petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sentry Pro XFT Squeeze-On Dog Flea & Tick Treatment

Sentry Pro XFT Squeeze-On Dog Flea & Tick Treatment

Effective and easy to useKills and repels fleas in as little as 1 hourKills ticks in as little as 3 hoursKills fleas, ticks, flea eggs & larvaeControls reinfestation for up to 9 weeksQuick drying, fragrance free formulaDogs can be bathed 24-hours after squeeze-on is applied
Average Customer Rating:
1.667 / 5
1.7
 / 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
5 stars
2
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
10
2 out of 12(17%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Sentry Pro XFT Squeeze-On Dog Flea & Tick Treatment
Review 1 for Sentry Pro XFT Squeeze-On Dog Flea & Tick Treatment
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not recommended

PostedJune 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
TexasMo
from Texas
We bought this as something to use in between getting our prescription refilled from our vet. Big mistake. It's cheap for a reason. We followed the directions and put it on properly but HOURS later, their back was still SOAKING with the stuff. One of our dogs had a terrible skin irritation and he was not happy. We ended up giving all the dogs a bath because we realized it was just a no good product. Even after giving them a bath, they were scratching and extremely uncomfortable because of how badly the product irritated their skin. Definitely not recommended.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sentry Pro XFT Squeeze-On Dog Flea & Tick Treatment
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

FAILED PRODUCT

PostedFebruary 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
Lady5
from El Mirage, Arizona
Need to do more research on this product! This product (Sentry Pro) has failed.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sentry Pro XFT Squeeze-On Dog Flea & Tick Treatment
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poison to dogs

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
sharowna
from california
My poor golden is out of her mind! She's been agitated and miserable for 2 days. We finally looked up this garbage and found many many reviews that say the same thing about this product. DON'T USE IT!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sentry Pro XFT Squeeze-On Dog Flea & Tick Treatment
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible!

PostedAugust 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
lizzzzwho
from Portland, OR
Do NOT buy this product! After two days, my dog still has fleas, and she's actually worse off than before we used it. Her skin, gums, eyes, and the inside of her ears are red and inflamed. She's very agitated and appears to be in pain, constantly scratching and licking herself. Spend the extra money and stick to the better-established brands. I wish I had never put this stuff on my poor pup.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sentry Pro XFT Squeeze-On Dog Flea & Tick Treatment
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

yeah right

PostedMay 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
hammy02
from ocala,fl
i used this on my dog and a week later he still has fleas...does not work as it claims
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sentry Pro XFT Squeeze-On Dog Flea & Tick Treatment
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Awful, Awful, Awful

PostedApril 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
megs2206
from Missouri
I am not usually one to complain, but I am simply doing so to get the word out. This product did absolutely terrible to my Toy Poodle. His skin is so red and so itchy/sensitive that he yelps when I even touch it. Moreover, my 65 pound Akita didn't even take to this stuff. She has been rolling on her back, scratching like crazy because of this stuff. I threw all the boxes away, and I just bought them two days ago. I will never buy this product again for as long as I live. Don't get me wrong, I'm sure it works on some dogs, but the bad seems to outweigh the good in this situation. Shame on me for not doing my research, I suppose. Just thought something like this would not be sold!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sentry Pro XFT Squeeze-On Dog Flea & Tick Treatment
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Sentry Pro XFT

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
creyn
from California
Do not buy it. take it off the market please. very painful to the dogs.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+12points
13of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sentry Pro XFT Squeeze-On Dog Flea & Tick Treatment
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Didn't work

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
1harley
from ohio
It has been 2 days and the dog still has fleas. Seems to have done nothing. Now I read here some advise to wait another month!! Poor dog will be bald and one huge scab by then. Gonna have to do something else soon. This problem has cost me $100 now.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sentry Pro XFT Squeeze-On Dog Flea & Tick Treatment
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Saves us money!

PostedJune 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
petmom17
from Virginia
We have 7 dogs and 3 cats in my home who receive Sentry products monthly. These products do what they are supposed to when used properly. My animals do not have problems with fleas or ticks at all if I apply this every 4 weeks. We have used several other brands before and have had issues even with name brands from our vet.
This product really is wonderful if you apply it following these simple rules.
-WAIT 72 HOURS after a bath to apply this product and 72 hours after application to allow the animal near water.
-BE SURE THE PRODUCT REACHES THE SKIN of your pet. Tap the top of the packet to ensure it is empty that you do not lose medication when you cut it open. These products absorb into the skin, so treating the fur does no good. We have found that applying it from the shoulder blades up to the neck is much more effective than the instructions on the box.
-DO NOT EXPECT MIRACLES. If your pet is completely covered, it is best to wash the animal in original Dawn dish soap prior to application or to use a product such as CapStar when applying this product. By the time these remedies fade, this product kicks in.
-USE THE PRODUCT REGULARLY. If you do not use the product every 4 weeks, you will begin to have issues with fleas and ticks again. It isn't worth compromising the health of your animal not to treat them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
7of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sentry Pro XFT Squeeze-On Dog Flea & Tick Treatment
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

DOES NOT Work!!

PostedMay 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
KahluaMarie28
from Spring, Tx
My labrador retriever got fleas we applied the product exactly as the package said and it has now been two days and she still has fleas. I called my vet and they now say not to buy another topical ointment because double dosing can cause harm to the dog. Now I have to get a prescription for pill form. I tried to save money, but it ended up costing me more in the long run!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sentry Pro XFT Squeeze-On Dog Flea & Tick Treatment
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good product

PostedFebruary 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
LoveMyPittbull
This product has worked very well for my dog. She had a pretty serious case of fleas when we adopted her, and after a bath with flea shampoo, we applied this to kill off any remaining fleas and keep her from getting more. We haven't seen any fleas on her since.
In response to the other review of this product saying that it didn't work: Dogs usually have an allergic reaction to fleas, and your dog will likely still be itchy for several days after all of the fleas have died (and longer if the dog isn't bathed to remove the fleas and their eggs and feces). If you have a dog with a lot of fleas, I suggest giving them a bath with flea shampoo, and then applying this product. That would be the fastest way to get your dog feeling better.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sentry Pro XFT Squeeze-On Dog Flea & Tick Treatment
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Waste of money

PostedJuly 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Xymoxpm
from New Milford, CT
I purchased this for my dog, who happened to get infested with fleas. The package says that it would start killing the fleas in one hour. It has been over 48 hours and she is still scratching and biting. Save your money and get something else. This is a waste of time, money and a discomfort for your dog.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
10of 14voted this as helpful.