petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Soft-Sided Pet Carrier

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Petco Soft-Sided Pet Carrier

The stylish, lightweight soft collapsible pet carrier bag that provides all the essentials you need for comfortable, safe everyday travel with your petThese small dog carriers feature lightweight construction of durable sports fabric, top and side entry, mesh panels for ventilation, shoulder strap, storage pocket, and more
Average Customer Rating:
2.671 / 5
2.7
 / 
5
(70 Reviews) 70
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 70 reviews
5 stars
12
4 stars
14
3 stars
8
2 stars
11
1 star
25
31 out of 70(44%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Petco Soft-Sided Pet Carrier
Review 1 for Petco Soft-Sided Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Basic Bag

PostedApril 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Yorkie13
from New York, NY
I originally purchased this bag in the store, but unfortunately the strap broke after the first use. I returned it and purchased a new one online. I trust that the strap won't break again. That being said, the bag is a good size, has a nice sized pocket to hold bones/treats/etc and my Yorkie actually seams to like it!! The only negative aspects are that it only comes in small or large and I don't find the sizing information to be accurate. I don't think a 25lb dog would be very comortable in this bag. My Yorkie is 12lbs at most and I purchased the large.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Soft-Sided Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

so small!

PostedFebruary 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
nycgal
for very, very compact dogs. i bought this carrier for my 10+ pound cat. i pulled it out of the packaging and laughed so hard. my cat is both taller and longer than the carrier.
will be returning to a petco store.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Soft-Sided Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Does Not Close Well.

PostedJanuary 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
flagchic99
from New York, NY
I bought this bag so that I could fly with my miniature dachshund, needed a slightly larger bag to account for her length. The problem is there is a gap at the end where the zipper ends that her nose can wiggle through and if I'm not careful she will attempt to squeeze her whole head through. Make flying that much more stressful for me. Not to mention the D-rings that the strap attaches to on both sides of the carrier are not welded together and and after one flight with my 14lb dog both hooks broke open and I had to carry her with just the handles. Not very impressed.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Soft-Sided Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Petco Soft-Sided Pet Carrier

PostedOctober 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
starwatch45
from Raleigh, NC
We are very happy with this carrier. It is for our cats. After it came I went a head and ordered one more. I put it on the floor and one of our cats already has gotten in it. Good product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Soft-Sided Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not good for cats

PostedAugust 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
I am sure that this carrier is great for dogs, but cats can fight their way out of the top of it because there is a tiny little gap between the zipper and the latch lock. NOT good for cats. Both of mine could get out of it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Soft-Sided Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

My dog loves this carrier

PostedMay 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
momofabby
from santiago, chile
I am surprised to see all the negative reviews because my dog loves this carrier! I actually like the opening at the top because my dog likes to stick her head out and look around while we are walking. It works well for us and I LOVE that its collapsible! The lining could be a little softer though.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Soft-Sided Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Huge Fail

PostedMay 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
LadyLomo
from Brooklyn
This bag has one function, to hold the animal. But it doesn't. My cat can escape out of the top because it doesn't zip all the way closed. Awful product, I just had to cancel my vet appointment and will now take another train ride to Petco to return this worthless thing.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Soft-Sided Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor quality product

PostedDecember 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
MelInDallas
from Dallas, TX
When I received the bag, the accessory pouch would not close, maybe because the velcro fastener was not stitched on to the bag. This barely has room for my 3.5lb teacup yorkie to stand up in without touching her head. She also gets out very easily by pulling back the top flap and squeezing out the resulting opening. This bag definitely does not do its job and I wouldn't waste any money on it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Soft-Sided Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Sizing is way off

PostedAugust 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Happy2Be
from New York, NY
The item specs list that it's for dogs up to 15 lbs., which is misleading. My Yorkie is just over 11 lbs. and will only fit if she's curled up with her head sticking out the top. There's no way this will be comfortable fully zipped and for longer periods of travel. I looked at the medium at the store and even that's only slightly larger. Can't recommend this for anything, but the smallest dogs.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Soft-Sided Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It works!

PostedApril 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
DogLoverSF
from san francisco, ca
Bought the large to transport my 14 pound dog on public transportation. Have been using it for two years now, 3 days a week. Put an extra pad on the bottom, as the provided one is thin and wouldn't be comfortable. Have had mi nor issues with it, but I'm still using it, so it lasts! Thinking of replacing it with another one, as you can't beat the price! Like the fact that one of the side walls has a flap that you can leave up or down - can get privacy or air as needed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Soft-Sided Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not as expected

PostedJanuary 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
1missMuffet
from Kennewick, WA
This item said for pets up to 16 lbs. but it is way too
small. I would never put my 13 lb. dog in it! Also,
the base platform is supposed to fit perfectly inside on the bottom of the carrier and it sticks out about a half inch longer than the carrier, which means that it is really difficult to zip up. I returned it to the store.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Soft-Sided Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Wish I'd read the reviews first

PostedJanuary 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
sumire
from NY, NY
I wish I'd read the reviews before buying this in the store. I bought this Petco brand carrier and a Pet Mate brand carrier (the pink one with zebra print inside) for our two cats. The other carrier has been fine, but within the first day of use, a wire was poking out of this Petco carrier.
Additionally, our cats are both adept at head-butting the top of this carrier to get out of it. They can't seem to do it in the other carrier. So we invariably have to fight to keep the cat in this one.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Soft-Sided Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Be prepared to make a couple changes

PostedDecember 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
CJ63
I bought the carrier on Black Friday and paid 19.99, so for that price is awesome. I would not be pleased had I paid the full price based on the issues I knew to to watch for from reading other reviews. One is, there are two metal braces that go back to front near top of carrier. On one side it started poking out within the 1st couple days. I knew to watch for it and sewed it back up and reinforced the other side. The other item is on the top flap. You zip both sides then secure the end with a twist clasp. This leaves a two inch unsecured area on both sides of the clasp. Very easy for a cat to open. I attached velcro to this area to solve that problem. The Large is a good size for my two kittens and they both love it. My litle girl (kitten) is curled up i it right now. I like that there is both a top and end opening. Tonights the big test as I will be taking them to head for their spay/neuter surgeries and i'll see if all the fixes hold.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Soft-Sided Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Smaller Than It Looks

PostedNovember 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
ChaCha13
This is totally functional, sturdy, and soft on the inside but my small-ish cat (fully grown, but still small) will never fit in it. It's getting returned, but it's a shame.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Soft-Sided Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

NOT FOR PETS WHO DON'T LIKE CAR RIDES

PostedOctober 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
sebestian
I bought this carrier thinking it would be less stressful and more comfortable for my cat who loves to make forts and be in "caves" but HATES car rides. DO NOT GET THIS IF YOUR PET HATES CAR RIDES! The zippers do not stay shut and even though i clipped the strap on top to the end of the bag my cat could easily get out on his own. Also, there is a door on the end so you can open the bag like a kennel door, and there are two metal poles exposed for no obvious reason and could hurt your pet. I'm returning this product today and would not recommend buying it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Soft-Sided Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Bag!

PostedOctober 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
DreamerGirl52209
from Downers Grove, IL
My dog loves this bag. It is great to carry her in and also fits in the car!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco Soft-Sided Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Soft Sided Pet Carrier

PostedSeptember 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
curli
from Paw Paw, MI
Got product in verily good time and it's easy to use and comfortable for my cat to get into and to take her out the bag. I wanted something solid but not to hard for her body to carry her to the vet. I didn't want her loose in the car. This product is perfect for this comfortable and soft enough for her.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petco Soft-Sided Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Escape Fix

PostedAugust 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
ma36322n
This bag is ok. I use it for my cat, who has grown to about 11 lbs, quite frequently and once I get him into the bag he doesn't seem to mind being in it at all. He too was able to escape by a simple push of his head out of the top of the carrier. In order to prevent him from doing this I simply twisted the leather strap that connects to both zippers and clipped it to the hook on the front of the bag. He's never gotten out again, and he has persistently tried!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petco Soft-Sided Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

pet carrier

PostedMay 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
JMMH
Made for small dog, but I use it for my cats. Thay love it, as much as I do. Good quality, well made product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petco Soft-Sided Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

doesn't work

PostedApril 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
jess9260
from MA
my cats always get out of this. all they have to do is claw at the zipper and it opens up
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>