petco.com Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At petco.com

Customer Reviews for Holistic Select Chicken Meal & Oatmeal Large & Giant Breed Adult Dry Dog Food

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Holistic Select Chicken Meal & Oatmeal Large & Giant Breed Adult Dry Dog Food

Complete and balanced natural, holistic formula with added vitamins and mineralsGuaranteed levels of L-Carnitine to support healthy body weightFormulated with wholesome grains & healthy fat sourcesGuaranteed levels of Glucosamine to help maintain hip and joint health
Average Customer Rating:
5 / 5
5
 / 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 8 reviews
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Holistic Select Chicken Meal & Oatmeal Large & Giant Breed Adult Dry Dog Food
Review 1 for Holistic Select Chicken Meal & Oatmeal Large & Giant Breed Adult Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent!

PostedOctober 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Omaha, NE
My dog has been eating this dog food for over 5 years and he loves it! His coat is always shiny and soft, and he sheds less than when he was eating another brand. I receive many compliments about his coat, and am pleased with vacuuming less :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Holistic Select Chicken Meal & Oatmeal Large & Giant Breed Adult Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Holistic Select Large Breed Chicken Dog Food

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Virginia
My very large dobie can have a sensitive stomach at times so Eagle Pack Holistic Select is the only food I feed him. Yes it's expensive, but it is by far the best food for a large breed animal! I have given him the fish-based food for years, but recently switched to the chicken for a varying flavor for him. The switch was effortless!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Holistic Select Chicken Meal & Oatmeal Large & Giant Breed Adult Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedAugust 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Westminster, Md.
I have been feeding Holistic Select for Large breeds for several years. I feed to my 9 month old pupy, my 4 year old and my 10 year old.
It is a all aound feed and I would recommed it for any dog.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Holistic Select Chicken Meal & Oatmeal Large & Giant Breed Adult Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great food!

PostedFebruary 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Houston, TX
My two male dogs absolutely love this food. My Boxer has severe food allergies, so this is perfect for him. They both plumped up this winter because they would clean their bowls! I finally found something they will eat without me having to mix in wet food. I'm very happy with this brand.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Holistic Select Chicken Meal & Oatmeal Large & Giant Breed Adult Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great food for our great dane!

PostedDecember 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Encinitas, CA
We have been feeding Holistic Select for the past three years. This is our third great dane and he seems to have the easiest time with digestion (solid stools) and his coat is beautiful and glossy. He is a very picky eater and he eats this food joyfully!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Holistic Select Chicken Meal & Oatmeal Large & Giant Breed Adult Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best for a Great Dane

PostedDecember 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Rancho Cordova, CA
I have a Great Dane that was a rescue. I was unsure if he would live or die when he came to me, he was 1years old and only 54lbs. He had numorous health problems, stomach, bowel, his fur, brain damage,all the digestive area and so on... I started him on Holistic Select for Giant Breeds and with in the first month I saw differences. He was getting his life back, his fur became soft this was the first change, he no longer had constant diarrhea this happened within 6 weeks and he started to gain weight "the healthy way" by the end of the second month. This food gave my dog a second chance. Not only do I recommend this food, I swear by it and depend on it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Holistic Select Chicken Meal & Oatmeal Large & Giant Breed Adult Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great dog food

PostedJuly 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Dallas, TX
I highly suggest this product. My dog's coat is shiny and he's always full of energy. This is a great product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Holistic Select Chicken Meal & Oatmeal Large & Giant Breed Adult Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Won't feed anything else

PostedMarch 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Newport, RI
I have been feeding our two Bernese Mtn. Dogs Holistic Select for nearly three years. When our first Berner was a puppy, we weaned him off the raw diet his breeder was feeding, and switched him to Innova Evo Large Breed Puppy, because it seemed like a high-quality, natural product.
WIthin a few months, our puppy began suffering from severe pano (panosteitis), which was very painful. He couldn't walk at times, and would moan in pain during the day, and during sleep.
When the vet told us he was a bit too young for pano that is typical in large breeds, he ordered xrays which showed malformations in the bones and joints as a result of too-rapid growth. We then took him to an orthopedic specialist, who immediately asked us to see the nutrition label of the food we were feeding. Sure enough there was WAY too much protein in the food for a large breed puppy, causing far too rapid growth, and resulting pain.
After doing a SIGNIFICANT amount of research, talking to vets, vet-nutritionists, breeders, and even pet food companies, themselves, I chose the Eagle Pack (as it was then called) Holistic Select for Large Breeds. Within a few weeks, our puppy's pain was gone. He's now turning 3, and is healthy and strong, with NO ortho problems. We rescued his older brother two years ago, as well, and he has been doing equally well on the Holistic Select. Both dogs are perfect weight, with shiny coats, and tons of vigor.
I speak from experience when I say this is a high-quality food, with perfect nutritional balance. Don't hesitate to buy it. If you choose another food, however, please do your research and determine how much protein is required for your particular breed, and don't go over that amount -- especially important with puppies.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.