petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Premium Oasis Garden Terrarium

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Petco Premium Oasis Garden Terrarium

Metal mesh top and two sides of reptile terrarium allow for maximum ventilationHinged top for easy access to pet and routine cleaningFront doors open wide for easy feeding and maintenanceOasis Garden Terrariums are perfectly sized for use as desktop terrariumsRecommended for leopard geckos, frogs, tarantulas, hermit crabs and scorpions
Average Customer Rating:
4.389 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 18 reviews
5 stars
11
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
15 out of 18(83%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Petco Premium Oasis Garden Terrarium
Review 1 for Petco Premium Oasis Garden Terrarium
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

All those who say it is good for hermit crabs...

PostedAugust 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
guppylvr
from East TN
Do your homework before you buy a pet. Hermit crabs have gills and need extremely high humidity to live. Stop telling people "this is the best hermit crab habitat ever" because with screens, it is one of the worst!
I have had hermit crabs for years (the same ones, mind you - they aren't 'throw away pets') and sometimes have trouble keeping the humidity up when the weather isn't humid outside. And mine are in a 40g glass tank with plexiglass covering the top except for where the heat lamps are located there is screen.
I clicked on this item thinking it had glass walls for poison dart froglets to grow out in, but again... the screen sides make this useless for any animal needing a humid environment.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Premium Oasis Garden Terrarium
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome best hermit habitat ever

PostedDecember 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Geese
from San Jose ,ca
I bought this for my hermit crabs they love it . They climb on the wire and because I have picky crabs they like there salt water sprayed on the glass than they climb near glass and drink away. If you use this for another pet and their are live food involved there's a Small baby gab that cricket might be Abel to squeeze out of.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-4points
5of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Premium Oasis Garden Terrarium
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Terrarium Highly Recommended

PostedNovember 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
PetsAreAngels
from Staten Island, NY
I bought this for my 2 hermit crabs. Now they have so much space and are very happy in their new habitat. The item came undamaged and is just perfect. Compared to the more expensive terrariums this one is just as good and I am happy I did not spend the money on one that would have cost me 3 times the price. Love the screen sides, space on bottom for substrate, door that opens for feeding and cleaning. Would definetly recommend. 5 *****
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
9of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Premium Oasis Garden Terrarium
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice little terrarium

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kotter
from Houston, TX
This is a really nice little terrarium - exactly as described and arrived quickly, safe & sound. It seems well constructed and is the perfect size for my hatchling anole I found ouside on a recent chilly day. My only real issue is that the smallness of the area of the wire mesh (or more specifically, the width of the black plastic around the wire mesh) on the lid makes it difficult to adequately light the terrarium. You can set the light on top, but then it shines down directly onto the center area, leaving the edges and walls in shadow. I ended up using 3 lights: one on top, and one on each side. That is my only critique however. Overall, I really like this terrarium and am very pleased with the product. The doors opening from the front provide easy access for feeding and maintenance. The wire mesh top and sides provide plenty of ventilation for air flow while still being able to maintain some additional humidity. The enclosed bottom is deep enough for several inches of substrate and water tight enough that I haven't had to worry about leaks when watering the plants. "Teensy" is quite comfy and has easy access to his (or her) fruit flies at feeding time, and yet plenty of room to climb around on different plants I've planted in it for privacy and a natural feel.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Premium Oasis Garden Terrarium
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good enclosure

PostedOctober 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
kingbrandon60
from New York, NY
this is a good product by Petco. It somewhat resembles the top of the line exo terra products but for half the price. I recommend it, its around 10 gallons
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Premium Oasis Garden Terrarium
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for Small Reptiles.

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
BrianG87
from Morgantown, WV
I purchased this habitat for a pair of Pygmy Leaf Chameleons (Rhampholeon brevicaudatus). I lined the bottom with pea sized gravel for drainage, then a layer of Eco Earth on top of it for holding in humidity--which this enclosure does pretty well. The screen sides and top are perfect for pygmies since they need more ventilation than say a glass aquarium with a screen top only. The doors are very nice, and pretty sturdy (especially considering the value). It has a nice clean look to it and accommodates a small light fixture very well. I'm not sure how well a heat lamp would work since the opening screen on top is small, I am using a UV compact bulb so it doesn't heat up too much and is safe to use on the plastic top. Overall I would definitely recommend this cage if you have small reptiles or hermit crabs. You may have trouble with amphibians as they require a very high humidity level, however you could just spray the enclosure multiple times per day. I spray a couple times a day only to allow for the chameleons to drink off the leaves. The humidity is always above 50%, even if I only sprayed once per day.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Premium Oasis Garden Terrarium
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Product

PostedJune 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
1L0v3C4ts
It is a great terrarium, and came soon. But when I opened it, one of the front doors came off and didn't go back in. Also it is a little wobbly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Premium Oasis Garden Terrarium
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

amazing for hermies!!!!

PostedOctober 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
anilover
from nj
I bought this online, and opened the box to find broken glass. returned it at store and got a fixed one, absolutely love this cage!!!! doors open nice, perfect for hermit crabs they are loving the climbing parts on the side!!! looks gorgeous!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Premium Oasis Garden Terrarium
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

NOT WATER TIGHT!

PostedOctober 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
scienceteach
from Titusville, Fl
This is a cheap terrarium and would probably be great for animals that live in dry climates. The bottom has solid sides and I thought I could put water on one side and land on the other for my frogs. The thing leaked all over the place! I'm very upset that I had this all set up and just needed to add water. I should have checked first, so please don't make the same mistake I made!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+10points
13of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Premium Oasis Garden Terrarium
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

hermit habitat

PostedOctober 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
mike57
from san diego
when i open the box, wow, it is perfect for my 2 hermies,easy to clean,locking glass doors, no escapes,ha ha, they love it.. looking for a good price, get this habitat.and plenty of climbing on side screens..
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Premium Oasis Garden Terrarium
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pretty Good

PostedOctober 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Coolbreezelute36
This is a really nice looking tank, and a pretty good size for an ok price, the doors are really nice, but don't get this tank if you are getting anything pets that need high humidity. If you mist it, within 5 minutes of being misted it goes back down to 40% humidity I had to seal up the screens with plastic and duck tape for my dart frogs but overall it is a pretty good product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Premium Oasis Garden Terrarium
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it

PostedSeptember 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
masslady
from North Adams,Ma
this is a good size for pygymy chameleons,or small frogs or hermit crabs.Easy to clean love the way it opens.would like to see a bigger size.My leopard gecko female was to big for this but hermit crabs good size
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Premium Oasis Garden Terrarium
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

OMG I LOVE IT!!!

PostedAugust 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Momo313
I bought this a couple days go i love it! it looks oh so buetiful in my room! i would definitly recomend this for anyone who has frogs, hermit crabs, and leapard geckos!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Premium Oasis Garden Terrarium
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great buy :D

PostedAugust 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
DerpyDino
from FL
This terrarium was perfect for my three hermit crabs, and now is providing a comfortable beginning home for my baby crested gecko. The doors can pinch fingers and are sometimes a little hard to snap open, but the design overall is wonderful and gives me access to the insides of the terrarium without a hassle. Also, the screened sides allow for air circulation, which is extremely important for some animals yet was a difficult feature for me to find while looking for tall, glass terrariums.
Only con: The doors do not close flush together. If you have a baby snake, a small lizard, or any amount of live crickets, they will be escaping everywhere. The gap was smaller when I first bought it, but opening and closing the doors seems to have made one of the doors droop just slightly enough to create a larger crack. I would NOT suggest this terrarium for any baby corn snakes specifically, since snakes are escape artists and baby corns are very small. One for sure could fit its head between the doors.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Premium Oasis Garden Terrarium
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedJune 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
HermitCrabsRock
from USA
I purchased four Hermit Crabs and this terrarium was a perfect purchase for them. It has plenty of room for my pets but it also has plenty of ventilation. A plus if you happen to buy this for hermit crabs is that the sides of the cage is perfect for them to climb up and down (Since it's like wire). It has very easy access for when your cleaning it or getting out your pets to play.It's pretty big too (for your pets), but it's a good size to place it around your room. Hermit Crabs are awesome! Their playful, and each have their own personalties. So whether you have hermit crabs or a small lizard this cage is great! I've had it for several months and I like it alot.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
13of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Premium Oasis Garden Terrarium
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not as Pictured

PostedApril 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Gecko79
I bought this thinking it was how it looked on the box! Very misleading doesnt come with the cool looking stone wall pictured on the box! I have since retured it!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-29points
4of 37voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco Premium Oasis Garden Terrarium
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

just perfect...

PostedFebruary 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
gottmom
I bought this for my bearded pygmy chameleons and its just right for them. nice and tall so they have the climbing space they need. plenty of floor space for egg laying. the temp and humidity stays just right with just enough ventilation. super easy access through the front doors and the top if needed. will definately buy a couple more for my leopard geckos. this is way better then an aquarium and it means i can use the old tank for some fish. happy all the way around. thanks
I would recommend this to a friend!
+26points
30of 34voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petco Premium Oasis Garden Terrarium
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedJanuary 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
loganizer
this habitat is perfect for my 3 anoles!
it hold everything i need and is easy to clean.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
14of 19voted this as helpful.