petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Designer Black Standing Cockatiel Cage

Petco Designer Black Standing Cockatiel Cage

Spacious cockatiel bird cage is ideal for cockatiels or small parrotsBird cage comes with stand and easy rolling castersFeatures two perches and two food/water dishesMultiple entry doors for easy access to your petPull out tray and grate for easy cleaningWrought iron with a powder coated finish
Average Customer Rating:
4.688 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(77 Reviews) 77
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 77 reviews
5 stars
60
4 stars
13
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
74 out of 77(96%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
48 Questions | 87 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Designer Black Standing Cockatiel Cage
Review 1 for Petco Designer Black Standing Cockatiel Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Cage!!

PostedMarch 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Gainesville, Florida
I have two of these cages and they are awesome. One cage houses a Blue Crown Conure and his buddy a Sundey Conure. The other houses my Patagonian Conure and his buddy a Blue Parrotlet. The cages are roomy enough for loads of toys and cuddlesacks. I am getting ready to buy a third one for my Severe Macaw. Easy to clean and maintain. Feed dishes are accessible enough for even my pet-sitter to work with and she is somewhat cautious about birds.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+22points
43of 64voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Designer Black Standing Cockatiel Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great cage- but huge!

PostedAugust 23, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Morgan Hill,CA
I purchased this cage for our cockatiel- it is a really nice sturdy cage. A little tricky to assemble, but I managed to get it set up in a couple hours. It was packaged well, and all parts were there, even a little wrench for assembly. But - it is HUMONGOUS. Seriously. I did not visualize the measurements well! Our cockatiel could have a huge party with all of his bird friends if he wanted. But, he has tons of room for climbing and we were able to put a lot of toys in there. We covered the grate on the bottom of the cage with paper, as cockatiels (well ours anyway) tend to like to walk around. There is not an option to leave the grate out, which would have been nice. So that makes the slide out drawer useless for us. (It would work well normally however). All in all, this is a very well made and attractive cage, and I am happy with our purchase. Photo attached so you can get an idea of proportion :).
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Designer Black Standing Cockatiel Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Cage for my tiels

PostedAugust 12, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Long Island,N.Y.
Brought this cage for 2 of my newly rescued cockatiels. Cage that came with rhem is very large and took up too much room in my house.so we downsized a little. They love this cage and don't seem to notice any difference in cages.They have plenty of room to move around and have fun.this is the third cage of this type that I have and recommend it
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Designer Black Standing Cockatiel Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

PostedJune 26, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Rochester NY
This is a very nice cage with lots of room, my Ziggy just loves it and he can spread his wings and exercise them. My cockatiel is 20 years old and he truly deserves this new cage. Thanks Petco for making my Ziggy happy!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Designer Black Standing Cockatiel Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

a happy bird

PostedJune 10, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Bumpass, VA
The cage was a little unusual to put together, but once it is together and placed on the stand it is a really nice piece.
I was a little worried that my little man would not like it, but he took to it like a kid in a candy shop.
It is spacious, and he loves to fly out when the door is opened now.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Designer Black Standing Cockatiel Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Cage for a GREAT Price

PostedMay 13, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Desert Hot Springs, CA
This cage is absolutely gorgeous! The delivery was very fast and it looks great. Assembly was fairly easy, it only took 30 minutes or so, the only problem I ran across was quickly solved by a hammer. When putting this together I do think another person would be helpful, simply because after the cage is assembled its awkward to lift onto the platform with one person. It can be done but it would get frustrating. The only problem I had with the cage (that was solved with a hammer) is that the bottom panel, the one that sits on the stand, was a little too big so getting it in the corners of the stand proved problematic. The instuctions could have been a bit more clear but with common sense it was easy to figure out. Overall I love the cage and hope that my new family member will too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Designer Black Standing Cockatiel Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cockatiel Cage

PostedApril 27, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Santa Ana, CA
This is probably the best cage I've ever purchased for my cockatiels. I have four cockatiels: Chipper, Freckles, Bebe, and Princess and they have a lot of room to roam around. I've noticed that they are so much more happier now. At first they were freaked out but they just needed to get used to all the space they have. The cage is so sturdy and easy to move around and the best thing about it is that it was also very cheapI paid about $109.00 after the 30% discount store-wide and my five dollar gift card. The only thing I did not like was the shipping process. They shipped the cage without anything protecting the insides so the corners of the box were worn out. Thankfully, nothing inside was damaged. Other than that, It is an awesome cage for your feathered friends!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Designer Black Standing Cockatiel Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

bird cage

PostedApril 13, 2015
Customer Avatar
from miami
very easy to assemble ,the birds seem to like it. had no problems ordering or asembling
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Designer Black Standing Cockatiel Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth it!

PostedMarch 27, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Texas
I ordered this cage because a friend of mine had it and it was a good size.
When I built it I had the idea to divide the cage since it was big enough ( I have two different types of birds) and it WORK AMAZINGLY!!!!
all my birds are excited and love the cage! they whistle and are so much more energetic and everyone has their space!
I divided the top portion from the bottom. have four birds in total. all have perfect amount of space!
LOVE ITTTTTT!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Designer Black Standing Cockatiel Cage
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible!!!

PostedMarch 16, 2015
Customer Avatar
from florida
This cage ad say's; cast iron. It is NOT!! Steel is the correct term. The cage was shipped via it's retail box not a shipping box. The box was so badly damaged that I knew before opening it that it had to be just as bad on the inside. And, it was! I purchased a small cage for travel from here a few months ago. The ad said; stainless steel and it was just steel. Caution when buying a cage here!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Designer Black Standing Cockatiel Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This cage is the greatest.

PostedMarch 5, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Hillsboro, Oregon
Hi. I loved this cage for our cockatiel. It has three openings in the front, and an opening on each side. It is roomy for a cockatiel so they can spread and flap their wings without hitting the sides of the cage. The stand looks good and makes it easier to care for the bird since it is waist high. I think if we have birds, they should have every creature comfort since they are placed in a cage and aren't free. This cage gives a cockatiel space to move around.
If I were to improve it at all, I would put a shelf below the cage for storing food, etc.
You can't go wrong with this cage. It is extremely functional and very pretty.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Designer Black Standing Cockatiel Cage
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Petco Designer cage

PostedMarch 5, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Hooksett , New Hampshire
I am satisfied with the cage very good size. I have 6 parakeets that love their home. I do have a problem with paying $159.00 for this cage when the wheels break within 4 weeks and im told that I have to deal with the manufacturer, guess what its them but going there tonight they didn't know this. If your in charge this should be known by someone. The internet helped me find out that I knew more. I want wheels that don't break.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Designer Black Standing Cockatiel Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Petco Designer Black Standing Cockatiel Cage

PostedJanuary 26, 2015
Customer Avatar
from San Jose, CA
I love the cage. I assembled it myself, but do have a helper. It isn't hard, but the helper can hold the assembled sides in place so you can put the top on. Also, it was too heavy to carry the packed box inside by myself (I'm a strong woman) so I unpacked it on the porch and brought the parts in separately. The directions are good, and they provided extra screws and other hardware so I didn't have to run to hardware store to try and get replacements, nor did I have to call the manufacturer. It is easy to wheel around and has brakes on wheels for parking, but you can't remove the top part and carry from room to room, as I thought I would be able to do. It is easy to clean and to keep clean. My bird loves climbing around on and in it - the arched top is a perfect play area and lookout point. There are so many possible places and ways to position food and toys. I have a full spectrum light mounted on it, and it is at the perfect location (actually, the whole top is good) for the bird to get full benefit. Cage sits at a nice height so that bird can see me eye to eye when he is on his sun deck (little gate that opens out and sits flat), and he can see to the outside and out the windows of the higher California ranch-style bedroom windows. Cage is big enough for 2 small birds - 2 cockatiels, or even 1 cockatiel and another smaller type. Excellent cage, especially for the money.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Designer Black Standing Cockatiel Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bird Cage

PostedJanuary 12, 2015
Customer Avatar
from WV
arrived quickly, easy to put together. Our Bird is very happy in his new condo
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Designer Black Standing Cockatiel Cage
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Nice cage, but hard to put together

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Connecticut
Just received my cage today, ordered it on Sunday and got it Tuesday, so fast delivery. However this cage was a nightmare to put together. The holes to the legs on the stand did not match up! I literally had to use a hammer to bang the corners to bend so the screws would go through the holes. After I struggled to finally get the cage to stay together I put it on the stand and i felt like if it was slightly touched or pushed it would slid of the stand. I have dogs and cats so I used zip ties to fasten it to the stand. It's an overall nice cage, it's mansion to my 2 parakeets and they seem happy to have so much space. Again nice looking cage, but a headache to put together.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Designer Black Standing Cockatiel Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

An expansive cage

PostedDecember 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
One almost-too-tight screw on assembly of the legs, but this is a sturdy cage. Our new baby cockatiel is enjoying it and he has a HUGE amount of room to eventually explore.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco Designer Black Standing Cockatiel Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality Cage at a great price!

PostedDecember 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
I am very pleased with the quality of this cage. It is well designed, sturdy, and aesthetically pleasing. Details include small doors on the sides for easy access to food/water dishes. The upper arched door, on the front, opens to form a platform for my bird to come out on. The central door is large for easy access and includes a smaller door if you prefer to use that instead of the large one. The stand legs have wheels. This is not one of those crickedy cheap cages. I am very pleased with this cage and so is my bird. Note: Instructions for assembling the cage were somewhat lacking especially when it came to putting the arched top on the cage and some of the drawings were inaccurate. However, I managed to figure it out and it was worth it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petco Designer Black Standing Cockatiel Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

1 default but Great otherwise!

PostedDecember 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from New York, NY
All in all this cage is great, spacious, great ascetics, and my birds love it. However the directions were a bit tricky and not very clear, I had to figure out which way some of the grates went and at some points the directions told me to put the greats in while the cage was on the stand which was not an easy task, but all in all i love this cage and would recommend it to anyone who is a beginner bird keeper!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petco Designer Black Standing Cockatiel Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Black Standing Cockatiel Cage

PostedDecember 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Upstate, NY
This cage is large with plenty of room for my two cockatiels. The multiple doors allow access without letting the birds leave the cage. Lots of room for toys and for the cost, I think it is the best deal overall.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petco Designer Black Standing Cockatiel Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product was way more than expected

PostedNovember 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Northampton Pa
Its a beautiful big cage , a lot cheaper online then in the store I have my two small parrots in this cage and I can easly put four in this cage.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>