petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heaters

Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heaters

Compact fish tank water heater is easy to concealNo temperature adjustment necessary once installedElectronic thermostat keeps water at a constant 78°FSuction cup keeps aquarium water heater securely in placeIndicator light tells you when the heater is on or off
Average Customer Rating:
3.46 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(87 Reviews) 87
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 87 reviews
5 stars
42
4 stars
10
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
25
54 out of 87(62%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
24 Questions | 46 Answers
Customer Reviews for Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Review 1 for Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

pre-set - no adjustment possible

PostedDecember 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from durham nc
This inexpensive 100 watt heater, listed for a 10-30 gal tank was used in a 12 gal tank and never seemed to reach the desired temperature range. There was no way to adjust the temp. So, I had to buy another one 50 watt but one that had an adjustable thermostat. For me, that was worth the extra money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Reliable heater for the price, regrettably not adjustable

PostedNovember 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Nebraska
This product is reliable and maintains the steady temp of 78 degrees F my only regret is that it is not adjustable so I can not raise the temp to my preferred 80 degrees but was in a pinch and this item saved our fish!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
It is hard to find a heater with good reviews and for cheap. I bought one of these for my ten gallon tank and when I needed a second one for my 5 gallon I automatically went right for this one. It keeps the tanks at the right temperature and works quick.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great little Betta tank heaters

PostedSeptember 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Fort Leavenworth, KS
We use these in our 3g betta heaters. They are much more reliable than other brands, and a better price. They only thing I don't like is that you cannot adjust the temperature. They stay solidly around 77F. Both of our bettas started making bubble nests after getting these little heaters.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Convenient

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from New Hampshire
Not as inconspicuous as I would have liked, mainly because the cord is so stiff. Placing heater vertically makes it less noticeable.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Heater

PostedJuly 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from New Hampshire
Great Heater! Keeps the water at a steady temperature, and is not huge either, fits nicely in a small tank.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

worthless

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from florida
Light turns on and off as though it is working but it does nothing. No change in water temp. Don't waste your time trying this.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Perfect!

PostedApril 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
from South Saint Paul, MN
I bought this heater a few weeks ago for my 5 gallon tank and I've checked several times with a thermometer - It keeps the water at a consistent 78 degrees. It does exactly what it's suppose to and I couldn't be happier! My fish even seem to be much happier and more active now that the water is at a more comfortable temp.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very nice aquarium heater

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from PA
I love this heater, it keeps my 4 gallon saltwater aquarium at nearly 80 degrees! I would totally buy it over other brands (except Fluval, but this is cheaper) because of its quality.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simple and Works as Advertised

PostedFebruary 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Marietta, GA
Easy setup. You basically set it and forget it. Holds temperature precisely as designed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not quite right

PostedJanuary 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
from GA
This heater only keeps my 2.5 gallon at about 77 degrees. Not sure if i'll be keeping it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Always right and livable

PostedJanuary 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
from El Paso , TX
The heaters are helping me to give my fishes always the correct water temperature. My fishes are very active and it is a joy watching them; exploring their habitat. The colder winter days are no problem with the Tetra submersible heaters; fully automatic they turn off
when the ideal temperature is reached. I recommend to buy thermostats too; just for controlling independently the fishes ideal environment.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Ok for a short time

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
I got the 100 watt version for my saltwater tank and it worked ok for a few months. it managed to keep the tank barely between 77 and 78. a little low for my fish but i managed. a few months after i bought it it my glass thermometer broke so for a few weeks i was just using a little stick on thermometer. it was a complete write off because it always said 78 degrees. when i got a new glass thermometer i put it in the tank it was 65 degrees! the heater light was still green. now the female of my mated pair of clowns is dying from the stress of that.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works good

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
from WI
I have a 100 watt in my 10 gallon tank. Keeps the tank right at 78 degrees F according to my thermometer.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Great Little Heater!!

PostedNovember 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Loretto, TN
I put this heater in my fish tank and it has worked perfectly for about a month now. I am so pleased with it that I'm about to order another one for my other tank. Thanks Petco!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Its a heater

PostedNovember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Colorado
Keeps temp. well. What else is there for a heater to do?
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works OK

PostedOctober 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Connecticut
I've had this heater close to a week now in my 2.5 gal Betta Bow. It keeps the tank at roughly 76 degrees. Then the indicator light will turn green signifying it's reached a "correct" temp.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heaters

PostedOctober 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
from CA
Excellent product - this replaced my old one.
Like the light feature so I can be assured heater is working
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

works as advertised

PostedSeptember 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Westminster, CA
fully automatic, submersible, just submerse to bottom of your tank and plug-in!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works

PostedMay 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
from East TN
The first page of reviews was pretty negative and not at all my experience, so I thought I would share. It is actually my father who uses this heater and it works great for his 2.5g hospital tank. This is the whole reason I was on this page, I have a 20g long that I have devided up into breeding tanks for some different strains of guppies. I need a small heater for each part. I'll probably go with this one, because I have put my hand in my father's tank and didn't get electrocuted (as one review stated). He even had a female guppy give birth in that tank and the fry all survived and did great. I think it gets 78-80F or his thermometer is off one... either way, not bad little heater. The only reason I don't give it a 5 paw rating is that you can't adjust the temp. It is what it is. But it does heat the water. 78F doesn't feel warm to the touch, as someone on here said the water "was cold". ?!? If your water feels hot to you, you are cooking your fish. IMO for a tiny heater for tiny tanks, this is the one I will buy 4 more of for my breeding operations. And the comment about topfin being a bad company... I have never bought anything from them that was broke on opening and I have 14 tanks all up and running most of everything is topfin in them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>