petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heaters

Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heaters

Compact fish tank water heater is easy to concealNo temperature adjustment necessary once installedElectronic thermostat keeps water at a constant 78°FSuction cup keeps aquarium water heater securely in placeIndicator light tells you when the heater is on or off
Average Customer Rating:
3.442 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(77 Reviews) 77
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 77 reviews
5 stars
38
4 stars
7
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
23
47 out of 77(61%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
23 Questions | 44 Answers
Customer Reviews for Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Review 1 for Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very nice aquarium heater

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Botanicalboy
from PA
I love this heater, it keeps my 4 gallon saltwater aquarium at nearly 80 degrees! I would totally buy it over other brands (except Fluval, but this is cheaper) because of its quality.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simple and Works as Advertised

PostedFebruary 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
BryanSquared
from Marietta, GA
Easy setup. You basically set it and forget it. Holds temperature precisely as designed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not quite right

PostedJanuary 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
Pearl93
from GA
This heater only keeps my 2.5 gallon at about 77 degrees. Not sure if i'll be keeping it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Always right and livable

PostedJanuary 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
Stortebeker
from El Paso , TX
The heaters are helping me to give my fishes always the correct water temperature. My fishes are very active and it is a joy watching them; exploring their habitat. The colder winter days are no problem with the Tetra submersible heaters; fully automatic they turn off
when the ideal temperature is reached. I recommend to buy thermostats too; just for controlling independently the fishes ideal environment.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Ok for a short time

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
PasoFishGuy
I got the 100 watt version for my saltwater tank and it worked ok for a few months. it managed to keep the tank barely between 77 and 78. a little low for my fish but i managed. a few months after i bought it it my glass thermometer broke so for a few weeks i was just using a little stick on thermometer. it was a complete write off because it always said 78 degrees. when i got a new glass thermometer i put it in the tank it was 65 degrees! the heater light was still green. now the female of my mated pair of clowns is dying from the stress of that.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works good

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
FishOnVodka
from WI
I have a 100 watt in my 10 gallon tank. Keeps the tank right at 78 degrees F according to my thermometer.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Great Little Heater!!

PostedNovember 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
chubslady04
from Loretto, TN
I put this heater in my fish tank and it has worked perfectly for about a month now. I am so pleased with it that I'm about to order another one for my other tank. Thanks Petco!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Its a heater

PostedNovember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
WillisD
from Colorado
Keeps temp. well. What else is there for a heater to do?
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works OK

PostedOctober 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
2TuxedoCats
from Connecticut
I've had this heater close to a week now in my 2.5 gal Betta Bow. It keeps the tank at roughly 76 degrees. Then the indicator light will turn green signifying it's reached a "correct" temp.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heaters

PostedOctober 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
jkla
from CA
Excellent product - this replaced my old one.
Like the light feature so I can be assured heater is working
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

works as advertised

PostedSeptember 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
ViTiger
from Westminster, CA
fully automatic, submersible, just submerse to bottom of your tank and plug-in!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works

PostedMay 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
guppylvr
from East TN
The first page of reviews was pretty negative and not at all my experience, so I thought I would share. It is actually my father who uses this heater and it works great for his 2.5g hospital tank. This is the whole reason I was on this page, I have a 20g long that I have devided up into breeding tanks for some different strains of guppies. I need a small heater for each part. I'll probably go with this one, because I have put my hand in my father's tank and didn't get electrocuted (as one review stated). He even had a female guppy give birth in that tank and the fry all survived and did great. I think it gets 78-80F or his thermometer is off one... either way, not bad little heater. The only reason I don't give it a 5 paw rating is that you can't adjust the temp. It is what it is. But it does heat the water. 78F doesn't feel warm to the touch, as someone on here said the water "was cold". ?!? If your water feels hot to you, you are cooking your fish. IMO for a tiny heater for tiny tanks, this is the one I will buy 4 more of for my breeding operations. And the comment about topfin being a bad company... I have never bought anything from them that was broke on opening and I have 14 tanks all up and running most of everything is topfin in them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Simply Didn't Work

PostedMay 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Munkst
from Florida
This heater came along with a tank 10 gallon tank I bought and I had it in for a while but it just wouldn't work. The water just stayed cold. Eventually I got tired of a nonworking heater and bought a Penn-Plax Aquarium Heater which worked at warming the water perfectly.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible Horrible Horrible!!!!

PostedApril 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Maejune
from Lakeland, FL
I bought this heater for my little aquatic turtle in a ten gallon aquarium and i plugged it in and left it for 24 hours to heat up as the directions said....and the water was still freezing, so i left it in for another day thinking it just needed more time to heat up but still nothing after two days. Needless to say i returned it and bought an Aqueon submersible heater and I cannot say enough good things about it, its wonderful!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This is a decent heater.

PostedApril 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jessymetal
from Howell, MI
I've bought other heaters from this brand before from local stores, but they never seem to work as well as they should, so I was skeptical about buying this one. However, it seems to work pretty well. It keeps the water at a constant 77 degrees and doesn't fluctuate. The only problem I have with this heater is that it isn't adjustable, and that it is set for 78 degrees (+ or - 2 degrees). I wish it was a bit warmer, or was adjustable.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Substandard

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
DrB1
from Milford, CT
This water heater seems to be of higher quality than it is. Water felt cold, especially at night and there was never a sense that the heater was doing its job. Wound up replacing it with an Aqueon 50W heater that definitely does the job. The difference in water temperature is noticeable.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I like it... Sort of

PostedMarch 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
PhischAndChips
I guess this heater's pretty good. I have it in my 10 g, though I was slightly disappointed that it keeps the water at 76* instead of the 78* I was hoping for. I got it for my betta, which is a tropical fish, and so I find it a chilly replacement for my old heater, which kept the water at roughly 79*-80*.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good heater

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
JitterBugz
from San Diego, CA
I've had this heater that came with the 10g starter kit I purchased about 3 months ago. Since then, I've had no problems at all with the heater. It keeps the temperature around a steady 78 which is ideal for my freshwater fish.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Works,but...

PostedFebruary 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Annie1999
from MA
Thisis a good heater for my 5 gallon tank. It keeps the water warm,but not at the temperature it says it will. This heater is supposed to heat up to and stay at 78' F,but mine stays at 70-72 and on good days,72-74.
Id go with a better heater that gets abit warmer if you need itfor your fish.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
BReezie
from Central Pennsylvania
I now have 2 of these heaters. I purchased one in store and one through the website. One has been running for 3 years without any problems and the other is new with no problems. Super easy to use, just put in tank and plug in. I have used the heater in 5 and 10 gallon tanks and it keeps them at a pretty stable 75-78 F. If I were setting up another small aquarium I would buy one of these again in a heartbeat
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>