petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Prevue Hendryx Cockatiel-Small Parrot Cage

Prevue Hendryx Cockatiel-Small Parrot Cage

This roomy wire cage has all the design elements and amenities that make it ideal for your cockatiel or small parrotIt features a grill floor with a pull-out bottom tray for easy cleaning and generous front access door
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
5 stars
8
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
13 out of 15(87%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Prevue Hendryx Cockatiel-Small Parrot Cage
Review 1 for Prevue Hendryx Cockatiel-Small Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

nice cage

PostedJuly 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from las vegas
Bought this cage as an extra. Its well made and heavy. My c ockatiel loves it. Its roomy and has more than enough room for toys etc. Would recommend this cage to any bird lover. Ordered the cover for it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Prevue Hendryx Cockatiel-Small Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

"The Best"

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Florida
Love this cage! It is the best!
It is sturdy, weighty and great quality. Love the fact that it comes fully assembled. Just add the perches, cups and spill guards that come with it and it is done!
A very roomy cage for our small amazon parrot and all his toys....he loves it too! Very impressed with this well made cage.....it is fantastic! Highly recommend.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Prevue Hendryx Cockatiel-Small Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not the best cage

PostedDecember 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Virginia
The good thing about this cage is the size. It is perfect for my finches, and I got another one of these cages for my canary. Unfortunately, there is not a bottom to the cage. The tray is the bottom:/ After about a year, the tray and the edges of the cages rusted out because my birds love to bathe. I have never had this problem with any of my other cages. Also, if you lose the plastic cover that holds the cups in place, the cups will tilt forward and spill water everywhere.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Prevue Hendryx Cockatiel-Small Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

bird cage

PostedNovember 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Aberdeen, NC
I was happy with the
cockatiel cage with one exception, I know the house was fully assembled but I did not know whaat to do with the plastic strips, there were no instructions included at all. My Cockatiel is still trying to get use to the new cage she has much more room..
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Prevue Hendryx Cockatiel-Small Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice cage for the money

PostedMay 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
from St. Paul, MN
I really like this cage. So much so, I bought two for each of my parrotlets. It's an excellent, cute, sturdy cage for the price. The only "cons" are that it doesn't have horizontal bars for climbing and one of the cages arrived with a little bit of rust on one of the top bars, so I returned it to the store (which was very easy). Overall, though, it's a great cage for the price!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Prevue Hendryx Cockatiel-Small Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Too narrow. Odd food cups.

PostedNovember 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Texas
Okay, so its a little narrow for my cockatiel. His tail always ends up getting mussed by the sides or in his water because he can't climb easily in it.
I don't like that I cannot move the feed/water cups around w/o having a gaping hole where they are supposed to be. The water cup being low makes it easy for his water to be *poo soup* several times a day... and since the cage is so narrow I can't just move perches back further so his rear isn't placed over his food.
There aren't enough horizontal bars for easy climbing and toy attachment.
The bottom tray is metal, so it sticks when I try to slide it out... plastic isn't much better though.
Perch arrangment is difficult w/ the door right over the food cup too.
As soon as I can I will be spending a little more to get a bigger cage and making this one the spare/secondary.
The door is nice and big, the cage is very sturdy and well built, nothing flimsy about it.
Not that my tiel complains... overall i like the cage, i just wish i could come up w/ a bird safe way to cover the 3 holes in the front... stainless steel is all i know of that is a safe metal, but I'm not talented enough to do it!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Prevue Hendryx Cockatiel-Small Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful Cage

PostedApril 15, 2008
Customer Avatar
from CA
I bought this cage for my two rats. I wanted I cage I could take them to the vets or just outside to sit with the dog and I. I was so wonderfully surprised when I took it out of the box. It's the best well construsted cage I've seen in a long time for it's price. I have four birds so I know about cages. I have decided to use this cage for their permanent home now and will look for a smaller travel cage for them. I'll be looking at this brand for that too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Prevue Hendryx Cockatiel-Small Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Stong

PostedMarch 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
This is a very strong cage, I have a conure and she is very happy to have her own, she can get around very well and comfortably to eat and play, it has a big front door and sturdy bars, and i can clean it quickly, it arrived all put together and within a week, it's all black so you can spot dirt!! I would recommend it! It also keeps messy seeds in the cage too,
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Prevue Hendryx Cockatiel-Small Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice cage

PostedMarch 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Albuquerque, NM
I bought this cage for a new cockatiel. The door is a nice size, and I can easily fit my hand (with bird) in and out. I especially like the plastic seed guards, to help keep the mess down. The food/water dishes are ok, but difficult to install and remove. They're better left in place. The swing needs some modification to stay put should the bird miss when he flies to it. Overall, a nice cage, though. I would recommend it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Prevue Hendryx Cockatiel-Small Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent value for money

PostedFebruary 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
This cage is excellent value for the money! Large, sturdy, solidly built. My cockatiel has plenty of room and because of its weight, there is no chance of it sliding off the table.
It also has a nice sturdy metal grid to keep my bird from getting to the paper in the bottom of the cage.
Overall, a very well thought out cage - wish I had found this one before purchasing others, could have saved a whole bunch of money!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Prevue Hendryx Cockatiel-Small Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedFebruary 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
from MT
I have one cockatiel that occupies the cage. There is plenty of room for him, his food, and toys. The only thing that might be an issue with some people, is the fact there aren't a lot of horizontal bars for him to climb around. Otherwise however, we love the cage.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Prevue Hendryx Cockatiel-Small Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good cage

PostedNovember 17, 2007
Customer Avatar
from Germantown,Md
Strong cage, a little bit heavy, but plenty space for the birds. Good for Canaries!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Prevue Hendryx Cockatiel-Small Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Parakeet Paradise

PostedFebruary 10, 2007
Customer Avatar
from Flower Mound, TX
Attractive, sturdy, roomy cage lets me put a lot of toys and perches in the case and my parakeet still has room to stretch, run and climb. Even with her cage door open, she puts herself up because she loves it so much. After using this cage, it makes me sad to see parakeets in the tiny cages most people use.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Prevue Hendryx Cockatiel-Small Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The small parrot ,and cockateil cage

PostedJanuary 13, 2006
Customer Avatar
from longbranch,NJ
This cage is awsome because your small parrot or cockateil can spread it's wings I would recammond this cage to every pet owner in america this is a pet lover cage perfect for breeding cockateils and a good cage for small parrots or cockateils this cage can also can be recammended for love birds perfect for any small bird.That cn be good for cockateils,love birds,and small parrot.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Prevue Hendryx Cockatiel-Small Parrot Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome for birds

PostedDecember 22, 2005
Customer Avatar
from Hawaii
This is the best brid cage I've ever owned. It's very sturdily build with quality materials, looks very nice and the clear splash guard was a lovely addition I believe many cages could use.
The only caveat and why I gave it a 4 on pet satisfaction is I tried to use it for rats and they got out and never came back. I am not entirely sure how they did this but I suspect they pushed the roof up where it meets the walls and squeeze through, but I realize this was my fault for not buying a rat cage.
It's a beautiful strong cage with no distracting whorls, hearts etc. and I would definetely use it for a small bird if I were to ever have one. The price is always right.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.