petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage

Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage

Spacious parrot bird cage that is ideal for small parrots, large parrots or cockatielsPlay top bird cage comes with stand and easy rolling castersFeatures three perches and five food/water dishesMultiple entry doors for easy access to your pet parrotPull out tray and grate for easy cleaning and maintenance
Average Customer Rating:
4.598 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(102 Reviews) 102
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 102 reviews
5 stars
77
4 stars
16
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
3
95 out of 102(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
58 Questions | 104 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage
Review 1 for Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Almost a "5 paw" rating...

PostedMarch 9, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Ohio
After reading all the reviews of this cage, good and bad, I decided to give it a try. Overall, it's a very nice cage and I will probably very shortly be purchasing another for my other parrot. I wanted to see it first before ordering both.
The cage was shipped quickly. The box a little banged up but the only thing damaged was one of the trays. Hubby was able to bend it back without any trouble. There did end up being a little paint chip from the bent metal, but it's not noticeable. I do not believe this damage happened during shipping because the tray was secure in the box and if it happened during shipping other parts would have been damaged also. I believe this had to be damaged already before it was shipped.
I went through the instructions and made sure I had all the pieces before started to put it together...and yes, all the parts were there. It was easy to assemble, although, directions could have been much better. We made sure each piece was facing the right direction and had no problems with holes lining up, etc. It took about an hour to assemble.
Inside cage measurements are 29 1/2" x 29 1/2" by 43". These are the measurements if you do not use the grate above the bottom tray. If you do use the grate then the inside height is 33 1/2". I do not use the grate. I don't understand why there is 9" wasted cage space between the grate and the tray???
I knew when I purchased this cage that I would have to secure the little "door in door" so my little escape artist wouldn't try to get out and hurt herself or worse, based on other reviews. I placed 2 big washers/wing nuts on each side...she won't get that open! I don't see any use in this little door in door design?
Next, because I don't use the grate, I had to secure the tray, as it slides out VERY easily! Not a huge problem, and I knew before I bought it that I would need to do that.
Perches are just okay...she will have those chewed through in a week or two, but that's okay, I have more.
Would I recommend this cage, yes, and like I said, I will be purchasing another. I would give this cage a "5 paw" rating, if not for the bent tray and the adjustments I had to make. That said, my amazon is always into something. I won't have to make these adjustments for my other parrot. All in all, it's a very nice looking, heavy cage and I am very happy with it. If there was a "4 3/4 paw" rating I'd go with that...but I just don't believe you should buy something brand new and have to bend something back in to place. You can't beat the price for this cage though...
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

beautiful

PostedMarch 4, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Murfreesboro, TN
This is a large beautiful cage. It is very complimentary to my living room and The price is amazing for what you are getting. My Gold Capped Conure feels like a king. Only complaint is the lack of grating on the roof of the cage to be able to hang toys from.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great buy!

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Customer Avatar
Great price for this size cage. Was easy to assemble. Only complaint is that the item had some damage to it and one of the screws would not go in. Because of its size and weight, I decided not to bother with the hassle of exchanging it. Other than that we are very happy with it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product at Great Price

PostedFebruary 9, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Ellison Bay, WI
Handsome, solidly built cage, roomy at great price! My cockatiel flock took to it right away. Easy to clean with vinegar and water. Easy to assemble. Big enough for an Amazon or two. Much more affordable than a branded cage and just as good a quality. Will be another one for other home.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great cage

PostedJanuary 26, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Boynton beach , FL
I have a mini macaw parrot. I think the cage is perfect for his size it's spacious enough for him to climbs in and out. the colors very pretty it doesn't seem to rust fast. I sprayed down with the water hose when I clean it out. No rusting yet. it's very durable I roll it all around the house. I like the fact that it has the guard around it so it bird does not go on the floor. It has plenty of space for all the toys altogether great cage. Had the cage going on for at least nine months.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great cage for the price but not suited for large birds

PostedJanuary 23, 2015
Customer Avatar
Great price considering i got it on sale though it is not what i would recommend as a super high quality cage for large birds. interior cage dimensions are 30 inches long by 30 inches wide which is nice and spacious for small and medium sized birds but large birds such as african greys for example need more space and the wire gauge is too thin and weak for the larger birds. the top of the cage DOES have a grate that just sits on the top - it doesn't latch so again perfectly heavy and secure for small and medium birds but not for large strong birds. (don't be fooled into thinking it is meant for large birds because they have an african grey in the cage in the picture - i can bend the bars with my fingers) overall it is a nice cage for smaller birds. was easy to assemble by myself without any help and i did it in a little over an hour.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mink Brown Parrot Cage

PostedJanuary 23, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Sc
Fabulous! My parrot loves his new cage! It's very well made. Love the color too! We highly recommend it for medium-sized parrots!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the features

PostedJanuary 8, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Gig Harbor, Wa
This cage has made my Amazon so happy, she has so much fun in her new home!! She spent two days just getting used to her new surroundings; and now today is enjoying her playtop to the fullest. The cage came with all the pieces, in perfect order; was very easy to put together, and nothing was bent or cracked. We couldn't be happier.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

perfect cage but damaged in shipping PETCO PLEASE PACK BETTER

PostedJanuary 5, 2015
Customer Avatar
from PA
This cage is well made, has great features, and is one the nicest looking cages sold, the color looks great with wood furniture. That said, I have received 2 cages so far (waiting for #3) and both are damaged from shipping. The trays and the double feeder door panel are bent and the paint is seriously chipped at the bent areas. Both cages, same damage, same places. The damage is not bc the cage is poor quality, it is the packing that is awful. The trays are a bit flimsy but better than plastic and totally useable. If care is taken, they will not bend with regular use. It is taking me a lot of time and energy to haul, unpack, inspect, pack, and haul for pickup a very heavy and big box. PETCO PLEASE PACK BETTER.
This is a great cage especially for the price. I would pay $500 for a nice looking cage with all these features, I got this for less than $200. Know that I washed the cage prior to use and a bit of rust formed inside the hollow (but sturdy) frame. The paint is applied very well but inside the frame is prone to rust, it is iron not stainless after all. Washing with thorough drying will be necessary for long lasting use of this cage.
I needed less than 3/4 inch bar spacing and wanted as large as possible for my 2 white wing parakeets (a little smaller than a cockatiel). Most cages this large have 1 inch spacing which is too big. This is 5/8 inch spacing which is great for smaller birds. This cage also has the play top with grate and tray and the smaller door within the larger door. The small door is great bc my guys are FAST and always want to get out. They'd be out of the big door in a second, one would distract me while the other makes his escape. I let them out a lot but there are just times when I need to feed and water then and get to work!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well made and easy to assemble

PostedJanuary 4, 2015
Customer Avatar
Loved this cage and so did my bird. I have a cockatiel and she doubled her space with this one. It was very well made and easy to put together. Shipped to our home very quickly, (within 3 days of the order) With the wheels, it is easy to move to different locations. The cage is large, larger than I expected and that ended up being a nice bonus for us. Just need to find the perfect place for it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for smaller Parrot (Senegal)

PostedJanuary 2, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Fort Worth, Tx
This is perfect for smaller breeds of parrots, Senegal or Quaker sizes. I wouldn't be comfortable with an Amazon or Macaw in this, they would need more room. My Senegal loves the space and his favorite is the top play area. Great quality for 200 price range. Easy assembly if you're not an amature. The picture directions it comes with aren't too easy to understand, but if you have patience and imagination you can figure it out. Delivery was fast and to the front door, box is super heavy so have a man around to help! Considering everything, yes I would buy it again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is great for 2 small parrots

PostedDecember 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Kihei Hi
We like the fact that you can leave it open when inside and close it when outside. There is lots of room for the two to play inside and they can come and go in and out while inside the house.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love it! Preparing for a parrotlet!

PostedDecember 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Lost, Somewhere
I bought this on line and it arrived earlier than expected. There were dents in the trays and on the top where the tray slides in, the ridge was bent down. All of these were easily fixed. I attributed this to poor packaging, it did look pretty beat up. This was the first cage I've ever assembled and was surprised it only took an hour. I do have the bottom tray in backwards the instructions aren't real clear. Maybe if I hadn't been so excited and had taken more time. I bought this for less than $180, and would do it again! I love all the room and when my little guy is ready for a bigger place I'm sure he will to! So, with a small pair of pliers and patience you'll be on your way.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good cage for half price sale

PostedDecember 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
This cage was on sale for half price and that is the main thing that caught my attention. I figured at that price it was worth the risk of a mail order cage that I was not able to inspect in advance. Received it very quickly. It is not a quality high dollar cage but it appears good for the price (half price). Some parts were bent but not to the extent that I saw in another review. I put it together easily although I had to disassemble and reassemble when I got two panels reversed (the instructions are not very good and I didn't inspect it closely enough to realize I was making the pan pull out the backside until I reversed it).
There is plenty of room and I like the pull out grate. The bowls are too small for a cage this size and the drop down landing door is too flimsy for a parrot (would be fine for a small, lightweight bird -- cockatiel, budgie, etc.). I'll be adding some larger bowls.
It's only been in use for a week but I am satisfied so far. It is housing two amazons (1 small & 1 large). I would recommend this cage when on sale for half price. On sale for more than that I would have to think about and look seriously at others. I would not buy this cage at full price. I hope to get a few years from it continuing to look in good shape before it starts to show wear and to rust.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Cage

PostedDecember 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Seffner,FL
Love this cage, much larger then i was expecting but gives plenty of room. Very easy to assemble with included tools and easy to clean all parts without having to take it apart. The only thing i wish it had is better places to hang toys in various places instead of on the sides, but that is a minor issue.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Large Parrot Cage

PostedNovember 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Concord, NC
This is a nice large cage but the side skirts do not catch everything. Still picking up food off the floor. The wooden perches also came warped so they do not fit properly and need to be modified. My package came damaged and had to fix some bent pieces. Would recommend buying from the store. My Amazon Blue Front does love it overall.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value!

PostedSeptember 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from chicago, il
We just rescued an African Grey, and I wasn't sold that this cage would be large enough. Boy was I wrong! This is a large cage that allows for plenty of movement and toys. Our Grey is one happy fella! The instructions could've been more clear, but common sense prevails. Overall it is sturdy, spacious, and safe. Highly recommend for the price-it's a GREAT deal!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Needs some polishing before usable

PostedSeptember 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Washington
Bought this cage for 2 budgerigars. The quality is as I expected. Not fantastic but good for $227.
Top Points
1. 29"Lx29"Dx33"H / 29"Lx29"Dx42.5"H inside.
2. Good shipping time and packaging.
3. Cage is bent on top, and scratched on front (coating should have been thicker) decreasing aesthetic.
4. Tray and one base piece had to be straightened with pliers before usable.
5. Has sharp points/edges that must be filed before use
6. All pieces were present
7. Doors and locks work, landing style door is great!
8. Easy to assemble cage, also easy to assemble cage backwards
9. Pics of some damage attached
10. Cage was what I expected after reading reviews.
The interior dimensions using the grate as the floor are 29"Lx29"Dx33"H. When removing the bottom grate and using the solid pull-out tray as floor the interior dimensions are 29"Lx29"Dx42.5"H, The frame is 1/2" so that’s why not the full 30"W&D inside. The exterior dimensions w/o skirt or toy hook are 30"Lx30"Dx64.5"H
I agree with other reviewers that it is important to inspect this cage for sharp points before letting your pet(s) move in. Mine has a few tiny sharp points I plan to file off or tape over.
One of the wooden dowel perches was broken in the box, however, I did not plan to use these anyway. Other than that all of the pieces were present, along with an extra screw of each set.
The cage is easy to assemble. But in regards to the 4 base pieces, understand that the front will be the piece which has a bigger hole for the tray to slide in. This is not in the instructions. So put the wall that has the front door above this piece so you don't assemble the cage backwards. If you do accidentally complete the cage backwards, just lay the cage on its side, remove the base of the cage (4 screws), rotate base 180 degrees, and reattach.
I recommend having a pair of sturdy pliers/wrench, and towel to prevent scratching, in case there are any bent pieces you must straighten. Mine had two. One was a hole on the base which a rod must fit into was crimped too small. The second was one of the solid pull out trays, the side was severely bent out and needed to be pulled into alignment. The edges on this tray are sharp so I used it on the bottom where the birds won't touch it, however, someone planning to use the solid trays for floor and top where the birds will walk on both should hope that they get two good trays. (pic of tray after fix attached).
The front of my cage has a couple areas where it is lighter brown, most likely scratches caused by metal pieces rubbing together in the packaging, but the coating should have been thicker. I received the package in good condition. There was a decent amount of bubble wrap separating pieces.
The platform door which drops down is something I like a lot about this cage. And to anyone who wants to make this door impossible for a bird to open, simply tighten the bolt on the disc that locks the door so it can no longer be spun.
The 3 rings which hold the food cups inside the cage do not fit snugly and can be shaken up and down easily. I found these pieces to have sharp points which is not good because a bird will probably touch them with its feet while eating. The cups cannot be dumped when the door is shut, however.
I am disappointed that aesthetically the cage looks off, because on one side of the cage, near the top where the cage looks decorative, the bar which should be horizontal and straight is bent and cannot be fixed (see pic).
The cage is as I expected it to be, and I'm glad that the places where the cage did happen to get damaged did not make the cage unacceptable. I think it's the luck of the draw with this cage. This is definitely not a suitable cage for a full-size parrot, which could easily bend or snap the bars. It is the largest cage I could find for budgies under $400. I am satisfied with the price and purchase, $227 s&h and tax included (20% online discount and $10 promotional gift card I picked up from a store opening). I ordered the cage around 3pm on a Friday and received it at 1pm on a Thursday. 3 business days CA to WA.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great roomy cage!

PostedJune 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Georgia
This cage is much bigger than I expected! It was a piece of cake to put together if you follow the directions & separate all the pieces. I put the screws & other small things in a muffin pan & that helped a lot. I'm 63 years old & I put this together by myself in less than 2 hrs. All the parts were there as well as the hardware & nothing came bent. All the holes aligned also. I have 2 cockatiels & they are over, around & inside all day. Lots of room for toys, etc. I chose not to use the drawer on the top or the grate on the bottom. And did not use the seed catchers so put them aside in case I change my mind. It is very easy to clean. I use newspaper in the tray with paper towels & that works fine. I think you cou easily have 3-4 cockatiels in this cage.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mink Brown Parrot Cage

PostedJune 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Henderson Nevada
Cage went together smoothly. Only had a problem with one bolt. Took a little over an hour to assemble. (Didn't put on the seed catchers.) Had the bottom part on wrong - the tray hole was on the back. Just took off four bolts and turned it. As others have said it's BIG. Our parrot Bubba - an Amazon Double Yellowhead really enjoys it. Great deal for the price with free shipping. The store was selling the same cage for $60 more.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>