petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Designer Brown Ranch Style Top Parakeet Cage

Petco Designer Brown Ranch Style Top Parakeet Cage

Stylish parakeet bird cage for your feathered friendRanch roof and rustic color will look great in any homeComplete with two perches and two hooded dishes for food and waterMultiple front entry doors for easy access to your pet and food/water dishesPull out plastic tray makes cleaning your parakeet economy cage easy
Average Customer Rating:
4.3 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 10(80%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Designer Brown Ranch Style Top Parakeet Cage
Review 1 for Petco Designer Brown Ranch Style Top Parakeet Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome design of a cage

PostedSeptember 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Lawrence, KS
I bought this parakeet cage for my sister for her birthday and it is a fantastic cage. I love the contrast and the space that the cage has. I am going to buy one for myself so my birds can have more room to fly around. I also have to note that I love the covers on the dishes of food and water. It keeps everything within the area of the cage rather than all over the exterior of the cage. I can't say enough good things about this wonderful parakeet cage, even the price was very affordable. Thanks so much for making my sister's birthday the best and the look on her face was so pleasing! Thanks again for product!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Designer Brown Ranch Style Top Parakeet Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Cage!!

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Lexington Park, MD
I just bought this for my two budgies, and its more than enough space for both of them. It was quick and easy to put together and could easily fit maybe 3 or 4 budgies with plenty of room for birds and their toys. I highly recommend this cage! It's a great deal for the price!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Designer Brown Ranch Style Top Parakeet Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Ranch style birdhouse

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Iowa
Was easily put together even without directions - but still glad they were there. Rizzoli and Isles are settling in nicely. I like that there is wing-room for both budgies.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Designer Brown Ranch Style Top Parakeet Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Cage

PostedFebruary 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
We purchased two of these for Christmas when our kids each got a parakeet. The cages look nice, assemble easily, and have plenty of space for multiple birds and toys. Very satisfied.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Designer Brown Ranch Style Top Parakeet Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The is product is huge and affordable.

PostedJanuary 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Morristown,Tn
Best value for your dollar. Big and arrived fast. I could not be more pleased. Great gift for my son or anyone who has parakeets. I would buy this again and highly recommend this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Designer Brown Ranch Style Top Parakeet Cage
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

On the small side for a Budgie (Parakeet)

PostedSeptember 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
from San Jose, CA
I bought this cage in a hurry because I found a stray budgie and needed a place for it while I looked for its owner (it had no leg band). I've never had a pet bird and didn't have time to do any research, so I stopped at Petco. I got this cage because it was inexpensive and looked nice. I figured it'd do in a pinch. And it did.
However, as time went by and I didn't find the budgie's owner, I noticed the bird seemed kind of cramped in this cage. He wasn't trained to the point where I could let him out in the house for exercise. All he could do was stretch his wings inside the cage. The upper perch level was a little too close to the roof for him to do much of this comfortably. The lower perch level wasn't much better. (Notice in the product photo that they keep the lower perch right next to the back of the cage. That's not useful for the bird.)
I tried some perches other than the ones that came with the cage. That helped a little. However, I added a few toys and it was back to being cramped.
I've now bought a bigger cage that the bird is far happier in. If I were to start this whole process over, I'd probably go for Petco's Designer White Finch Flight Cage. It's a much nicer size for a first cage and it doesn't cost much more than this cage, especially if you find it on sale. Lots of people seem to like it, too.
Of course, if you plan to keep the cage doors open a lot, maybe this cage will do for you.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+10points
12of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Designer Brown Ranch Style Top Parakeet Cage
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

An A- Cage

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
from San Francisco, CA
I bought this cage in the green color for my two boys. They absolutely love it, and it looks great. It's roomy enough for one or two parakeets, but three is pushing it. My birds love it, especially since they can climb all over the ceiling and have so much more room. The covered water and food dishes it comes with are my favorite part, since parakeets are such messy eaters, it saves me a lot of time cleaning.The cage is somewhat sturdy and easy to assemble, however I have found that, even when fully assembled correctly some of the parts don't fully fit together and there are some slight spaces in between the roof and cage walls. One of the doors is a little messed up as well. But this is understandable, given the prices of the cage. Also, the cage's wooden perches are very nice to begin with, but with my Louie being a big chewer, he destroyed them. All in all, a nice cage for the price, but definitely not the best one out there.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Designer Brown Ranch Style Top Parakeet Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great, but...

PostedJuly 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Connecticut, CT
This cage is REALLY good for my budgie, Tweety. He's a year old...
The only problem i've faced with this cage so far is that it isn't very stable, when you touch it in any way it kind of goes side to side. I'm sure this is just an individual cage problem but if you face this problem then I suggest you return it because can frighten your bird during training period. I kept my cage because my budgie is already well tame and trained.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Designer Brown Ranch Style Top Parakeet Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Cage

PostedMay 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
from New York
I got this Brown Ranch Style keet Cage for my new Parakeet 'Sophie". SHE LOVES IT. If she's off roaming in another room and I need here to go back into her house, all i have to do it set it down on the floor in that room and she comes running and climbs right in. So that tells me her home is homey and she loves it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+45points
46of 47voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Designer Brown Ranch Style Top Parakeet Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedJanuary 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Denham Springs, LA
It's an ok size for my 2 pet parakeets
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+15points
32of 49voted this as helpful.