petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Designer Brown Ranch Style Top Parakeet Cage

Petco Designer Brown Ranch Style Top Parakeet Cage

Stylish parakeet bird cage for your feathered friendRanch roof and rustic color will look great in any homeComplete with two perches and two hooded dishes for food and waterMultiple front entry doors for easy access to your pet and food/water dishesPull out plastic tray makes cleaning your parakeet economy cage easy
Average Customer Rating:
4.222 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 9 reviews
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 9(78%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Designer Brown Ranch Style Top Parakeet Cage
Review 1 for Petco Designer Brown Ranch Style Top Parakeet Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Cage!!

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
BudgieMum
from Lexington Park, MD
I just bought this for my two budgies, and its more than enough space for both of them. It was quick and easy to put together and could easily fit maybe 3 or 4 budgies with plenty of room for birds and their toys. I highly recommend this cage! It's a great deal for the price!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Designer Brown Ranch Style Top Parakeet Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Ranch style birdhouse

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
NanasManagerie
from Iowa
Was easily put together even without directions - but still glad they were there. Rizzoli and Isles are settling in nicely. I like that there is wing-room for both budgies.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Designer Brown Ranch Style Top Parakeet Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Cage

PostedFebruary 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
lala00
We purchased two of these for Christmas when our kids each got a parakeet. The cages look nice, assemble easily, and have plenty of space for multiple birds and toys. Very satisfied.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Designer Brown Ranch Style Top Parakeet Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The is product is huge and affordable.

PostedJanuary 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
rpniederlander
from Morristown,Tn
Best value for your dollar. Big and arrived fast. I could not be more pleased. Great gift for my son or anyone who has parakeets. I would buy this again and highly recommend this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Designer Brown Ranch Style Top Parakeet Cage
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

On the small side for a Budgie (Parakeet)

PostedSeptember 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Way2Square2BeHip
from San Jose, CA
I bought this cage in a hurry because I found a stray budgie and needed a place for it while I looked for its owner (it had no leg band). I've never had a pet bird and didn't have time to do any research, so I stopped at Petco. I got this cage because it was inexpensive and looked nice. I figured it'd do in a pinch. And it did.
However, as time went by and I didn't find the budgie's owner, I noticed the bird seemed kind of cramped in this cage. He wasn't trained to the point where I could let him out in the house for exercise. All he could do was stretch his wings inside the cage. The upper perch level was a little too close to the roof for him to do much of this comfortably. The lower perch level wasn't much better. (Notice in the product photo that they keep the lower perch right next to the back of the cage. That's not useful for the bird.)
I tried some perches other than the ones that came with the cage. That helped a little. However, I added a few toys and it was back to being cramped.
I've now bought a bigger cage that the bird is far happier in. If I were to start this whole process over, I'd probably go for Petco's Designer White Finch Flight Cage. It's a much nicer size for a first cage and it doesn't cost much more than this cage, especially if you find it on sale. Lots of people seem to like it, too.
Of course, if you plan to keep the cage doors open a lot, maybe this cage will do for you.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+9points
11of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Designer Brown Ranch Style Top Parakeet Cage
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

An A- Cage

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
swimchick0318
from San Francisco, CA
I bought this cage in the green color for my two boys. They absolutely love it, and it looks great. It's roomy enough for one or two parakeets, but three is pushing it. My birds love it, especially since they can climb all over the ceiling and have so much more room. The covered water and food dishes it comes with are my favorite part, since parakeets are such messy eaters, it saves me a lot of time cleaning.The cage is somewhat sturdy and easy to assemble, however I have found that, even when fully assembled correctly some of the parts don't fully fit together and there are some slight spaces in between the roof and cage walls. One of the doors is a little messed up as well. But this is understandable, given the prices of the cage. Also, the cage's wooden perches are very nice to begin with, but with my Louie being a big chewer, he destroyed them. All in all, a nice cage for the price, but definitely not the best one out there.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Designer Brown Ranch Style Top Parakeet Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great, but...

PostedJuly 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
BudgiePuppylover
from Connecticut, CT
This cage is REALLY good for my budgie, Tweety. He's a year old...
The only problem i've faced with this cage so far is that it isn't very stable, when you touch it in any way it kind of goes side to side. I'm sure this is just an individual cage problem but if you face this problem then I suggest you return it because can frighten your bird during training period. I kept my cage because my budgie is already well tame and trained.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Designer Brown Ranch Style Top Parakeet Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Cage

PostedMay 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
geminiginger06
from New York
I got this Brown Ranch Style keet Cage for my new Parakeet 'Sophie". SHE LOVES IT. If she's off roaming in another room and I need here to go back into her house, all i have to do it set it down on the floor in that room and she comes running and climbs right in. So that tells me her home is homey and she loves it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+44points
45of 46voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Designer Brown Ranch Style Top Parakeet Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedJanuary 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tgirl12
from Denham Springs, LA
It's an ok size for my 2 pet parakeets
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+16points
32of 48voted this as helpful.