petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Prevue Hendryx Earthtone Dusted Rose Rat & Chinchilla Cage

Prevue Hendryx Earthtone Dusted Rose Rat & Chinchilla Cage

Pull-out bottom grille for easy cleaningRat cage equipped with easy rolling casters for hassle-free mobilityTwo doors for easy access to your petIdeal cage for rats and chinchillas, as well as baby ferretsRat or chinchilla cage features hammertone finish that will look great in any home
Average Customer Rating:
4.08 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 25 reviews
5 stars
16
4 stars
2
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
3
20 out of 25(80%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
22 Questions | 31 Answers
Customer Reviews for Prevue Hendryx Earthtone Dusted Rose Rat & Chinchilla Cage
Review 1 for Prevue Hendryx Earthtone Dusted Rose Rat & Chinchilla Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
LittleBonnieMom
from St Augustine, FL
My husband built a cage for Bonnie the Squirrel, who was rescued when she was a few days old. We had anticipated rehabing her back to the wild, but she made friends with our dogs, and we were never able to instill a fear of dogs in her... so she's stayed on our screen porch for about 6 years now. The cage he built worked, but her nails were getting caught in the screening... and it was just to difficult to clean. This new cage works fine. I put it together in good order and it wasn't difficult. Followed the directions. I made and hung a hammock for her. Also I've taken out the lower ramp as she would rather climb. There is plenty of room... but she's older and doesn't need all the room of her huge cage. She seems happy, and is getting used to it. I like that it is secure and easy to clean.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Prevue Hendryx Earthtone Dusted Rose Rat & Chinchilla Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this cage!!

PostedJune 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
Luv2rats
from WV
I love this cage for my two rats!! It is so spacious and has ramps or them to go up and down. They are getting a lot of needed exercise, not only running the ramps, but they like to get on the bars and climb across the top, the sides, etc.
The cage is very easy to clean since it has a removable bottom tray. I would not even consider a cage without that feature.
I also like the fact that the cage is on wheels. Makes it very easy to move around!
I would definitely recommend this cage to anyone with small pets!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Prevue Hendryx Earthtone Dusted Rose Rat & Chinchilla Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice cage

PostedJune 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Ratkeeper
from central VA
I have two of these -- one for 2 male rats and one for 6 females. They all like it. I like the removable pan for cleaning. It came with only a few bent wires that were easily fixed and went together easily with the help of a friend. The only thing is that if you put bedding down so they don't have to walk on the wire floor, you'll find bedding kicked out all over the floor. Since mine are in the barn, it's not a problem.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Prevue Hendryx Earthtone Dusted Rose Rat & Chinchilla Cage
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Rats like it!

PostedMay 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
BLM1
from New Jersey
I purchased this cage because it has small bar spacing and I have two young female rats. This cage is a good size for them. I probably wouldn't do more than two or three rats in this cage though. The pan is a bit deeper than the Critter Nation pan, but it could still be deeper. I removed the grille to prevent bumblefoot; small animals shouldn't have bars under their feet.
It shipped in 5 days. The storage grille had a severe bend in the wires, but they don't come into contact with it. Both side panels were bent, so it took a while to assemble, and was very frustrating. This is not a cage one person can put together. Also, I had to superglue one of the support bars because the welding was done so poorly that it had broken away from where it was attached. Not sure if that's a manufacturer mistake or from Petco.
Overall, I like the cage. The shelves are easy to wipe, the bedding is easy to change. I love the door! It's wide enough to fit everything in/out of. I got it on sale, so it's a good size for the price I paid. I wouldn't pay full price for it though.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Prevue Hendryx Earthtone Dusted Rose Rat & Chinchilla Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this cage!

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
lilmama2four
from jensend beach, florida
It is the perfect size. I currently have only 1 rat but plan to get another one as this cage is clearly big enough for 2. Our rat seems to enjoy the space that is available and all the different levels.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Prevue Hendryx Earthtone Dusted Rose Rat & Chinchilla Cage
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

chinchilla cage

PostedMarch 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
ChinchillaLady413
from michigan
I had purchased my first one in store, liked it and wanted another for a second set of chinchillas. However ordering it online seemed to take its toll on the cage during shipping. It arrived with a few bent bars and the bottom pan was bent so it's very difficult to slide in and out. The purpose of this tray is "easy cleaning" and it isn't so easy. I like this cage and found it cheaper online than in store however I don't think I would ever order online again. The door is easy enough access and none of my little critters can escape. I do feel it could use a little strip of metal around the base to stop urination on the walls. Also the platforms don't all match up the way they are supposed to so I ended up zip tying them because they fell down twice from my babies jumping all over as they do because they are chinchillas and love to do so! The instructions aren't so easy to follow and it took me a minute to figure it out. The second time around though I had a full model so it didn't take as long.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Prevue Hendryx Earthtone Dusted Rose Rat & Chinchilla Cage
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

I didn't want this in the first place.

PostedFebruary 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
Fotothen
from AR
I was completely planning on getting a different cage, but my friend decided to sweet talk me into getting this one. I didn't really want it, but I thought "Why not?" First off, some of the pieces were bent or didn't go together well. Then he had a hard time putting it together for me. Lastly, the second shelf and ramp were missing. Some of the bars looked like they might be far enough apart for my boys to get through (including the fact that the door can me easily be pushed sideways), but overall they seem happy. I have two young rats. After a while there won't be any concern on them escaping. I am upset about my shelf, and the whole wire floor thing is irritating, but I guess the face can be called decent.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Prevue Hendryx Earthtone Dusted Rose Rat & Chinchilla Cage
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Ok starter cage but not full experience.

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
reggiechinchilla
from Minnesota
This cage is a decent size for a chinchilla, not spectacular but OK. It doesn't offer as much room as you'd think. It should only house one chinchilla, two would be way too crowded. At first glance in person you'd think its huge, but it doesn't even compare to other, more expensive or popular cages. If this is your cage to give your chinchilla something for a year or two while you get the funds for a better one, thats fine, but I would not recommend it as it's official cage.
And, the wire floors are terrible for a chinchilla's feet. they can break or swell and an awful condition called bumble foot it caused by wire floors. I'd recommend you build a wood flooring to put on top of it to protect their feet.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Prevue Hendryx Earthtone Dusted Rose Rat & Chinchilla Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great cage, but....

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
CindyHoldenMO
from Missouri
This cage is very nice looking and solid once put together, but it was hard to assemble. We had to file some of the weld to get the screws to fit properly. Also, the cage was a little dented up. It works well but for the price I was disappointed that the quality was not perfect. Over all it is a great cage.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Prevue Hendryx Earthtone Dusted Rose Rat & Chinchilla Cage
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Prevue rat/chinchilla cage

PostedDecember 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
cats23
from wadsworth, ohio
When I purchased the cage with a four and one half star rating, I thought I was getting a good quality cage. When I opened the box and looked at the pieces, I got the feeling this had been returned and repackaged. the bars of the cage were either bent or broken and one of the metal ramps were bent exposing a sharp metal edge. I returned the cage back to the store and it was deemed unsalable. The cage is really nice looking and I will reorder another one. I hope the next one is better.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Prevue Hendryx Earthtone Dusted Rose Rat & Chinchilla Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Chinchilla loves it!

PostedNovember 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
TopazsMom
from Dracut, MA
After taking about 45 mins to put it together as the pieces were not numbered as stated in the instructions that came with it. It was easy enough to figure out. Our chinchilla thinks it is a mansion, he loves it. There is only one door (not 2 as stated in the description) which is easy to open with one hand. Very easy to clean as drawer slides out. We are very happy :x>
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Prevue Hendryx Earthtone Dusted Rose Rat & Chinchilla Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dall
from Morganton, N.C.
I purchased this item for my pet ratties. It is awesome! Good size to house the ones I have. Sturdy ramps and bars. They can NOT squeeze thru bars. Love the wheels on the bottom feature, making it easy to move and the rack on bottom to make for easy storage.. Overall awesome quality for price.. Heavy duty and sturdy!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Prevue Hendryx Earthtone Dusted Rose Rat & Chinchilla Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Chinchilla mansion!

PostedApril 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
KrissyBee
from Anaheim, CA
This thing is really big and tall! My chinchilla doesn't like to be picked up so much. He likes to be pet but not picked up. So I had to get him a nice place to live since he wants to hang in his own space a lot. Very much worth the money. Super cool cage! Consider the fact that it's all metal and if it's in your room then it is pretty squeaky.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Prevue Hendryx Earthtone Dusted Rose Rat & Chinchilla Cage
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

very unhappy

PostedFebruary 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
AlexOpossum
from PA
when i saw this cage and the reviews for it, i was sure it would be a great new home for my girls. sadly, it was not. one of the casters was broken beyond repair, many of the bars were bent, some bars were broken, neither of the trays fit right, and the top of the cage couldn't be secured. maybe mine was a defective model, maybe the rest of you are lucky, but i would not recommend this cage at all!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
1of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Prevue Hendryx Earthtone Dusted Rose Rat & Chinchilla Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My girls love it =D

PostedMarch 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
SamiB24
from Topsham, ME
I ordered this cage on sale last week. I arrived very quickly and was for the most part easy to put together. The only problem i had was in putting the top on. Had to screw down one corner then another and pop the bars in place but that wasnt really any trouble. Anyway got it all set up and put my 2 baby chinchillas in. They love it. It had enough from for BOTH of the 18 inch tail safe wheels i had for them along with their sleepy house and i can put in a dustbath hut no problem on one of the other levels =) Im very happy with this cage and my girls are as well, lots of room for them to grow into and i think once their friends i might keep my other girl in with them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Prevue Hendryx Earthtone Dusted Rose Rat & Chinchilla Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE IT!

PostedMarch 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
imhope
from Charleston, SC
I love the cage. Really easy to assemble, by myself and i'm female! So glad i bought it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-6points
1of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Prevue Hendryx Earthtone Dusted Rose Rat & Chinchilla Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent home for my chin

PostedSeptember 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
1fatbaby
from El Paso, TX
I had the cage shipped and received it in good condition, with all the parts required to assemble it. The instructions were easy enough to follow, the only problem I had was that it's hard to get all the spokes into all the holes at the same time. Other than that it went together easily and has held up for a month now.
Like almost everyone else here I am very happy with this cage. the wheels make it no trouble at all to move anywhere anytime I want to. The pull out bottom makes cleaning simple, takes about 60 seconds to pull out, empty and wipe out. The solid ramps and shelves have to be much more comfortable than the mesh type, I feel much better seeing him on those than the mesh.
The description says there are two doors, but there is only one. Still, it's plenty big and easy to open with one hand.
Overall I am extremely happy with this cage, and would definitely recommend it for chinchillas or other small animals.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+18points
19of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Prevue Hendryx Earthtone Dusted Rose Rat & Chinchilla Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for rats

PostedJuly 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
ratowner88
I love this cage. It is perfect for me and my two rats. It is the most attractive cage that I have seen so far. The storage underneath is helpful, as are the wheels and sliding litter tray. It was a little hard to assemble, but not bad.
Suggestions for rat owners:
Don't use the removable wire bottom. It's not good for their feet and they won't be able to dig around in the bedding/litter if it's there.
Without the wire the bottom ramp became a little steep for my rats, so I let the ramp rest on a wooden attachable landing. The ramp became more usable and more floor space was freed up underneath.
The boys also really enjoy the hammock I put in that they access from the top shelf. I never had room for one before and it gives them more reason to climb up to the top shelf (my rats are kinda lazy).
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
14of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Prevue Hendryx Earthtone Dusted Rose Rat & Chinchilla Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Cage

PostedJuly 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Chin4
from NC
I purchased 3 different cages for our chinchilla before finding this cage and this has been the best cage for our chinchilla by far! It is very roomy, with 3 levels, allowing our chinchilla plenty of room for play and exercise. The shelves and ramps are all metal (chew proof!). The tray slides out for super easy cleaning. The wire floor that sits above the tray also slides out for cleaning which is a nice plus! There is a shelf underneath the cage tray for storage. The entire cage is on wheels so I can roll it out of the way to vacuum and roll it back in seconds. I have a second one that we keep at our vacation home, and I just purchased one for a friend who has a Chinchilla and was looking for a bigger cage and she is thrilled with it too!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
19of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Prevue Hendryx Earthtone Dusted Rose Rat & Chinchilla Cage
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Defective Product

PostedApril 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
LuvAllAnimals
from Mesa, AZ
This cage looks very nice and I am sure it would have been a great cage had the door of the cage not been defective. The door of the cage had wires that were not attached to the frame and it also did not fit into the piece below it (front legs). I contacted the manufacturer and received a few replacement pieces 2 weeks later. The new door's wires were all attached this time but it still didn't fit in either the original leg piece or the new one they sent me. Oddly, the reason for it not fitting was different than the original door.
I returned the original and replacement parts to a nearby Petco and the return process was very easy. I am happy with my experience with Petco but frustrated by the hassle of trying to get a working cage through the manufacturer.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>