petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Designer Black Standing Cockatiel Cage

Petco Designer Black Standing Cockatiel Cage

Spacious cockatiel bird cage is ideal for cockatiels or small parrotsBird cage comes with stand and easy rolling castersFeatures two perches and two food/water dishesMultiple entry doors for easy access to your petPull out tray and grate for easy cleaningWrought iron with a powder coated finish
Average Customer Rating:
4.74 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(50 Reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 50 reviews
5 stars
38
4 stars
11
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
49 out of 50(98%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
33 Questions | 65 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Designer Black Standing Cockatiel Cage
Review 1 for Petco Designer Black Standing Cockatiel Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Cage!!

PostedMarch 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
avianluvr
from Gainesville, Florida
I have two of these cages and they are awesome. One cage houses a Blue Crown Conure and his buddy a Sundey Conure. The other houses my Patagonian Conure and his buddy a Blue Parrotlet. The cages are roomy enough for loads of toys and cuddlesacks. I am getting ready to buy a third one for my Severe Macaw. Easy to clean and maintain. Feed dishes are accessible enough for even my pet-sitter to work with and she is somewhat cautious about birds.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+18points
33of 48voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Designer Black Standing Cockatiel Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding Quality Cage!

PostedFebruary 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
PennyBirdie
We bought this cage a year ago when we received our resuce cockatiel. I was concerned about how it would hold up as the first cage we purchased literally fell apart before our eyes. However, it was not the case with this cage. My fiance was the one who put most of it together, and he had to put some muscle into it. Once together it has held up wonderfully! There is plenty of room for Birdie even with her "goodies". Love all the doors and access points. Easy to move as well, but stays put when I want it to. Cleaning is relatively easy as well. If you are unsure about what cage to get, this is the one!! Great quality at great price!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Designer Black Standing Cockatiel Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Bird Cage

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
ExoticAnimals
from Matagorda, TX
This is my 2nd purchase of this cage, love it that
much. Purchased one for cockatiel and then one
for Quaker Parrot. Plenty of room for each and so
easy to clean. Have to have one on wheels. This
is just right for me. Only problem I had was the
packaging. Arrived in shambles. I hoped it wasn't
bent, just box was so beat up. It is such a tough
cage, nothing was damaged. Arrived when it
was supposed to. Very happy with purchase.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Designer Black Standing Cockatiel Cage
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Nice cage, security issues

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
DeltaK
from PA
I have one of these for my green cheek conure. The attached dishes with little doors are very convenient. I also like the size and the style of it, but I've had two issues: First, the bolts that connect the legs to the main cage sometimes wiggle loose. I tighten them before I roll the cage into other rooms (which is the reason I got the cage with a stand) because I'm afraid they may come out. Second, my conure figured out how to open the small "balcony" door in just a couple of months and I had to get a lock for it. The other doors have security features, but the top door is totally simple for a curious bird.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Designer Black Standing Cockatiel Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Would recommend to a friend

PostedJanuary 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
LuvMyCrittersTX
from Nederland,Tx
I had been looking for a bigger cage for my cockatiel to be able to spread his wings in and I found it. When it arrived it was alot bigger than I had thought it was. I had read the reviews for it and seen a picture that someone else had posted too and ordered it the day after christmas so it was a great price. Overall, I love it, the bird loves it, happy customers!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Designer Black Standing Cockatiel Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The cage worth its price

PostedDecember 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
JoyShopinPetco
from Atlanta, GA
I got this cage for 96 dollars in total (includes tax and shipping) by applying coupons and cyber Monday discounts to accommodate 4 parakeets. I value it because it is large in space that allows the parakeets to do things together. It is wide enough to enable the parakeets to sit on the same perch at night. (They love to sleep together.) And the bottom allow all 4 of them to play on the bottom at the same time. I use both feeders as seed feeders and plan to add a water bottle on the side. This cage provides horizontal bars on its sides which makes very easy for the parakeets to climb. There is also an upper door for them to move in and out of the cage conveniently. It is also tall enough to hang swing toys from the top without disturbing their flight between the two perches. My parakeets like to play on the bottom of the cage. This cage does not have a plastic bottom side base as most parakeet cages do and they are able to climb easily back onto the side of the cage without jumping. However, this also creates the problem of seed messing on the floor. I need to get a seed catcher that fit with the cage. The design of the cage is quite simple and it is square inside, which makes life easier for the parakeets. I love parakeets and this cage.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Designer Black Standing Cockatiel Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lovely Cage

PostedNovember 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bre0126
from Fort Smith, AR
I recently bought a pair of finches and low and behold a few weeks later we have babies so i was in dire need of a larger cage. I saw this one and loved the look of it plus the day i purchased it it was 25% off so that was great. it wasn't until it was delivered i realized this was a cockatiel cage.But i have to say my finches love it and the bar spacing is okay for my finches too!! I love this cage and i can tell my little bird faily is so much happier in here!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Designer Black Standing Cockatiel Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Luxary cage!

PostedSeptember 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
I love this cage & my cocktail too. It's easy to put it together, it's a great size & design.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Designer Black Standing Cockatiel Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very large roomy cage

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
jj12
from wooster, ohio
this cage is very large and roomy. we are using for a parakeet and he has a lot of room, could add more birds. It is a very attractive birdcage and looks good in our living room
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Designer Black Standing Cockatiel Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cockatiel cage

PostedAugust 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jacob12
from ONeill Nebraska
I just want to thank you the cage came Monday it was a lot bigger then I thought but I love it. My cockatiel loves it too!!!!!!!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Designer Black Standing Cockatiel Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I recommend this cage for small to midsize birds

PostedAugust 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jaxyn
from Fayetteville, AR
It was a booger to put together, and my husband had to take it to the store for help. It is a little flimsy when removed from the stand, but is stable and safe otherwise. I've had cockatiels and conures in it, and now parrotlets reside there. The bars are spaced just fine for them (the smallest parrots in the world--just a little bigger than a hummingbird) and they seem quite happy in it. In fact, I'm ordering another one as soon as I'm finished with this review.
I'm quite happy with this cage.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Designer Black Standing Cockatiel Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Getting a third one!

PostedAugust 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
OLIVEandPEPPER
from Murrieta, Ca
After a few weeks of research online, I got this cage for my first Fancy GCC. Size is huge, feels very sturdy and looks great with the furniture. I bought a second one for my Turquoise GCC and now waiting for the third cage for my niece's GCC! The large cage cover from petco fits this cage very well too!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Designer Black Standing Cockatiel Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great cage

PostedMarch 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Boyskeets
from Ashland, WI
Great cage for the price. Much bigger than anticipated. Easy to assemble. Very sturdy if you get everything snapped into place correctly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Designer Black Standing Cockatiel Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome cage for price

PostedMarch 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
turtlejules
from Pittsfield,Ma.
After looking for a new cage for my cockatiel I decided to go with this one. The cage and stand are easy to assemble and my bird is living in luxury! The seed cups are fairly large and deep and the placement limits mess. I added a few perches and lots of toys and my bird still has plenty of room. The access doors are nice and big and lock securely. This is the nicest cage I have bought so far.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Designer Black Standing Cockatiel Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Cage

PostedFebruary 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sten
from Pittsburgh
This is a great Cockatiel cage. Very large and able to accommodate multiple birds.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Designer Black Standing Cockatiel Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Huge cage

PostedFebruary 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Leolady
from Aberdeen, WA
I needed a cage for my cockatiel, and when we put this together, the cage was huge. The only downside was the top didn't seem to connect with the sides, but we secured it with zip ties, and unless you look close you would never know. My daughter in law uses it for who two cockatiels, who are now breeding, and it turned out really useful, as she was able to fit a nesting box in there. Easy to clean, and plenty of room.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco Designer Black Standing Cockatiel Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great cage

PostedFebruary 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
floridabee
from bushnell,fl
I like this cage and so do my cockatiels. My only wish is that they had a seed guard on the sides. Boy can two birds make a mess in one day. Otherwise they both like and fly around through out the day. They love that they have room for many toys. my granddaughters help take care of the birds, with a nice large door, they are training the birds to get on their hands.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petco Designer Black Standing Cockatiel Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great cage, happy parakeets!

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
leiune
My pair of parakeets look tiny in this cage compared to their old one and couldn't be happier. It was tricky to put together, but once done is very sturdy and looks great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petco Designer Black Standing Cockatiel Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great cockatiel or multiple parakeet cage

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
budgiefamily
from NC
We have 2 of these cages, one for our cockatiel and the other for our parakeets. This is a great cage and the best value around. Our birds love their cages!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petco Designer Black Standing Cockatiel Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Conure Cage

PostedFebruary 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
ConureMom1
from Bowling Green, KY
I went to the store to purchase a new larger cage for my Conure and saw this one on the shelf. It was not on sale so I came home and found it on sale online and ordered it immediately. It came within 3 days and was fairly easy to assemble. My Conure loves this cage. She has a fuzzy house in the upper corner & 2 more "levels" to her cage. She looks like she has 3 floors in this cage & plenty of room for toys & 4 perches. The bowls are perfect size & she loves to bathe in her water bowl :) I am pleased with the price & how nice it looks in my home, it is very pretty.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>