petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage

Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage

Spacious parrot bird cage that is ideal for small parrots, large parrots or cockatielsPlay top bird cage comes with stand and easy rolling castersFeatures three perches and five food/water dishesMultiple entry doors for easy access to your pet parrotPull out tray and grate for easy cleaning and maintenance
Average Customer Rating:
4.637 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(80 Reviews) 80
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 80 reviews
5 stars
62
4 stars
12
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
2
74 out of 80(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
49 Questions | 87 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage
Review 1 for Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

We love the Mink Brown Parrot cage.

PostedApril 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
loveDcage
from Calumet Park, IL
First I'd like to say to others buying this cage to make sure you find which bottom goes in front. It will be the one that the track of the sides matches the opening of it for sliding the tray in and out. It is quite easy to assemble if you carefully follow step by step. It is a very sturdy cage. Rebel (our African Grey Parrot will love. He was my mother in-law's bird and he was in a cage that 18" X 18" Now he will have 30" X 30" X 43" high.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My 'too loves this cage!

PostedApril 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Home4WaywardParrots
from Ypsilanti, MI
Bought this cage to house my Ducorps cockatoo, who needs extra room to move as she spends a lot of time in her cage. She has plenty of space to bounce around, flap her wings, and bash her toys, and is in constant motion now with all the new space. The only thing I'm wary of is the "door within a door" that is only secured with a metal flange that you push out of the way - push the flange aside and the door falls open, and this flange can be pushed aside by a busy beak from inside the cage. Any reasonably bright parrot is eventually going to figure this out, . . .
As others have noted, my cage did arrive with minor damage that I could fix with pliers. Hey, Petco - maybe you could beef up the bubble wrap or something? Clearly the current packaging isn't good enough. And I do have to say that the dowel perches that come with the cage are too small in diameter for a larger bird - I didn't even install them, but used thicker tree branches I had on hand for perches.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wow!!! Just...WOW!

PostedMarch 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
KellyDawn
from Gladstone, MO
There is simply not another set-up available on the market of this quality and price. I couldn't be more pleased.
I did leave the seed catchers off to be able to move this huge cage easily from room to room, but other than that it fully met all of my hopes and dreams for an unbelievable price .
This is a very sturdy cage quite suitable for a medium sized parrot (I purchased mine for my Eclectus and there is room for him to move in a wife should we decide to later). The playtop is huge, room for even additional perches and toys - and the hook to hang toys nearly touches the ceiling. (Buy or make longer toys for parrots.)
It was very simple to set up with two people. It did arrive from the warehouse in a tattered box, but each piece was bubble wrapped, and I only had one very un-noticeable ding. Regardless of the ding, it is still worth it.
With the under-the-playtop tray in place, it does seem a little dark inside the actual cage, but slide the tray out effortlessly to let the light in. There is a top, removable grate to hang toys from, and all doors have a latch for additional security.
If you want to spoil your fid, this is the setup for you.
Buy it. It's awesome.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I would buy it again

PostedFebruary 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
Birdfever
from Prairie du Chien, WI
Very good value. Our african grey congo is in bird heaven. Lots of room, easy to feed and clean and was very easy to put together
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HUGE PARROT MANSION!!! Lol

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
Mystina
from Lawrence, MA
So I am just going to start off by saying that this cage is SUPER HUGEEEEE! Bigger, a lot bigger than I anticipated it to be! Like wow!
I received it and the box was a bit torn but not super bad. The cage itself has a few scratches but nothing super noticeable unless you actually go looking for scratches. It had a couple of dents that was easy to flatten back out with a hammer. But there were no pieces missing, everything was there. All you need to build this is just the alley key it provides in the box for all the little screws and that's it. Everything else you do buy hand.
The instructions were super easy. I built this cage all by myself in TWO HOURS! Once it was built I said jesus christ this cage is sooooo huge lol. My husband is still flipping out about the size!
Overall the cage is amazing in size! It's beautiful, spacious, you can fill it with so many toys. And best of all it is so pretty to look at! I bought this cage for my Sunday Conure parrot and the size is just perfect! Definitely buy it! ^_^ Oh and for those who wondered about a grate being on the top under the tray to hang toys from, THERE IS ONE SO DON'T WORRY, YOU CAN HANG PLENTY OF TOYS FROM IT!!! ^_^
I'm attaching a picture of what the box looked like so you can see how and where it was torn up and stuff. And the other picture of how it looks once it is completely built. :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+31points
31of 31voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Cheap cage

PostedFebruary 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Serenity123
from Illinois
I saw one in the store all put together and it looked really nice. Got it home, had a heck of a time assembling it. It is cheaply made, the wheels fall out and one wheel cracked off. Hard to keep clean because it is too big to fit through the door and too hard to remove the bottom seed catchers. They are screwed on instead of lift out of slots like other cages I have had. The pieces bent very easily and many of the holes did not line up. Will not purchase another Petco brand cage.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-6points
0of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

End Product Was Good

PostedDecember 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Moparr
When it arrived, the box was ripped up, trays and bars were bent enough that I couldn't put it together, and pieces were missing. I traded it for one at a Petco store with no problems, and the newer one was in good condition. Once I finished putting it together, I thought it was alright and pretty looking. Pros and cons:
Pros:
-Very large
-Easy to clean
-Very cheap compared to other similar sized cages (was a very low price on Black Friday)
-Needed no help putting it together
-Wheels on the bottom make this SO much easier to move around
-Very sturdy
Cons:
-Vague instructions
-A few holes were not aligned so that I couldn't put screws through them
-Perches are a little loose
-Wish it came in other colors
Overall I was happy with how it turned out, however I would recommend getting it from a store rather than ordering it online from my experience. I am planning to get another cockatiel and this will be a great size for two.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Looks great and very roomy

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cat80
from Kentucky
I love this cage. It was easy to put together despite the size - I did most of it myself with no help. It has some great features including the 5 bowls, a balcony door for a landing site for the birds, locking wheels, solid construction, etc. Very pleased.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is worth the money

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
LRoe
from Youngtown Arizona
Cage is very spacious. My African Grey has lots of room.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

My Mansion

PostedDecember 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
clk52
from St.Paul Mn.
Very good cage for the $$. I few minor problems
1. Bad instructions
2. Some holes hard to line up.
3.Perches to short put a little paper in the perch slots at end of perches no more looseness
The good.
1. Very nice looking cage
2.Lots of room for Casey my African Grey.
3.WOULD RECOMENED TO FRIEND..
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Large for the price

PostedNovember 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Str8Talker
from Florida
This cage was large for the price and fairly easy to assemble. I rated it average due to the poor shape it arrived in. Multiple bent pieces etc... But I needed the cage and it was too difficult for me to return due so I decided to keep it. This cage has more than enough room for a smaller parrot. Looks more like a large parrot cage. I ordered because of price and color. However, I will probably think twice before ordering this type of thing I from Petco in the future.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

love the look of it and how easy it is to clean

PostedOctober 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
AngieM1971
from Edgewater,MD
When this cage came in I put it together with the help of my 8 year old son so it was simple to put together. It had a few dings in it that I had to bang out from the shipping but those were easily fixed. I loved everything about it accept one thing. When I went to put the toys in it I couldn't hang anything from inside the cage on the top because the top of it does not have any bars on it because of the tray on top for the play area. So I have to hang all toys on the sides of the cage and can't figure out how to hang a swing. But it is beautiful! The only issue I have is that there are no bars on the top of the inside of the cage to hang toys from.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is pretty as well as functional

PostedSeptember 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
daisy4
from Center Point, Texas
This product was well above my expectations. It comes complete with bowls etc.. Very sturdy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great cage for the great price

PostedSeptember 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
mistysunshine
from Iowa
I got this cage for my 2 Quaker parrots. During the day they run on my Macaw cage and my Macaw plays on the Petco cage. The Macaw chewed the top perch off in two days so we replaced with a manzanita wood. The bars are close enough I would recommend this cage for any bird/birds.
I wish it came in colors.
Size and design is awesome.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage

PostedSeptember 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
BeckiBoo
from Charlotte, NC
I LOVE this cage and I am sure my African Gray loves it as well! I plan to order another one for my Amazon Yellow Nape so they will have matching cages! The cage is beautiful - the color, the design - and it is bigger that I expected...added bonus!
Thank you very much.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Cage

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
TheOne
from Flint,MI
I bought this cage for my two cockatiels as a "flight" cage. The bar spacing is perfect for cockatiels and the stainless steel dishes are very easy to keep clean unlike the plastic dishes you get with most cages.
This cage is straight forward to put together and the directions were clear. The only issue I had was during shipping almost every piece was bent in some way. When I received the box I knew from the look of it that there had to be damage in there and there was. I tapped most of the bends back in place with a hammer and a piece of cardboard to save the paint finish. The one thing I can say is when you assemble the cage the screws were placed in perfect areas to pull the bends together and now you would never know there was damage from looking at it now. This is not a fault of the cage which is why I still gave the 5 stars.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great cage, great price

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lovethecage
from Ceres, Cal
I bought two of these, one in the store and one online. The online order came with a little damage but not bad, these cages are super roomy and I love the color and the size helps contain the mess. It's an excellent price for the size and not hard to put together. Looks great in my house.
Great cage.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Cage for the Price

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
GauntletLegend
from Wellington, FL
I have owned many bird cages and this one ranks up there as #1 for bang for the dollar. This cage would sell for $600 or more in a Bird Shop. When I showed my friends, 2 of them went and ordered them. It is a great cage for my baby Goffin Cockatoo. Tons of space in it and I love the color. We love Dark Wood, so it blends in the house. I have 8 toys in there and no clutter. Awesome Cage!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Can't miss

PostedAugust 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Fatngassy
from Tucson
Excellent product- easy to assemble, delivered quickly. My amazon loves it. Nice to look at too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This paradise is a palace for our Indian Ringneck Georgio.

PostedMay 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sunnyfl
from South Florida
Wow! Everything about this cage is quality. You cant beat the price. Our parrot loves his new home and the play gym.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>