petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Hex Freshwater Aquarium

Petco Hex Freshwater Aquarium

Cool hexagon shape made of easy-to-care-for acrylicSpace-saving design makes this a great desktop fish tankEnergy-efficient LED lights provide bright, energy-efficient lightingQuiet, internal filter with easy-to-replace cartridgesSafe, low voltage power supply2 gallon capacity ideal for use as a small fish tank
Average Customer Rating:
4.102 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(49 Reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 49 reviews
5 stars
27
4 stars
13
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
5
40 out of 49(82%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
33 Questions | 80 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Hex Freshwater Aquarium
Review 1 for Petco Hex Freshwater Aquarium
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Lights fail quickly

PostedApril 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
dmd42603
from Frisco, TX
I bought this tank for a new Betta and the lights failed within 5 months and the filter is too strong for a Betta. So I have to purchase a new tank because no parts are replaceable. I would recommend a different product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Hex Freshwater Aquarium
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

The filter too strong for Betta

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
Lvbetta
from Warwick,RI
The tank is pretty but I found the filter was too strong for my Betta fish. I put a large plant in front of the filter to soften the flow but found every water change challenging trying to get the plants in just the right spots to help with the flow of the filter. It was also difficult to remove the carbon when dispensing meds.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Hex Freshwater Aquarium
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very well designed

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
Chris57
from Sherman Oaks, CA
This new two gallon hex aquarium replaced the old two gallon model from Petco that I used for almost 10 years. The new model is superior in every aspect and much easier to assemble and maintain. You can also install a heater, which was not possible with the old design.
My only quibble is that the old aquarium included a two inch base stand which was necessary for the filtration system for the old model. Although this stand is not needed for the newer, simpler model, it would be a good addition to the newer product mainly because it raises the aquarium for better viewing. So I am using the old stand underneath my new aquarium and have the advantages of both products.
I am surprised that I could not find this excellent product in stores, and was pleased that it was available on Petco.com.
Keep up the good work!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Hex Freshwater Aquarium
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Tank

PostedDecember 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
StuntJay
from Orlando, FL
I have owned this tank for a little over a year and it has been great. No problems at all. I do a complete water change ever 2-3 weeks with a new filter each time and I couldn't be happier with it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Hex Freshwater Aquarium
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PERFECT!

PostedNovember 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
101Critters
from Naples, FL
Easy to keep clean, LED lighting is absolutely perfect as it has a day/night feature. The filter is perfectly quiet also. I wish Petco would make larger size aquariums, up to a 30 gallon size,
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Hex Freshwater Aquarium
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Petco Hex Aquarium

PostedOctober 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nadz
from Somerset, WI
Geez, this small tank may look great but the LED lights go out fast! I had started out with 2 tanks for my bettas and then a few of the lights started to blink in one of them. I then purchased another tank just to get a new light fixture, since of course they are not replaceable. Soon one of the fliters went out as well, but luckily I had another one since I had a 3rd tank for parts. Now all 3 of the light fixtures have blinking and have burnt out lights! Ugh! what a pain. Would not recommend this tank.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Hex Freshwater Aquarium
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great setup, just one problem

PostedSeptember 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
sonyaart
from New Martinsville, WV
Very nice, well-put together tank, happy with all that, plus now my betta is out of his bowl and into this larger hex.
Only thing is when I ordered and received it, there was a crack near the bottom. As of yet I haven't noticed any leakage, perhaps it looks worse than it is; if it proves faulty, I'll just return.
Do they make sealant for small acrylic cracks like this, in case it should grow into a problem? Ah, well, so far, so good! Still a wonderful lil tank!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Hex Freshwater Aquarium
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bad investment!

PostedSeptember 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Minniesoda
Sold to us as a Betta tank. Filter was far to powerful for a Betta. Had to replace it. The LED lights were great for the first 4 months then they started to blink and fail. Not replaceable. Now we need a new tank just for a light!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Hex Freshwater Aquarium
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great purchase

PostedMay 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
lmpaynter
from DE
nice size for a beta fish. fits right on my counter. good lighting and visibility. internal filter is quiet and keeps tank clean. easy to maintain.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Hex Freshwater Aquarium
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

How to Tame the Filter Flow

PostedApril 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
FishDance
from Los Angeles, CA
My betta hated the filter flow, when I used it as-is, but with two small modifications, I reduced the flow rate, and he likes the more gentle current, with some live, low light plants, too.
I cut an appropriate size piece, width and height of a flat sheet, canister filter sponge, (size 30 holes/cu in.) and stuffed it in right in front of the filter cartridge., then cut the foot end off of a pair of panty hose, which fit like a sock, over the filter. The suction cups are covered, too, to look uniform, so the filter just hangs from its hook. Perfect flow rate, now, but still feel best to turn it off for a few minutes, in the morning, when I feed him. Although I have dropped snacks in, and left filter on, and he eats heartily, just the same. Really a fine little tank, for a betta. I just ordered the 5 gallon hex, too!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Hex Freshwater Aquarium
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bad light

PostedApril 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mommymagnifica
from CA
Do not buy this tank if you plan on turning on the light. My light failed after 6 months and you cannot buy a replacement. Also, Petco does not always have the filters in stock. Buy a brand name. Your money will be better spent.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Hex Freshwater Aquarium
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome!

PostedMarch 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
BlueEyedDezi
My husband and I have had this tank for almost a year with our King Male Betta fish. We love this aquarium, it is easy to clean, and we love the shape. It's perfect for us and our pet!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Hex Freshwater Aquarium
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bad Light

PostedMarch 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
The tank is great but the light is horrible. I've had this tank for 19 months, and need to replace it twice already.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Hex Freshwater Aquarium
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Nice tank but...

PostedJanuary 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
sjsharksbait
from san jose ca
I like the tank BUT its hard to find the filter replacements. I bought it because it was a Petco item and thought they would have the filters in stock. Never assume. I can't seem to find the filters at the stores. After the third store one guy said he thought they discontinued them. You can find them on line but why should you pay 5 plus bucks to ship a 3.99 item? If I had knew it was going to be this hard to find the filters I would not have bought the tank.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Hex Freshwater Aquarium
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

A so-so tank

PostedJanuary 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
SnowWhite1986
from Chicago, IL
This tank is just alright, but for the price, you can do better.
Things to keep in mind, bettas prefer warm water and the tank lid does it allow space for the heater wire to come through the top so the lid has to sit a little wonky.
MOST IMPORTANTLY, although this tank is sold at Petco, you cannot purchase filter cartridges from Petco stores. You can only order them online and sometimes Petco online doesn't even have them!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Hex Freshwater Aquarium
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not Worth $$

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Streamwood, IL
I did like this tank very much for my betta but the daytime LED lights stopped working after not even 6 months. And you cannot replace the lights. So tank is now worthless and I have to buy another tank.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco Hex Freshwater Aquarium
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Blinded by the Light!

PostedNovember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
ZeiBee
from Massachusetts
The tank is amazing overall, except I bought two goldfish to go in the tank and they would cower beneath the filter. It turns out they don't like the light. I turn it off now, fair enough. Just a warning.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petco Hex Freshwater Aquarium
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Get this tank! You won't be sorry....

PostedNovember 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
BrooklynPR
from Brooklyn, NY
Bought 3 of these tanks via online (Petco.com) and I received them yesterday. Unfortunately, 2 out of 3 were cracked. I'm not blaming Petco because they do go through a delivery source (i.e. UPS/USPS). Luckily I can return/exchange them at my local Petco, which I'm going to do this afternoon. But, I did set up the good one last night and I LOVE IT!!! SUPER quite and the nightlight is so beautiful. SUPER easy to set up - an 8 year old could do it - and I'm the worst at putting things together. The picture of it here online does NOT do it justice. Doesn't take up a lot of space and the shape of it is modern and cool! When I make my return this afternoon, I'm going to pick up a Black Moor Goldfish to go in it. The other 2 tanks are for my Beta Fishes. I have one and my son has one. I'm sure the Beta's are going to enjoy the extra space this tank will give them (they both are currently in 1/2 gallon bowls). And, I just know... my son is going to love using the nightlight at bedtime and so will I. GET IT! YOU'LL LOVE IT!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petco Hex Freshwater Aquarium
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice tank problem with lights

PostedNovember 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
kipcher
Purchased this tank for a betta fish. The tank is great, pretty easy to clean, nice to look at, etc. The problem is with the led lights on the lid. There are two settings for the lights, blue and white. A few of white lights started to flicker after a few months and are going out. I have read at least one other review with the same problem. I don't think they can be fixed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petco Hex Freshwater Aquarium
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hex Freshwater Auariu

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sammysmum
from Bellefonte, PA
This is my second purchase of this item. I purchased the first one in January 2012 and was very happy with it. It's easy to clean and maintain. However, within about 7 months, the led light began to flicker and the lights gradually went out, 2 or 3 at a time . I was very disapointed as I thought led lights were long lasting. Now that I have the new acquarium, my betta is very happy and energetic once again and I'm hoping this one lasts longer.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>