petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Designer Square Top Parakeet Cage

Petco Designer Square Top Parakeet Cage

Spacious parakeet bird cage perfect for your feathered friendStylish square design and black finish will look great in any homeComplete with two perches and two dishes for food and waterMultiple access doors decorated with ornate detail Pull-out plastic tray for easy cleaningAll-inclusive parakeet economy cage features everything your bird needs in a home
Average Customer Rating:
3.947 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 19 reviews
5 stars
9
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
15 out of 19(79%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
18 Questions | 34 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Designer Square Top Parakeet Cage
Review 1 for Petco Designer Square Top Parakeet Cage
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

cons outway the pros

PostedAugust 31, 2015
Customer Avatar
from lake titicaca, Peru
I bought this cage for my budgie thinking it would be good. Sadly it was not that great. There are no horizontal bars so it is more difficult for the bird to climb, and when there are horizontal bars they are way to space out so perches and toys are all a bit low to the ground. because there are no horizontal bars you can not put the food and water dish high up in the cage, so the food and water is on the bottom. Another reason why this is a bad cage it is to tall and not wide enough so there is not a lot of space for the bird to fly because of perches and toys so it is difficult for the bird to get around i would not get this cage anytime soon. I will be looking for a new cage to buy very soon
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Designer Square Top Parakeet Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great item

PostedAugust 28, 2015
Customer Avatar
Love this cage it was very cheap. My bird is much more active in this cage then he was in the other
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Designer Square Top Parakeet Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cage is perfect for my Parakeets

PostedAugust 21, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Palmdale CA
I needed a new cage for my birds, I have 2, and chose this one. This is a good size for the birds, and they seem happy. The feeder dish, and water dish sits in a good area, away from the perch.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Designer Square Top Parakeet Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for what I needed.

PostedAugust 20, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Willimantic, Ct.
Ordered Thursday night and received it Monday afternoon. Very easy to put together. The sale price was excellent. I like the wooden perches and the plastic food cups with tops. Would definately purchse again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Designer Square Top Parakeet Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great value

PostedAugust 15, 2015
Customer Avatar
from LA
It is a great cage for the value. I got it on sale for $12.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Designer Square Top Parakeet Cage
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product is poor quality

PostedApril 4, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Medway, MA
Purchased as a replacement for 2 parakeets. The tray is very thin and the slide out tray was smaller than the cage leaving a large gap allowing seed shells etc to fall out of the bottom. The two wooden perches were split which would be a danger to the birds claws. The bars were very thin. I returned it immediately.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
6of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Designer Square Top Parakeet Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedFebruary 4, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Maine
Great bird cage at an affordable price. Easy to clean.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Designer Square Top Parakeet Cage
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Way to small for even one parakeet

PostedDecember 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Seattle, WA
My two keeps live in a double flight cage they love the space. To do an experiment I put one of my meets in this cage for a day. She immediately became distressed and went to the corner of the cage and rumpled up her feathers. - she was very annoyed
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
6of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Designer Square Top Parakeet Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

all in all it is a good product

PostedNovember 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from des Moines Iowa
overall it is a good product had a few problems in the beginning with shipping and missing parts the customer service and quality control could definitely use some work but after speaking with a supervisor problem was handled very quickly making sure that I was satisfied with my son's birthday gift so probably could have gave it five stars and in the long run my son was very pleased with this gift
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Designer Square Top Parakeet Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bird cage

PostedOctober 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Sitka Alaska
I decided to buy this cage because I wanted a bigger cage for my budgie. I was glad that the box it came in was smaller than expected, its very easy to put together. I'm glad I went with this cage, it's great especially for the price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Designer Square Top Parakeet Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Cage

PostedOctober 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles, CA
I love this much needed upgrade for my parakeets Trinket and Roley!! I advise that before purchasing this cage to buy some perches for parakeets (budgies), because the perches that come with the cage are too big for their feet. Also this cage is in my opinion big enough for one budgie especially when adding toys, so I'm gonna upgrade again real soon. So overall, great cage, no problem with it so far (I've had it for 3 months now.)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Designer Square Top Parakeet Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is great

PostedOctober 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
from mi
this is an awesome cage my bird loves it its just perfect it wide and big i recommend buying it
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Designer Square Top Parakeet Cage
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Decent cage

PostedOctober 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Bayside, NY
The cage is decent. The frame does not totally align and makes for a shaky cage. It is a good size and like the feeders.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
13of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Designer Square Top Parakeet Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Cage

PostedJuly 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
from IL
I got this cage hoping for a budgie, instead I got a cockatiel! Percy loces his cage! I am planning on buying him a bigger one soon but for right now, its a good size for him. It's a little small and I can't use the main door, but I just open up the huge door to let him out. Its ment for parakeets anyway so the smallness is understandable.
P.S. I would not suggest any bird larger than a cockatiel for this cage!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+22points
23of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Designer Square Top Parakeet Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great cage for parakeet!

PostedMarch 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
This is a great cage for parakeets. We have 2 parakeets in our cage. It has a large door in front that opens out for letting the birds out which is hard to find in smaller cages. We did not use the dowel rods that come w/ the cage, but made 3 levels of branches ourselves, top level natural wood perch, 2nd level also natural wood, 3rd level we used a cotton rope perch. We made the 2 food cups in front for seeds and did a separate cup for water in the middle of the cage on the side. There is room for cuttle bone and 3-4 toys. The birds are happy in their new home!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+58points
61of 64voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Designer Square Top Parakeet Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great cage

PostedMarch 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Phoenix, AZ
I am always on the hunt for small to medium sized cages to use as hospital cages for my small pets. I was going to purchase another cage one evening, when I spotted this little gem on sale for $24.99!!! I thought it would be smaller, but it's just perfect. The large door is pretty much 3/4 the front of the cage, while the smaller doors are just perfect for feeding dishes (with birds).
This cage is easy to assemble / take apart and it is VERY easy to clean. When not assembled, it pretty much folds down to nothing. Space saver for sure! Well worth the money!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+20points
21of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco Designer Square Top Parakeet Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great cage!

PostedMarch 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
from niles, mi
this cage is way bigger than i thought it would b and sooo easy to set up i put it together in 5 min and my budgie loves it! for the price u cant beat this cage :) and a pluse to this cage there is a bigger door that opens for easy cleaning and to let ur budgie out i wasnt expecting that at all
I would recommend this to a friend!
+20points
20of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petco Designer Square Top Parakeet Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

BIG

PostedNovember 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Georgia
A lot bigger that I expected but my keet loves the space...I had a tiny cage before and my bird moved into a mansion. :) It's a little aggravating to put together but It's a great product after putting it together.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+28points
31of 34voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petco Designer Square Top Parakeet Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great purchase

PostedFebruary 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Denver, Colorado
The cage itself was large, and fit my 2 budgies. They love the space and get along fine. The square structure makes it easy to hang "toys" for the parakeets. I would highly reccomend it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+83points
88of 93voted this as helpful.