petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Aqueon Pro Heaters Submersible Aquarium Heaters

Aqueon Pro Heaters Submersible Aquarium Heaters

Ideal fish tank water heater for both freshwater and saltwater aquariums Power monitor light indicates when the heater is active or inactiveShatterproof and nearly indestructible aquarium water heaterElectronic thermostat for accurate temperature settings within +/-1°FFully submersible - evenly distributes heatUL listed for safety
Average Customer Rating:
4.78 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 41 reviews
5 stars
35
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
40 out of 41(98%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 29 Answers
Customer Reviews for Aqueon Pro Heaters Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Review 1 for Aqueon Pro Heaters Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not Recommended

PostedFebruary 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Twokuntry
from Pasadena, MD
I bought the 250 watt version of this heater for a 75 gallon freshwater tank. I purchased the heater in late October, and before the new year it quit working. Not having time to mess with it at the moment, I unplugged it but left it in the tank and put another old heater in the tank until I had time to look at it. I just pulled it out of the tank today February 8, and it has a big split down the side. The product description boasts that it is practically indestructible. Looks to me like it has the ability to self-destruct after about two months of operattion. I'm going to attempt to return it to the store, but their guarantee is only for 60 days. Since I no longer have the reciept and didn't get to look at it untill recently, I doubt they will give me a replacement. We shall see.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Aqueon Pro Heaters Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great!

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
turtlemeister
from Kansas
This is a very good and durable heater for my turtles. I have not needed to adjust it once, it maintains the temperature of my 40B gallon tank exactly at 78 degrees F. Highly recommend.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Aqueon Pro Heaters Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Submersible Heaters

PostedJanuary 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
joyaedm
from Ohio
we couldn't keep our salt water fish tank water regulated. So we bought a Aqueon Pro Heaters Submersible Aquarium Heaters. We have it in the tank for about two weeks now, and the water temperature is perfect now. Yes we would recommend to someone to buy on of these Submersible Heaters.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Aqueon Pro Heaters Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product! Lasts long.

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
13paperflowers
from San Jose
I've had this heater for over a year and it has been amazing. The temperature sets to the precise temperature in my ten gallon betta tank. Keeps them warm and toasty! I would defiantly recommend this heater to all tropical tank aquarists!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Aqueon Pro Heaters Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Heater Ever. Period.

PostedNovember 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
MavericksMom89
from Riverside, CA
I love love love these heaters. I own 3. One for my 20 gallon tropical tank, one for my outdoor 55 gallon koi tank, and one for my outdoor 50 gallon turtle tank. They all work brilliantly.
I LOVE the light feature. Telling you when it's heating and when it's on 'stand-by' was such a great idea.
The temperature gauge on this is super easy to read and adjust. You can be pretty specific about exactly what you want the temperature to be!
Also, this thing is SO durable. You can just tell. Neither my turtle nor my koi have bothered it, and the sleek black finish makes it look nice, too.
I use digital thermometers and as soon as the temp reads within like .5 degrees F of what I set the heater to, I see the light switch from green to red. In no time the temp is back to what it should be, and the light switches back to green.
This is the only heater I will ever buy for my aquariums. Period.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Aqueon Pro Heaters Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Turtle tank

PostedSeptember 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mom4boys
Great for our turtle tank
Easy to use
Easy to maintain
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Aqueon Pro Heaters Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great heater

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Smellsfishy
from Lutz fl
Purchased 2 150watt heaters for my 55 gal and they work flawlessly keeps the temp steady.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Aqueon Pro Heaters Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Aqueon Pro Heater 100w

PostedApril 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
JeffsPetcoShop
from Plainfield, IL
If your looking to upgrade your heater I think the Aqueon Pro is a good choice. I'm using the 100w version for a 16 gallon tank. It holds temperture very well. Good upgrade at a good price on Petco.com. Much cheaper online than my local petco store?
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Aqueon Pro Heaters Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent value and quality

PostedMarch 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Maki
from Hammond, IN
I purchased this heater for a 55 gallon tank. I am totally satisfied. The heater is easy to operate and easy to read (red for working - green means the water is at the proper (set) temperature. I have a red-eared slider and he's loving it !
I've only had the heater for a couple of weeks - but so far, no problems.
Petco is my store for my pet purchases and their reward program rocks !
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Aqueon Pro Heaters Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Aqueon Pro Heater

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Procyg
from Connecticut
I purchased this heater because my heater began showing signs of condensation inside the heater after only a few months of use. I am very impressed with the construction of this heater and the temp was accurate right out of the box. I wouldn't hesitate to pick up another one in the future.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Aqueon Pro Heaters Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

nice submersible heater

PostedJanuary 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
scoutingdad
from Illinois
I am a fan of submersible heaters and this one is pretty good. I like the temp scale, although you should use a real thermometer to get a final temperature setting, mine runs a bit high. Its a nice feature to be able to install vertically or horizontally. And I like the no-glass feature. Just set and forget - exactly what a heater should be.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Aqueon Pro Heaters Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Heater

PostedDecember 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
TrigsandTans
from Spokane, WA
I am not using this heater to heat a fish tank, rather I am using it to heat a masceration tank for cleaning skulls. I've had the heater in the tank for a little over a week and its working great. I have the tank outside in below freezing temperatures and the 250W heater is able to keep the 15-20 gallons of water at 80 degrees.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-8points
2of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Aqueon Pro Heaters Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The Heater Worked Great, But Less than a Year

PostedDecember 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
mypetsrawesome
from Placentia CA
The Heater was really good for a long time. It always kept my tank at a constant temperature and it was easy to adjust the temperature on the heater. The only problem is that it lasted for only a year. It just all of a sudden stopped working and stays with the green light on and it won't heat the water anymore. I'm disappointed because I keep having to buy a new heater every year and still haven't found a heater that lasts.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Aqueon Pro Heaters Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for turtles

PostedDecember 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
ChgoIrish
from Chesterfield, MI
I love that this is not glass and is fully submersible so that we can lay it down instead of having to keep it upright with so little water.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Aqueon Pro Heaters Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedOctober 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cfender19
from Buffalo
This heater is the best on the market. Easy dial to set the desired temperature. Convenient light glows green when temperature is maintained, red when heating. Fully submersible so it can be placed anywhere.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Aqueon Pro Heaters Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Aqueon Pro Heater 200 amp

PostedOctober 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rmikey
from Ct
Excellent heater! Within the day my tanks temperature was stable. works very well with a 45 gallon tank, does not cycle on and off.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Aqueon Pro Heaters Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good heater

PostedAugust 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
ReefChief
from Sacramento, CA
I use the 100 watt heater in my 24G nano tank. I like it. It does a good job. Reliable and well priced here at Petco.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Aqueon Pro Heaters Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great

PostedJuly 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Fish99
from Seattle
I have it in a 55 gallon tank and it keeps it at a constant 80 deg.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Aqueon Pro Heaters Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far so good

PostedJuly 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Deca976r
from Los Angeles
Well i decided to get this heater just for the price and i Trust Aqueon products From my tank to my light my filter , heater ,water conditioner, and even tropical fish food products... Product has a red light and green light when on red when off green turns green when water reaches desired temp. and for the ppl saying its hard to see the all black numbers not true unless u try to see them in the dark i set it and forget it. Not like i have to change temp its always at 80 degrees.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Aqueon Pro Heaters Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The numbers aren't actually white

PostedMay 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Badandyhtc
from Minneapolis
This may be important to some users. I haven't put the heater in use yet, so I don't know how well it works. The picture on the box and on the website all show the numbers on the selector being white - I figured great, it will be nice and easy to read. They are not in fact white, they are black the same as all the other molded plastic on the device, so if you're looking at this product for the high visibility of the numbers.. forget it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>