petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Precision Pet Outback Country Lodges

Precision Pet Outback Country Lodges

It's the perfect outdoor shelter for your dogWooden dog house features solid wood construction and easy assemblySturdy and all-weather outdoor dog house has waterproof leg protectors along with a raised floor that keeps your pet dry during wet weatherAlso includes convenient adjustable feet and weatherproof roof liner for added pet protection
Average Customer Rating:
4.243 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(74 Reviews) 74
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 74 reviews
5 stars
46
4 stars
17
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
8
63 out of 74(85%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for Precision Pet Outback Country Lodges
Review 1 for Precision Pet Outback Country Lodges
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Dog houses

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Tejas
Nice dog houses. Not the sturdiest, but my dogs love their houses. Wood smells great also, smells like cedar. One of the top panels came in cracked (will call for a new one soon). But I was able to do a quick fix with a screw. My dogs are 13 pounds and 16 pounds and both fit nicely with enough room for the small dog houses. Overall, worth the buy!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Precision Pet Outback Country Lodges
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Dog house

PostedJune 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Massachusetts
I am pleased with the product itself, but very unhappy at the condition in which it arrived. Even tho the pieces were well packed and wrapped, several of the wooden sections were split and broken. Am an old woman 77 yrs old, and couldn't face the job of repacking and returning the heavy box, so took out my elmer's glue at least a dozen wood clamps and my staple gun and made the repairs needed to complete the project. Hopefully my repairs will be sufficient to use the dog house for years, manybe longer than I will live.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Precision Pet Outback Country Lodges
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy to put together

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from LA,CA
So excited to receive the box containing the pieces to build this house for my dog. Had a very strong odor of wood and chemicals so left it outside for a few days before I attempted to put it together. Men of the house too busy to help so I proceeded to do it myself. Following the instructions and with all the appropriate nails and screws supplied I lost myself for a few hours enjoying the challenge of actually building something and seeing it all come together. What fun! Very easy and simple, well explained. Loved the finished product looks great on our small patio, just wish the dog would enjoy it as much. So far he just goes in and comes straight out, not sure if it is because it still has quite a strong odor to it inside.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Precision Pet Outback Country Lodges
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Dog House

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
The house was shipped with a broken piece. I was able to repair it myself. Item is not very sturdy.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Precision Pet Outback Country Lodges
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just Right!

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Bay Shore, Long Island, NY
I bought this dog house for a feral cat that lives in my yard. It was easy to assemble - all the holes matched up! The construction is good, love the extra features (rubber tips on legs, roof ridge). It is just perfect for my outdoor stray. her bed fits in and she loves it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Precision Pet Outback Country Lodges
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

many cracked pieces

PostedDecember 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Atlanta, GA
I got this little house today from UPS, when I unpacked the parts from the shipping box, I also found several panels with cracked pieces.
First, the top black piece that connects the two roof pieces was cracked on one end(same here). Second, both of roof panel were cracked on both end. I had to spend one hour to get all cracked pieces fixed myself before put everything together. The house looks fine, if without cracked pieces would be good.
I ordered a small for my feral cat, this is my second cat house for my feral cats. First one been three years still good now. I don't know how long this one would be last?
I also cut a piece of wood put it on the entrance to make the door smaller. I had done this for my first cats house before. It worked for feral cats for three years now. I hope they like the second new house too.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Precision Pet Outback Country Lodges
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sturdy

PostedOctober 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
from San Diego, CA
I ordered a Medium for my 2 Chiweenies and it's more than adequate, I don't know if the Small would have been just fine as I ordered online. The house itself is sturdy enough so far, it was easy to put together, took about 20 minutes. However, since the wood is a little thin, the top black piece that connects the two roof pieces was cracked on one end. It screws into the roof itself so it should be fine, but I was hoping for no cracked pieces, as some reviewers had noted. Otherwise it's good.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Precision Pet Outback Country Lodges
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Cheap material and poor quality

PostedMay 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
from N California
As my son and I unpacked the parts from the shipping box we found several of the panels with cracked pieces. I opted to use some wood glue and brads to patch things together rather than try to return it.
In addition to the cracked pieces, there was also a roof panel who's cross brace was misaligned and needed to be trimmed in order to get it to fit properly. Finally, some of the screw holes did not align with the support piece beneath it.
This house would best be used under a covered porch as it will not hold up in any kind of wet weather.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Precision Pet Outback Country Lodges
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Junk

PostedDecember 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Vacaville, ca
Ordered online, product description is not true. Cheap wood, doesn't seem like it would last outside in weather. It's such solid wood, it showed up broken in several places.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Precision Pet Outback Country Lodges
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good value when on sale

PostedOctober 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
from san diego
bought this for my small dog, he loves it despite the strong wood smell initially. Easy to assemble. good price on sale.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Precision Pet Outback Country Lodges
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Happy Camper

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Dalton, Ga
Purchased this Dog House so my Baby could get in it when I was away at work since he liked to hide when I was gone. It worked he is Happy now. I even put it together myself in less than 30 minutes.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Precision Pet Outback Country Lodges
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

pretty house & reasonable price

PostedJuly 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Buford, GA
It's perfect except one thing: it's not water proof. You will need to buy blinds for the door and find a way to insulate the whole house. Since it's summer right now, it's easy to fix.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Precision Pet Outback Country Lodges
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome

PostedApril 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
from oceanside ca
I thought it would be small (so I said oh man another thing I ordered wrong) but it is perfect! I have a beagle and when I get home from work he is passed out inside the house hahaha. And building it was simple my favorite part was opening the box and smelling that fresh wood ! Over all opinion it is worth every dime ! I love it! Excellent in rainy weather it doesn't get wet inside but just in case ill buy a door in case of storms. Buy it now and stop looking for other houses !
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Precision Pet Outback Country Lodges
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

As Described

PostedApril 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Tolland, Ma
nicely built works well, We are using in outdoor kennel for my Two Chinese Crested dogs (10 lbs each)
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Precision Pet Outback Country Lodges
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Product flawed

PostedMarch 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Ohio
After open the box, the last panel from left wall is broken from the screw nails they put. It's too obvious and I don't understand why they still let it go out from factory. It's hassle to call them to make an exchange so I just glued them myself. Will never buy anything from them.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
7of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Precision Pet Outback Country Lodges
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Doghouse for the price

PostedFebruary 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Long Island, N.Y.
Fast shipping, easy to assemble, and a really good looking unit for the price!!! I was not sure what to expect after reading some of the reviews. But I could not be happier with this dog house! I got the medium size for my mini schnauzer Fritz and it gives him more than enough room to hang out and even play with some chew toys! I assembled it myself in around 20-25 minutes with basic tools and no problems at all. We all love the look and Fritz is happy in his new house!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Precision Pet Outback Country Lodges
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome product

PostedJanuary 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
from New Market, VA
Very easy to put together. Very lightweight yet sturdy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Precision Pet Outback Country Lodges
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very impressed

PostedDecember 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Texas
I bought this dog house for my 26 pound Blue Heeler. I ordered the medium sized house and she just loves it. The house is very spacious and is very attractive, my dog went in to it instantly which was suprising seeing as how it was her first house! The house was fairly easy to put together and the directions were easy to follow, although it is very much a two person job so you may want someone to help you. The flooring in the house is not very thick so you would not want a very heavy dog in the house. I was impressed with the finished product and as long as it keeps my dog warm and dry I'm satisfied. Oh and if your dog chews on wood (like mine) you may want to put come sort of coating on the corners of the house.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Precision Pet Outback Country Lodges
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It's my House

PostedOctober 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Lovington, New Mexico
This "Country Cabin" doghouse is the perfect size for my male Shih-Tzu. He just loves it and won't allow the cat to even visit him when he's in it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Precision Pet Outback Country Lodges
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy assembly

PostedJuly 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Georgia
The doghouse we bought is just as pictured, my husband put it together in about 15 minutes. Our dog should be very happy in her new home.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>