petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Green Killing Machine Internal UV Sterilizer with Power Head

Green Killing Machine Internal UV Sterilizer with Power Head

Helps keep your aquarium water crystal clearKills algae, pathogens and harmful bacteriaReduces water changesFast and easy installation
Average Customer Rating:
4.523 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(88 Reviews) 88
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 88 reviews
5 stars
70
4 stars
7
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
6
77 out of 88(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
32 Questions | 58 Answers
Customer Reviews for Green Killing Machine Internal UV Sterilizer with Power Head
Review 1 for Green Killing Machine Internal UV Sterilizer with Power Head
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Machine

PostedApril 9, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Birmingham, AL>.
This is a great product. Solved my cloudy water problem. I have clear tank now. I would highly recommend this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Green Killing Machine Internal UV Sterilizer with Power Head
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Green and cloudy gone

PostedApril 7, 2015
Customer Avatar
from outside Boston
Read mixed reviews and opinions on this item before purchase. After changing water weekly, buying all kinds of chemical balancers from pet shop, and getting frustrated with look of tank, I decided to give it a try.
Installed it on a Friday before vacation and when I came back a week later, I thought someone played a joke on me.
Water was crystal clear, algae on glass had diminished and gravel looked new. After 3 weeks still looks like I set up tank yesterday. Highly recommend this for the frustrated.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Green Killing Machine Internal UV Sterilizer with Power Head
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product really works

PostedApril 2, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Atlanta, GA
I was nearly ready to throw in the towel and try a different hobby. I couldn't get the water in my 60 gal aquarium crystal clear no matter what. It just stayed cloudy all the time even after water changes and vacuuming the gravel, the next day it would be cloudy again. So I did research on UV Sterilizers and found that the Green Killing Machine Internal UV Sterilizer with Power Head (24 watt) to be an exceptional value as long as it would do what the manufacturer claimed. Well guess what, they were correct. Within 2 days of setting it up, the water is crystal clear and has not shown any signs of turning cloudy. I now run the Green Killing Machine Internal UV Sterilizer with Power Head for 8 hours a day. After one week the water is still crystal clear. Problem solved. I am very pleased. So if you have the same problem I HAD, buy this product, it really really really does work.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Green Killing Machine Internal UV Sterilizer with Power Head
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

for clear healthy water

PostedMarch 20, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Greensboro, NC
I have used green killing machine products for a few years now and they are the best at keeping the water clear and free of all the things that are harmful to the fish I highly recommend this product if you are considering a UV serializer
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Green Killing Machine Internal UV Sterilizer with Power Head
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product

PostedFebruary 11, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Cleveland, OH
My goldfish tank was plagued by green water for several months. Tried various chemical treatments that were useless. Purchased Green Killing Machine and within 2 hrs after easy installation, tank water was perfectly clear
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Green Killing Machine Internal UV Sterilizer with Power Head
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great

PostedFebruary 1, 2015
Customer Avatar
from WNC
So far so good , I was having green algae issues in my 70 gal Cichlid tank. Been running this for 2 weeks now and now algae yet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Green Killing Machine Internal UV Sterilizer with Power Head
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Green Killing Machine Works

PostedJanuary 28, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Brighton Mi
I have had aquariums for years and wish I would have known about this product sooner! It is a must have. My tank looks fantastic!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Green Killing Machine Internal UV Sterilizer with Power Head
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome

PostedJanuary 9, 2015
Customer Avatar
from college station,Tx
I fought with floating algae in my 65 gallon tank For 3 months, i got the green machine and in 30 hours i had beautiful crystal clear water. Great product
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Green Killing Machine Internal UV Sterilizer with Power Head
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works GREAT!

PostedDecember 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Washington, DC
Took all the green water away.. looks crystal clear!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Green Killing Machine Internal UV Sterilizer with Power Head
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

UV alge light

PostedDecember 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Williamsville,NY
excellent value, shipped fast easy to install keeps the tank clean
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Green Killing Machine Internal UV Sterilizer with Power Head
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

the jury is still out...

PostedNovember 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from centerville,tn
well, I had a huge problem with algae. a problem I have never had to deal with in my years of having aquariums. everything I tried did not work. I bought the green killing machine in desperation and to my amazement, it worked. the problem is that the bulbs only last 3-4 weeks. my suggestion is buyer beware if you want to spend $$$ on a product that constantly has to be repaired
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Green Killing Machine Internal UV Sterilizer with Power Head
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

lOOKING GREAT

PostedNovember 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Wilmington Delaware
My saltwater tank looks great since I hook this up very clear and simple to hook up 10 min.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Green Killing Machine Internal UV Sterilizer with Power Head
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

IT WORKS!

PostedOctober 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Great Falls, MT
Short story: Had a white bacteria bloom that just wouldn't go away in my 40 gallon tank with a Fluval 306 canister filter. Bloom was so bad I could barely see the fish. I installed the small 9w version and in 4 days water was crystal clear.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Green Killing Machine Internal UV Sterilizer with Power Head
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

easy to hide in tank

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from cliftn park ny
water went from green to clear in 7 days. a product that works
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Green Killing Machine Internal UV Sterilizer with Power Head
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AMAZING water clarity

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Chicago, IL
I experienced the "green water" problem in my 10-gallon tank for the second time in six months. Strange that I never had this problem with aquariums in years past (never even heard of it), and I can't put my finger on what's different now that might be causing it.
At any rate, I got fed up, moved the fish to a temporary bowl, and did a complete empty-out, clean, and change. In the meantime, I read up about UV purifiers, and decided to buy the 9-watt 'Green Killing Machine' for the newly cleaned and redone setup.
The device is large for a 10-gallon tank, and it took some ingenuity to cloak it: I sunk the bottom end of it into the gravel as deep as possible, and surrounded it with plants. Not bad. I have it powered on the same timer as the hood-light, so it's running about 10 hours daily.
Obviously the unit is, for me, a preventive measure -- I can't address the question of it clearing up existing algae. But I am absolutely astonished, pleasantly so, at the water clarity. And note that I used bottled-distilled water to begin with -- how much clearer could it get? Well, it's like looking at a fine crystal vase or goblet. It absolutely SPARKLES. You've got to see it to believe it. I honestly would not have believed aquarium water could "shine" like this.
Furthermore, I am not having to battle the usual temporary spiking in ammonia level which is typical with a brand-new setup. Its benefits are apparently more than just cosmetic.
I am extremely pleased, and happy to recommend this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Green Killing Machine Internal UV Sterilizer with Power Head
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Green killing machine

PostedJuly 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Bk, ny
I got this item in a product swap with a friend, so not sure how it would work and reading the reviews made me nervous, i also thought my water was clear and clean enough, but i can now say the bad reviews are wrong, im happy i chose this product, i ran it for1 day and the only way i was able to know i had water in my tank was because of my bubblers the water was so clear it mad the fishes look like they were suspended in air, now i only run it for 24hrs once per wk. I plan to get one more for my smaller tank, i would recommend this produt.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Green Killing Machine Internal UV Sterilizer with Power Head
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My aquarium looks now like the ones at the pet store

PostedMay 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Miami, FL
Green water was no harm to my fish but made the aquarium look really ugly and could not see the fish, so I ordered this product. It smells of new plastic so I washed it thoroughly overnight with tap water, next day installed and put it to work. A day after, nothing had happened, at day 4 water was totally crystal clear! You have to see it to believe it. Please check the picture below.
Suggestions:
- Like other reviewers, I am concerned about the life of the bulb, so after you get your desired result, it is better to put it on a timer and turn it on only a couple of hrs a day enough to keep your water clear.
- Since the bulb housing is not serviceable, it is better to cut a small piece of that cloth filter bags are made of and put it right on the inlet before you place the blue sponge. This will prevent excess of debris getting into the bulb unit and clogging it prematurely. At first it saturated very fast, I had to replace it every other day to keep a good flow.
I chose this sterilizer because didn't want to use those algae control liquids, they have highly toxic pesticides and there is always a chance you'll kill your fish, I'd better have cloudy water with live fish than clear water with dead fish.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Green Killing Machine Internal UV Sterilizer with Power Head
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It works!

PostedMay 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Pennsylvania
My aquarium has been green for months. I tried many things to to clear it up. One week after installing the Green Killing Machine Internal UV sterilizer the aquarium is finally clear.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Green Killing Machine Internal UV Sterilizer with Power Head
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best investment ever!

PostedApril 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Hollywood, Fl
I have had an issue with cloudiness for the last couple of months. I tried everything recommended by the fish stores. I went to 4 different stores. Chemicals, chemicals, and more chemicals. Water changes, not over feeding, I mean everything. Water was testing perfect but the cloudiness just didn't clear up. I added a 9w uv sterilizer to my 20 gallon tank. I have a timer and it goes on at night with my blue light for 4 hours. After only 2 days my tank is crystal clear. I didn't have an algae issue, just a white cloudiness. Day 1 it looked better but by day 2 I can't believe how super clear. My tank has seriously never looked better and my water is still testing perfect. Hurray for uv sterilization. Well worth the investment.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Green Killing Machine Internal UV Sterilizer with Power Head
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A must get

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Columbus, GA
This thing is easily the best product I have seen for the price you pay. I have bought other UV's in the past and they usually cost 3-4 times more then what I paid for this and it does the same thing. The only thing I wish was better was the flow rate which is REALLY slow but it says that is normal for this product. I can understand that though as this is a really compact unit and the higher flow rate models ARE bigger to have the same quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>