petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heaters

Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heaters

Compact fish tank water heater is easy to concealNo temperature adjustment necessary once installedElectronic thermostat keeps water at a constant 78°FSuction cup keeps aquarium water heater securely in placeIndicator light tells you when the heater is on or off
Average Customer Rating:
3.326 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(98 Reviews) 98
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 98 reviews
5 stars
44
4 stars
11
3 stars
6
2 stars
7
1 star
30
57 out of 98(58%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
26 Questions | 48 Answers
Customer Reviews for Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Review 1 for Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

2nd heater and still no luck...

PostedMay 18, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Chicago, IL
I have bought 2 of these heaters in the past year and have had horrible luck with them breaking. I had a temperature gauge in the water so I found out fast when they werent working when i had both in the water at the same time and the water temp only hit 65. The first one i believe lasted maybe a month before shorting out and the second maybe about a couple months more. I didn't save the receipts and they have a 2 year warrenty. I hooked them up to a gauge to see how much power they were giving off and it was .05 watts. for a 50 watt heater. I dont recommend this brand unless you want to go through the hassle of getting your money back for them.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product Killed my whole tank

PostedMay 14, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Seattle
I had the 100watt heater in my aquarium for just over two years. It worked great on my 20 gallon tank. Perfect 78 degrees F. Then I come home from work Monday night to find my aquarium at 106 degrees! All 13 of my tetras, Molly's and shrimp are cooked.
When I examined the heater it had a hairline crack and black spot in the glass. Looks liked it shorted out the temp control and just kept heating. It had always remained submerged. Debating wether it's worth starting all over.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great heater

PostedJanuary 10, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Las Vegas, NV
I use this heater in both my salt water and freshwater tanks. It is reliable and very efficient, not to mention practically unbreakable. I have never had any problems. Obviously never plug the heater in without first submerging it in the water or it will over heat.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

WORST HEATER EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

PostedDecember 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
from San Diego
I had a 2 gallon tank for my Betta and for Christmas we upgraded to a 5 Gallon, and needed a bigger heater because the last one we had in the smaller tank wasnt warming up the water in the Bigger tank. I only had if for 3 days when i came home my Betta looked like he was Stuck to the heater, i tried to move the heater and indeed the lil guy was stuck to the heater, when i went to move the heater it was so hot it burned my thumb, and my lil Betta has wounds and a missing Fin all on the side he was stuck on, he is 1 1/12 years old and unfortunately i dont think he is going to make it. i immediately bought meds and vitamins and im hoping for the best, fingers crossed. WORST HEATER EVER!!!!!!!!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Durablilty

PostedDecember 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Chester, PA
Product is durable and has a minimal temperature variation for being preprogrammed. (72°-75° in a 10 gallon rectangular tank).
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

pre-set - no adjustment possible

PostedDecember 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from durham nc
This inexpensive 100 watt heater, listed for a 10-30 gal tank was used in a 12 gal tank and never seemed to reach the desired temperature range. There was no way to adjust the temp. So, I had to buy another one 50 watt but one that had an adjustable thermostat. For me, that was worth the extra money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Reliable heater for the price, regrettably not adjustable

PostedNovember 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Nebraska
This product is reliable and maintains the steady temp of 78 degrees F my only regret is that it is not adjustable so I can not raise the temp to my preferred 80 degrees but was in a pinch and this item saved our fish!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
It is hard to find a heater with good reviews and for cheap. I bought one of these for my ten gallon tank and when I needed a second one for my 5 gallon I automatically went right for this one. It keeps the tanks at the right temperature and works quick.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great little Betta tank heaters

PostedSeptember 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Fort Leavenworth, KS
We use these in our 3g betta heaters. They are much more reliable than other brands, and a better price. They only thing I don't like is that you cannot adjust the temperature. They stay solidly around 77F. Both of our bettas started making bubble nests after getting these little heaters.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Convenient

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from New Hampshire
Not as inconspicuous as I would have liked, mainly because the cord is so stiff. Placing heater vertically makes it less noticeable.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Heater

PostedJuly 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from New Hampshire
Great Heater! Keeps the water at a steady temperature, and is not huge either, fits nicely in a small tank.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

worthless

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from florida
Light turns on and off as though it is working but it does nothing. No change in water temp. Don't waste your time trying this.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Perfect!

PostedApril 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
from South Saint Paul, MN
I bought this heater a few weeks ago for my 5 gallon tank and I've checked several times with a thermometer - It keeps the water at a consistent 78 degrees. It does exactly what it's suppose to and I couldn't be happier! My fish even seem to be much happier and more active now that the water is at a more comfortable temp.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very nice aquarium heater

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from PA
I love this heater, it keeps my 4 gallon saltwater aquarium at nearly 80 degrees! I would totally buy it over other brands (except Fluval, but this is cheaper) because of its quality.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simple and Works as Advertised

PostedFebruary 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Marietta, GA
Easy setup. You basically set it and forget it. Holds temperature precisely as designed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not quite right

PostedJanuary 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
from GA
This heater only keeps my 2.5 gallon at about 77 degrees. Not sure if i'll be keeping it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Always right and livable

PostedJanuary 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
from El Paso , TX
The heaters are helping me to give my fishes always the correct water temperature. My fishes are very active and it is a joy watching them; exploring their habitat. The colder winter days are no problem with the Tetra submersible heaters; fully automatic they turn off
when the ideal temperature is reached. I recommend to buy thermostats too; just for controlling independently the fishes ideal environment.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Ok for a short time

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
I got the 100 watt version for my saltwater tank and it worked ok for a few months. it managed to keep the tank barely between 77 and 78. a little low for my fish but i managed. a few months after i bought it it my glass thermometer broke so for a few weeks i was just using a little stick on thermometer. it was a complete write off because it always said 78 degrees. when i got a new glass thermometer i put it in the tank it was 65 degrees! the heater light was still green. now the female of my mated pair of clowns is dying from the stress of that.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works good

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
from WI
I have a 100 watt in my 10 gallon tank. Keeps the tank right at 78 degrees F according to my thermometer.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Great Little Heater!!

PostedNovember 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Loretto, TN
I put this heater in my fish tank and it has worked perfectly for about a month now. I am so pleased with it that I'm about to order another one for my other tank. Thanks Petco!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>