petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zoo Med Turtle Clean 511 Turtle Tank External Canister Filter

Zoo Med Turtle Clean 511 Turtle Tank External Canister Filter

Provides greater aeration with included spray barTurtle Clean canister filter comes with removable hose-connecting deviceTurtle tank filter has adjustable flow control systemEasy-to-open filter head
Average Customer Rating:
4.231 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 13 reviews
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
11 out of 13(85%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for Zoo Med Turtle Clean 511 Turtle Tank External Canister Filter
Review 1 for Zoo Med Turtle Clean 511 Turtle Tank External Canister Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

All around great product

PostedSeptember 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
Keeps the water absolutely Crystal clear. I've tried three other filers with my red eared slider and even with regular water changes, the water was always greenish/yellowish in color. With this filter I have a 40 gallon tank with about 25 gallons of water and the water has been Crystal clear since installation. Directions are very easy to read. Only took me about 10 minutes to put everything together. Only one setback, unless the water level is pretty much even with the spray bar or disbursement nozzle, this filter is a little noisy. But something I've gotten used to and don't even hear it anymore. Love this filter.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Zoo Med Turtle Clean 511 Turtle Tank External Canister Filter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product, good site

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
Order process was easy and smooth. Product arrived as quoted. Set up was easy, but I watched the setup video that is linked on the product page. Take the 9min to watch it.
After setup and install in tank, unit cranked right up. Took a 5 minutes or so to get pumping at full strength so don't be alarmed if flow is weak at first.
Flow stopped after couple days, but motor still ran. Unplugged, cleaned and it cranked right up again. Ran for another 4-5days and stopped again. Cleaned unit and it started again, SO seems to want to be cleaned when flow stops. I'm calling it a "feature".
Happy with purchase. Filter operates well. Motor noise isn't too bad. Our water "splash" noise is more because we have a 100gal tank that is only half full so water fall is substantial. But we have tank in garage and filer unit is in aquarium base, so noise is not really an issue. Provided tube lengths are adequate to accommodate almost any set up.
Water does not stay crystal clear, but we have two turtles, one is VERY large (8-9" width) and other is 4" across, so we have a lot of waste and food particles. Used to have to completely drain and clean tank weekly, now I just clean the filter unit weekly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Zoo Med Turtle Clean 511 Turtle Tank External Canister Filter
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Good with a catch

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from San Pedro, CA
I have 1 female red eared slider, 4 inches long. 20 gallon tank, and nothing else inside but a basking area.
I still have the filter working the turtle tank. However I am changing it out to try the Penn Plax cascade since it has rave reviews. But lets get into this filter. The suction is poor. Very poor. And I don't think people know this because when you circulate the water, you will find all the dead skin lift up and float. Now if want to buy a wave maker or pump you can, thats on you. But if you place your hand where it sucks the water into the filter, it's seriously not noticeable. You can't feel the suction, it's weak. So the droppings, food, and skin all stay down at the tank. Now, that leads to my next point.
Because the suction is so weak, when you turn off the filter to change out water or parts, it's very difficult to get it going again.(Sometimes) Heres the thing, when you want to get the filter going again after a water change or whatever, the filter struggles at first to suck the water because it has in in the motor and it its so weak to suck it back in again. And then the motor gets hot. And that burns it out; I was told this by zoo med. So little by little you are breaking the motor. There is no fix for this that's how it was made. All I can say is after you put fresh clean water make sure to fill the filter with water as mush as possible. It helps with getting it going, just a little though. Now I gave up on the filter because my water wasn't clear. It was getting cloudy maybe 10 hours later after a water change. So here is the catch. If you want to keep the water crystal clear with gunk at the bottom, you have to feed the turtle outside the tank. That's the catch. At that point you just lose the idea of the "WATER FILTER". The set up is good. it's very quiet, even when struggling to get the flow of water going it makes a noise but it's not really loud. But I feel like I am cutting my time short with it every time I change the water and I have to hear it struggle. See when the filter has air, and it struggles like it does after the water change, your burning out like I said in the beginning. I will write a review for the Cascade later. Here are some pictures, and just so you know I changed out the water before I took them. Good luck.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
User submitted photo
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Zoo Med Turtle Clean 511 Turtle Tank External Canister Filter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great For Turtle Tanks

PostedMay 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Ohio
My one turtle was so dirty; even though I fed him in a feeding tub and cleaned the tank every 2days. I had a waterfall filter because it came with the turtle kit I purchased. After a vet trip I had to get a canister system. Easy to set up and works great. I use the sucking tube to pick up his feces on the bottom(or he will eat it). The only problem is that If too much air gets into the sucking tube, you may have to refill the canister in order for it to prime. Great product, especially for turtles.
New Yellow Belly Owner.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Zoo Med Turtle Clean 511 Turtle Tank External Canister Filter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

very loud, but effective

PostedDecember 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
First off I was very pleased with my purchase. The initial setup was very overwhelming, but you figure it out really quickly. Basically it looks super complicated but it's not.the filter is keeping my tank very clean! My only complaint is that it's very loud, not the actual filter itself but the water returning to the tank. It's simply a lot of water, sounds like a mini waterfall. But I've decided that it adds a Zen element to my home. My turtle who is the real judge of things loves it! Her favorite part is the bubbles produced by the water from the spray bar, pretty much her new favorite spot in her tank!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Zoo Med Turtle Clean 511 Turtle Tank External Canister Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Turtle tank pump

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
from san francisco, ca.
It's saved so much time as to cleaning tank & is very strong. Love it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Zoo Med Turtle Clean 511 Turtle Tank External Canister Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolutely Wonderful!

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
I ordered this filter about two weeks ago. The setup seemed a little confusing at first but wasn't a problem once I started it. I had the entire filter set up within ten minutes and left my house for a few hours. By the time I got home that evening, my 20 gallon tank that held two red-eared sliders was completely spotless! Before this filter, I had a waterfall filter that did absolutely nothing except take up space. My tank was a disgusting brown color and smelled terrible. It got so bad that I had to empty the entire thing out and wipe it down. I used this new filter and saw results that day. Two weeks later, my tank is still clean and doesn't set off a horrible odor. The only thing I'll probably have to do is wash the components every month or so. Overall, the filter is completely worth the money!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
9of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Zoo Med Turtle Clean 511 Turtle Tank External Canister Filter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Great promises, never delivered

PostedFebruary 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
I was so excited about getting this filter because it seemed to be the best choice and had great reviews. I have a red-eared slider and at first it worked wonderful, it kept the tank so clean, a major concern for turtle and keeper health. Then it stopped working. I decided to clean it as I figured the turtle waste had clogged it as turtles are known to do. It worked for a day and then stopped. I then cleaned every part, the lines were even taken apart and scrubbed. This filter again quit working. After repeating several times it would no longer pump water through at all. Overall this filter is a huge pain to put together, clean, and keep working. It isn't worth your money or time! I have found great success with the TetraFauna ReptoFilter, and it is about $40 cheaper!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+13points
14of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Zoo Med Turtle Clean 511 Turtle Tank External Canister Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful!

PostedJanuary 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Salem, OR
I was using the 501 Canister Filter for my red slider turtle but the motor stopped working. Even before it stopped working, I was questioning how well the 501 worked for the price. Once it stopped working, I went ahead and took the hit buying the 511 model, hoping it might work well enough not to clean every two weeks (sometimes I wonder if turtles are messier than kids, their tanks are never as clean as you wish when company visits). Anywho, I bought it, and Surprise! It works WONDERFULLY! I have gone through a number of filters and never truly thought I would find one that didn't have to be cleaned every two weeks but this one works miracles. I even hesitated before writing this review because I wanted to give it time before singing it's praises. It's been about two months and just recently I cleaned the filter for the first time. It pumps through water amazingly and even if I leave the food in the tank, it flushes it out before it has time to muck up the water. I love it! It was definitely worth the extra cash. I just wish I didn't waste the money on the last 8 filter's I've used in the past two years.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+18points
18of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Zoo Med Turtle Clean 511 Turtle Tank External Canister Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Filter!

PostedNovember 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Chicago, IL
I just bought this canister filter and my tank looks ten times better within a week. Overnight the water in my red ear slider tank cleared up. I have a 40gal tank that a small filter in it and needed to upgrade cause tank was looking dirty. This filter was very easy to set up.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Zoo Med Turtle Clean 511 Turtle Tank External Canister Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Filter

PostedAugust 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
from NEWTON, MA
Much more efficient & sturdy than the 501, great for aquatic turtle tanks.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Zoo Med Turtle Clean 511 Turtle Tank External Canister Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product has great features

PostedMay 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
from brooklyn, ny
it cleans water pretty good, and my turtle loves it, its very easy to set it up
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
11of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Zoo Med Turtle Clean 511 Turtle Tank External Canister Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

PostedJanuary 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
The filter was very easy to set up and get started. The water cleared up overnight after installing it and it continues to clean up after my two red eared sliders with ease.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+26points
30of 34voted this as helpful.