petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage

Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage

Spacious parrot bird cage that is ideal for small parrots, large parrots or cockatielsPlay top bird cage comes with stand and easy rolling castersFeatures three perches and five food/water dishesMultiple entry doors for easy access to your pet parrotPull out tray and grate for easy cleaning and maintenance
Average Customer Rating:
4.566 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(113 Reviews) 113
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 113 reviews
5 stars
82
4 stars
20
3 stars
7
2 stars
1
1 star
3
105 out of 113(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
62 Questions | 113 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage
Review 1 for Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Cage!

PostedAugust 22, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Annandale, MN
I bought this for cockatiels. I have 3 in it and they have soooo much room and it's filled with toys and perches! It is an awesome cage. It's huge and sturdy, very well made. The cage had some damage from being delivered but petco will send another or replacement parts. I love it! U can hang toys on the inside it does have a grate on top and the tray under the playtop pulls off if u want to let light in. The playtop also has a toy bar not listed or shown. You cannot go wrong I got it on sale for 209.99. It is a beautiful, sturdy, well made cage. I cannot go wrong. U can even use this for an African gray or smaller birds like cockatiels. 1/2 inch bar spacing.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Habitat

PostedAugust 7, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Broomfield, CO
For Penguin my 18 yr old African Grey, she loves it!
When I received the cage I had to assemble it but it was fairly easy. Instructions were vague but common sense made it easy. A few of the parts were bent but easy to straighten. In the picture it looked like light brown or tan but it was a dark brown color which was fine for me. I have priced cages around town and on the internet and this price was really great! Only $199.00 shipping included. Don't be afraid to assemble it, it was easy and saves a lot of money doing it yourself. I am 63 years old female and had no problem.
I recommend buying this to anyone but beware of the size, it will take up a lot of room in your house but is worth it as it is easy to manage feeding and cleaning. Has two trays for droppings, one on the top and one on the bottom.
GREAT DEAL!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the cage.

PostedAugust 4, 2015
Customer Avatar
from azle tx
Love the cage. My indian ringneck parrot loves it also.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Well built except for the skirt/funnel

PostedJuly 15, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Scottsdale, Arizona US
It's a very nice and very big cage and well built,
but the skirt/funnel to catch seeds thrown out by a parrot is flimsy and did not fit. It needs much tighter tolerances to be suitable.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice large cage

PostedJune 30, 2015
Customer Avatar
from santa maria ca
This cage is larger than I thought it would be, but I love it...the door opens in the front...I can almost crawl in. Its well made and attractive. My IRN seems to love it..I like that you can really clean it. Very happy with it.
The playground on top is an added feature, my bird loves it. Very easy to put together, I'm 70 years old and had no trouble.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Item would have been a wonderful purchase if delivered without damage.

PostedJune 22, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Kent, CT
Large and well made. Unfortunately it was delivered with extensive damage to both draws. Don't bother utilizing the enclosed perches, my amazon chewed thru them both in one day. Overall, it was easy to assemble, and worth the sale price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Only 3 paws for damaged pieces

PostedJune 20, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Ohio
One of the sliding trays, the front piece and a side piece of the cage all had areas that were bent/damaged. We aren't sure if that was from the delivery, since the box was already pretty much ruined from being left in the rain when it was delivered. The cage could not be fitted together as-is, but it was easy enough to bend them back mostly in place with a mallet. Much less trouble than returning the cage would have been. Once assembled (which is a 2 person job) the cage is wonderful. But be warned, it's pretty big and might not fit through all of your doorways. We had to be pretty creative to get it from one room to another
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Cage

PostedJune 18, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Roselle, IL
This cage was purchased for our new American Gray and we just love style, size and overall look. Good value. Packaging was not sturdy and it came half open. Non of stuff was missing and just tiny bend on one tray. For price would highly recommend.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I Could Judge A Book By Its Carton

PostedMay 29, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Inland Empire, CA
...Twice.
Nice cage, but too bad it can't seem to get delivered in a carton that has not been severely thrashed and has never been unsealed.
The first cage delivered had one large tray bent and was completely split at one corner. So, it was shipped back.
The replacement arrived once again in its customary shop-worn thrashed box. This time with a long wide gash across the face of the carton added to the mix.
Inside the box, one tray had a small separation on one corner. But, it didn't look severe enough to insist on returning. It is still a part I would exchange out if it was stocked at my local Petco.
Here is the crux of the biscuit. The cage was assembled, the two trays and one of two wire racks were inserted leaving just a wire rack that sets above cage area in the playpen.
Frustratingly, This last piece of the jigsaw puzzle is bent enough to prevent it from setting in place as it should. I'll be looking to get this piece exchanged without disassembling the cage.
I haven't had this long enough to give it a usage review. However, I do wish that cage manufacturers would look at using casters that would allow for smoother transport when rolling the cage. Even for brief movement during cleaning, a fluid moving caster like those used for heavy speaker cabinets could be less stressful for my friend by removing much jarring.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Value, But...

PostedApril 26, 2015
Customer Avatar
The product arrived and , once assembled, is beautiful. But it did arrive in a damaged box and some broken pieces. My husband used his handy skills to weld the metal pieces together again.
My birds seem to enjoy the cage and it was great value, but if I spend that much on it, it better be perfect!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good for the money

PostedMarch 30, 2015
Customer Avatar
from charlottesville, Va
I was afraid to get it after some of the reviews- it was not packed well. Box was flimsy and torn when I got it - had only one pk strap better if had two - slightly bent where the strap had been secured but ok. One screw hole did not line up but able to get the screw in -one "spar" I had to remove but this was not bad, Overall for the money I am pleased - it is a heavy well made-may not work if your parrot is a chewer it could chew the bars it s spacious for my Rose Breasted Cockatoo I think it can spread its wiings wo breaking feathers.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Almost a "5 paw" rating...

PostedMarch 9, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Ohio
After reading all the reviews of this cage, good and bad, I decided to give it a try. Overall, it's a very nice cage and I will probably very shortly be purchasing another for my other parrot. I wanted to see it first before ordering both.
The cage was shipped quickly. The box a little banged up but the only thing damaged was one of the trays. Hubby was able to bend it back without any trouble. There did end up being a little paint chip from the bent metal, but it's not noticeable. I do not believe this damage happened during shipping because the tray was secure in the box and if it happened during shipping other parts would have been damaged also. I believe this had to be damaged already before it was shipped.
I went through the instructions and made sure I had all the pieces before started to put it together...and yes, all the parts were there. It was easy to assemble, although, directions could have been much better. We made sure each piece was facing the right direction and had no problems with holes lining up, etc. It took about an hour to assemble.
Inside cage measurements are 29 1/2" x 29 1/2" by 43". These are the measurements if you do not use the grate above the bottom tray. If you do use the grate then the inside height is 33 1/2". I do not use the grate. I don't understand why there is 9" wasted cage space between the grate and the tray???
I knew when I purchased this cage that I would have to secure the little "door in door" so my little escape artist wouldn't try to get out and hurt herself or worse, based on other reviews. I placed 2 big washers/wing nuts on each side...she won't get that open! I don't see any use in this little door in door design?
Next, because I don't use the grate, I had to secure the tray, as it slides out VERY easily! Not a huge problem, and I knew before I bought it that I would need to do that.
Perches are just okay...she will have those chewed through in a week or two, but that's okay, I have more.
Would I recommend this cage, yes, and like I said, I will be purchasing another. I would give this cage a "5 paw" rating, if not for the bent tray and the adjustments I had to make. That said, my amazon is always into something. I won't have to make these adjustments for my other parrot. All in all, it's a very nice looking, heavy cage and I am very happy with it. If there was a "4 3/4 paw" rating I'd go with that...but I just don't believe you should buy something brand new and have to bend something back in to place. You can't beat the price for this cage though...
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

beautiful

PostedMarch 4, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Murfreesboro, TN
This is a large beautiful cage. It is very complimentary to my living room and The price is amazing for what you are getting. My Gold Capped Conure feels like a king. Only complaint is the lack of grating on the roof of the cage to be able to hang toys from.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great buy!

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Customer Avatar
Great price for this size cage. Was easy to assemble. Only complaint is that the item had some damage to it and one of the screws would not go in. Because of its size and weight, I decided not to bother with the hassle of exchanging it. Other than that we are very happy with it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product at Great Price

PostedFebruary 9, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Ellison Bay, WI
Handsome, solidly built cage, roomy at great price! My cockatiel flock took to it right away. Easy to clean with vinegar and water. Easy to assemble. Big enough for an Amazon or two. Much more affordable than a branded cage and just as good a quality. Will be another one for other home.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great cage

PostedJanuary 26, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Boynton beach , FL
I have a mini macaw parrot. I think the cage is perfect for his size it's spacious enough for him to climbs in and out. the colors very pretty it doesn't seem to rust fast. I sprayed down with the water hose when I clean it out. No rusting yet. it's very durable I roll it all around the house. I like the fact that it has the guard around it so it bird does not go on the floor. It has plenty of space for all the toys altogether great cage. Had the cage going on for at least nine months.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great cage for the price but not suited for large birds

PostedJanuary 23, 2015
Customer Avatar
Great price considering i got it on sale though it is not what i would recommend as a super high quality cage for large birds. interior cage dimensions are 30 inches long by 30 inches wide which is nice and spacious for small and medium sized birds but large birds such as african greys for example need more space and the wire gauge is too thin and weak for the larger birds. the top of the cage DOES have a grate that just sits on the top - it doesn't latch so again perfectly heavy and secure for small and medium birds but not for large strong birds. (don't be fooled into thinking it is meant for large birds because they have an african grey in the cage in the picture - i can bend the bars with my fingers) overall it is a nice cage for smaller birds. was easy to assemble by myself without any help and i did it in a little over an hour.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mink Brown Parrot Cage

PostedJanuary 23, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Sc
Fabulous! My parrot loves his new cage! It's very well made. Love the color too! We highly recommend it for medium-sized parrots!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the features

PostedJanuary 8, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Gig Harbor, Wa
This cage has made my Amazon so happy, she has so much fun in her new home!! She spent two days just getting used to her new surroundings; and now today is enjoying her playtop to the fullest. The cage came with all the pieces, in perfect order; was very easy to put together, and nothing was bent or cracked. We couldn't be happier.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

perfect cage but damaged in shipping PETCO PLEASE PACK BETTER

PostedJanuary 5, 2015
Customer Avatar
from PA
This cage is well made, has great features, and is one the nicest looking cages sold, the color looks great with wood furniture. That said, I have received 2 cages so far (waiting for #3) and both are damaged from shipping. The trays and the double feeder door panel are bent and the paint is seriously chipped at the bent areas. Both cages, same damage, same places. The damage is not bc the cage is poor quality, it is the packing that is awful. The trays are a bit flimsy but better than plastic and totally useable. If care is taken, they will not bend with regular use. It is taking me a lot of time and energy to haul, unpack, inspect, pack, and haul for pickup a very heavy and big box. PETCO PLEASE PACK BETTER.
This is a great cage especially for the price. I would pay $500 for a nice looking cage with all these features, I got this for less than $200. Know that I washed the cage prior to use and a bit of rust formed inside the hollow (but sturdy) frame. The paint is applied very well but inside the frame is prone to rust, it is iron not stainless after all. Washing with thorough drying will be necessary for long lasting use of this cage.
I needed less than 3/4 inch bar spacing and wanted as large as possible for my 2 white wing parakeets (a little smaller than a cockatiel). Most cages this large have 1 inch spacing which is too big. This is 5/8 inch spacing which is great for smaller birds. This cage also has the play top with grate and tray and the smaller door within the larger door. The small door is great bc my guys are FAST and always want to get out. They'd be out of the big door in a second, one would distract me while the other makes his escape. I let them out a lot but there are just times when I need to feed and water then and get to work!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>