petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Pet Tags Remote Dog Trainer

Pet Tags Remote Dog Trainer

An effective alternative to other electronic training productsTwo correction modes; sound or vibrationTwo training modes; manual or automaticLow, medium, and high levels allow it to be customized to your dogAdjustable nylon collar with plastic quick release claspFree instructional DVD included
Average Customer Rating:
3.369 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(65 Reviews) 65
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 65 reviews
5 stars
27
4 stars
12
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
20
40 out of 65(62%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
23 Questions | 24 Answers
Customer Reviews for Pet Tags Remote Dog Trainer
Review 1 for Pet Tags Remote Dog Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Effective and Humane

PostedJanuary 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Richmond, VA
Our dog is very well behaved, but he sometimes begs for food and jumps on visitors out of excitement. He also cannot be trusted to be outside off-leash because his beagle nose controls his every move. We got this collar to use over the holiday break while we visited family, and it was the best pet purchase we've ever made. Just one click of the beep button alerts our 1.5 year old beagle/shepherd that he is misbehaving. He stopped begging almost completely during our visit, even with 30 family members around all eating food. If we pushed it when a new guest arrived, he immediately sat down on his bed or blanket and waited for the person to enter before greeting them, and even then he didn't jump up. We decided that it was going so well we would try the collar outside, and sure enough as soon as he started to try to wander, we pushed the button and he was right by our side. We've had this for about 2 months now and it has significantly improved our dog's obedience. HIGHLY recommended.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+87points
117of 147voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Pet Tags Remote Dog Trainer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

remote doggie trainer flawed

PostedAugust 30, 2015
Customer Avatar
from winder,ga
The back cover and battery fell off. No battery information provided.. frustrating...too expensive to break after 2 walks.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Pet Tags Remote Dog Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great!

PostedAugust 7, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Ann Arbor, MI
My dogs use to drive me nuts barking at anybody that walked by the house. With the collars on, they are like different dogs. They hardly bark at all and when they do, I push the button on the remote and they stop immediately. The great thing about it is it doesn't hurt them, usually the sound is enough to stop them, if not then the vibration will. Also now I can take them out in the yard without a leash. If they wander too far away, I give them a little beep or vibration and they come running.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Pet Tags Remote Dog Trainer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works great

PostedJuly 9, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Orlando FL
Excellent but the DVD will not open in my laptop (Windows Vista), they should offer a downloading version. I only use it on remote and to avoid my little dog from running away. She is well trained but enjoys hunting lizards and takes off then hides in the bushes, never lets me catch her. Now with this collar is easy to find her when I sound the alarm and it startles her enough to stop her from running. She is learning that when it sounds she returns to me then gets a treat! Not sure if the auto mode would work for barking though but this is a great alternative to a shock collar as long as you are within range.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Pet Tags Remote Dog Trainer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

doesn't work!

PostedJune 14, 2015
Customer Avatar
from ohio
Bought this in hopes it would get our labradoodle to stop nipping and jumping. After 2 days he is just annoyed, but doesn't stop behavior. WASTE OF MONEY!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Pet Tags Remote Dog Trainer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Dog Trainer

PostedJune 1, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Laredo, TX
This unit is definitely not made for small dogs. No where was this ever stated. It is made for large dogs. Returned unit to store.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Pet Tags Remote Dog Trainer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not impressed

PostedApril 22, 2015
Customer Avatar
For the price I paid it would have been nice to have been able to use it for more than a year. I only use it every few months to retrain her and I pulled it out to use and even with new battery and fully charged doesn't work. Very disappointed.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Pet Tags Remote Dog Trainer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't Bother

PostedApril 11, 2015
Customer Avatar
Very disappointed in this product. Followed the instructions to no avail. Six month old puppy paid no attention to the sound or vibration. We had more success spraying her with a water bottle.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
2of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Pet Tags Remote Dog Trainer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works Well, Not the Highest Quality

PostedMarch 31, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Seattle WA
The two correction types (vibration/sound) work better for my softer dog than a shock collar would, but I wish the remote had a lock setting because I've hit the buttons a number of times by accident. The unit holds its charge well but I haven't had it that long. I'm interested to see how the collar holds up over time--both physically and electronically.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Pet Tags Remote Dog Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

pet tag e-collar

PostedMarch 13, 2015
Customer Avatar
from bremerton, WA
it works well with the right training. one of my Rottweilers caught on real quick. the other 4 are still apprehensive, but everyday training with the e-collar will work for commands.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Pet Tags Remote Dog Trainer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

this product didn't work

PostedFebruary 6, 2015
Customer Avatar
U watched the DVD and did exactly as it told me, but when it cane time to try it out. It worked for annoy and hour and it never vibrated or made a noise anymore. I took it off my puppy and let it charged over night then the next morning I still couldn't get it to work so I went to store and bought new batteries. To my surprise this thing still HAS NOT worked. So tomorrow I'm taking it 78 miles to the nearest petco to return it. A waste of my money and time.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Pet Tags Remote Dog Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing product!!

PostedDecember 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Sioux Falls, SD
This has been an amazing training tool for us! We have a 9 month old goldendiodle who was very hyper and not a great listener. Since this collar she seems like a differnt dog and I love that it doesn't hurt/zap her. The vibration gets our dogs attention instantly! We have never had to go beyond the low level. She is listening so much better and not barking constantly. I highly recommend this product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
7of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Pet Tags Remote Dog Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Barking Dog

PostedNovember 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Himble, TX
I purchased the collar to stop my dog from barking for no reason. Inside my house I let her bark but when she is in the backyard and barking for no reason I use the short vibrate mode. When she barks I push the vibrate button on the remote control. It really gets her attention and she stops barking. I have not needed to use the sound function. I feel that she will be trained in a week or two. When I purchased the collar I thought it was automatic meaning that when the dog barked it would automatically vibrate or emit a sound. That is not the case. I'm actually glad that it is not automatic in that respect. I have full control as to when it is activated. I'm very happy with the product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+4points
12of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Pet Tags Remote Dog Trainer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very helpful

PostedOctober 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Nokomis FL
Product works very well, great alternative for dog owners who do not wish to shock their dogs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Pet Tags Remote Dog Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product. It Works without shocking the dog

PostedOctober 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles, CA
I was struggling with 2 things with my dog. She gets so excited when people come over she jumps on them and licks them to death, and the neighbor dog taught her to howl. The first time I used this on vibrate, she did freak out a little bit. Not because of intensity but just didn't know where this was coming from. It had 4 friends come over, about 30 minutes apart. It took 3 vibrates on the first friend, 2 vibrates on the 2nd friend. 1 on the third, 0 on the fourth friend. As for the howling, the first time i caught her howling, one she stops immediately. She hasn't stopped completely, but I've only used it twice and I am waiting to see what comes next. Best of all, it does not shock the dog at all.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
12of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Pet Tags Remote Dog Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

works fantastic!!!

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Bethany, CT
I have a 2 year old PitBull who I can't control when people come to the house. He gets extremely overwhelmed and excited and barks and jumps at the door. All I have to do is push the sound button & he instantly calms down. I don't have a fenced in yard and can't trust him outside to stay in the yard, so now as soon as I hit the beep he turns around and comes right back. This product saved my insanity especially because I have a toddler running around and a newborn on the way. It helps snap him out of the excitement!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Pet Tags Remote Dog Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedSeptember 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
from coconut creek,fl
We had a huge barking problem with our little 13 lb dog & got a static bark control collar. The first & only time we tried it, he started barking & got the shock of his life. He yelped in pain & looked so forlorn that we were in tears to what we had done to our pooch & immediately returned it. Then we found the Pet Tags Remote trainer with only vibration & sound. It worked immediately with no pain. We have only used the sound & love the fact that we can stop him remotely. Now we just keep the collar in our pocket & use the remote when we need to stop him from barking or scuffing or to come. Works every time. Highly recommend this.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Pet Tags Remote Dog Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great!!!

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Huntington Beach, Ca
We purchased the remote dog trainer because, although my dog is friendly, with some dogs she pulls very hard and barks very loudly. I wanted a remote collar that I could control and would not be set off by random sounds. I wanted vibration for redirection rather than a shock and if that didn't work to follow up with ultrasonic redirection. The first time we used it was on a road trip in a motel. People would walk by our room to get to theirs. My dog would bark to alert us, she is a protect the perimeter kind of dog. Anyway, we used the vibration mode only twice and she did not bark again at passers by. Very Satisfied with our purchase!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Pet Tags Remote Dog Trainer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good, easy to use

PostedAugust 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from New York, NY
the product works well, be careful as the buttons will get pushed by itself if you leave it in your pockets, it takes a very soft touch to push the buttons
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Pet Tags Remote Dog Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

WORKED REALLY WELL!

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Detroit, Mi
I have 2 dogs, both rescues. My larger dog (47 lbs.) failed obedience training 3 times. She could stop barking and going after other dogs. This product worked great! I put it on her and after just a couple times using it, she has almost completely stopped barking when other dogs walk by. I love that it's not shock and just a vibrate and sound. I'm loving it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>