petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petmate Purrforma Plus Self-Cleaning Litter Box with Hood

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Petmate Purrforma Plus Self-Cleaning Litter Box with Hood

Takes littercare out of your hands. Petmate Purrforma Self-cleaning litter appliance is the odor-free, hygienic, and easy way to maintain a clean litterbox for your cat. Automatically sifts waste into bag in odor-proof waste storage area. When full, just remove the bag and drop in the trash.
Average Customer Rating:
2.289 / 5
2.3
 / 
5
(45 Reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 45 reviews
5 stars
8
4 stars
4
3 stars
4
2 stars
6
1 star
23
13 out of 45(29%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Petmate Purrforma Plus Self-Cleaning Litter Box with Hood
Review 1 for Petmate Purrforma Plus Self-Cleaning Litter Box with Hood
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

petmate purrforma plus self-cleaning li

PostedNovember 19, 2005
Customer Avatar
from georgetown, delaware
I have purchased two purrforma litter boxes with hoods. the first purchase was the smaller version of the product. I was pleased with it but came to realize it was not filtering the litter often enough for multiple cats and the motor became loud while filtering. I gave this pan away and bought the larger self-cleaning litter box. Gigalo, Peanut, Moose, Moo-ow, Emily and I were very happy with this new box was very happy with this new litter box. FOR ABOUT ONE MONTH! I came home from work one day and heard the motor of the litter box running and thought the box was filtering. I returned to the same room later and it was still running. I checked the box to see what was wrong and found the rake stuck in the middle of the flter cycle (across the middle of the box). There was nothing in the box that the rake could jam on to cause a malfunction. The box was clean and the refuse bag was secure where it belonged. I unplugged the box for about 45 minutes. When I plugged the box in again I watched the cycle to see if it was going to work correctly. The rake moved from the position it was in when the last cycle stopped (it was in the middle of the box instead of the rear where it should have been)and proceeded to the front of the box. on the trip back towards the rear of the pan it stopped at the same place in the middle of the pan. The motor continued to run and was much louder than it should have been. The moral of this story is, "I am out of quite a bit of money, Jig and the girls are still doing their business and I am still scooping". So, will I buy this product again? No! The first purchase was a "want", the second purchase was "I have to have it". now it is "I can not afford another"! I love my cats but I also have two large dogs, four ferrets, a cockatiel, a rabbit, a horse and a pond full of fish that I am responsible for. I can not afford to buy expensive products for my extended family that are not going to last. Deborah K.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petmate Purrforma Plus Self-Cleaning Litter Box with Hood
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

What's That Smell???

PostedOctober 11, 2006
Customer Avatar
from North Texas
I purchased this litter box earlier this spring. Upon opening the box, I noticed a VERY STRONG odor coming from the litter box. I initially thought the odor would lessen after the litter box had been out of the shipping carton (smelled as if it had been sprayed by a SKUNK!); however after a couple of months the spare bedroom where the litter box was placed still smelled as if a skunk had taken up residence in it.
I called the manufacturer and was advised to "spray the unit with Febreeze". I asked if any other customers had called with this problem and was advised that they had. The Febreeze helped diffuse the smell problem for a couple of weeks, but it also left a film on the entire litter box (since Febreeze is meant to be sprayed on fabric which can absorb the product). In addition, one of my cats refused to use the litter box with the hood on. He was terrified of it, and it was only after I left the top off for a few weeks, then gradually added the cover first, then the clear blue top piece that he would use it. It was not that he was afraid of an automatic box - this was the third one I had used. I previously had the LitterMaid boxes with the tent covering, and after the second one broke decided to try this kind since the waste receptacle was larger. I was changing the LitterMaid every 2 to 3 days, so I thought a larger receptacle would be great, and it is. It is only necessary to change this one every week to ten days; that helps, considering that the entire thing has to be taken apart to change the receptacle.
The bottom line is, the box (and room) still have a skunk smell to them, and it is real pain to empty. Had I known the mess and odor this was going to be, I would have purchased another LitterMaid.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petmate Purrforma Plus Self-Cleaning Litter Box with Hood
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not worth the money

PostedDecember 19, 2005
Customer Avatar
from Sayville, NY
I bought this to cut down on odor and maintenance. It didn't cut down on either, and the maintenance became worse.
While my cat was fascinated with it, and would run to watch it every time it went off, would even climb inside while it was running (no, it didn't stop as they say it would), my cat would push almost all the litter out of the box (it would end up under the liner and around the waste bag, causing the unit to malfunction). She didn't have this tendency with regular litter boxes; I think because in a normal box you can put a decent amount of litter in the pan, with this, there wasn't enough litter for her to bury it enough to satisfy her.
The rake did not run smoothly, I constantly had to manipulate it in order to get it to finish a cycle, and because my cat has a tendency to spray to the side instead of straight down (which is why I purchased a hooded version), it took me a really long time to clean it each time. And because just emptying the bag didn't clean it, and litter was constantly getting in places where it shouldn't have, I ended up removing the litter and taking apart whole entire unit to clean it much more often than a regular, no-frills litter box. It's more difficult to clean than the no-frills kind because you have to be careful of the electrical parts.
I wish I could give it zero paws, but 1 paw is the lowest allowed.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petmate Purrforma Plus Self-Cleaning Litter Box with Hood
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Stay away from this product!

PostedJanuary 1, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Tallahassee, FL
I have two cats and purchased this product five months ago. Although I found the appliance accessories to be a bit pricey, I went ahead and purchased the product thinking it would make my life cleaning a litter box much easier. After the first week of using this product, I realized cleaning and maintenance of the Purrforma Plus Self-Cleaning Litter Box took longer than using a standard do-it-yourself litter box. After one month of use, the rake began struggling to move up the slope and back down again, and this "self-cleaning" litter box would malfunction every few hours and make lots of noise until I unplugged it, or cleaned it out completely. The headache and amount of time it would take for me to "manipulate" the product into working again is truly unacceptable given the amount of money paid for this product. The motor doesn't seem to be strong enough to move the rake (especially if the rake is pushing cat waste) and the slightest amount of litter out of place will cause the machine to jam up and stop working. As a last resort, I called the manufacturer and was told they could do nothing for me as the product had been used, and could not be returned. Do not purchase this product - it is not worth your money or time!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petmate Purrforma Plus Self-Cleaning Litter Box with Hood
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

The MONSTER In their Litterbox!!

PostedApril 21, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Michigan
My husband & I were so sick of scooping out the litter box at least twice-a-day with our 2 cats - that I asked my parents to get the Jumbo version for a Christmas present for us. Loved the concept - but it has since ended there. EVEN THOUGH THE SCOOPING TIMER IS ADJUSTABLE - I WAS UNDER THE IMPRESSION (from all the reviews I had read) THAT IT WAS TRIGGERED BY YOUR CAT -- AND NOT SIMPLY THAT THE TIMER MEANT THE BOX WOULD SCOOP ITSELF AUTOMATICALLY EVERY 10, 15 OR 20 MINUTES - ALL DAY LONG & ALL NIGHT LONG!!! THE MOTOR IS SO LOUD, WE CAN EASILY HEAR IT FROM IN THE BASEMENT & IT WAKES US UP.
PLUS - after 5-months of having the power shut-off, except when I purposely turn it on to cycle (otherwise it cycles every 20-minutes whether it's been used or not!) BOTH OF MY CATS STILL TRUELY THINK THERE IS A MONSTER IN THEIR LITTER BOX!! This has caused them to NOT use their litter period!!!!
At some point, I will definitely be trying the "Newest Improved competitor" - which IS activated after your cat leaves the box - But THE PURRFORMA JUMBO is going on the curb!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petmate Purrforma Plus Self-Cleaning Litter Box with Hood
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Stay away from this one!

PostedJune 26, 2006
Customer Avatar
from USA
This litter box is over priced for what they claim it will do. Doesn't work well. Broke after six months if you lost your receipt the company doesn't help you. Very nasty.
Anyone want a broken 200. litter box cheap? Litter goes between the tray and the waste box.Have to vacum all the time. They made changes but the new one lasted 5 minutes. Where you plug it in it was missing. This company has to rethink this box and make it better if they want to make customers happy. As fae as I am concerned. I am staying away from Petmate products. There PR stinks. Stay away from this one.Unless you want to throw away your money.
I went back to Littermate. My older box never had problems. I purschased there new one and I don't have to listen to it scoop all night as it has a timer for night time. I took the top from the broken Petmate and set it on top of the littermate and it works well. Also you can buy bags to fit the waste box scented and keep the cost down.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petmate Purrforma Plus Self-Cleaning Litter Box with Hood
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Only good in theory

PostedNovember 14, 2005
Customer Avatar
from Bronx, NY
This product is good in theory only. If you want to get a litterbox the better one to get is the littermaid automatic cat litter box. The problem with this box is that the waste bags are flimsy and they don't last for more than a day or maybe two if you are lucky the device that sifts through the litter and scoops up the waste ends up picking up most of the cat litter with it and dumping it all in the bag and whatever waste it did not get on the way back to its starting position it pushes it back behind the sifting device so that you have to start the cycle again to clean behind it. Also, this cat litter box is very messy. At the end of the day it seems as if there is more litter on the floor than in the cat box itself. Unlike, the littermaid this cat box does not come with a scooper nor a brush. I must say I am very disappointed and it is not worth the price. get the cheaper littermaid catbox.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petmate Purrforma Plus Self-Cleaning Litter Box with Hood
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not as Good as Other Auto Boxes

PostedNovember 29, 2005
Customer Avatar
from South Florida
We had problems with this litter tray from the very start. There are two sets of sensors inside the litter tray and in order for the tray to know a cat has used it, the cat must break both sensor beams for a minimum of 15 seconds. If you have a small cat, like we do who is in and out as fast as possible, that means it never triggers. When I spoke to the helpline at Petmate, their solution to this problem which they know about but havent fixed, was to use post-it notes to cover one set of sensors and to check the litter tray frequently which made this an automated litter tray that we checked more often than a manual tray. Not only does it not trigger very often, the rake gets clogged up very easily, far more than the Littermaid litter tray. although it was easier to clean and when it did work, it kept the smell down to a minimum. We now have a Litter Robot and are extremely happy with it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petmate Purrforma Plus Self-Cleaning Litter Box with Hood
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Ugh!

PostedFebruary 4, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Sacramento, CA
I bought this litter box with the thought it would make my life easier. I liked the idea that it had a hood, a disposable liner, and all the bells and whistles. Soon after setting it up, I realized how loud it was, when the motor ran every 20 minutes (the longest interval option). The first time I went to clean out the waste box (two days after it was purchased) I came to understand that the entire thing has to come apart to get to the "convenient waste bag." I then realized that the thin waste bags create a huge mess, as they easily rip when you try to remove them and don?t easily tie. The litter also gets under the pan liner, and the rake teeth are too wide, leaving behind most of the dirty clumps. I have found it impossible to clean this thing without donning thick rubber gloves. I have returned mine and gone back to my old-fashion hooded litter box!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petmate Purrforma Plus Self-Cleaning Litter Box with Hood
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Motor needs an upgrade

PostedAugust 28, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Sunnyvale, CA
The cat has no problems with this appliance whatsoever. We have used this machine now for 10 months. The first month was great, except for the fact that you have to buy special bags (I wish the makers would design them to use standard grocery bags) and the fact that all the scooped litter doesn't make it into the bag. You need to vacuum out the collection tray each week in order to remove the layer of litter. At least the large clumps get into the bag. I also find that small amounts of little finds their way below the litter pan as well.
As for the motor, that gets real tired after a month. It is not so quiet after the first month and actually wakes me up in the middle of the night even though its about 20 feet from out bedroom door. The motor now sounds quite pathetic straining to make its way through even clean and deposit free litter.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petmate Purrforma Plus Self-Cleaning Litter Box with Hood
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

UNSATISFIED CUSTOMER

PostedMarch 8, 2006
Customer Avatar
from WILTON MANORS, FLORIDA
I HAVE BOUGHT THREE PURRFORMA PLUS XTRA LARGE SELF CLEANING LITTERBOXES AND THE FIRST ONE BROKE WITHIN TWO WEEKS. I RETURNED THAT ONE AND BOUGHT TWO MORE. THE TWO NEW ONES LASTED ABOUT FOUR MONTHS. I HAVE BEEN USING THE EVER CLEAN PREMIUM CLUMPING CAT LITTER AND THE MACHINES HAVE ALL STARTED SKIPPING WITH THE SCOOPER BAR NOT MOVING. IT MAKES A LOUD CLICKING SOUND THAT WAKE ME UP IN THE MIDDLE OF THE NIGHT. I HAVE TAKEN THEM APART AND CLEANED AS SUGGESTED AND EVEN TRIED BLOWING OFF THE TRACK WITH THE AIR CAN USED TO CLEAN MY COMPUTOR KEYBOARD BUT NOTHING SEEM TO WORK. $200 DOLLARS IS A LOT OF MONEY TO SPEND ON A LITTERBOX THAT I STILL HAVE TO SCOOP ALL THE TIME. I'M SORRY TO SAY THAT I ALSO RECOMENDED IT TO A FRIEND WHO ALSO BOUGHT TWO AND THEY ARE BOTH NOT WORKING ALSO.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petmate Purrforma Plus Self-Cleaning Litter Box with Hood
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very cool

PostedDecember 21, 2005
Customer Avatar
from Queens, NY
This is my first indoor cat and we got him at 9 months so he is a little older. Nemo really loves this litter box. He likes to sit and watch it move.
The first time it cleaned he wentback inside; it didn't stop but it goes very slow so it could never really hurt him.
The machine is pretty impressive, it doesn't smell because of the cover/hood and filter. Also, the inside is very large and spacious; I was a little concerned that it would be very tight inside with the cover, but it really has a lot of space.
The machine itself is pretty large, and can be difficult to hide.
The main reason we got it was because we sometimes leave for 2 days and we want to make sure that who ever comes by to watch him won't have to clean anything. This machine is perfect for us!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petmate Purrforma Plus Self-Cleaning Litter Box with Hood
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

What a Pain!

PostedJune 19, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Plymouth,MA
As others, I purchased this litter box for my single cat. It was intended to make my life easier, not harder. It failed. The waste box is way too small. And more significantly, the rake is constantly getting hung up when the hood is on. This means a constant red warning light, the motor grinding to dislodge the rake (unsuccessfully), and waste being raked to the rear of the box. I am constantly trying to debug the problem and resolve with fixes. I called the company and they suggested cutting up the hood until the rake moves freely! Ya right! I told them I was not interested in voiding my warranty and cutting up a $200 new litterbox to make it work. I am returning to Petco because they are the only ones who will act on my issues.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petmate Purrforma Plus Self-Cleaning Litter Box with Hood
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Expencive, and get's more expencive...

PostedFebruary 4, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Kadena Air Base, Okinawa Japan
I bought this for my mother while she watches my cat (bringing the total number of cats to 3). She loved it at first, but soon she was buying new bags, and changing them out on a daily basis.
If they ever produce another version of this litter box, I would HIGHLY suggest they make the waste receptical larger, and use a washable/reusable container for waste collection.
Maybe for single cat housholds this box is adiquate, but for multiple cat houses, stick with the grand large pu-ba box and scoob away.
P.S. This is the second electric self cleaning litter box I've purchased. The old one I had wasn't "too" bad, but still, it got messy, was expencive, and had to be changed much more than a regular box.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petmate Purrforma Plus Self-Cleaning Litter Box with Hood
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not worth the money

PostedJanuary 26, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Kansas City, MO
I purchased the litter box because I liked the idea of not having to scoop the litter everyday. The motor is not capable of raking through two cats worth of waste, therefore, I was tending to the litter box everyday. When you can spend $20 on a normal litter box, there's no need to spend $200 when you have to mess with both of them everyday. I purchased mine in April 2005 and after a couple of months the motor stopped working. I sent it to the manufacturer who ended up sending me a new one but it's been acting up as well. I do not recommend buying this item, especially if you have more than one cat. The manufacturer told me their product could be used by multiple cats, but the motor can't handle it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petmate Purrforma Plus Self-Cleaning Litter Box with Hood
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

my cats love it!!! :}

PostedFebruary 14, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Calamus, IA
WOW I never seen anything like this. I love it. For 2 cats a being ago sometimes works great. this machine is the best thing ever. I did shop around i was going for the litter maid we looked at it. and it wasn't big enough for a very large cat. so we went with this one instead and i'm gald we did. I think it was worth the money and yes i would recommened this or buy another one. it's easy to maitain. and large for our cat too. we have two of them and keeping it clean before was a hassel now it's easy. and easy for my husband when i get pregnant so he don't have to do a whole lot! my cats love it some much and the hood is a great feature.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petmate Purrforma Plus Self-Cleaning Litter Box with Hood
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Great idea poorly executed...

PostedFebruary 11, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Roanoke Va
The quality of the product is the best of all as far as assembly and materials. (It should be at twice the competitors price) the motor is much quieter than the competitors and the removable rake is a definite plus. Unfortunately the receptacle bags are too small, difficult to install, and the prices for the bags and liners are outrageous. The liners also tend to hang on the rake at the receptacle lip causing it to stall and fail in the clean cycle. In the competitors box I was able to change the plastic receptacle about once a week. This one must be changed every 3 days. I will definitely NOT be buying another.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petmate Purrforma Plus Self-Cleaning Litter Box with Hood
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

good product but 2 have broken on me

PostedOctober 30, 2006
Customer Avatar
from New York, NY
I am very pleased with the product idea, and have grown dependant on it because it lets me get away with only cleaning every two weeks or so but I am about to purchase my 3rd machine because they eventually wear out and break in under 15 months. The rake doesn't always do a complete cycle - often catching mysteriously and freezing and doesn't always function as smoothly as advertised. The entire machine has frozen now and I'm replacing purforma number 2. Buyer be warned -- but then again, I'm about to buy my 3rd because it's better than a traditional littler box for me.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petmate Purrforma Plus Self-Cleaning Litter Box with Hood
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Purrforma Litter Box

PostedDecember 20, 2005
Customer Avatar
from Florida
I have owned 5 littermaid automatic litter boxes and they have never lasted more than 6 months. I have 2 broke right now. I bought the jumbo purrforma and LOVE IT. It is so much better made than the littermaid. It is of so much better quality and design. I was amazed at how quiet it was. The cats were skeptical at first but they can sense change too. After a couple of days they were fine. I am so happy I purchase this product and would recommend it to anyone. I intened on buying another one since I have 3 cats and we keep 2 litter boxes for them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petmate Purrforma Plus Self-Cleaning Litter Box with Hood
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Petmate Purrforma litter box

PostedOctober 20, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Biddeford, Maine
I bought the petmate Purrforma self cleaning litter box about 6 weeks ago, and I am not impressed! First of all, it is expensive, it requires alot of accessories to maintain, and you have to buy specific litter, which is also expensive. I would not mind the extra cost if it worked as well as it is supposed to. I thought with 2 cats it would be much better than a traditional litter box, but unfortunately it is not. I will probably go back to a simple litter box once I use up all of the litter and liners that I have already purchased.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>