petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Pet Tags Remote Dog Trainer

Pet Tags Remote Dog Trainer

An effective alternative to other electronic training productsTwo correction modes; sound or vibrationTwo training modes; manual or automaticLow, medium, and high levels allow it to be customized to your dogAdjustable nylon collar with plastic quick release claspFree instructional DVD included
Average Customer Rating:
3.426 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(54 Reviews) 54
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 54 reviews
5 stars
24
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
17
35 out of 54(65%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
18 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer Reviews for Pet Tags Remote Dog Trainer
Review 1 for Pet Tags Remote Dog Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Effective and Humane

PostedJanuary 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Richmond, VA
Our dog is very well behaved, but he sometimes begs for food and jumps on visitors out of excitement. He also cannot be trusted to be outside off-leash because his beagle nose controls his every move. We got this collar to use over the holiday break while we visited family, and it was the best pet purchase we've ever made. Just one click of the beep button alerts our 1.5 year old beagle/shepherd that he is misbehaving. He stopped begging almost completely during our visit, even with 30 family members around all eating food. If we pushed it when a new guest arrived, he immediately sat down on his bed or blanket and waited for the person to enter before greeting them, and even then he didn't jump up. We decided that it was going so well we would try the collar outside, and sure enough as soon as he started to try to wander, we pushed the button and he was right by our side. We've had this for about 2 months now and it has significantly improved our dog's obedience. HIGHLY recommended.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+71points
95of 119voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Pet Tags Remote Dog Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Barking Dog

PostedNovember 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Himble, TX
I purchased the collar to stop my dog from barking for no reason. Inside my house I let her bark but when she is in the backyard and barking for no reason I use the short vibrate mode. When she barks I push the vibrate button on the remote control. It really gets her attention and she stops barking. I have not needed to use the sound function. I feel that she will be trained in a week or two. When I purchased the collar I thought it was automatic meaning that when the dog barked it would automatically vibrate or emit a sound. That is not the case. I'm actually glad that it is not automatic in that respect. I have full control as to when it is activated. I'm very happy with the product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Pet Tags Remote Dog Trainer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very helpful

PostedOctober 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Nokomis FL
Product works very well, great alternative for dog owners who do not wish to shock their dogs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Pet Tags Remote Dog Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product. It Works without shocking the dog

PostedOctober 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles, CA
I was struggling with 2 things with my dog. She gets so excited when people come over she jumps on them and licks them to death, and the neighbor dog taught her to howl. The first time I used this on vibrate, she did freak out a little bit. Not because of intensity but just didn't know where this was coming from. It had 4 friends come over, about 30 minutes apart. It took 3 vibrates on the first friend, 2 vibrates on the 2nd friend. 1 on the third, 0 on the fourth friend. As for the howling, the first time i caught her howling, one she stops immediately. She hasn't stopped completely, but I've only used it twice and I am waiting to see what comes next. Best of all, it does not shock the dog at all.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Pet Tags Remote Dog Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

works fantastic!!!

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Bethany, CT
I have a 2 year old PitBull who I can't control when people come to the house. He gets extremely overwhelmed and excited and barks and jumps at the door. All I have to do is push the sound button & he instantly calms down. I don't have a fenced in yard and can't trust him outside to stay in the yard, so now as soon as I hit the beep he turns around and comes right back. This product saved my insanity especially because I have a toddler running around and a newborn on the way. It helps snap him out of the excitement!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Pet Tags Remote Dog Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedSeptember 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
from coconut creek,fl
We had a huge barking problem with our little 13 lb dog & got a static bark control collar. The first & only time we tried it, he started barking & got the shock of his life. He yelped in pain & looked so forlorn that we were in tears to what we had done to our pooch & immediately returned it. Then we found the Pet Tags Remote trainer with only vibration & sound. It worked immediately with no pain. We have only used the sound & love the fact that we can stop him remotely. Now we just keep the collar in our pocket & use the remote when we need to stop him from barking or scuffing or to come. Works every time. Highly recommend this.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Pet Tags Remote Dog Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great!!!

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Huntington Beach, Ca
We purchased the remote dog trainer because, although my dog is friendly, with some dogs she pulls very hard and barks very loudly. I wanted a remote collar that I could control and would not be set off by random sounds. I wanted vibration for redirection rather than a shock and if that didn't work to follow up with ultrasonic redirection. The first time we used it was on a road trip in a motel. People would walk by our room to get to theirs. My dog would bark to alert us, she is a protect the perimeter kind of dog. Anyway, we used the vibration mode only twice and she did not bark again at passers by. Very Satisfied with our purchase!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Pet Tags Remote Dog Trainer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good, easy to use

PostedAugust 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from New York, NY
the product works well, be careful as the buttons will get pushed by itself if you leave it in your pockets, it takes a very soft touch to push the buttons
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Pet Tags Remote Dog Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

WORKED REALLY WELL!

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Detroit, Mi
I have 2 dogs, both rescues. My larger dog (47 lbs.) failed obedience training 3 times. She could stop barking and going after other dogs. This product worked great! I put it on her and after just a couple times using it, she has almost completely stopped barking when other dogs walk by. I love that it's not shock and just a vibrate and sound. I'm loving it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Pet Tags Remote Dog Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Product

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Waimea HI
Received a week ago and achieved good results with basic training like to control barking with several of our dogs. Unit can be used to train dogs for other basic commands.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Pet Tags Remote Dog Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Training My Lady

PostedMay 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Rome, NY
I was apprehensive about using a training collar; however, after a great deal of research- this collar proved to be the product I was looking for. It only offers gentle vibration for training purposes, and a deterrent sound for dangerous situations. My Lady has responded well to the vibration on low setting (I haven't had to adjust this at all). Might I add Lady Lovington is a pit bull mix puppy with a great deal of spunk- this collar is amazing- I can now walk her on a leash without any issues. I would most definitely recommend this product to anyone wanting to train his or her pet without the cruelty of shock therapy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Pet Tags Remote Dog Trainer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Absolutely Worthless

PostedMay 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Nebraska
Complete waste of money. Has no effect on our German Shepard puppy whatsoever. Just another in a long line of worthless purchases from Petco. Last product I will ever buy there.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
10of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Pet Tags Remote Dog Trainer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great, but could be fabulous with one improvement

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from central california
I was certainly skeptical when I bought this. But I am so glad I did! The instructional DVD was perfect in explaining exactly how to use it. I have had much success with our 7 month old Lab listening to me now. She listens better when she's wearing this collar, obviously. It will be a process to fade it out. It has helped with "Leave it", "come" and "off". So glad I purchased this. Now my husband and I can tolerate her a lot more. She's actually pleasantly submissive now. The one improvement I would suggest to the maker...If I put the remote in my pocket and lean on something, it buzzes her. A cover over the buttons or a tighter spring on them would solve this problem
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Pet Tags Remote Dog Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Accomplished my goal!

PostedJanuary 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
from houston, tx
I adopted a rescue dog who is part lab part border collie when she was about 2 years old. Wonderful dog and great pet except for one issue. Love to take her to the dog park and she loved going and running with the other dogs. However if there was a submissive dog who she ran with she would occasionally become worked up and start biting at their neck. at that point I had difficulty controlling or even grabbing her. this was an occasional problem but I needed something to stop this behavior. This product was the answer to my prayers. I only had to use it a couple of times and now she totally avoids those situations and comes when I call her. I highly recommend this training collar.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Pet Tags Remote Dog Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than I expected!!! I don't know why I didn't get this sooner!!!!

PostedJanuary 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
from New York
Every time he went outside he went into a crazy barking fit at absolutely nothing. Three days is all it took to break him and I haven't heard a peep out of him since. I feel like I have a new dog now. I choose to use the remote only rather than the automatic because I feel some barking is still good like when we're playing or when theres a stranger at the door. Great product I absolutely recommend it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Pet Tags Remote Dog Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this collar!

PostedNovember 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
from New York
I bought this collar for my 10 yr old shepherd/cattle dog mix who is obedience trained. We go for long walks in the woods. Once she gets a scent she runs off into the woods and will not come back, despite her obedience training. I didn't want a shock collar so I thought this would be a good choice. It works so well and she responds immediately. It only took me 1/2 day to train her with it. Most of the time I only have to say "here' and she is by my side like velcro. I hardly ever have to "buzz" her. Charging the collar is easy...just turn on the collar and plug it into the charging unit ...it charges pretty quickly. The charge lasts a long time...we use the collar every morning in the park. GREAT BUY!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Pet Tags Remote Dog Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great collar

PostedOctober 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Del City, OK
I bought this collar to get my dog to quit barking at the tv. It has been great. It's helped out a lot. The battery has lasted for at least 2-3 days before I have to recharge it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Pet Tags Remote Dog Trainer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Doesn't work consistently

PostedOctober 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Knoxville,TN
I was so excited to receive the training vibration collar. It was easy to charge up and I love the light weight of it, however it does not work half the time, even when fully charged. I am sooo disappointed, returning today.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Pet Tags Remote Dog Trainer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't waste your $$

PostedSeptember 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Ma
Bought this one not sure what online place I got it from but don't waste your $$. Mine didn't last more than 1 week also I have a big yard and the pooch goes further than the remote reaches. I had to wait but I went and got one that is called SportDog and it is a lot more $$ but not a disappointment at all and reaches 1/4mile. (30 feet isn't much when your pet is outside unless to have him/her on a long leash)
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Pet Tags Remote Dog Trainer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

works well with caveat

PostedApril 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
from cape cod
I am writing this review strictly on the piece of equipment, not how well it has trained my dog. One thing that needs to be addressed (which is a bit of false advertising on Pettags behalf), is that the collar piece does have a rechargeable battery, HOWEVER, the remote control does not. It takes a 23V which is not rechargeable and hard to find. I found it at my local hardware store and also online. I thought the thing was defective until I realized that the battery that came with the remote, was dead. I bought a battery at the store and that died within a week, so I’m hoping that was a bad batch and I won’t have that issue in the future. That being said and once I got the battery situation figured out, this thing works great. I have a very long haired, dense coated Pyr/collie/65lb mix and the tone and vibration worked perfectly. Actually so much, so that it freaked him out. So, as an alternative to something that hurts them, I highly recommend this.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>