petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage

Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage

Spacious parrot bird cage that is ideal for small parrots, large parrots or cockatielsPlay top bird cage comes with stand and easy rolling castersFeatures three perches and five food/water dishesMultiple entry doors for easy access to your pet parrotPull out tray and grate for easy cleaning and maintenance
Average Customer Rating:
4.626 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(91 Reviews) 91
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 91 reviews
5 stars
70
4 stars
13
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
2
85 out of 91(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
55 Questions | 99 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage
Review 1 for Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is great for 2 small parrots

PostedDecember 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Kihei Hi
We like the fact that you can leave it open when inside and close it when outside. There is lots of room for the two to play inside and they can come and go in and out while inside the house.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love it! Preparing for a parrotlet!

PostedDecember 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Lost, Somewhere
I bought this on line and it arrived earlier than expected. There were dents in the trays and on the top where the tray slides in, the ridge was bent down. All of these were easily fixed. I attributed this to poor packaging, it did look pretty beat up. This was the first cage I've ever assembled and was surprised it only took an hour. I do have the bottom tray in backwards the instructions aren't real clear. Maybe if I hadn't been so excited and had taken more time. I bought this for less than $180, and would do it again! I love all the room and when my little guy is ready for a bigger place I'm sure he will to! So, with a small pair of pliers and patience you'll be on your way.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good cage for half price sale

PostedDecember 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
This cage was on sale for half price and that is the main thing that caught my attention. I figured at that price it was worth the risk of a mail order cage that I was not able to inspect in advance. Received it very quickly. It is not a quality high dollar cage but it appears good for the price (half price). Some parts were bent but not to the extent that I saw in another review. I put it together easily although I had to disassemble and reassemble when I got two panels reversed (the instructions are not very good and I didn't inspect it closely enough to realize I was making the pan pull out the backside until I reversed it).
There is plenty of room and I like the pull out grate. The bowls are too small for a cage this size and the drop down landing door is too flimsy for a parrot (would be fine for a small, lightweight bird -- cockatiel, budgie, etc.). I'll be adding some larger bowls.
It's only been in use for a week but I am satisfied so far. It is housing two amazons (1 small & 1 large). I would recommend this cage when on sale for half price. On sale for more than that I would have to think about and look seriously at others. I would not buy this cage at full price. I hope to get a few years from it continuing to look in good shape before it starts to show wear and to rust.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Cage

PostedDecember 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Seffner,FL
Love this cage, much larger then i was expecting but gives plenty of room. Very easy to assemble with included tools and easy to clean all parts without having to take it apart. The only thing i wish it had is better places to hang toys in various places instead of on the sides, but that is a minor issue.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Large Parrot Cage

PostedNovember 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Concord, NC
This is a nice large cage but the side skirts do not catch everything. Still picking up food off the floor. The wooden perches also came warped so they do not fit properly and need to be modified. My package came damaged and had to fix some bent pieces. Would recommend buying from the store. My Amazon Blue Front does love it overall.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value!

PostedSeptember 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from chicago, il
We just rescued an African Grey, and I wasn't sold that this cage would be large enough. Boy was I wrong! This is a large cage that allows for plenty of movement and toys. Our Grey is one happy fella! The instructions could've been more clear, but common sense prevails. Overall it is sturdy, spacious, and safe. Highly recommend for the price-it's a GREAT deal!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Needs some polishing before usable

PostedSeptember 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Washington
Bought this cage for 2 budgerigars. The quality is as I expected. Not fantastic but good for $227.
Top Points
1. 29"Lx29"Dx33"H / 29"Lx29"Dx42.5"H inside.
2. Good shipping time and packaging.
3. Cage is bent on top, and scratched on front (coating should have been thicker) decreasing aesthetic.
4. Tray and one base piece had to be straightened with pliers before usable.
5. Has sharp points/edges that must be filed before use
6. All pieces were present
7. Doors and locks work, landing style door is great!
8. Easy to assemble cage, also easy to assemble cage backwards
9. Pics of some damage attached
10. Cage was what I expected after reading reviews.
The interior dimensions using the grate as the floor are 29"Lx29"Dx33"H. When removing the bottom grate and using the solid pull-out tray as floor the interior dimensions are 29"Lx29"Dx42.5"H, The frame is 1/2" so that’s why not the full 30"W&D inside. The exterior dimensions w/o skirt or toy hook are 30"Lx30"Dx64.5"H
I agree with other reviewers that it is important to inspect this cage for sharp points before letting your pet(s) move in. Mine has a few tiny sharp points I plan to file off or tape over.
One of the wooden dowel perches was broken in the box, however, I did not plan to use these anyway. Other than that all of the pieces were present, along with an extra screw of each set.
The cage is easy to assemble. But in regards to the 4 base pieces, understand that the front will be the piece which has a bigger hole for the tray to slide in. This is not in the instructions. So put the wall that has the front door above this piece so you don't assemble the cage backwards. If you do accidentally complete the cage backwards, just lay the cage on its side, remove the base of the cage (4 screws), rotate base 180 degrees, and reattach.
I recommend having a pair of sturdy pliers/wrench, and towel to prevent scratching, in case there are any bent pieces you must straighten. Mine had two. One was a hole on the base which a rod must fit into was crimped too small. The second was one of the solid pull out trays, the side was severely bent out and needed to be pulled into alignment. The edges on this tray are sharp so I used it on the bottom where the birds won't touch it, however, someone planning to use the solid trays for floor and top where the birds will walk on both should hope that they get two good trays. (pic of tray after fix attached).
The front of my cage has a couple areas where it is lighter brown, most likely scratches caused by metal pieces rubbing together in the packaging, but the coating should have been thicker. I received the package in good condition. There was a decent amount of bubble wrap separating pieces.
The platform door which drops down is something I like a lot about this cage. And to anyone who wants to make this door impossible for a bird to open, simply tighten the bolt on the disc that locks the door so it can no longer be spun.
The 3 rings which hold the food cups inside the cage do not fit snugly and can be shaken up and down easily. I found these pieces to have sharp points which is not good because a bird will probably touch them with its feet while eating. The cups cannot be dumped when the door is shut, however.
I am disappointed that aesthetically the cage looks off, because on one side of the cage, near the top where the cage looks decorative, the bar which should be horizontal and straight is bent and cannot be fixed (see pic).
The cage is as I expected it to be, and I'm glad that the places where the cage did happen to get damaged did not make the cage unacceptable. I think it's the luck of the draw with this cage. This is definitely not a suitable cage for a full-size parrot, which could easily bend or snap the bars. It is the largest cage I could find for budgies under $400. I am satisfied with the price and purchase, $227 s&h and tax included (20% online discount and $10 promotional gift card I picked up from a store opening). I ordered the cage around 3pm on a Friday and received it at 1pm on a Thursday. 3 business days CA to WA.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great roomy cage!

PostedJune 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Georgia
This cage is much bigger than I expected! It was a piece of cake to put together if you follow the directions & separate all the pieces. I put the screws & other small things in a muffin pan & that helped a lot. I'm 63 years old & I put this together by myself in less than 2 hrs. All the parts were there as well as the hardware & nothing came bent. All the holes aligned also. I have 2 cockatiels & they are over, around & inside all day. Lots of room for toys, etc. I chose not to use the drawer on the top or the grate on the bottom. And did not use the seed catchers so put them aside in case I change my mind. It is very easy to clean. I use newspaper in the tray with paper towels & that works fine. I think you cou easily have 3-4 cockatiels in this cage.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mink Brown Parrot Cage

PostedJune 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Henderson Nevada
Cage went together smoothly. Only had a problem with one bolt. Took a little over an hour to assemble. (Didn't put on the seed catchers.) Had the bottom part on wrong - the tray hole was on the back. Just took off four bolts and turned it. As others have said it's BIG. Our parrot Bubba - an Amazon Double Yellowhead really enjoys it. Great deal for the price with free shipping. The store was selling the same cage for $60 more.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great cage

PostedJune 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Staunton Va
I still can not believe how big this cage is. I put three cockatiel in it. I wanted them to have enough room to spread their wing and do they have it. This cage is so nice and big. Make sure you have the room for it. My birds seem to love it too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it, Awesome

PostedMay 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Alaska
This cage is enormous for our Senegal and he LOVES it. So much room for him to play.
It is sturdy and not cheaply made.
Wheels roll great on carpet.
Very easy to assemble.
I cant say enough how big and awesome this cage is, AND it has a play area on top that will become a favorite for any bird.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

We love the Mink Brown Parrot cage.

PostedApril 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Calumet Park, IL
First I'd like to say to others buying this cage to make sure you find which bottom goes in front. It will be the one that the track of the sides matches the opening of it for sliding the tray in and out. It is quite easy to assemble if you carefully follow step by step. It is a very sturdy cage. Rebel (our African Grey Parrot will love. He was my mother in-law's bird and he was in a cage that 18" X 18" Now he will have 30" X 30" X 43" high.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My 'too loves this cage!

PostedApril 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Ypsilanti, MI
Bought this cage to house my Ducorps cockatoo, who needs extra room to move as she spends a lot of time in her cage. She has plenty of space to bounce around, flap her wings, and bash her toys, and is in constant motion now with all the new space. The only thing I'm wary of is the "door within a door" that is only secured with a metal flange that you push out of the way - push the flange aside and the door falls open, and this flange can be pushed aside by a busy beak from inside the cage. Any reasonably bright parrot is eventually going to figure this out, . . .
As others have noted, my cage did arrive with minor damage that I could fix with pliers. Hey, Petco - maybe you could beef up the bubble wrap or something? Clearly the current packaging isn't good enough. And I do have to say that the dowel perches that come with the cage are too small in diameter for a larger bird - I didn't even install them, but used thicker tree branches I had on hand for perches.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wow!!! Just...WOW!

PostedMarch 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Gladstone, MO
There is simply not another set-up available on the market of this quality and price. I couldn't be more pleased.
I did leave the seed catchers off to be able to move this huge cage easily from room to room, but other than that it fully met all of my hopes and dreams for an unbelievable price .
This is a very sturdy cage quite suitable for a medium sized parrot (I purchased mine for my Eclectus and there is room for him to move in a wife should we decide to later). The playtop is huge, room for even additional perches and toys - and the hook to hang toys nearly touches the ceiling. (Buy or make longer toys for parrots.)
It was very simple to set up with two people. It did arrive from the warehouse in a tattered box, but each piece was bubble wrapped, and I only had one very un-noticeable ding. Regardless of the ding, it is still worth it.
With the under-the-playtop tray in place, it does seem a little dark inside the actual cage, but slide the tray out effortlessly to let the light in. There is a top, removable grate to hang toys from, and all doors have a latch for additional security.
If you want to spoil your fid, this is the setup for you.
Buy it. It's awesome.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I would buy it again

PostedFebruary 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Prairie du Chien, WI
Very good value. Our african grey congo is in bird heaven. Lots of room, easy to feed and clean and was very easy to put together
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HUGE PARROT MANSION!!! Lol

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Lawrence, MA
So I am just going to start off by saying that this cage is SUPER HUGEEEEE! Bigger, a lot bigger than I anticipated it to be! Like wow!
I received it and the box was a bit torn but not super bad. The cage itself has a few scratches but nothing super noticeable unless you actually go looking for scratches. It had a couple of dents that was easy to flatten back out with a hammer. But there were no pieces missing, everything was there. All you need to build this is just the alley key it provides in the box for all the little screws and that's it. Everything else you do buy hand.
The instructions were super easy. I built this cage all by myself in TWO HOURS! Once it was built I said jesus christ this cage is sooooo huge lol. My husband is still flipping out about the size!
Overall the cage is amazing in size! It's beautiful, spacious, you can fill it with so many toys. And best of all it is so pretty to look at! I bought this cage for my Sunday Conure parrot and the size is just perfect! Definitely buy it! ^_^ Oh and for those who wondered about a grate being on the top under the tray to hang toys from, THERE IS ONE SO DON'T WORRY, YOU CAN HANG PLENTY OF TOYS FROM IT!!! ^_^
I'm attaching a picture of what the box looked like so you can see how and where it was torn up and stuff. And the other picture of how it looks once it is completely built. :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+31points
32of 33voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Cheap cage

PostedFebruary 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Illinois
I saw one in the store all put together and it looked really nice. Got it home, had a heck of a time assembling it. It is cheaply made, the wheels fall out and one wheel cracked off. Hard to keep clean because it is too big to fit through the door and too hard to remove the bottom seed catchers. They are screwed on instead of lift out of slots like other cages I have had. The pieces bent very easily and many of the holes did not line up. Will not purchase another Petco brand cage.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-8points
0of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

End Product Was Good

PostedDecember 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
When it arrived, the box was ripped up, trays and bars were bent enough that I couldn't put it together, and pieces were missing. I traded it for one at a Petco store with no problems, and the newer one was in good condition. Once I finished putting it together, I thought it was alright and pretty looking. Pros and cons:
Pros:
-Very large
-Easy to clean
-Very cheap compared to other similar sized cages (was a very low price on Black Friday)
-Needed no help putting it together
-Wheels on the bottom make this SO much easier to move around
-Very sturdy
Cons:
-Vague instructions
-A few holes were not aligned so that I couldn't put screws through them
-Perches are a little loose
-Wish it came in other colors
Overall I was happy with how it turned out, however I would recommend getting it from a store rather than ordering it online from my experience. I am planning to get another cockatiel and this will be a great size for two.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Looks great and very roomy

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Kentucky
I love this cage. It was easy to put together despite the size - I did most of it myself with no help. It has some great features including the 5 bowls, a balcony door for a landing site for the birds, locking wheels, solid construction, etc. Very pleased.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petco Designer Mink Brown Standing Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is worth the money

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Youngtown Arizona
Cage is very spacious. My African Grey has lots of room.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>