystal clear! I'm happier! my fish are happier. I'm going to buy one for my other tanks,
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Green Killing Machine Internal UV Sterilizer with Power Head
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dirty fish tank

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
patmi
from Bakersfield, CA
My 30gallon aquarium refused to stay clean. So I changed the water and added a second filter. 1 week latter the water was cloudy agin. I then install the Green Killing Machine. 8 hours latter the water was clear. I removed the second filter. The water has been clear for about 1 month. I almost forgot, I had lost 4 fish before I installed the Green Killin Machine. I now plan on replacing those fish.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Green Killing Machine Internal UV Sterilizer with Power Head
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Green Killing Machine Internal UV Sterilizer with Power Head 24Watt

PostedOctober 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
88dalejrfan
from Pennsylvania
I can tell you that i have had mine for about 2 weeks and this unit does work. it cleared up my 75 gallon tank in about 5 days. I did alot of research on uv sterilizers and i have to say this unit was not my first choice. i wanted to buy a turbo twist but it would have been alot more of an investment since i would have to buy a canister filter or water pump to run it. and we all know that they cost alot of money. with the green killing machine all you have to do is put in your tank and plug it in.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Green Killing Machine Internal UV Sterilizer with Power Head
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Green Killing Machine Internal UV Sterilizer with Power Head

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
OBOOST
from CT
Good product keeps water clear, power head weak, but certainly recommend.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Green Killing Machine Internal UV Sterilizer with Power Head
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Clear water - Great product!!

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tippytop
from Luray Va
I can't begin to tell you how happy I am with this product! I love this Green killing machine it works awesome on keeping my aquarium water crystal clear. I have the 9 watt for over 2 months now and loved. Before that, the water was very cloudy where I couldn't see my fish. I would recommend this product to everyone who have aquariums.
I just have one problem with the suction cups not staying on the glass.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Green Killing Machine Internal UV Sterilizer with Power Head
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AMAZING

PostedAugust 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
4theLoveOfFish
Does exactly what they say it will do! 6 days and my water is crystal clear! Great product, highly recommend it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Green Killing Machine Internal UV Sterilizer with Power Head
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I LOVE IT!!!!!!

PostedAugust 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
fishlover1000
from miami, fl
My 30 gallon aquarium looked like pea soup. I couldn't see my beautiful fish. I tried changing filers, water changes, more charcoal, more live bacteria.......nothing helped. After researching and reading the reviews on this Green Killing Machine I decided to give it a try. WOW it did the trick. It took 7 days but I now have a crystal clear tank. It takes a little time but it is great!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Green Killing Machine Internal UV Sterilizer with Power Head
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

unhappy

PostedJune 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
IAmNotHappy
the product has been installed over for a week, does not work as it claims
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-8points
0of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Green Killing Machine Internal UV Sterilizer with Power Head
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice secondary filter

PostedMay 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
46gallontank
from ks
I bought the 24 watt filter. Got this on sale, 20% off and free shipping so that was a great deal. It arrived in three days. It is kind of an awkward thing. I have a 46 gallon bow front tank, so the larger filter was kind of bulky, but so far it works great. I have Mopani wood in my tank that turned the water a light tea color, and this filter has helped clean it up a bit.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Green Killing Machine Internal UV Sterilizer with Power Head
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product produced clear water in 24hours

PostedMarch 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
KCFREE
from Greenwood, SC
I highly recommend the Green Killing Machine. The results in my aquarium were seen in 24 hours with the water becoming crystal clear and staying that way.
I feel like the fish sense the difference too....since now they appear to be much more active and alive.
No complaints here!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
6of 10voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>