petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for K&H Thermal Heated Dog Bowl

K&H Thermal Heated Dog Bowl

Keeps water from freezing even in sub zero temperaturesLow wattage for low energy consumptionLong steel wrapped cord
Average Customer Rating:
4.417 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
10 out of 12(83%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for K&H Thermal Heated Dog Bowl
Review 1 for K&H Thermal Heated Dog Bowl
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Works ok

PostedFebruary 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Gullie
from NH
Bought this bowl at my local Petco when I woke up one morning and saw that the 2 year old heated water bowl I was using was a block of ice.
Plugged this in and filled the bowl about 2/3s full. Worked well that day but the next morning the top of the water was iced up (avg night temp around 20 F). I could tell that the water at the bottom was still liquid, so reasoned that the bowl was working, so am now only filling the bowl 1/3 full. Previous heated bowls that I've used allow you to place more water in the bowl!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for K&H Thermal Heated Dog Bowl
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A lifesaver

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
djlady
from North Dakota
Works great. I ordered the largest size and it is big enough for my german shepard and 4 cats. I have it in the garage and it hasn't froze at all even with 20 degree below zero weather. I feel so much better that they have fresh water all the time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for K&H Thermal Heated Dog Bowl
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A needed item for New Englands coldest winter

PostedJanuary 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nanny2013
from New England
I had to purchase one of these bowls, the cold frigid weather in NE warrants the need.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for K&H Thermal Heated Dog Bowl
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works GREAT!

PostedJanuary 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
birdloverinNJ
from North Arlington, NJ
The first clue that this dog bowl worked great was waking up one morning to 20 degree weather and seeing the whole rim of the bowl filled with birds! Our heated bird bath had shorted out days earlier but they managed to find the new dog bowl up against the house. (we did put out a new heated bird bath right after that!) But our dog loves this too - for some reason she would rather drink water outside all the time then from her bowl in the house and since she has a doggie door to come and go as she pleases she just goes out to drink. Haven't had one problem yet with it and we have had some good deep freeze days. The cord isn't super long, but we have an outlet on our deck right outside our sliding door and it is fine for us. I do admit that the one thing that would make this bowl better is if somehow you could take it inside to wash without needing to unplug it and bring it inside cord and all - a detachable bowl or cord would make it a dream. But - for now its a small price to pay to know that our pup is happy. Its easy to wipe out so we can quickly clean it out. I think it a good deal even with the small inconvenience for cleaning.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for K&H Thermal Heated Dog Bowl
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedJanuary 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
StLawrenceRiverMom
from Alexandria Bay NY
We use this bowl in our garage for our 2 dogs. It is a nice large size so they don't run out of water on days I have to leave them for long periods and even when the temperature dipped to 18 below the water didn't freeze.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for K&H Thermal Heated Dog Bowl
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Does not keep water from freezing!

PostedFebruary 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
My name is Harley and I only like to drink water outside. This is a problem for my parents in the winter because my water bowl & water freeze. They thought this heated water bowl would be the answer. But it wasn't. I live in Louisville, KY, mid south weather, and my water froze immediately and stayed frozen during our 30 degree weather.
So back to my frozen water!
Sincerely,
Harley
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-6points
5of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for K&H Thermal Heated Dog Bowl
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

amazing

PostedJanuary 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
ron6740
from Hamburg, Pa.
I just purchased this bowl right before an unusual cold front. The temperatur dropped to -2 overnight. The bowl did not freeze at all. This bowl is well worth the money.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for K&H Thermal Heated Dog Bowl
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing

PostedJanuary 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
SweetnSour
We purchased the larger water bowl about 6 weeks ago and the temperature has been in the teens at night and some days the temperature has not risen above freezing and the water in the bowl does not freeze! Our dog is large and likes to play with food dishes, etc... so we took tent stakes and secured the bowl in the ground by attaching the stakes to the outer lip of the bowl. Our dog is very happy to go to her water bowl and have water instead of ice!!!! Amazing!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for K&H Thermal Heated Dog Bowl
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Pleased

PostedJanuary 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
dkhucka
from Kinards, SC
I bought the bowl for my dog because his water was always feezing and I felt bad that he had to go all night without water. The day after I received the bowl, we got 7 inched of snow and the temp never went above freezing. The next day when I checked on my dog, the water had happily not frozen. So it makes me feel good to know he will always have water to drink no matter the temp. I highly recommend this to all of you that has pets that live outside.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for K&H Thermal Heated Dog Bowl
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does what it is supposed to do in the cold weather

PostedDecember 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
blueknight7777
from New York
Does everything it is supposed to do and works well. I tested it during our last recent snow blizzard and it worked great outdoors.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for K&H Thermal Heated Dog Bowl
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Answer to prayer

PostedDecember 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
tlmat
Fantastic product, keeps the water from freezing but at the same time doesnt heat it up to where the dogs dont want to drink it
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for K&H Thermal Heated Dog Bowl
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It really works!

PostedDecember 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
JBNY
I bought one of these 96 oz bowls about 10 days ago and put it outside for the stray cats. So far it has worked perfectly! The days have been in the 20's and the night temperatures even lower. I put the bowl out of the wind and so far the water has remained unfrozen (not even frosty) where everything else around it has frozen solid. Great value.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.