petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Designer Scallop Top Parakeet Cage

Petco Designer Scallop Top Parakeet Cage

Designer bird cage features stylish stainless steelParakeet bird cage comes with two perches and two food/water dishesLarge front entry door for easy access to your pet parakeetPull out plastic tray for easy cleaning and cage maintenance
Average Customer Rating:
4.533 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
5 stars
10
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
13 out of 15(87%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Designer Scallop Top Parakeet Cage
Review 1 for Petco Designer Scallop Top Parakeet Cage
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not fit for a parakeet

PostedNovember 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
JReyes
from Brooklyn, NY
The cage is beautiful (decorative). However, I do not find that it is suitable for a parakeet. The depth of the cage is only 11" and once the bird sits on the perch there really is no room for it to move around much. The length of the cage is 16". It's fairly spacious. However, because the food and water bowls are on the side of the cage a perch needs to be placed on the back of the cage causing the perches to be too close together. The bird really does not have room to move much. The scalloped top is pretty but I recommend a flat top. More room for the bird to move and you can hang more toys. The arch from the scallop top limits how much you can hang because the toys will all slide down. The cage is good perhaps for 2 finches. It is a goo quality cage though. It is not one of those that is made of cheap plastic. It definitely won't fall apart.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Designer Scallop Top Parakeet Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pretty Good

PostedMay 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
corgie
This cage is very spacious and pretty decent, it definitely fit a lot of toys for my new parakeet. The top though, doesn't fit properly and the wood perches don't fit well either without being shaky. The front/back horizontal bards though are helpful for my bird as well since he climbs down from his favorite perch to get to his food dishes. Whenever I open his door as well it shakes the whole cage, so I'm pretty sure that startles him as well.
But all in all, it is a pretty good cage! The food/water dish are large with tops and perches to help prevent waste from getting in them and can hold a nice amount of food/water. There is a good amount of space for the bird as well but REMEMBER you must let your bird out at least once a day to get it exercised!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Designer Scallop Top Parakeet Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A+++++

PostedMarch 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Doberman33
from Dallas, Tx
This lighting system is great. I have the 48" on my 55g. All my Corals look 10x better, they are very plump and lush. All LEDs can be dimmed separately and construction of this system is top notch. I have had every type of lighting system out there, and nothing compares to this. Also my power consumption has cut in half. Will recommend this product and company to anyone. Lastly, Petco shipped it much faster than expected. Thanks!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-15points
5of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Designer Scallop Top Parakeet Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

my 2 Parakeets love it!

PostedFebruary 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Momma2Raz
from Oklahoma
We recently adopted 2 parakeets from our local Petco and bought this cage in-store. I love that it has both horizontal and vertical bars. The dark silver color makes it look more expensive than it was, and it's very easy to clean. I also love that it came with natural wood perches, instead of the cheap plastic ones included with inferior cages. My parakeets are very happy in this cage together and have plenty of room for toys, treats, and flapping space.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Designer Scallop Top Parakeet Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Birds LUV it !

PostedFebruary 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Leddy
from PA
I am very pleased with this cage. Great, economical cage. Very attractive, better than expected. Birds luv it too, no adjustment time. wires are the right direction for climbing. Cage is silver, so birds are very visible,
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Designer Scallop Top Parakeet Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

better than expected

PostedNovember 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
AggyMemnon
from Tri-cities,WA
This cage is much nicer than the picture shows. More roomy and very nice.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Designer Scallop Top Parakeet Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good size

PostedNovember 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
afterthought
I ordered this cage for my daughter's new Parakeet. It is a nice sized cage, the doors are easy to access. the covered food & water dishes are huge. It is not a heavy cage- mostly plastic construction, but works well for our needs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Designer Scallop Top Parakeet Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great cage!!!

PostedSeptember 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
EllaW
from Midwest
I got this cage for my son's parakeet because the one I bought when I got him was way too small. This cage is the perfect size for 1-2 parakeets and I am so happy with the quality! This comes in pieces but is very easy to put together! I would definitely recommend this!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
11of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Designer Scallop Top Parakeet Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Cage

PostedJuly 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
MyBirdHenri
I bought this cage when I got my parakeet. It was a cage to just get me started because it was cheap but not tiny. For the price, this cage is amazing!...For only 1 parakeet or 1 cockatiel. 2 might be a little cramped, but if you let them out of their cage to exercise every day, 2 birds might not be a big deal. I can see maybe 4 finches fitting in this cage fine, but this cage isn't designed for finches. The bottom half of the cage will be wasted because finches go back and forth, not up and down. The Finch Flight Cage on petco.com would be ideal for finches and would also work great for 2 parakeets and isn't that much more expensive than this cage.
CONS:
When I bought this cage online I thought I liked the dometop because it looks nice and at night my parakeet would most likely sleep in the top; Problem: You can't hang toys from the top. the wires are going the wrong way.
I would rather this cage be wider than it is tall. Parakeets will mostly stay in the top half of the cage but if the cage was wider and shorter, much more of the cage will be used.
PROS:
I love the side doors that slide open for the water and food dishes the cage comes with.
The dishes are also pretty sturdy and I can see them lasting a long time.
The front door is more accessible than it seems and makes it fairly easy to get your parakeet out of it's cage.
The slide out tray just makes it that much easier to clean quickly.
Overall, this cage is a great cage, especially for the price. Hope this helps!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+16points
17of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Designer Scallop Top Parakeet Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great cage

PostedFebruary 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
JillinFairfax
from Fairfax, VA
The perches were a little loose-fitting, so I replaced those, but otherwise no issues. This is a well-made cage compared to others I've had. Wire is a good gage and the cage is sturdy and spacious. The pewter finish looks great too. Most importantly, the parakeet loves it. I like that half of it has horizontal bars, which are easier for them to climb.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Designer Scallop Top Parakeet Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Cage

PostedFebruary 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
BeanyBag2000
from St Marys, KS
this is a good quality cage. I would recommend it to any one who is looking for a cage. It is a good size for one budgie/parakeet, if you put two in one I would let them fly around outside the cage during the day so that they do not get too crowded.
The metal is a little flimsy, but the bird will not get out. also you might have a little trouble putting it together. Over all it is a good cage
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Designer Scallop Top Parakeet Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Overall Great Cage For The Price

PostedDecember 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
MamaMiax3
from Washington State
The quality of this cage is hard to beat for the price. It's simple to put together and very sturdy. The slide out tray makes cleaning easy. The only problems that I have with the cage are:
1. The cage bars go vertically, making it difficult to attach some toys.
2. The door is rather small, making it difficult to get a new, shy bird out of the cage.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
15of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Designer Scallop Top Parakeet Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Nice

PostedNovember 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lougirl
Love this cage. Lots of room for my budgie (Jail Bird or JB) to fly around. Has nice covered food and water dishes for her to use and little doors for it. It also has space for toys. The only thing I was saddened with was it did not come with my promised perch.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Designer Scallop Top Parakeet Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Bad Perches

PostedMay 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tucky58
Ok so I actually like this cage a lot. For those of you who don't want to spend a ton of money on a cage this one is nice. My only problem with it was the perches. They seemed a little too short. I went back to the pet store with my cage and perches and all of the cages in other boxes had the same perch problems. So i ended up by perches that could be screwed on to the side of the cage, which I love and so does "Rio" our parakeet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+23points
23of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Designer Scallop Top Parakeet Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Little Cage

PostedApril 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
theForeigner
I only have one bird at the present time, and this cage is perfect for him (he's a parakeet). I think it may be a little small for two birds (maybe not, depending on size). It's a very sturdy, nice, basic, classic cage for small birds. Recommended. And it's strong enough that I can hang it out on the porch without worrying. Even if my cats could reach it where it hangs (which they can't), the metal is tough enough that they couldn't get to him.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+26points
26of 26voted this as helpful.