petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Kyjen Dog Games Star Spinner Dog Toy Puzzle

Kyjen Dog Games Star Spinner Dog Toy Puzzle

Mentally stimulate your dog in a fun and creative wayDurable plastic constructionHide treats throughout the two level spinning starAnti-slip feet keep the game in placeGreat for all ages and sizes of dogs
Average Customer Rating:
3.381 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 21 reviews
5 stars
8
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
5
14 out of 21(67%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Kyjen Dog Games Star Spinner Dog Toy Puzzle
Review 1 for Kyjen Dog Games Star Spinner Dog Toy Puzzle
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

to easy

PostedOctober 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from new Bedford mass
I opened the box and put 4 treats in. With even showing my 2 year old bernese how it's done she figured it out before I could but the box in the trash even when it was turn all the way. If they were to make this better they would put a door over the treat hole. My opinion it was way to easy for her and she's not even that smart of a dog
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Kyjen Dog Games Star Spinner Dog Toy Puzzle
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

breaks easily

PostedSeptember 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from georgia
Bought this toy at a Petco store. My dog loved it but it was too easy for her to access the treats. According to instructions the difficulty level could be raised by gently twisting, which I did. The 3 sections came apart and would not fit back together. I took it back to the store and it was cheerfully replaced with another without any trouble. I was even more gentle with this one when I attempted to increase the difficulty level. The second also broke. I have not been back to the store to exchange the second one and will not accept another one of these same toys as a replacement. I do not recommend this toy.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Kyjen Dog Games Star Spinner Dog Toy Puzzle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy but stimulating

PostedAugust 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
from California
I have a Pitbull who loves anything to do with treats, toys and games. She figured this out instantly the first time I put on the floor. I rotate the toys I hide treats in so this will get used.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Kyjen Dog Games Star Spinner Dog Toy Puzzle
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

To Easy for our dog

PostedJune 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Washington
This puzzle toy was solved by our Standard Poodle the first time we gave it to her in just a few minutes. We need something that is more challenging for her.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Kyjen Dog Games Star Spinner Dog Toy Puzzle
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

quick and easy to solve

PostedApril 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Charlotte, NC
The toy is hard plastic, and very easy to use right out of the box. I wish there was a way to make it more challenging. The tension knob on the bottom is easy to come out, but fairly easy to put back in place. My dog a collie blend was able to figure it out and empty all compartments in about 2 and half minutes.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Kyjen Dog Games Star Spinner Dog Toy Puzzle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Kygen Tiny Print Puzzle

PostedApril 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
OK--first off the toy is obvious for the most part how to use, so I throw away the directions. Several uses later I over-wind, and the tightener knob pops out. Ooops--grab the directions out of recycle bin(grateful for a two week pick-up schedule). Then I search high and low for reassembly directions. IN THE ABSOLUTELY TINIEST FONT POSSIBLE, at the very bottom of the tiny piece of paper, reads the following: If resistance knob releases from toy, don't worry! It's designed to. First attach the knob to the bottom layer by turning counter clockwise. Then push the three sections of the toy together until they click into place. Readjust resistance. REALLY!!! I spent a good half an hour feeling like an idiot and then the next half an hour squinting through high powered reading lenses to read these VERY IMPORTANT and USEFUL directions. Love the toy; baffled by the print size. I noticed others returned because they could not reassemble.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Kyjen Dog Games Star Spinner Dog Toy Puzzle
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

not worth it

PostedMarch 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Lafayette, IN
nice idea, but the toy doesn't tighten very well and it'll take any dog 5 minutes to empty it
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Kyjen Dog Games Star Spinner Dog Toy Puzzle
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Good idea, poorly made

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from NH
I liked this toy the best of the puzzle toys until it broke after one use. The plastic screw on the back came off and it is IMPOSSIBLE to get back on. I don't even know how it was even on to begin with! I would not waste my money with this toy.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Kyjen Dog Games Star Spinner Dog Toy Puzzle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great stimpaltion

PostedDecember 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
from texas
This a great toy for any pet, it offers a challegene, without the frustration of being defeated. My pet gets great entertainment from this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Kyjen Dog Games Star Spinner Dog Toy Puzzle
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

too easy

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
from CALIFORNIA
this was quickly figured out by my dog. he does enjoy it but it does not entertain for long.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Kyjen Dog Games Star Spinner Dog Toy Puzzle
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Surely my dog isn't a genius. . .

PostedMarch 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Chicago, IL
Or maybe she is because she solved this puzzle in under 5 minutes w/o any coaching from me. I loaded it up while she was out of the room and put it on the floor. UNDER 5 minutes!! We're applying to Mensa today!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Kyjen Dog Games Star Spinner Dog Toy Puzzle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My dog LOVES eating his meals from this toy

PostedMarch 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
My 1-yr-old heeler loves this toy. He figured out how to get the food quickly so being able to adjust the tension was a great feature. Now he knows how to use the toy but he still has to try several ways of making the stars spin. He usually gets the top star open first and chows down on the food below and then it takes some effort to get the middle star to spin.
We like to change things up for him in a few ways: Sometimes, we only put a kibble or two in each compartment or only put treats in certain compartments. Our favorite game is to play hide and seek with the spinner. The first time we played, we put our heeler in a stay, filled the spinner in front of him and let him see where we put it. Now we've advanced to hiding it under or around things in other rooms so he has to sniff it out.
Sometimes when our heeler has gotten all of the treats out, he'll pick the spinner up with his teeth and trot around with it. We don't give him the chance to chew on it because the plastic doesn't seem durable enough for a strong chewer.
Overall, a fantastic toy that can be used in a lot of different ways.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Kyjen Dog Games Star Spinner Dog Toy Puzzle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good game when he's tired of the norm

PostedMarch 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Bakersfield, CA
I got this after getting one of the mind games (the day before) hoping it would take him longer to figure out. We timed him, less than 30 seconds later he had it opened and munching happily on the treats.
Now he'll go sit by it when he's ready to play with it instead of ball or rope. Or when he thinks he deserves a treat! lol
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Kyjen Dog Games Star Spinner Dog Toy Puzzle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My dog loves this toy!

PostedFebruary 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Tacoma, WA
Our Great Pyrenees has never been interested in toys of any kind. She loves this one! Instead of treats, we just put 3 or 4 pieces of her food in each section of the star. We pull it out those times that she seems to be restless and even though it only takes her a few minutes to find and empty it, the mental stimulation seems to be satisfying to her.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Kyjen Dog Games Star Spinner Dog Toy Puzzle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Puzzle for fast eaters

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
from California
I bought this puzzle to slow my dog down, she tends to eat her entire meal in the time it takes me to put the scoop away! It's the first puzzle toy I've purchased. I like that it is adjustable to make it harder, although I haven't tried that yet. She figured it out pretty quickly and seems to enjoy the search. Very pleased!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Kyjen Dog Games Star Spinner Dog Toy Puzzle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pretty good

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pros:
1. You can tighten the rotation to make it more difficult for your dog to rotate the stars.
2. Durable.
3. The fact that it has numerous levels of rotating stars makes it a little more complex than some toys.
4. It's a puzzle toy, which is always good choice.
Cons:
No real cons. It's kind of easy, but I'm sure we're all buying puzzle toys because we have dogs that are hard to outwit.
Room for improvement:
The multiple stars, while adding a layer of complexity, also allow the treats to fall out very quickly. Moving the middle of three stars, for example, allows treats to fall out of all three.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Kyjen Dog Games Star Spinner Dog Toy Puzzle
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not too challenging

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
We have tow completely different personalities in our boys. Our lab is not much for trying to figure things out, so this toy is not a good choice for him. We purchased this for our Aussie mix. Within 30 seconds he had the puzzle figured out. We ended up returning this and purchasing a different product and I was disappointed that he figured that one out quickly as well. This is a good toy for introducing your dog to problem solving but it did not work for us. It is well made using a durable hard plastic. I will continue to look for other toys that challenge my dog.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Kyjen Dog Games Star Spinner Dog Toy Puzzle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Keeps her attention

PostedAugust 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
from NW Arkansas
I have a 20 lb dog who loves this puzzle. I would not recommend this to a strong chewer. The plastic seems strong but I have seen my dog trying to chew the star points.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Kyjen Dog Games Star Spinner Dog Toy Puzzle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

2 Dogs Love This!

PostedJune 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
from DFW Metroplex Texas
Both my Husky and Akita love the Kyjen Puzzles (Paw Hide and Star Spinner). They even preferr to eat their their meals from it.. It is made form a tough plastic and there are no other parts the dogs can chew up "win win".
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Kyjen Dog Games Star Spinner Dog Toy Puzzle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Kyjen Games Star Spinner Puzzle

PostedJune 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Palm Harbor, FL
My 9-month Schnoodle really likes this game. Because the tension is adjustable, you can make it harder to push the stars aside to reveal the food. The toy stays centered on the floor, doesn't tip or move (at least for him). There are two levels, so more treats. I started it on a light tension so he'd understand what to do. He figured it out immediately, but he has had an "uncover the treats" game before. This one is just different - and a little harder, which he needed. Next time the tension will go up and the game made a little harder for him. p.s. I use freeze-dried meat treats in this toy so he doesn't get too many other kinds of treats.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>