petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Carefresh Basic Blend Pet Bedding

Carefresh Basic Blend Pet Bedding

Unique blend of Carefresh Natural Premium Soft Bedding and kiln-dried softwoodNew natural odor control formula keeps habitats fresh longerAbsorbs 2.5 times its weight in liquid100% biodegradable and compostable
Average Customer Rating:
3.833 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
3
8 out of 12(67%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for Carefresh Basic Blend Pet Bedding
Review 1 for Carefresh Basic Blend Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It great

PostedJune 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from New York, N.Y.
i am so pleased there is no odor and easy to clean and the animals smell great i have tried many brands they did not do as well and i do not sneeze any more from the bedding wonderful product im one happy person thank you
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Carefresh Basic Blend Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Bedding

PostedMay 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Jackson, CA
I use this bedding for my guinea pigs in their litter pan. It works very well and there is zero dust. I have terrible allergies and Carefresh is the only brand I can use so far.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Carefresh Basic Blend Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Awful!

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Ohio
My guinea pigs cage was INFESTED with fruit flies for several months. We tried EVERYTHING, or so we thought, to get rid of them. 2 weeks ago I decided to buy the wood bedding instead, and we haven't seen a fruit fly since! Also, the cage smells a whole lot better now, too. The only reason this product gets any "paws" is because I had to select one.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-9points
3of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Carefresh Basic Blend Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This stuff is terrible!

PostedFebruary 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
from California
I have been a long time user of Carefresh bedding. I had been using the "white" bedding which replaced the natural color bedding I'd used prior.
I did a bulk order of this "updated", "odor control" bedding. It lasts about half the time and is nearly mush when you remove it. Our bunny starts to smell bad the day after we clean his box.
Probably a great strategy to get everyone to use twice as much as needed with the attendant expense.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Carefresh Basic Blend Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Overall Good Product

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Amherst, MA
Overall this is a good product. It's tightly compact so there is actually more than you think there is. My rats are generally happy in it.
However, it's much better to actually freeze before using since there is a small chance there are tiny mites in the actual bedding. Also it can be a bit dusty so be careful!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Carefresh Basic Blend Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Absorbancy

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Coral Springs,FL
This bedding is the best I have tried in the last 11 years that I have had gerbils. Soaks up their messes quickly with no smells left behind. What more could we ask for.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Carefresh Basic Blend Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product can cause problems.

PostedAugust 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Pittsburgh, PA
Carefresh Basic consists of softwood, which contains phenols. These are the same things found in cedar and pine wood that make them dangerous for small animals. I just switched from this product because it was beginning to irritate my gerbil. I would recommend using aspen or any other type of carefresh bedding instead.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+11points
13of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Carefresh Basic Blend Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

NATURALLY WONDERFUL

PostedJanuary 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Harrisburg, Pa
I've tried the "grayish" type of this brand that that's GREAT too but if you want natural bedding this is the way to go. It's nice and light in color and is very clean.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Carefresh Basic Blend Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good

PostedAugust 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
from CA
i love all carefresh products, but i do prefer tyo get the paper based bedding opposed to any wood shavings. This bedding works great, though! It did get a bit messy, but that's fine.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Carefresh Basic Blend Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best for your guinea pig

PostedJune 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Leesburg, VA
Having a guinea pig means you need to be careful what kind of bedding you have in the cage. After trying numerous bedding products for small animals, this bedding is simply the best and having it delivered direct to you is soooo much cheaper it is unbelievable. It is easy to do a minor clean up of the cage daily with this bedding ,if you care, and highly recommended to keep odors to a minimum. The downside of this bedding is that it tends to take on the odors of whatever is stored next to it. Pick a high turnover store to get this stuff as I once purchased some of this bedding at a local store but it was stored next to fish supplies and was awful! I took back for a full refund. Anytime I have it delivered direct...no off odors and arrives in 3 days by Fedex ground for $$ cheaper per bag than at the store.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
14of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Carefresh Basic Blend Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than expected

PostedMay 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Lake Elsinore, Ca
I was surprised - this is a lot of product for the price and it isn't too bad. The only complaint I have is that it somewhat sticks to the bottom of the cage if very wet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Carefresh Basic Blend Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

carefresh bedding be careful

PostedNovember 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
from sacramento ca
first, I ordered the wrong type bedding,DUH -- NEVER order bedding with pine shavings if it is for rats, we will use it for our bunnies, but rats cannot and should not ever be subjected to pine wood shavings, however, I put in a new order for carefresh NATURAL, which is a great product, we use it without exception, and the shipping and price is great, we usually need a new supply right away, and petco always ships amazingly fast, thanks for such great service, i just need to be careful when I order, to get the right product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
User submitted photo
+2points
21of 40voted this as helpful.