petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Designer Green Dome Playtop Parrot Cage

Petco Designer Green Dome Playtop Parrot Cage

Versatile cage converts from a dometop to a playtop cage in minutesComplete with three perches & two food/water dishesMultiple doors for easy access and cleaningPull out tray for easy cleaning
Average Customer Rating:
3.546 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 11 reviews
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
1
8 out of 11(73%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Designer Green Dome Playtop Parrot Cage
Review 1 for Petco Designer Green Dome Playtop Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Difficult to assemble.

PostedFebruary 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
MrDialysis
from Arizona
Very poor directions. Tabs did not align and had to bend to get to attach. Top did not come close to matching the front and back design. Bottom grate kept falling through as it was too small for the tabs to hold it. Glad I had a roll of bailing wire and Farmer's knack to assemble.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Designer Green Dome Playtop Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Cage

PostedOctober 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
BKLA
from Los Angeles, CA
This is fairly easy to put together -- less than 15 minutes. Just be sure to look carefully at the instruction page to make sure that the position of the hooks/tabs is correct in relation to the other pieces. The cage is sturdier than it seems. Recommended.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Designer Green Dome Playtop Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great habitat for my conure!

PostedSeptember 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Zanna
This cage is the perfect size for my birds! I have two of these cages for my Green Cheek Conures, "Skittles" and "Rosie." The cage will fit multiple toys and perches, as well as a few extra food and treat dishes. The cage is pretty easy to put together. It's fairly easy to clean, and quite sturdy. The price was great! I
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Designer Green Dome Playtop Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Parrot Cage

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dove1
I bought this for a mourning dove. It has plenty of room and the cage was fairly easy to put together and it was in great shape. The only thing I do not like is that seed can get stuck in the sides of the bottom around the tray and make its way to under the tray. It is not a big deal and an easy clean up. It is great for a medium bird to stretch its wings and move around. It is great for multiple small birds as well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Designer Green Dome Playtop Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

didn't work for my Sun Conure

PostedFebruary 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Momma2Raz
from Oklahoma
I bought this cage when I bought my Sun Conure, Raz, at my local Petco 2 weeks ago. Right out of the box, some of the bars were bent really bad. My husband and I assembled the cage and were able to bend the bars back in place, but the play area at the top was a problem. It just won't stay securely closed. I've had to clip it shut with leftover toy clips. The bent bars and playtop problem weren't deal-breakers, but my Conure figured out how to escape through the feeding dish doors. This required more toy clips and began to get frustrating. Then tonight, he figured out how to open the large front door by lifting the latch (from the inside) and kicking the door. He escaped 3 times tonight and I had to get yet ANOTHER toy clip. Aside from that, he has chewed the paint off in several places and bent bars easily with his beak. I'm going shopping for a more sturdy parrot cage tomorrow. I've had 2 other Sun Conures in the past and neither of them were this clever and curious (and destructive), but I still wouldn't recommend this for any parrot. The wires are too thin and close together. It's basically just a larger version of a parakeet cage. My husband had a blue-front Amazon and she would have had this cage for lunch, but a picture of one was on the box!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Designer Green Dome Playtop Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

WONDERFUL CAGE!

PostedFebruary 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
PepeismyBebe
from wisconsin
I got this for 2 of my cockatiels.Of course at first they were scared but after two hours they already loved it! As do I. Also the door is amazing! its so large, I love it! I can pick up Freddy and Pe'pe at the same time, its fabuolas! Would reomend it for 2 cockatiels or three parakeets. LOVE IT!
<3
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Designer Green Dome Playtop Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

dome top bird cage

PostedOctober 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
abbaloony
I recently bought this large cage but not to large for a parakeet. Best thing i bought in a long time , now this cage has a open or close play top huge and a large front cage door . My bird is nt clipped so gets a lot of exersise in cage can fly around . Way easyer to get my hand ln cage to clean feed , Or get my bird out
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Designer Green Dome Playtop Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good Backup Cage

PostedOctober 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
neptunecat
from Florida
This was the first cage that I purchased for my Sun Conure, I have had it for 1.5 years, and now use it as his sleep cage. Perfect size for him, but I would NOT recommend this for any bird larger than a Sun.
Pros*
-Easy to assemble and take down (great for traveling. We break it down for the trip and set it up again when we arrive at our destination)
-Doesn't rust
-Good size for a Sun
Cons*
-It is extremely aggravating to clean because the grate at the bottom does not slide out with the tray. You have to separate the cage from the bottom to clean the grate.
-Not as sturdy as I'd like. This is the reason it is only his sleep cage now. I do not feel comfortable leaving him in this cage in the same room as my cats. If they were to knock it over it might come apart.
Conclusion-
Great for a backup or starter cage, not recommended for birds larger than a Sun Conure.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Designer Green Dome Playtop Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Solid, Economical Cage for Small Parrots

PostedAugust 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
PegCo98
from Williamsburg, VA
I bought this cage for my moustached parakeet, and as soon as I set it up he clambered over from his old cage.
It was a little difficult to set up, mostly in trying to get the top flush with the sides. I got it close, but it will never be perfect. However, the wide door and open top make setting up perches and toys a breeze.
The dishes are a little small- my parakeet could barely use them with the covers on.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Designer Green Dome Playtop Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Playtop Parrot Cage

PostedAugust 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Oconnatu
from Boston, MA
This cage looks better online. When it arrived it was very banged up and very hard to put together. It is not a secure cage and is cheaply made. The bottom tray separates from the cage so you have to carry it by the bottom not the sides. It is a medium sized cage. I think it's better to invest in a larger, sturdier cage for a Parrot.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Designer Green Dome Playtop Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Cage Pros and Cons

PostedJuly 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
CuriousBird
from Phoenix, AZ
This cage is a great flight cage for a budgie.
The Pros
- Good size
- Fairly easy to assemble
- Removable bottom tray
- Bottom tray is plastic (I've had metal ones that rusted)
The Cons
- The grate does not slide out - I have to remove perches and things inside the cage in order to get it out to clean the underside.
- All doors are in the front - this makes it difficult to attach perches and toys in the back of the cage, unless you have someone else to help you. It would have been nice to have some access doors on the sides.
- The top was not uniform so there are little gaps in the corners where the top and sides meet. They're not big enough for a bird to get stuck or anything, but it does make the cage out of alignment.
- Does not specify whether the cage bars are zinc free; I'm hoping they are seeing as zinc is very toxic to birds.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
15of 16voted this as helpful.